DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 1-21 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim 22 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 16 and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In last two line of claim 1, “wherein calibration data comprises S-parameters that are specific to the coaxial cable and that are based on one or more bends in the coaxial cable” should be changed to “wherein calibration data comprises S-parameters
In line 4 of claim 1, “a flexible printed circuit” should be changed to “a flexible printed circuit board”.
In line 5 of claim 1, “the flexible printed circuit” should be changed to “the flexible printed circuit board”.
In lines 1-2 of claim 5, “the flexible printed circuit” should be changed to “the flexible printed circuit board”.
In lines 1-2 of claim 16, “the flexible printed circuit” should be changed to “the flexible printed circuit board”.
In line 7 of claim 24, “the flexible printed circuit” should be changed to “the flexible printed circuit board”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 4-7, 9-10 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2014/0377989), and further in view of Iannotti et al. (US 2017/0039402), Qi et al. (US 2014/0154921) and Jin et al. (US 2011/0313708) and Shioiri et al. (US 2006/0164066).
Regarding independent claim 1, Yang teaches a cable assembly (e.g. fig. 7, [0017], abstract, cable assembly 300) comprising:
a coaxial cable (e.g. fig. 7, [0017], coaxial cable 302);
a layer (e.g. fig. 7, [0020], housing 304 has a layer) encasing at least part of the coaxial cable (e.g. fig. 7, [0020], abstract, housing 304 holds and aligns the coaxial cable 302); and
wherein the coaxial cable is configured to transmit radio frequency (RF) signals (e.g. fig. 7, [0020], radio frequency signal to travel through coaxial cable 302 of cable assembly 300, it is obvious and logical to have a RF signal send from test and measurement instrument and a corresponding RF signal send from the DUT for the purpose of allowing the test system to communicate between the Test and measurement instrument 702 and the DUT 700 using RF signals).
However, Yang is silent with regard to the memory storing calibration data for the coaxial cable.
Iannotti teaches memory (e.g. fig. 2, [0028], memory 214) on, or in contact with, a layer (e.g. fig. fig. 2, [0028], housing 212 has a layer including memory 214, it is obvious and logical to attached on or in contact with the layer of the housing 212 because attaching the memory 214 to the housing 212 preventing the memory 214 from moving inside the housing 212 which preventing potential electrical and/or physical damage of the memory), the memory being storing calibration data (e.g. fig. 2, [0028], calibration data is read from memory 214, and the calibration data is being stored in the memory 214 first before reading the calibration data) for a coaxial cable (e.g. fig. 2, [0028], this is intended used, coaxial wiring 222).
It would produce a predictive result of including a memory to storage calibration data for the coaxial cable by manufacturer so that calibration data may be ready for further interpretation (e.g. Iannotti, [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Yang by applying the teaching of Iannotti to explicitly have the memory storing calibration data for the coaxial cable, for the purpose of storing calibration data by manufacturer so that calibration data may be ready for further interpretation (e.g. Iannotti, [0022]).
However, combination of Yang and Iannotti is silent with regard to a flexible printed circuit comprising memory and one or more wires for at least one of communication with, or power to, the memory, the flexible printed circuit board being at least partially encased by the layer.
Qi teaches a printed circuit comprising memory (e.g. fig. 2, [0023], printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 103 comprising a first IC chip 131 and a microcontroller unit (MCU) as a second IC chip 132 where the microcontroller unit (MCU) is a type of processor which has memory) and one or more wires for at least one of communication with, or power to, the integrated circuit (IC) chip (e.g. fig. 2, [0024], power wires 301B and 304B connect to PCBA to provide power to the microcontroller unit (MCU) of PCBA), the printed circuit board being at least partially encased by a layer (e.g. figs 1-2, [0029], PCBA 103 at least partially encased by wire holder 104 as layer).
It would produce a predictable result of install the memory a printed circuit to receive power via wires on the printed circuit to increasing cable bandwidth (e.g. Qi, [0003]) and/or improving data transmission efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Yang and Iannotti by applying the teaching of Qi to explicitly have the memory storing calibration data for the coaxial cable, for the purpose of a printed circuit comprising memory and one or more wires for at least one of communication with, or power to, the memory, the printed circuit board being at least partially encased by the layer, for the purpose of increasing cable bandwidth (e.g. Qi, [0003]) and/or improving data transmission efficiency.
However, combination of Yang, Iannotti and Qi is silent with regard to the printed circuit being a flexible printed circuit.
