Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 11 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tacconi et al. (2009/0147737, hereinafter Tacconi) in view of Jong et al. (2012/0307721, hereinafter Jong), and RAVISHANKAR et al. (2014/0022983 A1, hereinafter RAVISHANKAR and further in view of 2015/0289287 to Larsson (hereinafter “Larsson”).
As to claims 1, 19 and 20 Tacconi teaches an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions that, when executed with the at least one
processor, cause the apparatus to perform:
receiving, by the apparatus from a communication endpoint, a message indicative of at
least one data packet to be uploaded to the apparatus via a link (see section [0022], In one implementation, base station 110 sends data to subscriber stations 120-140 in downlink (DL) and receives data from subscriber stations 120-140 in uplink (UL) in the form of radio frames. In one example embodiment, uplink and downlink communications are maintained by sending radio frames at constant, but configurable intervals)
determining, by the apparatus in response to said receiving said message, a first number of data packets based on a second number of data packets, including said at least one data packet, predicted to accumulate until receipt of a first grant message at said communication endpoint (see section [0033], In step 310, the subscriber station (SS) 120 begins transmitting packets to a base station (BS) 110 at an agreed upon bandwidth. The bandwidth request is based on packets at the subscriber station (SS) that need transmission to the base station. In the alternative, bandwidth request is based on packets at the subscriber station at the time of the bandwidth request and a prediction of the packets that will arrive before the bandwidth grant is received)
transmitting, by the apparatus towards said communication endpoint, said first grant message, said first grant message being indicative of an upload scheduling grant for said first number of data packets (see section [0023], Bandwidth in a radio link is often limited and thus, base station 110, as the managing entity, may control bandwidth utilization. For example, in downlink, base station 110 may analyze the amount of traffic incoming from provider network 180 and schedule it for transmission to destination subscriber stations, preferably in a fair and efficient manner).
Taconni fails to explicitly teach voice data packet being uploaded via satellite link.
However, in the similar endeavor, Jong discloses voice data packet being uploaded via satellite link 19 0055, FIGS. 5A and 5B are, respectively, a flowchart and a ladder diagram of processes for providing spectrally efficient Voice over IP (VoIP) sessions, according to various exemplary embodiments. A key attribute of an all-IP system is that, all services including voice is carried over IP--i.e., Voice over IP or VoIP. That is, encoded voice is transmitted across the satellite system as IP packets.] [0059], According to one embodiment, the system 100 provides delivery of media sessions using an IP-based approach. Specifically, the system 100 uses a signaling protocol (e.g., SIP) in conjunction with a standard data packet format (e.g., Real-time Transport Protocol (RTP)) to deliver communication services. More specifically, the signaling protocol is used to establish, modify, and terminate a media session, while the standard data packet format serves as the conduit for carrying audio and video over the system 100.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to combine the method of Tacconi with the method of Jong. Using satellite links are beneficial because "satellite links typically have smaller link margins than terrestrial links for a given user-terminal power amplifier and antenna characteristics; this implies that higher spectral efficiency and power efficiency are needed in satellite links. [See Jong, [0003]). Additionally, "According to certain embodiments, the following approaches provide link adaptation to maximize the resource utilization of the satellite network: (i) a method to adapt the transmission rate for packet voice and data traffics; (ii) a method to control the transmit power of packet voice and data channels; and (iii) a method to accomplish the feedback loop in a secured and correct manner. These embodiments improve spectrum efficiency, as well as combine the merits of rate adaptation and power control for packet switching voice and data channels in a GEO satellite system. These embodiments apply to a communication network involving geosynchronous satellites." [See Jong, [0005].
Taconni and Jong fail to explicitly disclose delays associated with using the satellite link.
However, in a similar endeavor, RAVISHANKAR discloses delay associated with using the satellite link (see RAVISHANKAR, [0003] "For example, satellite systems are characterized by long delays (as long as 260 ms one-way) between a user-terminal device and a base-station compared to the relatively shorter delays (e.g., millisecond or less) in terrestrial cellular systems--this implies that protocols on the satellite links have to be enhanced to minimize impact of long propagation delays."; Also see [0100] and Fig. 18).
Therefore, as described in [0003] of RAVISHANKAR, in order to minimize the impact of long propagation delays caused by satellite communications, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, to specifically address the challenges satellite communications present, and arrive at the present invention.
The amendments to claim 1 are shown below:
for the apparatus that is in a communication system having a communication endpoint, that communicates with the apparatus at least via a satellite link, wherein the apparatus provides grants to the communication endpoint allowing the communication endpoint to upload voice data packets to the apparatus, receiving a message indicative of at least one voice data packet to be uploaded to the apparatus via said satellite link;
determining, by the apparatus in response to said receiving said message, a first number of voice data packets to be granted to said communication endpoint for upload, the first number of voice data packets based on a second number of voice data packets that include said at least one voice data packet and that are predicted to accumulate, at least because of delay associated with using said satellite link for at least sending of said message by said communication endpoint and until receipt of a first grant message at said communication endpoint from said apparatus; and
transmitting, by the apparatus towards said communication endpoint, said first grant message, said first grant message being indicative of an upload scheduling grant for said communication endpoint to upload said first number of voice data packets to the apparatus via said satellite link.
In response to Applicant’s arguments and amendments, in order to more explicitly teach the newly recited features, Larsson is added.
