Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejections claims 1-6 and 8-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant amended the claims further to incorporate the limitation of, more or less, in a/first direction the moisture blocking structure, the crack stopper, and the trench are all adjacent to each other with the crack stopper centered between. Examiner finds that this will successfully overcome the disclosure of the prior art made of record, however, after further searching, a new rejection is being made which is necessitated by the amendment.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 8-9 of “Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment”, filed 12/02/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 1, 6-7, 11, and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Claims 1, 11, 13, 16, and 20 were rejected for being indefinite regarding the usage of “the trench having a predetermined depth”. Applicant argues that the specification provides a clear objective standard for the term predetermined in instant applications paragraphs [0036] and [0100]. Examiner agrees that there is in fact support from the specification thus the rejection is no longer proper. Claims 6 and 7 were rejected because of the confusion as to what applicant is explicitly claiming as the substrate. This confusion stemmed from the line “trench extending along an edge of the substrate” when the trench doesn’t enter any part of the labeled substrate, less an edge of the substrate. Applicant has amended the claim to replace the above limitation new limitations that make the location of the surface of the substrate clear and explicit. Examiner agrees that there is at least support from the drawings for this amendment as well as it makes the location of the surface of the substrate clear. Finally, applicant fixes some antecedent basis rejections of claims 13 and 16 through amendment. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 1, 6-7, 11, 13, 16, and 20 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent by Hotta et al. (US 8513808 B2; Hotta).
Regarding Claim 1, Hotta discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
A substrate (1) having a circuit region (Element formation region) and a protection region (The region including GR – Guard ring) surrounding the circuit region (Col. 5, Lines 40-43, “A guard ring (sealing) GR is formed to surround the element formation region”);
a plurality of insulating layers (29, 22, 20a, 19a, and other mutiple side-to-side insulating layers in Fig. 12) sequentially stacked on the substrate (Fig. 12);
a moisture blocking structure (GR) extending in the plurality of insulating layers in the protection region of the substrate (Fig. 12, The moisture blocking structure GR extends vertically in the plurality of insulating layers) and surrounding the circuit region (Col. 5, Lines 40-43, “A guard ring (sealing) GR is formed to surround the element formation region”), the moisture blocking structure comprising:
a first plurality of wiring layers (Fig. 12, Left column wiring layers under GR - 11, 12, M1-6, 18a, 21a) vertically stacked on a surface of the substrate (Fig. 12),
wherein an uppermost wiring layer of the first plurality of wiring layers comprises a first via (Left under GR, contact plug under M5), and
a metal wiring provided on the first via (Left under GR, M5);
a crack stopper (Fig. 12, right column wiring layers under GR - 11, 12, M1-6, 18a, 21a) extending in the plurality of insulating layers in the protection region of the substrate and surrounding the moisture blocking structure (As the crack stopper [right column wiring layers under GR] is closer to the edge of the IC, the crack stopper is surrounding the moisture blocking structure), the crack stopper comprising a second plurality of wiring layers vertically stacked on the surface of the substrate, wherein an uppermost wiring layer of the second plurality of wiring layers comprises a second via (Left under GR, contact plug under M5); and
a trench (SL) surrounding the crack stopper (Col. 5, Lines 40-43, “A slit (such as a trench or a trench pattern) SL is formed to surround the circumference of the guard ring GR”), the trench having a predetermined depth from an upper surface of the plurality of insulating layers (Col. 8, Lines 47-50, “The slit SL is made in the interlayer dielectric 23 laid between the fifth-layer interconnection M5 and the sixth-layer interconnection M6”),
wherein, in a first direction, the moisture blocking structure is adjacent to the crack stopper, and the crack stopper is adjacent to the trench which is spaced apart from the moisture blocking structure with the crack stopper therebetween (In at least 1 direction the crack stop is between the moisture blocking structure and the trench).