Jin taches a printed circuit being a flexible printed circuit (e.g. fig. 4, [0036], flexible printed circuits 36’).
It would provide a predictable of using flexible printed circuit instead of a general printed circuit, for the purpose having an ability to flex during assembly and/or conform to a desired shape within housing layer (e.g. Jin, [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Yang, Iannotti and Qi by applying the teaching of Jin to have the printed circuit being a flexible printed circuit, for the purpose of having an ability to flex during assembly and/or conform to a desired shape within housing layer (e.g. Jin, [0036]).
However, combination of Yang, Iannotti, Qi and Jin is silent with regard to wherein the calibration data comprises S-parameters that are specific to the coaxial cable and that are based on one or more bends in the coaxial cable.
Shioiri teaches calibration data comprises S-parameter that is specific to a coaxial cable and that are based on one or more bends in the coaxial cable (e.g. fig. 3, [0039], calibrations using data having scattering parameter specific to coaxial cable 107 and based on bending of coaxial cable 107 as shown in fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Yang, Iannotti and Qi and Jin by applying the teaching of Shioiri to have wherein the calibration data comprises S-parameters that are specific to the coaxial cable and that are based on one or more bends in the coaxial cable, for the purpose of determining delay time more accurately (e.g. Shioiri, [0052]) and/or making high precision measurement (e.g. Shioiri, [0054]).
Regarding claim 2, combination of Yang, Iannotti, Qi and Jin teaches wherein the layer is configured to protect the coaxial cable from alteration or damage (e.g. Yang, fig. 7, coaxial cable 302 is inside housing 304; as result, housing 304 protects coaxial cable 302 from alteration or damage).
Regarding claim 4, combination of Yang, Iannotti, Qi and Jin teaches wherein the layer is configured to prevent the coaxial cable from bending (e.g. Yang, fig. 7, coaxial cable 302 is inside housing 304; as result, housing 304 prevents coaxial cable 302 from bending).
Regarding claim 5, combination of Yang, Iannotti, and Qi is silent with regard to wherein the flexible printed circuit board is around the coaxial cable.
Jin teaches the flexible printed circuit board is able to bend around a coaxial cable (e.g. fig. 2, [0036]-[0037], flexible printed circuits 26 is in roll bend around circular structure 28; therefore, the flexible printed circuit as taught by Qi is able to bend around a coaxial cable).
It would produce a predictable result of bending the flexible printed circuit board bend around the coaxial cable, for the purpose of maximize circuit surface while minimizing cable housing layer that houses the flexible printed circuit and/or maximize curvature of the printed circuit without damaging circuit elements on flexible printed circuit board.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Yang, Iannotti and Qi by applying the teaching of Jin to have wherein the flexible printed circuit board is around the coaxial cable, for the purpose of maximize circuit surface while minimizing cable housing layer that houses the flexible printed circuit and/or maximize curvature of the printed circuit without damaging circuit elements on flexible printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 6, combination of Yang, Iannotti, Qi and Jin teaches further comprising: one or more contacts connected to the memory (e.g. Iannotti, fig. 2, coxial connector 218 connects to memory 214), the memory being readable via the one or mare contacts (e.g. Iannotti, fig. 2, [0022], sensor reader reads calibration data from memory 214).
Regarding claim 7, combination of Yang, Iannotti, Qi and Jin teaches further comprising: one or more wires (e.g. Iannotti, fig. 2-3, wire connected to power/interrogation terminal 320 of memory for supplying power and transmit data signals) for supplying power and signals (e.g. this is intended use, Iannotti, fig. 2-3, wire connected to power/interrogation terminal 320 of memory for supplying power and transmit data signals) for data transmission (e.g. this is intended use, Iannotti, fig. 2-3, wire connected to power/interrogation terminal 320 of memory for supplying power and transmit data signals), the layer being over the one or more wires (e.g. Iannotti, fig. 2, memory 214 is inside housing that covers the wire connected to the memory).
Regarding claim 9, combination of Yang, Iannotti, Qi and Jin teaches wherein the memory comprises a read-only memory device or a read-write memory device (e.g. Iannotti, [0028], memory 214 stores calibration data and calibration data is read from memory 214; e.g. Iannotti, [0019], programmable ready-only memory).
Regarding claim 10, combination of Yang, Iannotti, Qi and Jin teaches wherein the memory comprises an electrically erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM) (e.g. Iannotti, [0019], claim 4 of Iannotti, electrically erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM)).
