DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of amendment filed n 13 February 2026 in which claims 1-8, 10, 12, 13, and 15-20 are amended and claim 21 is new. Claims 1-21 are currently pending and an office action on the merits follows.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 8, lines 1-3 recites “wherein third edge portion a length, in the second direction, of the third edge portion”. This limitation appears to intended to recite “wherein a length, in the second direction, of the third edge portion”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10, and 15-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Pub. No. JP 2013-029631 A by Takeo et al. (“Takeo”) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0270580 by Choi et al. (“Choi”).
As to claim 1, Takeo discloses a display device (Takeo, liquid crystal display device 2, Figure 1) comprising:
a lower substrate (Takeo, drive substrate 10, Figure 2) comprising an active area in which a pixel comprising a light-emitting element is disposed and a peripheral area adjacent to the active area (Takeo, the drive substrate 10 and the counter substrate 20 are provided to face each other over a display region 1A including a plurality of pixels and a frame region 1B around the display region LA. Figure 2, ¶ [0018]);
a driving circuit electrically connected to the pixel and disposed in the peripheral area (Takeo, in the liquid crystal display device 2, as shown in FIG. 1, when an external signal (Din) is inputted to the timing control section 30, the scanning line driving circuit 10b and the signal line driving circuit 10c drive the pixels (PXL) in the display region 1A in the liquid crystal display panel 1. ¶ [0040]);
an upper substrate (Takeo, counter substrate 20, Figure 12a) overlapping the active area and the peripheral area and provided with a notch defined therein and recessed in a first direction toward the active area, As shown in figure 12a of Takeo, the overhang portions 20b of the counter substrate 20 form a notch for the terminal region 10a.
the upper substrate comprising:
an upper edge (Takeo, top edge of terminal region 10a, Figure 12a) comprising:
a notch edge portion (Takeo, notch formed by overhand portions 20b, Figure 12a) defining the notch and comprising:
a first edge portion (Takeo, edge portion of the left section of the terminal region 10a, Figure 12a);
a second edge portion (Takeo, edge portion of the right section of the terminal region 10a, Figure 12a) facing the first edge portion in a second direction crossing the first direction; and
a third edge portion (Takeo, edge portion of the middle section of the terminal region 10a, Figure 12a) disposed between the first edge portion and the second edge portion and extending in the second direction; and
a straight edge portion extending from the notch portion (Takeo, edge portion of the area to the left and right of terminal region 10a, Figure 12a); and
a flexible circuit board disposed in the peripheral area (Takeo, terminal region 10a for electrical connection to a wiring such as a flexible printed wiring board (FPC), ¶ [0018]),
wherein a portion of the peripheral area which does not overlap the notch is covered by the upper substrate, As shown in figure 12a of Takeo, the overhang portions 20b of the counter substrate 20 around a notch.
the driving circuit and the flexible circuit board overlap the notch (Takeo, The timing control unit 30 and the backlight driving unit 31 may be directly disposed in the frame region 1B, or may be provided in electronic components mounted in a connection region 1C, which will be described later, through the terminals 10a. ¶ [0017])(Takeo, terminal region 10a for electrical connection to a wiring such as a flexible printed wiring board (FPC), ¶ [0018]),
each of a first end portion of the first edge portion adjacent to the third edge portion and a first end portion of the second edge portion adjacent to the third edge portion has a predetermined curvature, As shown in figure 12a of Takeo, the terminal region 10a has a predetermined curvature along the left and right sides of top edge.
each of a second end portion of the first edge portion and a second end portion of the second edge portion has a predetermined curvature. As shown in figure 12a of Takeo, the terminal region 10a has a predetermined curvature along the left and right sides of top edge.
Takeo does not expressly teach
the driving circuit is disposed between the third edge portion and the flexible circuit board in a plan view.
Choi teaches a display device wherein
the driving circuit (Choi, driving IC 340, Figure 3A) is disposed between the third edge portion and the flexible circuit board in a plan view (Choi, The upper substrate 390, as illustrated in FIG. 3B, includes an upper cutting area for externally exposing the FPCB connection pad 330 and the driving IC 340. Figures 3A and 3B). As shown in figure 3A of Choi, the edge portion of the middle section of the notch and the flexible PCB are placed on opposite sides of the driving IC.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takeo’s terminal region to include Choi’s cutting area because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Takeo’s terminal region as modified by Choi’s cutting area is known to yield a predictable result of providing a driving circuit close to a display area since reduces the size profile and resistance caused by distance from the driving circuit to the pixels. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in Takeo’s terminal region the ability to do Choi’s cutting area since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Thus, Takeo, as modified by Choi, teaches the driving IC between the edge of the cutting area and the flexible PCB.