In an analogous art, Larsson teaches a prediction unit which estimates the amount or number of packets in a buffer and requests an uplink grant from the base station earlier than would be needed (based on the amount or number of packets estimated to accumulate). See for example, Figs. 3-5 and sections [0012] to [0014]. See also section [0038], which teaches “e.g. depending on time between successive packets, packet size, direction i.e. uplink or downlink, and the number of pending packets in a transmission buffer”. See sections [0062] to [0068], which teach that the UE may predict the traffic pattern of packets which will need to be transmitted and will accumulate in the buffer and also teaches that the UE is able to send an early uplink grant schedule request (SR) which will match the time when the estimated packets in the buffer will accumulate. In this manner, Larsson sends early SRs to avoid any delays of time sensitive packets (as the UE’s request for the uplink grant is sent before the packets actually arrive). See also sections [0047] and [0057] of Larsson, which teach using the average delay times of receiving responses from uplink grant requests and the times of predicted packet arrival to calculate the time to send the early SRs.
Therefore, as the previous combination of Taconni and the other references teaches determining grants for voice packets and delays due to satellite links, and as Larsson explicitly teaches uplink grants based on the number of packets in a buffer plus an estimated number of packets which is predicted to accumulate (recited “first and second numbers”), it would have bene obvious to modify the Taconni combination with the features of Larsson, for the cited reasons in Larsson, which are that time sensitive packets cannot be delayed, so uplink grants need to be requested before they are needed.
As to claim 3, Taconni fails to teach, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine said first number of voice data packets based on whether said at least one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is expected to be a silence descriptor packet.
However, Jong teaches, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine said first number of voice data packets based on whether said at least one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is expected to be a silence descriptor packet. [']0071, FIG. 7A shows the physical layer assisted approach. In step 701, a unique set of reference symbols (or Unique Words) are used for determining the rate at which voice encoder operated at the transmitter. These reference symbols can also be used to determine whether a received burst carries voice information or non-voice information. In step 703, these reference symbols are transmitted within the physical layer header, thereby negating signaling such information at a higher layer.] IT 0062, In step 503, the transmitter notifies the receiver of the header information corresponding to the VoIP session. Voice payload (media) are carried over RTP/UDP/IP. The coded speech is carried alongside the payload descriptor in the media/RTP payload. Dual Tone Multi-frequency (DTMF) and Silence Insertion Descriptor (SID) packets are also carried alongside the speech packets. Thus, the overhead includes the RTP/UDP/IP header.] ['] 0065, In step 515, the VoIP client generates a voice packet with uncompressed RTP/UDP/IP information. The UT 111 strips this information from the voice packet, leaving only the voice payload to be transmitted to the SBSS 107 over the satellite link. In this manner, overhead information is eliminated from utilizing precious satellite capacity.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to combine the method of Tacconi with the method of Jong. Doing so would "improve spectrum efficiency, as well as combine the merits of rate adaptation and power control for packet switching voice and data channels in a GEO satellite system. These embodiments apply to a communication network involving geosynchronous satellites." [See Jong, [0005]).
As to claim 4, Tacconi fails to teach, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine if said first number of voice data packets is smaller in case said at least one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is expected to be said silence descriptor packet than in case said at least one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is not expected to be said silence descriptor packet.
However, Jong teaches, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine if said first number of voice data packets is smaller in case said at least one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is expected to be said silence descriptor packet than in case said at least one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is not expected to be said silence descriptor packet. IT 0071, FIG. 7A shows the physical layer assisted approach. In step 701, a unique set of reference symbols (or Unique Words) are used for determining the rate at which voice encoder operated at the transmitter. These reference symbols can also be used to determine whether a received burst carries voice information or non-voice information. In step 703, these reference symbols are transmitted within the physical layer header, thereby negating signaling such information at a higher layer.] IT0062, In step 503, the transmitter notifies the receiver of the header information corresponding to the VoIP session. Voice payload (media) are carried over RTP/UDP/IP. The coded speech is carried alongside the payload descriptor in the media/RTP payload. Dual Tone Multi-frequency (DTMF) and Silence Insertion Descriptor (SID) packets are also carried alongside the speech packets. Thus, the overhead includes the RTP/UDP/IP header.] L9 0065, In step 515, the VoIP client generates a voice packet with uncompressed RTP/UDP/IP information. The UT 111 strips this information from the voice packet, leaving only the voice payload to be transmitted to the SBSS 107 over the satellite link. In this manner, overhead information is eliminated from utilizing precious satellite capacity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to combine the method of Tacconi with the method of Jong. Doing so would "improve spectrum efficiency, as well as combine the merits of rate adaptation and power control for packet switching voice and data channels in a GEO satellite system. These embodiments apply to a communication network involving geosynchronous satellites." [See Jong, [0005]).
As to claim 5, Tacconi teaches, wherein the instructions when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine a third number of data packets based on a fourth number of data packets predicted to accumulate between receipt at the communication endpoint of a grant message preceding a second grant message at said communication endpoint and receipt of said second grant message at said communication endpoint. IT 0033, In step 310, the subscriber station (SS) 120 begins transmitting packets to a base station (BS) 110 at an agreed upon bandwidth. The bandwidth request is based on packets at the subscriber station (SS) that need transmission to the base station. In the alternative, bandwidth request is based on packets at the subscriber station at the time of the bandwidth request and a prediction of the packets that will arrive before the bandwidth grant is received.] and transmit, towards said communication endpoint, said second grant message, said second grant message being indicative of an upload scheduling grant for said third number of data packets. 19 0023, Bandwidth in a radio link is often limited and thus, base station 110, as the managing entity, may control bandwidth utilization. For example, in downlink, base station 110 may analyze the amount of traffic incoming from provider network 180 and schedule it for transmission to destination subscriber stations, preferably in a fair and efficient manner.]