Regarding independent claim 24, Yang teaches a test system (e.g. fig. 7, [0025], a system testing DUT 700) comprising: one or more test instruments for performing testing (e.g. fig. 7, [0025], test and measurement instrument 702) on a device under test (DUT) by transmitting signals to the DUT (e.g. fig. 7, [0025], testing DUT 700 by transmitting signals to DUT 700) using a cable assembly (e.g. fig. 7, [0017], abstract, using cable assembly 300) comprising:
a coaxial cable (e.g. fig. 7, [0017], coaxial cable 302);
a layer (e.g. fig. 7, [0020], housing 304 has a layer) encasing at least part of the coaxial cable (e.g. fig. 7, [0020], abstract, housing 304 holds and aligns the coaxial cable 302); and
wherein the coaxial cable is configured to transmit radio frequency (RF) signals (e.g. fig. 7, [0020], radio frequency signal to travel through coaxial cable 302 of cable assembly 300, it is obvious and logical to have a RF signal send from test and measurement instrument and a corresponding RF signal send from the DUT for the purpose of allowing the test system to communicate between the Test and measurement instrument 702 and the DUT 700 using RF signals).
However, Yang is silent with regard to the memory storing calibration data for the coaxial cable; and one or more processing devices to perform operations comprising reading the calibration data from the memory.
Iannotti teaches memory (e.g. fig. 2, [0028], memory 214) on, or in contact with, a layer (e.g. fig. fig. 2, [0028], housing 212 has a layer including memory 214, it is obvious and logical to attached on or in contact with the layer of the housing 212 because attaching the memory 214 to the housing 212 preventing the memory 214 from moving inside the housing 212 which preventing potential electrical and/or physical damage of the memory), the memory being storing calibration data (e.g. fig. 2, [0028], calibration data is read from memory 214, and the calibration data is being stored in the memory 214 first before reading the calibration data) for a coaxial cable (e.g. fig. 2, [0028], this is intended used, coaxial wiring 222); and
one or more processing devices to perform operations comprising reading the calibration data from the memory (e.g. fig. 2, [0029], sensor reader 210 reading calibration data from memory 214).
It would produce a predictive result of including a memory to storage calibration data for the coaxial cable by manufacturer so that calibration data may be ready for further interpretation (e.g. Iannotti, [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Yang by applying the teaching of Iannotti to explicitly have the memory storing calibration data for the coaxial cable; and one or more processing devices to perform operations comprising reading the calibration data from the memory, for the purpose of storing calibration data by manufacturer so that calibration data may be ready for further interpretation (e.g. Iannotti, [0022]).
However, combination of Yang and Iannotti is silent with regard to a flexible printed circuit comprising memory and one or more wires for at least one of communication with, or power to, the memory, the flexible printed circuit board being at least partially encased by the layer.
Qi teaches a printed circuit comprising memory (e.g. fig. 2, [0023], printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 103 comprising a first IC chip 131 and a microcontroller unit (MCU) as a second IC chip 132 where the microcontroller unit (MCU) is a type of processor which has memory) and one or more wires for at least one of communication with, or power to, the integrated circuit (IC) chip (e.g. fig. 2, [0024], power wires 301B and 304B connect to PCBA to provide power to the microcontroller unit (MCU) of PCBA), the printed circuit board being at least partially encased by a layer (e.g. figs 1-2, [0029], PCBA 103 at least partially encased by wire holder 104 as layer).
It would produce a predictable result of install the memory a printed circuit to receive power via wires on the printed circuit to increasing cable bandwidth (e.g. Qi, [0003]) and/or improving data transmission efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Yang and Iannotti by applying the teaching of Qi to explicitly have the memory storing calibration data for the coaxial cable, for the purpose of a printed circuit comprising memory and one or more wires for at least one of communication with, or power to, the memory, the printed circuit board being at least partially encased by the layer, for the purpose of increasing cable bandwidth (e.g. Qi, [0003]) and/or improving data transmission efficiency.
However, combination of Yang, Iannotti and Qi is silent with regard to the printed circuit being a flexible printed circuit.
Jin taches a printed circuit being a flexible printed circuit (e.g. fig. 4, [0036], flexible printed circuits 36’).
It would provide a predictable of using flexible printed circuit instead of a general printed circuit, for the purpose having an ability to flex during assembly and/or conform to a desired shape within housing layer (e.g. Jin, [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Yang, Iannotti and Qi by applying the teaching of Jin to have the printed circuit being a flexible printed circuit, for the purpose of having an ability to flex during assembly and/or conform to a desired shape within housing layer (e.g. Jin, [0036]).
