DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
MPEP § 2111.01 stated that “… Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time. The ordinary and customary meaning of a term may be evidenced by a variety of sources, including the words of the claims themselves, the specification, drawings, and prior art. However, the best source for determining the meaning of a claim term is the specification - the greatest clarity is obtained when the specification serves as a glossary for the claim terms …”. Thus under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the greatest clarity is obtained when the specification (e.g., see “… In preferred examples, the maximum transmittance of the bandpass filter is at least 65% …” in the last paragraph on pg. 5) serves as a glossary for the claim term “maximum transmittance”.
The specification (e.g., see “… For example, the peak wavelength may preferably be approximately 3250 nm or in the range of 3225 and 3260 nm …” in the first complete paragraph on pg. 6) serves as a glossary for the claim term “peak wavelength”.
The specification (e.g., see “… Preferably the FWHM of the bandpass filter is in the range of 80 nm to 200 nm, or more preferably 80 nm to 120 nm …” in the third paragraph on pg. 6) serves as a glossary for the claim term “full width at half maximum, FWHM”.
The specification (e.g., see “… Preferably, the upper cut-off wavelength of the bandpass filter is in the range of 3275 nm to 3325 nm …” in the fourth paragraph on pg. 6) serves as a glossary for the claim term “an upper cut-off wavelength”.
The specification (e.g., see “… Preferably, the band pass filter has a lower cut-off wavelength in the range from 3100nm to 3200nm, …” in the fifth paragraph on pg. 6) serves as a glossary for the claim term “a lower cutoff wavelength”.
The specification (e.g., see “… Preferably the upper slope of the transmission spectrum of the bandpass filter has an average gradient in the range of 0.5% to 1.5% … Preferably the lower slope of the transmission spectrum of the bandpass filter has an average gradient in the range from 0.5% to 1.5% …” in the third and fourth paragraphs on pg. 7) serves as a glossary for the claim term “an average gradient”.
The specification (e.g., see “… output signal produced by the first infrared detector is preferably dependent on the intensity of the radiation incident on the first infrared detector. However, in further examples, the signal may be dependent on other properties of the radiation received by the first infrared detector (e.g. spectral intensity, irradiance, spectral irradiance or other spectral properties of the incident radiation) …” in the first complete paragraph on pg. 8) serves as a glossary for the claim term “an electromagnetic spectra of the output signal”.
The specification (e.g., see “… located relatively close to or adjacent to one another, whilst radiation must take a relatively long route between the two components via a mirror. In some examples the LED and the infrared detector may be mounted on a single circuit board …” in the first complete on pg. 9) serves as a glossary for the claim term “adjacent ”.
The specification (e.g., see “… Preferably the length of the first optical path is at least twice the length of the second optical path …” in the first paragraph on pg. 11) serves as a glossary for the claim term “length of the first optical path”.
The specification (e.g., see “… apertures 11a through which a gas sample may enter or be introduced into the sample chamber 11 …” in the first paragraph on pg. 20) serves as a glossary for the claim term “a sample chamber for containing the gas sample”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-9, 12, 13, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
While the specification discloses first and second infrared detectors are adjacent to the light emitting diode (e.g., see “… located relatively close to or adjacent to one another, whilst radiation must take a relatively long route between the two components via a mirror. In some examples the LED and the infrared detector may be mounted on a single circuit board …” in the first complete on pg. 9), there does not appear to be any disclosure of the first and second infrared detectors are in contact with the light emitting diode. Therefore applicant has not pointed out where the amended claim is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the newly added claim limitation “or in contact with” in the application as filed (MPEP § 2163.04).
Claim(s) dependent on the claim(s) discussed above also fail(s) to comply with the written description requirement for the same reasons.
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the third optical path” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the internal chamber” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 9, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isshiki et al. (US 2022/0307976) in view of Frodl et al. (US 2008/0116378).