As to claim 7, Tacconi fails to teach, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine said third number of voice data packets based on whether said at least one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is expected to be a silence descriptor packet.
However, Jong teaches, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine said third number of voice data packets based on whether said at least one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is expected to be a silence descriptor packet. [' 0071, FIG. 7A shows the physical layer assisted approach. In step 701, a unique set of reference symbols (or Unique Words) are used for determining the rate at which voice encoder operated at the transmitter. These reference symbols can also be used to determine whether a received burst carries voice information or non-voice information. In step 703, these reference symbols are transmitted within the physical layer header, thereby negating signaling such information at a higher layer.] IT 0062, In step 503, the transmitter notifies the receiver of the header information corresponding to the VoIP session. Voice payload (media) are carried over RTP/UDP/IP. The coded speech is carried alongside the payload descriptor in the media/RTP payload. Dual Tone Multi-frequency (DTMF) and Silence Insertion Descriptor (SID) packets are also carried alongside the speech packets. Thus, the overhead includes the RTP/UDP/IP header.] IT 0065, In step 515, the VoIP client generates a voice packet with uncompressed RTP/UDP/IP information. The UT 111 strips this information from the voice packet, leaving only the voice payload to be transmitted to the SBSS 107 over the satellite link. In this manner, overhead information is eliminated from utilizing precious satellite capacity.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to combine the method of Tacconi with the method of Jong. Doing so would "improve spectrum efficiency, as well as combine the merits of rate adaptation and power control for packet switching voice and data channels in a GEO satellite system. These embodiments apply to a communication network involving geosynchronous satellites." [See Jong, ||0005]).
As to claim 8, Tacconi fails to teach, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine if said third number of voice data packets smaller in case said at least one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is expected to be said silence descriptor packet than in case said at least one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is not expected to be said silence descriptor packet.
However, Jong teaches, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine if said third number of voice data packets smaller in case said at least one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is expected to be said silence descriptor packet than in case said at least one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is not expected to be said silence descriptor packet. IT 0071, FIG. 7A shows the physical layer assisted approach. In step 701, a unique set of reference symbols (or Unique Words) are used for determining the rate at which voice encoder operated at the transmitter. These reference symbols can also be used to determine whether a received burst carries voice information or non-voice information. In step 703, these reference symbols are transmitted within the physical layer header, thereby negating signaling such information at a higher layer.] IT0062, In step 503, the transmitter notifies the receiver of the header information corresponding to the VoIP session. Voice payload (media) are carried over RTP/UDP/IP. The coded speech is carried alongside the payload descriptor in the media/RTP payload. Dual Tone Multi-frequency (DTMF) and Silence Insertion Descriptor (SID) packets are also carried alongside the speech packets. Thus, the overhead includes the RTP/UDP/IP header.] ['] 0065, In step 515, the VoIP client generates a voice packet with uncompressed RTP/UDP/IP information. The UT 111 strips this information from the voice packet, leaving only the voice payload to be transmitted to the SBSS 107 over the satellite link. In this manner, overhead information is eliminated from utilizing precious satellite capacity.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to combine the method of Tacconi with the method of Jong. Doing so would "improve spectrum efficiency, as well as combine the merits of rate adaptation and power control for packet switching voice and data channels in a GEO satellite system. These embodiments apply to a communication network involving geosynchronous satellites." [See Jong, [0005]).
As to claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine said period such that a time interval between accumulating a last of said fourth number of voice data packets predicted to accumulate between receipt of said grant message preceding said second grant message at said communication endpoint and receipt of said second grant message at said communication endpoint and receipt of said second grant message at said communication endpoint is minimized.
Tacconi teaches, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine said period such that a time interval between accumulating a last of said fourth number of data packets predicted to accumulate between receipt of said grant message preceding said second grant message at said communication endpoint and receipt of said second grant message at said communication endpoint and receipt of said second grant message at said communication endpoint is minimized. Section [0011], FIG. 3 is an exemplary diagram of messages exchanged between a subscriber station and a base station in the wireless network in accordance with a possible embodiment of the disclosure;] IT 0033, In step 310, the subscriber station (SS) 120 begins transmitting packets to a base station (BS) 110 at an agreed upon bandwidth. The bandwidth request is based on packets at the subscriber station (SS) that need transmission to the base station. In the alternative, bandwidth request is based on packets at the subscriber station at the time of the bandwidth request and a prediction of the packets that will arrive before the bandwidth grant is received.] IT 0036, The scheduler changes the coefficients or coefficient of a prediction equation according to the difference between the measured delay and the target latency. The scheduler 400 then achieves an average delay equal to the committed latency while minimizing the requested the air-link resources (maximizing utilization).]