However, combination of Yang, Iannotti, Qi and Jin is silent with regard to the calibration data comprising S-parameters associated with the coaxial cable; wherein at least one of phases or amplitudes of the signals is based on the calibration data.
Shioisi teaches calibration data comprising S-parameters associated with a coaxial cable (e.g. fig. 3, [0039], calibrations using data having scattering parameter specific to coaxial cable 107); wherein at least one of phase or amplitude of a signal is based on the calibration data (e.g. fig. 2, [0039], perform the calibration to determine amplitude of a signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Yang, Iannotti and Qi and Jin by applying the teaching of Shioiri to have the calibration data comprising S-parameters associated with the coaxial cable; wherein at least one of phases or amplitudes of the signals is based on the calibration data, for the purpose of determining delay time more accurately (e.g. Shioiri, [0052]) and/or making high precision measurement (e.g. Shioiri, [0054]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2014/0377989) in view of Iannotti et al. (US 2017/0039402), Qi et al. (US 2014/0154921), Jin et al. (US 2011/0313708) and Shioiri et al. (US 2006/0164066), and further in view of Taylor (US 3568128 A).
Regarding claim 3, combination of Yang, Iannotti, Qi, Jin and Shioiri is silent with regard to wherein the layer comprises plastic.
However, Taylor teaches a layer comprises plastic (e.g. fig. 1, abstract, column 2: lines 37-40, plastic housing having sections 11 and 12).
It would produce a predictive result of using plastic material to make the housing as taught by the combination of Yang, Iannotti, Qi and Jin, for the purpose of reducing cost and weight of the housing and/or preventing electric shorting.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Yang, Iannotti, Qi, Jin and Shioiri by applying the teaching of Taylor to explicitly have wherein the layer comprises plastic, for the purpose of reducing cost and weight of the housing and/or preventing electric shorting.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2014/0377989) in view of Iannotti et al. (US 2017/0039402), Qi et al. (US 2014/0154921), Jin et al. (US 2011/0313708) and Shioiri et al. (US 2006/0164066), and further in view of Montena et al. (CN 101919120 A).
Regarding claim 8, combination of Yang, Iannotti, Qi and Jin, Shioiri is silent with regard to wherein the memory is configured to enable reading over a wireless connection.
However, Montena teaches a memory is configured to enable reading over a wireless connection (e.g. figs. 4-5, [0043], [0050] and [0055], memory stores parameter status ready by wireless handheld device 400b via wireless communication 2b).
It would produce a predictive result of reading data from the memory by a wireless handheld device, for the purpose of allowing a use to view data from the memory without physical electrical wire communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Yang, Iannotti, Qi, Jin and Shioiri by applying the teaching of Montena to explicitly have wherein the memory is configured to enable reading over a wireless connection, for the purpose of allowing a use to view data from the memory without physical electrical wire communications.
Claims 12-13, 15, 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzger (US 2011/0238383), and further in view of Yang (US 2014/0377989), Iannotti et al. (US 2017/0039402).
Regarding independent claim 12, Metzger teaches a system for testing a device under test (DUT) (e.g. figs. 1-2, [0022], a system having a test configuration 10), the system comprising:
a coaxial cable connected to a device interface board (DIB) and configured to carry signals between a test instrument and the DUT (e.g. fig. 1, each connector of evaluation 14 is capable of connecting corresponding coaxial cable 11 for carrying signals between vector network analyzer (VNA) 12 and corresponding ports of DUT 18),
and to apply the calibration data to one or more radio frequency (RF) signals transmitted over the coaxial cable (e.g. [0022-0023], “Typically, the VNA will be calibrated at the cable ends, to correct scattering parameter measurements for errors introduced by the coaxial cable 11 and the VNA 12.", [0003]: “Vector Network Analyzers (VNAs) are radiofrequency (RF) measurement systems used to determine the scattering parameters (commonly referred to as “Sparameters”) of a device under test (DUT).).
However, Metzger is silent with regard to cable assemblies, and at least one of the cable assemblies comprising:
the coaxial cable; and
a layer encasing at least part of the coaxial cable.
