DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Arguments are unpersuasive, and will be addressed below. Therefore, the previous rejections are being maintained and included below in a form identical to that of in Non-Final Rejection (dated 01/13/26), with the exception of claims 7 (which was amended) and claim 9 (which was put in independent form).
Applicant argues (page 6, 2nd to last paragraph) that Examiner has incorrectly characterized the citation to Hama as “Admitted Prior Art”. Instead, the Hama reference was “just one reference that was cited or submitted during the prosecution of this patent”.
Examiner regrets his clerical error. Yes, Applicant appears to be correct. The Hama reference appears to be an application prosecution reference and not “Admitted Prior Art”. Examiner went through the rejections below, and
Applicant argues (very bottom of page 6, top of page 7) that the Hama reference has nothing to do with subject matter of claim 1, because Hama’s reference is related to routing on printed circuit boards and not to routing on integrated circuits. Therefore, Hama does not describe multi-layer routing of integrated circuits, to which the claims refer.
The Applicant’s arguments are found unpersuasive. The Applicant is correct that printed circuit board routing art is not the same art as the integrated circuit routing art. However, it is a related art. As far as related arts are concerned, MPEP and the Courts are very clear (MPEP 1504.03):
This modification of the primary reference in light of the secondary reference is proper because the applied references are so related that the appearance of features shown in one would suggest the application of those features to the other. See In re Rosen, 673 F.2d 388, 213 USPQ 347 (CCPA 1982); In re Carter, 673 F.2d 1378, 213 USPQ 625 (CCPA 1982), and In re Glavas, 230 F.2d 447, 109 USPQ 50 (CCPA 1956). Further, it is noted that case law has held that a designer skilled in the art is charged with knowledge of the related art; therefore, the combination of old elements, herein, would have been well within the level of ordinary skill. See In re Antle, 444 F.2d 1168,170 USPQ 285 (CCPA 1971) and In re Nalbandian, 661 F.2d 1214, 211 USPQ 782 (CCPA 1981).
In other words, both arts are dealing with metal routing in semiconductor industry. One art (the claims) is metal routing inside the integrated circuit. The other art is metal routing outside the integrated circuit. But, it is clear that both arts are related, being part of the same industry, just on different levels of process. Therefore, the Applicant’s arguments are found unpersuasive and rejections are maintained.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 7 appear to be moot, since the claim was amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-10 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-7,117,468) by Teig et al (“Teig”).
Regarding claim 1, Teig discloses in FIGs. 129-131 and related text, e.g., an integrated circuit (Abstract) comprising:
a first plurality of wiring layers with no preferred wiring direction (FIGs. 129-131 and col. 103, lines 20-35; two wiring layers are explicitly mentioned in cited portion, and are explicitly shown in FIGs. 129-130; also, both of these layers use “non-preferred direction routing”; also, see col. 6, line 5 through col. 7, line 45, which define various examples of “non-preferred direction routing” embodiments explicitly considered by Teig); and
a second plurality of wiring layers with at least first and second preferred wiring directions (col. 7, lines 27-35).
Teig does not explicitly state in disclosed embodiments “a first plurality of wiring layers with no preferred wiring direction and curvilinear wiring”.
To elaborate briefly on the above, the wiring shown in FIGs. 129-130 shows several curved shapes. However, one can argue that each one of those shapes is not “curvilinear” by a strictest definition. To eliminate all doubt, Examiner wishes to point to a different part of Teig’s patent.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Teig with “curvilinear wiring”, and Wire-Fattening”;
Regarding claim 2, Teig discloses in FIGs. 129-131 and related text, e.g., wherein the first plurality of wiring layers comprises layers 3 and 4, and the second plurality of wiring layers comprises layers 5 and 6 (col. 7, line 27 and on: “In addition, some embodiments have more than five layers, while other embodiments have fewer. Some embodiments also assign a single preferred direction for some of the layers, while allowing other layers not to have a single preferred wiring direction”; use of more than 5 layers is disclosed, thus teaching use of 6 or more layers; use of some layers with NPD wiring and some with preferred direction wiring is explicitly taught and explained; also, see claim 1; hence, use of NPD layers on some layers (such as layers 5 and 6), and use of preferred direction routing on some other layers (such as layers 3 and 4) is at the very least obvious in light of Teig’s explicit teachings as recited in col. 7 and elsewhere).
Regarding claim 3, Teig discloses in FIGs. 129-131 and related text, e.g., wherein the second plurality of wiring layers further comprises layers 1 and 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above, and the recitation of text in col. 7, line 27 and lower; such embodiment is at the very least obvious in light of Teig’s explicit teachings, as was discussed in rejections of claims 1 & 2).
Regarding claim 4, Teig discloses in FIGs. 129-131 and related text, e.g., wherein the first plurality of wiring layers comprises layers 1-4, and the second plurality of wiring layers comprises layers 5 and 6 (see rejection of claim 2 above, and the recitation of text in col. 7, line 27 and lower; such embodiment is at the very least obvious in light of Teig’s explicit teachings, as was discussed in rejections of claims 1 & 2).