As to claim 19, (see claim 1 for amendments) a method comprising receiving, from a communication endpoint, a message indicative of at least one voice data packet to be uploaded via a satellite link, determining, in response to reception of said message, a first number of voice data packets based on a second number of voice data packets, including said at least one voice data packet, predicted to accumulate until receipt of a first grant message at said communication endpoint.
Tacconi teaches, a method comprising receiving, from a communication endpoint, a message indicative of at least one data packet to be uploaded via a link, determining, in response to reception of said message, a first number of data packets based on a second number of data packets, including said at least one data packet, predicted to accumulate until receipt of a first grant message at said communication endpoint. IT 0033, In step 310, the subscriber station (SS) 120 begins transmitting packets to a base station (BS) 110 at an agreed upon bandwidth. The bandwidth request is based on packets at the subscriber station (SS) that need transmission to the base station. In the alternative, bandwidth request is based on packets at the subscriber station at the time of the bandwidth request and a prediction of the packets that will arrive before the bandwidth grant is received.] transmitting, towards said communication endpoint, said first grant message, said first grant message being indicative of an upload scheduling grant for said first number of data packets. I' 0023, Bandwidth in a radio link is often limited and thus, base station 110, as the managing entity, may control bandwidth utilization. For example, in downlink, base station 110 may analyze the amount of traffic incoming from provider network 180 and schedule it for transmission to destination subscriber stations, preferably in a fair and efficient manner.]
Taconni fails to explicitly teach voice data packet being uploaded via satellite link. However, in the similar endeavor, Jong discloses voice data packet being uploaded via satellite link I IT 0055, FIGS. 5A and 5B are, respectively, a flowchart and a ladder diagram of processes for providing spectrally efficient Voice over IP (VoIP) sessions, according to various exemplary embodiments. A key attribute of an all-IP system is that, all services including voice is carried over IP--i.e., Voice over IP or VoIP. That is, encoded voice is transmitted across the satellite system as IP packets.] IT 0059, According to one embodiment, the system 100 provides delivery of media sessions using an IP-based approach. Specifically, the system 100 uses a signaling protocol (e.g., SIP) in conjunction with a standard data packet format (e.g., Real-time Transport Protocol (RTP)) to deliver communication services. More specifically, the signaling protocol is used to establish, modify, and terminate a media session, while the standard data packet format serves as the conduit for carrying audio and video over the system 100.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to combine the method of Tacconi with the method of Jong. Using satellite links are beneficial because "satellite links typically have smaller link margins than terrestrial links for a given user-terminal power amplifier and antenna characteristics; this implies that higher spectral efficiency and power efficiency are needed in satellite links. [See Jong, [0003]). Additionally, 'According to certain embodiments, the following approaches provide link adaptation to maximize the resource utilization of the satellite network: (i) a method to adapt the transmission rate for packet voice and data traffics; (ii) amethod to control the transmit power of packet voice and data channels; and (iii) a method to accomplish the feedback loop in a secured and correct manner. These embodiments improve spectrum efficiency, as well as combine the merits of rate adaptation and power control for packet switching voice and data channels in a GEO satellite system. These embodiments apply to a communication network involving geosynchronous satellites." [See Jong, [0005].
As to claim 20 (see claim 1 and Larsson for amendments), A program storage device readable by an apparatus tangibly embodying a program of instructions executable with the apparatus for performing operations, the operations comprising:
receiving, from a communication endpoint, a message indicative of at least one voice data packet to be uploaded via a satellite link, determining, in response to reception of said message, a first number of voice data packets based on a second number of voice data packets, including said at least one voice data packet, predicted to accumulate until receipt of a first grant message at said communication endpoint, and transmitting, towards said communication endpoint, said first grant message, said first grant message being indicative of an upload scheduling grant for said first number of voice data packets.
Tacconi teaches, tangibly embodying a program of instructions executable with the apparatus for performing operations, the operations comprising: receiving, from a communication endpoint, a message indicative of at least one data packet to be uploaded via a link. ['] 0022, In one implementation, base station 110 sends data to subscriber stations 120-140 in downlink (DL) and receives data from subscriber stations 120-140 in uplink (UL) in the form of radio frames. In one example embodiment, uplink and downlink communications are maintained by sending radio frames at constant, but configurable intervals.]
determining, in response to reception of said message, a first number of data packets
based on a second number of data packets, including said at least one data packet, predicted to
accumulate until receipt of a first grant message at said communication endpoint. IT 0033, In
step 310, the subscriber station (SS) 120 begins transmitting packets to a base station (BS)
110 at an agreed upon bandwidth. The bandwidth request is based on packets at the
subscriber station (SS) that need transmission to the base station. In the alternative,
bandwidth request is based on packets at the subscriber station at the time of the
bandwidth request and a prediction of the packets that will arrive before the bandwidth
grant is received.]
transmitting, towards said communication endpoint, said first grant message, said first
grant message being indicative of an upload scheduling grant for said first number of data
packets. ['] 0023, Bandwidth in a radio link is often limited and thus, base station 110, as the
managing entity, may control bandwidth utilization. For example, in downlink, base station
110 may analyze the amount of traffic incoming from provider network 180 and schedule it
for transmission
Taconni fails to explicitly teach voice data packet being uploaded via satellite link.