Regarding Claim 4, Hotta discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a wiring layer (M4) under the uppermost wiring layer of the second plurality of wiring layers comprises a third via (Contact plug under M4), and the second via of the uppermost wiring layer of the second plurality of wiring layers is provided on the third via (Fig. 12, Where the contact plug below M4 is below the contact plug for M5. While the via’s are not necessarily touching as in the instant application, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the second via is on the third via).
Regarding Claim 8, Hotta discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the trench has a width of about 3 m to about 4 m (Col. 8, lines 50-51).
Regarding Claim 10, Hotta discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the second via comprises a linear type via structure extending in one direction within the protection region (Fig. 12, where the via structure is linear).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable as obvious by Hotta in view of United States Patent Application Publication by Tsai et al. (US 20210050307 A1; Tsai).
Regarding claim 2, Hotta fails to disclose wherein second via of the uppermost wiring layer of the second plurality of wiring layers of the crack stopper comprises tungsten.
In [0018], however, Tsai discloses wherein the semiconductor device including plurality of wiring layers with material such as tungsten.
Accordingly, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a known wiring layer material such as tungsten, as shown by Tsai [0018], since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07 (citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197 (C.C.P.A. 1960)). One would be motivated to choose tungsten over other materials depending on manufacturing considerations such as cost of materials or time it takes to process the layer.
Regarding claim 3, Hotta fails to disclose wherein second via of the uppermost wiring layer of the second plurality of wiring layers of the crack stopper comprises tungsten.
In [0018], however, Tsai discloses wherein the metal wiring of the uppermost wiring layer of the first plurality of wiring layers of the moisture blocking structure comprises aluminum.
Accordingly, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a known wiring layer material such as aluminum, as shown by Tsai [0018], since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07 (citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197 (C.C.P.A. 1960)). One would be motivated to choose aluminum over other materials depending on manufacturing considerations such as cost of materials or time it takes to process the layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11-20 allowed.
Claims 5-7, and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 11, Tsai discloses a semiconductor device (Abs. and Fig. 2), comprising:
a substrate (10) comprising a circuit region (CR);
a plurality of insulating layers (18 including 12, 14, 16) sequentially stacked on the substrate (Fig. 1F, where layers 12, 14, and 16, are stacked on substrate 10);
a first protection structure (SR2/ R2 in Fig. 1F) comprising a first plurality of wiring layers (SR2 – including at least 230, 222a/b, 220, 212a/b, 210, 206a/b, in Fig. 1F) vertically stacked in the plurality of insulating layers on a surface of the substrate (Fig. 1F, where the first plurality of wiring layers are stacked in insulating layers 18), the first protection structure extending along an edge of the substrate and surrounding the circuit region (Fig. 2, where the first protection region SR2/R2 is extending around the circuit region CR);
a second protection structure (SR1) comprising a second plurality of wiring layers (SR1 – including at least 130, 122, 120, 112, 110, 106 in Fig. 1F) vertically stacked in the plurality of insulating layers on the surface of the substrate (Fig. 1F, where the second plurality of wiring layers are stacked in insulating layers 18), the second protection structure surrounding the first protection structure (Fig. 2, where the second protection region SR1 is extending around the circuit region CR); and
a trench (28/30) surrounding the second protection structure (Fig. 1F, where trench 30 extends on upper edge of substrate and around the second protection structure SR1), the trench having a predetermined depth from an upper surface of the plurality of insulating layers,
However, Tsai (and other reference hotta), fails to disclose wherein the first plurality of wiring layers of the first protection structure has a first height from the surface of the substrate, the second plurality of wiring layers of the second protection structure has a second height from the surface of the substrate, and the second height is less than the first.
Furthermore, there is no other prior art reference that can either anticipate or be in an obvious combination which would disclose this limitation at the time of filing this instant application. It is for at least these reasons that claim 11 is found contain allowable subject matter. Similarly, claims 5-7, 9, 20 are found to contain allowable subject matter for their similar limitations. Claims 12-19 are found to be allowable based on their dependency on claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication by Lee et al. (US 20090096104 A1)
United States Patent Application Publication by Angyal et al. (US 20100200958 A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL J HIBBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /ZANDRA V SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899