Regarding claim 5, Teig discloses in FIGs. 129-131 and related text, e.g., wherein the second plurality of wiring layers comprises wiring layers 1 and 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above, and the recitation of text in col. 7, line 27 and lower; such embodiment is at the very least obvious in light of Teig’s explicit teachings, as was discussed in rejections of claims 1 & 2).
Regarding claim 8, Teig discloses in FIGs. 129-131 and related text, e.g., wherein each preferred wiring direction is a horizontal direction or a vertical direction, and the preferred wiring directions of different adjacent layers in the second plurality of layers alternate between horizontal and vertical directions (col. 1, line 65 through col. 2, line 3).
Regarding claim 9, Teig discloses in FIGs. 129-131 and related text, e.g.,
an integrated circuit (Abstract) comprising:
a first plurality of wiring layers with no preferred wiring direction (FIGs. 129-131 and col. 103, lines 20-35; two wiring layers are explicitly mentioned in cited portion, and are explicitly shown in FIGs. 129-130; also, both of these layers use “non-preferred direction routing”; also, see col. 6, line 5 through col. 7, line 45, which define various examples of “non-preferred direction routing” embodiments explicitly considered by Teig) and curvilinear wiring (see rejection of claim 1); and
a second plurality of wiring layers with at least first and second preferred wiring directions (col. 7, lines 27-35);
wherein preferred wiring direction on each layer is the direction that includes at least 90% of the wiring on that layer (col. 2, lines 1-3; “However, occasional diagonal jogs are sometimes allowed on the preferred horizontal and vertical layers”; hence, the above limitations of “at least 90%” are at least obvious in light of Teig’s explicit teachings).
Regarding claim 10, Teig discloses in FIGs. 129-131 and related text, e.g., wherein at least one layer in the first plurality of layers comprises wires traversing in more than eight directions (by definition; a curved line, at any point, has an infinity of directions along the curve; hence, “more than eight”, by definition).
Regarding claim 20, Teig discloses in FIGs. 129-131 and related text, e.g., wherein the first plurality of non-preferred direction wiring layers include shorter wires that serve as shorter connections for connecting different locations on a substrate of the IC, while the second plurality of preferred direction wiring layer include longer wires that serve as longer connections for connecting different locations on the IC substrate (by definition; see FIG. 132 for example; it shows various 45 degree turns between various layers; if the 45 degree turn was replaced with a true curve, as in “curvilinear”, the curve portion would be tiny; hence, “include shorter wires that serve as shorter connections for connecting different locations on a substrate of the IC”; the straight lines are relatively long when compared to tiny turns/curves; hence, “include longer wires that serve as longer connections for connecting different locations on the IC substrate”).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-7,117,468) by Teig et al (“Teig”) in view of (US-7,441,220) by Hetzel et al (“Hetzel”).
Regarding claim 6, Teig discloses in cited figures and related text, e.g., substantially the entire claim structure, as recited in above claims, except “wherein the wiring layers 1 and 2 each has a plurality of regions with preferred direction (PD) rectilinear wiring for pre-defined IP (intellectual property) circuit blocks”.
Hetzel discloses in FIGs. 2-16B and related text, e.g., use of various preferred direction schemas in a same wiring layer (see FIG. 2 (and other figures) for one preferred direction in general, and very different directions for specific blocks (205, 210-215); see FIG. 7 for “IP Block” specifically situation (and other figures)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Teig with “wherein the wiring layers 1 and 2 each has a plurality of regions with preferred direction rectilinear wiring for pre-defined IP (intellectual property) circuit blocks” as taught by Hetzel, in order to “recapture the routing resources lost because of obstacles on a wiring layer” (col. 2, lines 11-13).
Regarding claim 7, the combined device of Teig and Hetzel disclose in cited figures and related text, e.g., further comprising non-preferred direction rectilinear (specifically, addition of “non-preferred direction rectilinear” is shown by combination of FIGs. 2-3 and 4A-B [Wingdings font/0xE0] by combining the features shown in both of those, the limitations are taught; hence, the Hetzel reference at the very least makes these features obvious) and curvilinear wiring (“curvilinear wiring” specifically is taught by Hama, as was recited above, regarding claim 1; Hama adds it everywhere; hence, when IP blocks are added, as recited here, the areas around IP blocks would include “curvilinear wiring” everywhere, thus meeting limitations) between the regions with PD rectilinear wiring for the IP circuit blocks (again, “curvilinear routing” is added everywhere).
Conclusion
Additional references (if any) are cited on the PTO-892 as disclosing similar features to those of the instant invention.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Alexander Belousov whose telephone number is (571)-272-3167. The examiner can normally be reached on 10 am-4 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jeff Natalini can be reached on 571-272-2266. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Alexander Belousov/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2894
06/28/26
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818