Yang teaches a cable assembly (e.g. fig. 7, [0017], abstract, cable assembly 300) comprising:
a coaxial cable (e.g. fig. 7, [0017], coaxial cable 302);
a layer (e.g. fig. 7, [0020], housing 304 has a layer) encasing at least part of the coaxial cable (e.g. fig. 7, [0020], abstract, housing 304 holds and aligns the coaxial cable 302);
It would produce a predictive result of using cable assemblies made in view of Yang to connect the vector network analyzer (VNA) 12 and corresponding ports of DUT 18 of Metzger, for the purpose of protecting cables form high frequency electrostatic damage (e.g. Yang, [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Metzger by applying the teaching of Yang to explicitly have cable assemblies, and at least one of the cable assemblies comprising: the coaxial cable; and a layer encasing at least part of the coaxial cable, for the purpose of protecting cables form high frequency electrostatic damage (e.g. Yang, [0002]).
However, combination of Metzger and Yang is silent with regard to
memory on, or in contact with, the layer, the memory storing calibration data for the coaxial cable; and
one or more processing devices configured to read the calibration data from the memory.
Iannotti teaches memory (e.g. fig. 2, [0028], memory 214) on, or in contact with, a layer (e.g. fig. fig. 2, [0028], housing 212 has a layer including memory 214, it is obvious and logical to attached on or in contact with the layer of the housing 212 because attaching the memory 214 to the housing 212 preventing the memory 214 from moving inside the housing 212 which preventing potential electrical and/or physical damage of the memory), the memory being storing calibration data (e.g. fig. 2, [0028], calibration data is read from memory 214, and the calibration data is being stored in the memory 214 first before reading the calibration data) for a coaxial cable (e.g. fig. 2, [0028], this is intended used, coaxial wiring 222); and
one or more processing devices to perform operations comprising reading the calibration data from the memory (e.g. fig. 2, [0029], sensor reader 210 reading calibration data from memory 214).
It would produce a predictive result of including a memory to storage calibration data for the coaxial cable by manufacturer so that calibration data may be ready for further interpretation (e.g. Iannotti, [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Metzger and Yang by applying the teaching of Iannotti to explicitly have the memory on, or in contact with, the layer, the memory storing calibration data for the coaxial cable; and one or more processing devices configured to read the calibration data from the memory, for the purpose of storing calibration data by manufacturer so that calibration data may be ready for further interpretation (e.g. Iannotti, [0022]).
Regarding claim 13, combination of Metzger, Yang and Iannotti teaches wherein the layer is configured to protect the coaxial cable from alteration or damage (e.g. Yang, fig. 7, coaxial cable 302 is inside housing 304; as result, housing 304 protects coaxial cable 302 from alteration or damage).
Regarding claim 15, combination of Metzger, Yang and Iannotti teaches wherein the layer is configured to prevent the coaxial cable from bending beyond a predefine shape or predefined range (e.g. Yang, fig. 7, coaxial cable 302 is inside housing 304; as result, housing 304 prevents coaxial cable 302 from bending a beyond a predefine shape or predefined range inside the housing 304).
Regarding claim 17, combination of Metzger, Yang and Iannotti teaches further comprising: one or more contacts connected to the memory (e.g. Iannotti, fig. 2, coxial connector 218 connects to memory 214), the memory being readable via the one or mare contacts (e.g. Iannotti, fig. 2, [0022], sensor reader reads calibration data from memory 214).
Regarding claim 19, combination of Metzger, Yang and Iannotti teaches wherein the memory comprises a read-only memory device or a read-write memory device (e.g. Iannotti, [0028], memory 214 stores calibration data and calibration data is read from memory 214; e.g. Iannotti, [0019], programmable ready-only memory).
Regarding claim 20, combination of Metzger, Yang and Iannotti teaches wherein the memory comprises an electrically erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM) (e.g. Iannotti, [0019], claim 4 of Iannotti, electrically erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM)).
Regarding claim 23, combination of Metzger, Yang and Iannotti teaches wherein the coaxial cable is a radio frequency (RF) cable and the calibration data comprises S-parameters for the coaxial cable (e.g. [0022-0023], “Typically, the VNA will be calibrated at the cable ends, to correct scattering parameter measurements for errors introduced by the coaxial cable 11 and the VNA 12.", [0003]: “Vector Network Analyzers (VNAs) are radiofrequency (RF) measurement systems used to determine the scattering parameters (commonly referred to as “Sparameters”) of a device under test (DUT).).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzger (US 2011/0238383) in view of Yang (US 2014/0377989), Iannotti et al. (US 2017/0039402), further in view of Taylor (US 3568128 A).