As to claim 2, Takeo, as modified by Choi, teaches the display device wherein each of a curvature center of the first end portion of the first edge portion and a curvature center of the first end portion of the second edge portion is disposed outside the upper substrate, and each of a curvature center of the second end portion of the first edge portion and a curvature center of the second end portion of the second edge portion is disposed inside the upper substrate. As shown in figure 12a of Takeo, the curvature center or the curved sides of the terminal region 10a are outside the counter substrate 20 in order to properly form the curvature shown in figure 12a.
As to claim 3, Takeo, as modified by Choi, teaches the display device wherein a curvature of the first end portion of the first edge portion is equal to a curvature of the second end portion of the first edge portion, and a curvature of the first end portion of the second edge portion is equal to a curvature of the second end portion of the second edge portion. (Takeo, each overhang portion 20b has a curved portion, and to be specific, has a concave curve gently curving from the frame region 1B toward the end portion of the connection region 1C. Figure 12a, ¶ [0053]). As shown in figure 12a of Takeo, the curvature on both sides of the edge is equal.
As to claim 4, Takeo, as modified by Choi, teaches the display device wherein the first edge portion further comprises a first extension portion which is disposed between the first end portion of the first edge portion and the second end portion of the first edge portion and extends in a straight line, and the second edge portion further comprises a second extension portion which is disposed between the first end portion of the second edge portion and the second end portion of the second edge portion and extends in a straight line. As shown in figure 3A of Choi, the cutting area includes edges which go from the line L1 to the edge above the contact pads 350 and include a straight line edge. Each of the straight line edges include multiple portions which are straight lines. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 6, Takeo, as modified by Choi, teaches the display device wherein the lower substrate further comprises a lower edge corresponding to the upper edge and extending in the second direction, and the straight edge portion is aligned with the lower edge. As shown in figure 12a of Takeo, the area to the left and right of terminal region 10a is aligned with the lower edge of the drive substrate 10 and the counter substrate 20.
As to claim 7, Takeo, as modified by Choi, teaches the display device further comprising a coupling member coupling the lower substrate and the upper substrate, wherein portions of the coupling member, which are adjacent to the notch edge portion and the straight edge portion, extend in the second direction (Takeo, the two projecting portions 20b are bonded to the drive substrate 10, Figure 12a, ¶ [0055]). Takeo teaches the projecting portions 20b, which are adjacent to the notch area and straight area and formed on the counter substrate 20 are bonded (coupled) to the drive substrate 10.
As to claim 8, Takeo, as modified by Choi, teaches the display device wherein third edge portion a length, in the second direction, of the third edge portion is equal to or greater than a length, in the second direction, of the driving circuit. As shown in figure 3A of Choi, the edge portion of the middle section of the notch and has a longer length than the driving IC.
As to claim 10, Takeo, as modified by Choi, teaches the display device wherein the straight edge portion comprises at least one of a first straight edge portion extending from the second end portion of the first edge portion with respect to the second direction and a second straight edge portion extending from the second end portion of the second edge portion with respect to the second direction (Takeo, areas to the left and right of terminal region 10a, Figure 12a).
As to claim 15, Takeo discloses a display device (Takeo, liquid crystal display device 2, Figure 1) comprising:
a lower substrate (Takeo, drive substrate 10, Figure 2) divided into an active area in which a pixel comprising a light-emitting element is disposed and a peripheral area adjacent to the active area, and comprising a lower edge (Takeo, the drive substrate 10 and the counter substrate 20 are provided to face each other over a display region 1A including a plurality of pixels and a frame region 1B around the display region LA. Figure 2, ¶ [0018]),
a driving circuit electrically connected to the pixel and disposed in the peripheral area (Takeo, in the liquid crystal display device 2, as shown in FIG. 1, when an external signal (Din) is inputted to the timing control section 30, the scanning line driving circuit 10b and the signal line driving circuit 10c drive the pixels (PXL) in the display region 1A in the liquid crystal display panel 1. ¶ [0040]);
an upper substrate (Takeo, counter substrate 20, Figure 12a) overlapping the active area and the peripheral area and provided with a notch defined therein and recessed in a first direction toward the active area, As shown in figure 12a of Takeo, the overhang portions 20b of the counter substrate 20 form a notch for the terminal region 10a.