However, in the similar endeavor, Jong discloses voice data packet being uploaded via satellite link [' 0055, FIGS. 5A and 5B are, respectively, a flowchart and a ladder diagram of processes for providing spectrally efficient Voice over IP (VoIP) sessions, according to various exemplary embodiments. A key attribute of an all-IP system is that, all services including voice is carried over IP--i.e., Voice over IP or VoIP. That is, encoded voice is transmitted across the satellite system as IP packets.] IT 0059, According to one embodiment, the system 100 provides delivery of media sessions using an IP-based approach. Specifically, the system 100 uses a signaling protocol (e.g., SIP) in conjunction with a standard data packet format (e.g., Real-time Transport Protocol (RTP)) to deliver communication services. More specifically, the signaling protocol is used to establish, modify, and terminate a media session, while the standard data packet format serves as the conduit for carrying audio and video over the system 100.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to combine the method of Tacconi with the method of Jong. Using satellite links are beneficial because "satellite links typically have smaller link margins than terrestrial links for a given user-terminal power amplifier and antenna characteristics; this implies that higher spectral efficiency and power efficiency are needed in satellite links. [See Jong, [0003]). Additionally, "According to certain embodiments, the following approaches provide link adaptation to maximize the resource utilization of the satellite network: (i) a method to adapt the transmission rate for packet voice and data traffics; (ii) a method to control the transmit power of packet voice and data channels; and (iii) a method to accomplish the feedback loop in a secured and correct manner. These embodiments improve spectrum efficiency, as well as combine the merits of rate adaptation and power control for packet switching voice and data channels in a GEO satellite system. These embodiments apply to a communication network involving geosynchronous satellites." [See Jong, [0005].
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Tacconi, Jong and Ravishankar discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: the message comprises a scheduling request for voice data that requests a requested number of packets; and the determining, in response to the scheduling request, determines the first number of voice data packets is greater than the requested number of packets to get caught up with outstanding voice data packets, indicated by the second number of voice data packets, given the delay associated with the satellite link (see Tacconi, T 0033, In step 310, the subscriber station (SS) 120 begins transmitting packets to a base station (BS) 110 at an agreed upon bandwidth. The bandwidth request is based on packets at the subscriber station (SS) that need transmission to the base station. In the alternative, bandwidth request is based on packets at the subscriber station at the time of the bandwidth request and a prediction of the packets that will arrive before the bandwidth grant is received. Also see RAVISHANKAR, [0003],[0100] and Fig. 18).
Motivation to combine is indicated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Tacconi, Jong and Ravishankar discloses the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform transmitting, after transmitting the first grant message, periodic grants that are timed to arrive at the communication endpoint after voice traffic is available at the communication endpoint but before an uplink response is received by the apparatus from the communication endpoint (see Tacconi, 1 0033, In step 310, the subscriber station (SS) 120 begins transmitting packets to a base station (BS) 110 at an agreed upon bandwidth. The bandwidth request is based on packets at the subscriber station (SS) that need transmission to the base station. In the alternative, bandwidth request is based on packets at the subscriber station at the time of the bandwidth request and a prediction of the packets that will arrive before the bandwidth grant is received. Also see RAVISHANKAR, [0003][0100] and Fig. 18).
Motivation to combine is indicated in claim 1.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tacconi et
al. (US 20090147737, hereinafter Tacconi et al.) in view of Jong et al. (US 20120307721,
hereinafter Jong et al.) and Ravishankar, in further view of Padovani et al. (US 7079550,
hereinafter Padovani et al.).
As to claim 9, Tacconi and Jong fail to teach, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to measure a first timing of said receiving said message, and determine a second timing of said transmitting said second grant message based on said first timing.
However, Padovani teaches, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to measure a first timing of said receiving said message, and determine a second timing of said transmitting said second grant message based on said first timing. IT 51, In the exemplary embodiment, mobile station 6 transmits the requested data rate, in the form of a DRC message, to base station 4 on the DRC channel. In the alternative embodiment, mobile station 6 transmits an indication of the quality of the forward link channel (e.g., the C/I measurement) to base station 4. In the exemplary embodiment, the 3-bit DRC message is decoded with soft decisions by base station 4. In the exemplary embodiment, the DRC message is transmitted within the first half of each time slot. Base station 4 then has the remaining half of the time slot to decode the DRC message and configure the hardware for data transmission at the next successive time slot, if that time slot is available for data transmission to this mobile station 6. If the next successive time slot is not available, base station 4 waits for the next available time slot and continues to monitor the DRC channel for the new DRC messages.] IT 66, In both of these cases, when one base station 4 is transmitting to one mobile station 6, the mobile station 6 is able to accurately measure the C/I of the forward link signal because no other interfering signals are present. However, when mobile station 6 is in soft handoff and receives the pilot signals from multiple base stations 4, mobile station 6 is not able to discern whether or not base stations 4 were transmitting data. In the worst case scenario, mobile station 6 can measure a high C/I at a first time slot, when no base stations 4 were transmitting data to any mobile station 6, and receive data transmission at a second time slot, when all base stations 4 are transmitting data at the same time slot. The C/I measurement at the first time slot, when all base stations 4 are idle, gives a false indication of the forward link signal quality at the second time slot since the status of the data communication system has changed. In fact, the actual C/I at the second time slot can be degraded to the point that reliable decoding at the requested data rate is not possible.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to combine the method of Tacconi and Jong with the method of Padovani. Doing so would "improve utilization of the forward and reverse link capacity in the data communication system." [See Padovani, 1 (20)]
As to claim 10, Tacconi and Jong fail to teach, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine a period between transmitting said grant message preceding said second grant message and said transmitting said second grant message, wherein said second timing is determined based on said period.