Regarding claim 14, combination of Metzger, Yang and Iannotti is silent with regard to wherein the layer comprises plastic.
However, Taylor teaches a layer comprises plastic (e.g. fig. 1, abstract, column 2: lines 37-40, plastic housing having sections 11 and 12).
It would produce a predictive result of using plastic material to make the housing as taught by the combination of Metzger, Yang and Iannotti, for the purpose of reducing cost and weight of the housing and/or preventing electric shorting.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Metzger, Yang and Iannotti by applying the teaching of Taylor to explicitly have wherein the layer comprises plastic, for the purpose of reducing cost and weight of the housing and/or preventing electric shorting.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzger (US 2011/0238383) in view of Yang (US 2014/0377989), Iannotti et al. (US 2017/0039402), further in view of Jin et al. (US 2011/0313708).
Regarding claim 16, combination of Metzger, Yang and Iannotti is silent with regard to wherein the memory is part of a flexible printed circuit is around the coaxial cable.
Jin teaches a flexible printed circuit board is able to be used to install electronic memory and bend around a coaxial cable (e.g. fig. 2, [0036]-[0037], flexible printed circuits 26 is in roll bend around circular structure 28; therefore, the flexible printed circuit as taught by Jin is able to bend around a coaxial cable and having electronic memory installed).
It would produce a predictable result of bending the flexible printed circuit board bend around the coaxial cable, for the purpose of maximize circuit surface while minimizing cable housing layer that houses the flexible printed circuit and/or maximize curvature of the printed circuit without damaging circuit elements on flexible printed circuit board.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Metzger, Yang and Iannotti by applying the teaching of Jin to have wherein the memory is part of a flexible printed circuit board is around the coaxial cable, for the purpose of maximize circuit surface while minimizing cable housing layer that houses the flexible printed circuit and/or maximize curvature of the printed circuit without damaging circuit elements on flexible printed circuit board.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzger (US 2011/0238383) in view of Yang (US 2014/0377989), Iannotti et al. (US 2017/0039402), and further in view of Montena et al. (CN 101919120 A).
Regarding claim 18, combination of Metzger, Yang and Iannotti is silent with regard to wherein the memory is configured to enable reading over a wireless connection.
However, Montena teaches a memory is configured to enable reading over a wireless connection (e.g. figs. 4-5, [0043], [0050] and [0055], memory stores parameter status ready by wireless handheld device 400b via wireless communication 2b).
It would produce a predictive result of reading data from the memory by a wireless handheld device, for the purpose of allowing a use to view data from the memory without physical electrical wire communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Metzger, Yang and Iannotti by applying the teaching of Montena to explicitly have wherein the memory is configured to enable reading over a wireless connection, for the purpose of allowing a use to view data from the memory without physical electrical wire communications.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzger (US 2011/0238383) in view of Yang (US 2014/0377989), Iannotti et al. (US 2017/0039402), and further in view of Shioiri et al. (US 2006/0164066).
Regarding claim 21, combination of Metzger, Yang and Iannotti is silent with regard to wherein the coaxial cable is configured to transmit radio frequency (RF) signals (e.g. [0022-0023], “Typically, the VNA will be calibrated at the cable ends, to correct scattering parameter measurements for errors introduced by the coaxial cable 11 and the VNA 12.", [0003]: “Vector Network Analyzers (VNAs) are radiofrequency (RF) measurement systems used to determine the scattering parameters (commonly referred to as “Sparameters”) of a device under test (DUT); therefore, radio frequency (RF) signals are being transmitted via the coaxial cable).
However, combination of Metzger, Yang and Iannotti is silent with regard to wherein the calibration data is based on losses for corresponding RF frequencies.
Shioiri teaches calibration data is based on losses for corresponding frequencies (e.g. fig. 3, [0037] and [0039], coaxial cable 107 is disconnected from both printed circuit boards 102 and 112 therefore, losses for corresponding frequencies of signals transmitted between both printed circuit boards 102 and 112 occur as frequency domain analyzer 114 performs calibrations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Metzger, Yang and Iannotti by applying the teaching of Shioiri to have wherein the calibration data comprises S-parameters that are specific to the coaxial cable and that are based on one or more bends in the coaxial cable, for the purpose of determining delay time more accurately (e.g. Shioiri, [0052]) and/or making high precision measurement (e.g. Shioiri, [0054]).
Conclusion
/HAIDONG ZHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858