the upper substrate comprising:
an upper edge (Takeo, top edge of terminal region 10a, Figure 12a) comprising:
a notch edge portion (Takeo, edge of notch formed by overhand portions 20b, Figure 12a) defining the notch; and
a straight edge portion extending from the notch edge portion and corresponding to the lower edge extending in a second direction crossing the first direction (Takeo, edge area to the left and right of terminal region 10a, Figure 12a);
a coupling member coupling the lower substrate with the upper substrate (Takeo, the two projecting portions 20b are bonded to the drive substrate 10, Figure 12a, ¶ [0055]); Takeo teaches the projecting portions 20b, which are adjacent to the notch area and straight area and formed on the counter substrate 20 are bonded (coupled) to the drive substrate 10.
a flexible circuit board disposed in the peripheral area (Takeo, terminal region 10a for electrical connection to a wiring such as a flexible printed wiring board (FPC), ¶ [0018]),
wherein
a portion of the peripheral area which does not overlap the notch is covered by the upper substrate, As shown in figure 12a of Takeo, the overhang portions 20b of the counter substrate 20 around a notch.
the lower edge extends in a second direction crossing the first direction, As shown in figure 12a of Takeo, the lower edge extending in a horizontal direction.
the driving circuit and the flexible circuit board overlap the notch (Takeo, The timing control unit 30 and the backlight driving unit 31 may be directly disposed in the frame region 1B, or may be provided in electronic components mounted in a connection region 1C, which will be described later, through the terminals 10a. ¶ [0017])(Takeo, terminal region 10a for electrical connection to a wiring such as a flexible printed wiring board (FPC), ¶ [0018]), and
a portion of the coupling member, which is adjacent to the notch edge portion, extends in the second direction (Takeo, the two projecting portions 20b are bonded to the drive substrate 10, Figure 12a, ¶ [0055]). Takeo teaches the projecting portions 20b, which are adjacent to the notch area and straight area and formed on the counter substrate 20 are bonded (coupled) to the drive substrate 10.
Takeo does not expressly teach
the driving circuit is disposed between the notch edge portion and the flexible circuit board in a plan view,
Choi teaches a display device wherein
the driving circuit (Choi, driving IC 340, Figure 3A) is disposed between the notch edge portion and the flexible circuit board in a plan view (Choi, The upper substrate 390, as illustrated in FIG. 3B, includes an upper cutting area for externally exposing the FPCB connection pad 330 and the driving IC 340. Figures 3A and 3B). As shown in figure 3A of Choi, the edge portion of the middle section of the notch and the flexible PCB are placed on opposite sides of the driving IC.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takeo’s terminal region to include Choi’s cutting area because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Takeo’s terminal region as modified by Choi’s cutting area is known to yield a predictable result of providing a driving circuit close to a display area since reduces the size profile and resistance caused by distance from the driving circuit to the pixels. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in Takeo’s terminal region the ability to do Choi’s cutting area since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Thus, Takeo, as modified by Choi, teaches the driving IC between the edge of the cutting area and the flexible PCB.
As to claim 16, Takeo, as modified by Choi, teaches the display device wherein the coupling member comprises a first coupling edge adjacent to the active area and a second coupling edge facing the first coupling edge in the first direction and adjacent to the upper edge, and each of the first and second coupling edges extends in a straight line (Takeo, the two projecting portions 20b are bonded to the drive substrate 10, Figure 12a, ¶ [0055]). Takeo teaches the projecting portions 20b, which are adjacent to the active area and formed on the counter substrate 20 are bonded (coupled) to the drive substrate 10.