However, Padovani teaches, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine a period between transmitting said grant message preceding said second grant message and said transmitting said second grant message, wherein said second timing is determined based on said period. IT 51. In the exemplary embodiment, mobile station 6 transmits the requested data rate, in the form of a DRC message, to base station 4 on the DRC channel. In the alternative embodiment, mobile station 6 transmits an indication of the quality of the forward link channel (e.g., the C/I measurement) to base station 4. In the exemplary embodiment, the 3-bit DRC message is decoded with soft decisions by base station 4. In the exemplary embodiment, the DRC message is transmitted within the first half of each time slot. Base station 4 then has the remaining half of the time slot to decode the DRC message and configure the hardware for data transmission at the next successive time slot, if that time slot is available for data transmission to this mobile station 6. If the next successive time slot is not available, base station 4 waits for the next available time slot and continues to monitor the DRC channel for the new DRC messages.] IT 89, The content of each frame is determined by the scheduling performed by the transmitting base station 4. In the exemplary embodiment, each frame comprises 16 time slots, with each time slot having a duration of 1.667 msec. A time slot of 1.667 msec is adequate to enable mobile station 6 to perform the C/I measurement of the forward link signal. A time slot of 1.667 msec also represents a sufficient amount of time for efficient packet data transmission. In the exemplary embodiment, each time slot is further partitioned into four-quarter slots.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to combine the method of Tacconi and Jong with the method of Padovani. Doing so would "improve utilization of the forward and reverse link capacity in the data communication system." [See Padovani, 1 (20)]
Claims 2, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claim 1, in further view of Andreozzi et al. (US 20130028220, hereinafter Andreozzi et al.).
As to claim 2, Taconni and Jong fail to teach, wherein at least one of said first number of voice data packets is equal to said second number of voice data packets, or the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine said first number of voice data packets based on a prediction accuracy of silence descriptor packets, or the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine said first number of voice data packets based on a weighing of voice delay and resource wasting.
However, Andreozzi teaches, wherein at least one of said first number of voice data packets is equal to said second number of voice data packets, or the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine said first number of voice data packets based on a prediction accuracy of silence descriptor packets, or the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine said first number of voice data packets based on a weighing of voice delay and resource wasting. IT 0125, In this example, assuming a CBR on/off flow, proactive scheduling would yield a benefit in terms of delay for each packet in a talkspurt except the first one. In fact, the beginning of a talkspurt can only be detected by looking at the SI (i.e., reactively), so that the first packet actually has a higher delay (3.5 TTI on average) than the rest. Likewise, since the onset of a silence period can only be detected reactively, i.e. through a mismatch between the VQ and
the SI, an SG will be wasted at the end of each talkspurt (unless the UE has lower priority traffic to send). Given that the average number of voice packets in a talkspurt is rather large, and that the SG required for servicing a voice packet is normally small, this results in a negligible waste of cell capacity. Obviously, channel conditions may be taken into account for scheduling decisions. In that case, being proactive increases by two (i.e., the number of TTIs in the signaling delay) the number of scheduling opportunities for a packet, thus possibly allowing for a better exploitation of the variable channel characteristics.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to combine the method of Tacconi and Jong
with the method of Andreozzi. Doing so would provide "a "clever" scheduling solution computes
the SG based on the SI reported by the UEs, thus dispensing with the risk of issuing overlength
SGs and undesirably wasting resources and reducing the number of UEs that can be served in a
TTI." [See Andreozzi, I 0019]
As to claim 15, Taconni and Jong fail to teach, wherein the instructions, when executed
with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to receive said scheduled first number of voice data packets, and evaluate whether a first packet of said first number of voice data packets is a silence descriptor packet.
However, Andreozz teaches, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to receive said scheduled first number of voice data packets, and evaluate whether a first packet of said first number of voice data packets is a silence descriptor packet. IT 0120, A condition used to detect the generation of a packet may be an increase in the reported SI. This means that one may implicitly assume that, during a silence period, the UE queue can be drained sufficiently, so that there is no ambiguity in the detection of the first packet. Such assumptions are reasonable, since the duration of a silence period is considerably larger than the packet period and the ambiguous region starts when there are several (e.g., more than 5) packets in the queue. Similarly, the onset of a silence period is detected through mismatch between the SI and the VQ length.] IT0121, As already shown previously, the signaling delay associated to SI reporting and SG scheduling amounts to at least two TTIs, assuming that at time T.sub.k+1 the NodeB can issue a SG which takes into account the SI sent by the UE at time T.sub.k. The latter is unavoidable if reactive SG scheduling is used, even if an UE queue is always emptied right after each non-zero SI report.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to combine the method of Tacconi and Jong with the method of Andreozzi. Doing so would "provide an improved solution enabling i.e. a more refined queue estimation, with the possibility of proactive scheduling. [See Andreozzi, 1 0008]
As to claim 16, Taconni and Jong fail to teach, wherein in relation to said evaluating, the
instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to compare a size
of said first packet of said first number of voice data packets with a predetermined size, decide that said first packet of said first number of voice data packets is said silence descriptor packet, if said size of said first packet of said first number of voice data packets is smaller than said predetermined size, and decide that said first packet of said first number of voice data packets is not said silence descriptor packet, if said size of said first packet of said first number of voice data packets is equal to or larger than said predetermined size.