As to claim 17, Takeo, as modified by Choi, teaches the display device wherein the notch edge portion comprises a first edge portion (Takeo, edge of left section of the terminal region 10a, Figure 12a), a second edge portion (Takeo, edge of right section of the terminal region 10a, Figure 12a) facing the first edge portion in the second direction, and a third edge portion (Takeo, edge of middle section of the terminal region 10a, Figure 12a) disposed between the first edge portion and the second edge portion and extending in the second direction, each of a first end portion of the first edge portion adjacent to the third edge portion and a first end portion of the second area adjacent to the third edge portion has a predetermined curvature, and each of a second end portion of the first edge portion and a second end portion of the second edge portion has a predetermined curvature. As shown in figure 12a of Takeo, the terminal region 10a has a predetermined curvature along the left and right sides of top edge.
As to claim 18, Takeo, as modified by Choi, teaches the display device wherein the straight edge portion (Takeo, edge area to the left and right of terminal region 10a, Figure 12a) comprises at least one of a first straight edge portion extending from the second end portion of the first edge portion with respect to the second direction and a second straight edge portion extending from the second end portion of the second edge portion with respect to the second direction and is aligned with the lower edge. As shown in figure 12a of Takeo, the area to the left and right of the terminal region 10a aligns with a lower edge of the substrates, drive substrate 10 and counter substrate 20.
As to claim 19, Takeo, as modified by Choi, teaches the display device wherein each of a curvature center of the first end portion of the first edge portion and a curvature center of the first end portion of the second edge portion is disposed outside the upper substrate, and each of a curvature center of the second end portion of the first edge portion and a curvature center of the second end portion of the straight edge portion is disposed inside the upper substrate. As shown in figure 12a of Takeo, the curvature center or the curved sides of the terminal region 10a are outside the counter substrate 20 in order to properly form the curvature shown in figure 12a.
As to claim 21, Takeo discloses an electronic device (Takeo, Figure 1) comprising:
a display device (Takeo, liquid crystal display device 2, Figure 1) comprising:
a lower substrate (Takeo, drive substrate 10, Figure 2) comprising an active area in which a pixel comprising a light-emitting element is disposed and a peripheral area adjacent to the active area (Takeo, the drive substrate 10 and the counter substrate 20 are provided to face each other over a display region 1A including a plurality of pixels and a frame region 1B around the display region LA. Figure 2, ¶ [0018]);
a driving circuit electrically connected to the pixel and disposed in the peripheral area (Takeo, in the liquid crystal display device 2, as shown in FIG. 1, when an external signal (Din) is inputted to the timing control section 30, the scanning line driving circuit 10b and the signal line driving circuit 10c drive the pixels (PXL) in the display region 1A in the liquid crystal display panel 1. ¶ [0040]);
an upper substrate (Takeo, counter substrate 20, Figure 12a) overlapping the active area and the peripheral area and provided with a notch defined therein and recessed in a first direction toward the active area, As shown in figure 12a of Takeo, the overhang portions 20b of the counter substrate 20 form a notch for the terminal region 10a.
the upper substrate comprising:
an upper edge (Takeo, top edge of terminal region 10a, Figure 12a) comprising:
a notch edge portion (Takeo, notch formed by overhand portions 20b, Figure 12a) defining the notch and comprising:
a first edge portion (Takeo, edge portion of the left section of the terminal region 10a, Figure 12a);
a second edge portion (Takeo, edge portion of the right section of the terminal region 10a, Figure 12a) facing the first edge portion in a second direction crossing the first direction; and
a third edge portion (Takeo, edge portion of the middle section of the terminal region 10a, Figure 12a) disposed between the first edge portion and the second edge portion and extending in the second direction; and
a straight edge portion extending from the notch portion (Takeo, edge portion of the area to the left and right of terminal region 10a, Figure 12a); and
a flexible circuit board disposed in the peripheral area (Takeo, terminal region 10a for electrical connection to a wiring such as a flexible printed wiring board (FPC), ¶ [0018]),
wherein a portion of the peripheral area which does not overlap the notch is covered by the upper substrate, As shown in figure 12a of Takeo, the overhang portions 20b of the counter substrate 20 around a notch.
the driving circuit and the flexible circuit board overlap the notch (Takeo, The timing control unit 30 and the backlight driving unit 31 may be directly disposed in the frame region 1B, or may be provided in electronic components mounted in a connection region 1C, which will be described later, through the terminals 10a. ¶ [0017])(Takeo, terminal region 10a for electrical connection to a wiring such as a flexible printed wiring board (FPC), ¶ [0018]),
each of a first end portion of the first edge portion adjacent to the third edge portion and a first end portion of the second edge portion adjacent to the third edge portion has a predetermined curvature, As shown in figure 12a of Takeo, the terminal region 10a has a predetermined curvature along the left and right sides of top edge.
each of a second end portion of the first edge portion and a second end portion of the second edge portion has a predetermined curvature. As shown in figure 12a of Takeo, the terminal region 10a has a predetermined curvature along the left and right sides of top edge.