However, Andreozz teaches, wherein in relation to said evaluating, the instructions, when
executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to compare a size of said first packet of said first number of voice data packets with a predetermined size, decide that said first packet of said first number of voice data packets is said silence descriptor packet, if said size of said first packet of said first number of voice data packets is smaller than said predetermined size, and decide that said first packet of said first number of voice data packets is not said silence descriptor packet, if said size of said first packet of said first number of voice data packets is equal to or larger than said predetermined size. IT 0021, In so far as real-time traffic is concerned, periodic traffic may play a relevant role. For instance, voice flows have a periodic packet generation behavior: they alternate "on" periods (talkspurts), when they generate fixed-length packets with a constant interarrival time (e.g., 20 S for the AMR codec), and--if they have Voice Activity Detection (VAD), as it normally happens--"off" or silence periods, when they either do not generate packets at all, or generate smaller packets. IT 0026, In various embodiments, proactive scheduling can coexist with standard (reactive) scheduling of non-periodic or poorly predictable uplink flows, and can be turned on and off at will on the same flow, depending on whether a reliable estimate of the packet generation instants is available or not. 0125, Likewise, since the onset of a silence period can only be detected reactively, i.e. through a mismatch between the VQ and the SI, an SG will be wasted at the end of each talkspurt (unless the UE has lower priority traffic to send). Given that the average number of voice packets in a talkspurt is rather large, and that the SG required for servicing a voice packet is normally small, this results in a negligible waste of cell capacity.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to combine the method of Tacconi and Jong
with the method of Andreozzi. Doing so would "provide an improved solution enabling i.e. a more refined queue estimation, with the possibility of proactive scheduling." [See Andreozzi, 1 0008].
As to claim 17, Taconni and Jong fail to teach, wherein the instructions, when executed
with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to set a talk state of said communication
endpoint to active, if said first packet of said first number of voice data packets is not said silence
descriptor packet, and optionally set said talk state of said communication endpoint to inactive, if
no voice activity is received from said communication endpoint for a predetermined period.
However, Andreozz teaches, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to set a talk state of said communication endpoint to active, if said first packet of said first number of voice data packets is not said silence descriptor packet, and optionally set said talk state of said communication endpoint to inactive, if no voice activity is received from said communication endpoint for a predetermined period. IT 0021, In so far as real-time traffic is concerned, periodic traffic may play a relevant role. For instance, voice flows have a periodic packet generation behavior: they alternate "on" periods (talkspurts), when they generate fixed-length packets with a constant interarrival time (e.g., 20 S for the AMR codec), and-if they have Voice Activity Detection (VAD), as it normally happens--"off" or silence periods, when they either do not generate packets at all, or generate smaller packets. IT 0026, In various embodiments, proactive scheduling can coexist with standard (reactive) scheduling of non-periodic or poorly predictable uplink flows, and can be turned on and off at will on the same flow, depending on whether a reliable estimate of the packet generation instants is available or not.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to combine the method of Tacconi and Jong with the method of Andreozzi. Doing so would "provide an improved solution enabling i.e. a more refined queue estimation, with the possibility of proactive scheduling." [See Andreozzi, T 0008]
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Nirwani et al. (US 20200137623, hereinafter Nirwani et al.)
As to claim 12, Taconni and Jong fail to teach, wherein the instructions, when executed
with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine whether said at least one voice
data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is expected to be said silence descriptor packet based on whether a preceding message indicative of at least one voice data packet to be uploaded via said satellite link is received a predetermined period before said receiving said message.
However, Nirwani teaches, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine whether said at least one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is expected to be said silence descriptor packet based on whether a preceding message indicative of at least one voice data packet to be uploaded via said satellite link is received a predetermined period before said receiving said message. [ ] 0090, Example six may include the subject matter of example one or any of the examples described herein, wherein the one or more baseband processors are to generate a Silence Indicator Description (SID) frame to be sent from the UE to the remote UE prior to sending one or more non-voice data packets to the remote UE during a silence period of the UE. Example seven may include the subject matter of example one or any of the examples described herein, wherein the voice call comprises a Voice over Long Term Evolution (VoLTE) call, an Internet Protocol (IP) telephony call, an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) call, or a Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) call, or a combination thereof. Example eight may include the subject matter of example one or any of the examples described herein, wherein the non-voice data comprises message data, location data, or time data, or a combination thereof.] IT 0053, The RAN 510 can include one or more access nodes that enable the connections 503 and 504. These access nodes (ANs) can be referred to as base stations (BSs), NodeBs, evolved NodeBs (eNBs), next Generation NodeBs (gNB), RAN nodes, and so forth, and can comprise ground stations
(e.g., terrestrial access points) or satellite stations providing coverage within a geographic area (e.g., a cell).] IT 0054, Any of the RAN nodes 511 and 512 can terminate the air interface protocol and can be the first point of contact for the UEs 501 and 502. In some embodiments, any of the RAN nodes 511 and 512 can fulfill various logical functions for the RAN 510 including, but not limited to, radio network controller (RNC) functions such as radio bearer management, uplink and downlink dynamic radio resource management and data packet scheduling, and mobility management.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to combine the method of Tacconi and Jong with the method of Nirwani. Doing so would improve "a voice call using an Internet Protocol (IP) Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) network, for example a Voice over Long Term Evolution (VoLTE) call, dedicated allocated bandwidth can be better utilized during silence periods to exchange useful information from end user. In a VoLTE call, the network allocates dedicated bandwidth for the voice call. [See Nirwani, [0001]
As to claim 13, Taconni and Jong fail to teach, wherein in relation to said determining whether said at least one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is expected to be said silence descriptor packet, the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to decide that said at least one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is expected to be said silence descriptor packet, if said preceding message indicative of at least one voice data packet to be uploaded via said satellite link is received said predetermined period before said receiving said message.