Takeo does not expressly teach
the driving circuit is disposed between the third edge portion and the flexible circuit board in a plan view,
Choi teaches a display device wherein
the driving circuit (Choi, driving IC 340, Figure 3A) is disposed between the third edge portion and the flexible circuit board in a plan view (Choi, The upper substrate 390, as illustrated in FIG. 3B, includes an upper cutting area for externally exposing the FPCB connection pad 330 and the driving IC 340. Figures 3A and 3B). As shown in figure 3A of Choi, the edge portion of the middle section of the notch and the flexible PCB are placed on opposite sides of the driving IC.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takeo’s terminal region to include Choi’s cutting area because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Takeo’s terminal region as modified by Choi’s cutting area is known to yield a predictable result of providing a driving circuit close to a display area since reduces the size profile and resistance caused by distance from the driving circuit to the pixels. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in Takeo’s terminal region the ability to do Choi’s cutting area since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Thus, Takeo, as modified by Choi, teaches the driving IC between the edge of the cutting area and the flexible PCB.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Pub. No. JP 2013-029631 A by Takeo et al. (“Takeo”), in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0270580 by Choi et al. (“Choi”), and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0110685 by Lee et al. (“Lee”).
As to claim 14, Takeo, as modified by Choi, does not expressly teach the display device wherein the lower substrate has a thickness smaller than a thickness of the upper substrate.
Specifically, Takeo teaches the substrates as having the same thickness (Takeo, ¶ [0048]).
Lee teaches a display apparatus wherein the lower substrate has a thickness smaller than a thickness of the upper substrate (Lee, The thickness of the first substrate layer may be between about 0.2 μm and about 0.4 mm, and the thickness of the second substrate layer may be between about 1 μm and about 100 μm. ¶ [0016]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takeo’s substrate thicknesses to include Lee’s display substrate thicknesses because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Takeo’s substrate thicknesses and Lee’s display substrate thicknesses perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing substrates for a display device. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Takeo’s substrate thicknesses by replacing it with Lee’s display substrate thicknesses. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Takeo, as modified by Choi and Lee, discloses the substrate thickness where the lower substrate is thinner than the upper substrate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 9, 11-13, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 5, Takeo, as modified by Choi, does not disclose the display device wherein a separation distance in the first direction between a vertex of the flexible circuit board overlapping the lower substrate and the notch edge portion is equal to a separation distance in the second direction between the vertex and the notch edge portion in a plan view. In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
As to claim 9, Takeo, as modified by Choi, does not disclose the display device further comprising a main circuit board attached to the flexible circuit board, wherein the flexible circuit board is bent with respect to an imaginary axis extending in the second direction, and the main circuit board is disposed under the lower substrate. In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
As to claim 11, Takeo, as modified by Choi, does not disclose the display device further comprising a main circuit board, wherein each of the notch, the driving circuit, and the flexible circuit board is provided in plural, the notches are arranged in the second direction, each of the driving circuits overlaps a corresponding notch among the notches, each of the flexible circuit boards overlaps a corresponding notch among the notches, and the main circuit board is attached to the flexible circuit boards. In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
As to dependent claims 12 and 13, these claims dependent upon objected dependent claim 11 and objected to for the same reasons as claim 11.
As to claim 20, Takeo, as modified by Choi, does not disclose the display device wherein a separation distance in the first direction between a vertex of the flexible circuit board overlapping the lower substrate and the notch area is equal to a separation distance in the second direction between the vertex and the notch area in a plan view. In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-8, 10, 14-19, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0079625 by Wang et al. teaches a display device with multiple notches.
U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0341662 by Zhang et al. teaches a display device with multiple notches having angled edges.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENT D CASTIAUX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623