However, Nirwani teaches, wherein in relation to said determining whether said at least
one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is expected to be said silence descriptor packet, the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to decide that said at least one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is expected to be said silence descriptor packet, if said preceding message indicative of at least one voice data packet to be uploaded via said satellite link is received said predetermined period before said receiving said message. IT 0090, Example six may include the subject matter of example one or any of the examples described herein, wherein the one or more baseband processors are to generate a Silence Indicator Description (SID) frame to be sent from the UE to the remote UE prior to sending one or more non-voice data packets to the remote UE during a silence period of the UE. Example seven may include the subject matter of example one or any of the examples
described herein, wherein the voice call comprises a Voice over Long Term Evolution (VoLTE) call, an Internet Protocol (IP) telephony call, an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) call, or a Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) call, or a combination thereof. Example eight may include the subject matter of example one or any of the examples described herein, wherein the non-voice data comprises message data, location data, or time data, or a combination thereof.] IT 0053, The RAN 510 can include one or more access nodes that enable the connections 503 and 504. These access nodes (ANs) can be referred to as base stations (BSs), NodeBs, evolved NodeBs (eNBs), next Generation NodeBs (gNB), RAN nodes, and so forth, and can comprise ground stations (e.g., terrestrial access points) or satellite stations providing coverage within a geographic area (e.g., a cell).] IT 0054, Any of the RAN nodes 511 and 512 can terminate the air interface protocol and can be the first point of contact for the UEs 501 and 502. In some embodiments, any of the RAN nodes 511 and 512 can fulfill various logical functions for the RAN 510 including, but not limited to, radio network controller (RNC) functions such as radio bearer management, uplink and downlink dynamic radio resource management and data packet scheduling,
and mobility management.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to combine the method of Tacconi and Jong with the method of Nirwani. Doing so would improve "a voice call using an Internet Protocol (IP) Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) network, for example a Voice over Long Term Evolution (VoLTE) call, dedicated allocated bandwidth can be better utilized during silence periods to exchange useful information from end user. In a VoLTE call, the network allocates dedicated bandwidth for the voice call. [See Nirwani, T 0001].
As to claim 14, Taconni and Jong fail to teach, wherein in relation to said determining whether said at least one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is expected to be said silence descriptor packet, the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to decide that said at least one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is not expected to be a silence descriptor packet, if said preceding message indicative of at least one voice data packet to be uploaded via said satellite link is not received said predetermined period before said receiving said message.
However, Nirwani teaches, wherein in relation to said determining whether said at least
one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is expected to be said silence descriptor packet, the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to decide that said at least one voice data packet indicated with said message as to be uploaded via said satellite link is not expected to be a silence descriptor packet, if said preceding message indicative of at least one voice data packet to be uploaded via said satellite link is not received said predetermined period before said receiving said message. IT 0019, At that point, the VoLTE call may proceed with the first user, the user of UE 110, speaking to the second user, the user of UE 110 While the first user is speaking at operation 126, real-time transport protocol (RTP) packets 124 may be sent
from UE 110 to UE 118. Next, at operation 128 the first user is listening to the second user, but the first user is not speaking. If the header p-use-silence period is configured in the call invite, as discussed in more detail with respect to FIG. 2 below, then an RTP packets Silence Indicator Description (SID) frame may be sent from UE 110 to UE 118 during operation 128.] IT 0053, The RAN 510 can include one or more access nodes that enable the connections 503 and 504. These access nodes (ANs) can be referred to as base stations (BSs), NodeBs, evolved NodeBs (eNBs), next Generation NodeBs (gNB), RAN nodes, and so forth, and can comprise ground stations (e.g., terrestrial access points) or satellite stations
providing coverage within a geographic area (e.g., a cell).] [T 0054, Any of the RAN nodes 511 and 512 can terminate the air interface protocol and can be the first point of contact for the UEs 501 and 502. In some embodiments, any of the RAN nodes 511 and 512 can fulfill various logical functions for the RAN 510 including, but not limited to, radio network controller (RNC) functions such as radio bearer management, uplink and downlink dynamic radio resource management and data packet scheduling, and mobility management.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to combine the method of Tacconi and Jong with the method of Nirwani. Doing so would improve "a voice call using an Internet Protocol (IP) Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) network, for example a Voice over Long Term Evolution (VoLTE) call, dedicated allocated bandwidth can be better utilized during silence periods to exchange useful information from end user. In a VoLTE call, the network allocates dedicated bandwidth for the voice call. [See Nirwani, 1 0001].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are now moot because of the new grounds of rejection. As described above Larsson is added to more explicitly teach determining uplink grants based on the number of packets estimated/predicted to accumulate.
/STEVEN S KELLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646