In regard to claim 1, Isshiki et al. disclose a gas sensor for detecting a concentration of methane in a gas sample, the gas sensor comprising:
(a) a sample chamber for containing the gas sample (e.g., see “… first light guide part 21 …” in Fig. 1,
, and paragraph 30);
(b) a light emitting diode arranged to emit infrared radiation into the sample chamber (e.g., see “… first light source 31 is preferably an incoherent light source, and is, for example, a Light Emitting Diode (LED) … When the second light source 32 is integrated into the first light source 31, the first light guide part 21 and the second light guide part 22 should be configured so that the infrared light emitted from the light source is taken to each light guide part …” in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and paragraphs 32 and 36);
(c) a first infrared detector configured to output an output signal based on the radiation it receives (e.g., see “… first light receiving part 51 generates a first detection signal according to the first intensity of the light received and outputs the signal …” in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and paragraph 50);
(d) a bandpass filter configured to filter radiation passing therethrough (e.g., see “… gas to be measured is methane … central wavelength of the first transmission band in the first optical filter 41 is preferably the wavelength of 3.2 µm or more and 3.4 µm or less … full width at half maximum of the transmission spectrum of the light transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is preferably 80 nm or more and 300 nm or less …” in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and paragraphs 42 and 43),
wherein the light emitting diode, the bandpass filter and the first infrared detector are arranged such that at least a portion of the radiation emitted from the light emitting diode is transmitted through the bandpass filter and along a first optical path through the sample chamber before being received by the first infrared detector (e.g., see “… first optical path L1 …” in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and paragraph 51),
wherein the bandpass filter has a full width at half maximum, FWHM, in the range from 70 nm to 300 nm and an upper cut-off wavelength of less than or equal to 3350 nm (e.g., “… "transmission" means that the amount of light transmitted through the optical filter is 3% or more of the amount of light incident on the optical filter … first optical filter 41 transmits the light in the first transmission band … central wavelength of the first transmission band in the first optical filter 41 is preferably the wavelength of 3.2 µm or more and 3.4 µm or less … full width at half maximum of the transmission spectrum of the light transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is preferably 80 nm or more and 300 nm or less …” in paragraphs 23, 39, 42, and 43 and a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05) since the claimed 70-300 nm FWHM range overlap the “full width at half maximum of the transmission spectrum of the light transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is preferably 80 nm or more and 300 nm or less” range disclosed by the cited prior art and the claimed ≤3350 nm upper cut-off wavelength range overlap the “"transmission" means that the amount of light transmitted through the optical filter is 3% or more of the amount of light incident on the optical filter ” within “first optical filter 41 transmits the light in the first transmission band … central wavelength of the first transmission band in the first optical filter 41 is preferably the wavelength of 3.2 µm or more and 3.4 µm or less … full width at half maximum of the transmission spectrum of the light transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is preferably 80 nm or more and 300 nm or less” range disclosed by the cited prior art),
wherein the upper cut-off wavelength is the wavelength at which the bandpass filter has a transmittance of 5% of the maximum transmittance of the bandpass filter, the upper cut-off wavelength being greater than a peak wavelength of the bandpass filter at which maximum transmittance occurs (e.g., ““… "transmission" means that the amount of light transmitted through the optical filter is 3% or more of the amount of light incident on the optical filter … full width at half maximum of the transmission spectrum of the light transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is preferably 80 nm or more and 300 nm or less …” in paragraphs 23 and 43), and
wherein the FWHM is a difference between the wavelengths at which the transmittance of the bandpass filter is at 50% of the maximum transmittance of the bandpass filter (e.g., “… full width at half maximum of the transmission spectrum of the light transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is preferably 80 nm or more and 300 nm or less …” in paragraph 43); and
(e) a second infrared detector configured to output a short path reference signal based on the radiation it receives, wherein the light emitting diode and the second infrared detector are arranged such that a portion of the radiation emitted from the light emitting diode is transmitted along a second optical path through the sample chamber before being received by the second infrared detector, and wherein a length of the first optical path through the sample chamber is at least twice a length of the second optical path through the sample chamber, and wherein the first infrared detector and second infrared detector are located adjacent to the light emitting diode (e.g., see “… operation part 60 may include at least one of the drive part 70, a general-purpose processor that executes a function according to a program to be read, and a dedicated processor specialized for a specific process … based on the first detection signal output from the first light receiving part 51 … based on the second detection signal output from the second light receiving part 52 … first optical path length l1 is equal to or longer than the second optical path length l2 … first light source 31, the second light source 32, the first light receiving part 51 and the second light receiving part 52 may preferably be mounted on the same substrate …” in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and paragraphs 85-87, 104, and 113 and a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05) since the claimed at least twice range overlap the “longer than” range disclosed by the cited prior art).
The sensor of Isshiki et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… first light source 31 is preferably an incoherent light source …” such as a third infrared detector is configured to output an internal reference signal based on the radiation it receives, wherein the light emitting diode and the third infrared detector are arranged such that a portion of the radiation emitted from the light emitting diode is received by the third infrared detector without being transmitted through the sample chamber and without being transmitted through the gas to be tested. However, “… light source …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… determine the presence and/or concentration of the gas in question by analyzing the absorption characteristics of the gas to be detected in a quite specific wavelength range in order to detect polar gases, such as methane or carbon dioxide, is known. Such gas sensors have a radiation source, an absorption path and a radiation detector … wavelength of interest can be adjusted via an interference filter … redundant branch 124. In addition to the first detector 112 which analyses the reflected light beam 111 which is affected by the transducer layer 102, a second detector 126 is provided-this measures the radiation emitted by the radiation source 108 directly and makes it available as a reference value. Due to the second detector 126, lamp ageing can be compared independently of measurement effects and the effects of ageing of the transducer layer 102, thus providing an additional margin of safety. For example, it is possible to ascertain that the signal delivered by the actual measuring detector 112 is plausible because, for instance, the signal from the additional detector 126 must always be bigger than the signal from the first detector because there is no attenuation due to deflection by the light conducting body 106. This means that specific simple-optical-evaluation fault scenarios which occur during operation can be detected and possibly corrected …” in paragraphs 4 and 35 of Frodl et al.). . It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional light source (e.g., comprising details such as “second detector 126”, in order that “lamp ageing can be compared independently of measurement effects” so that “specific simple-optical-evaluation fault scenarios which occur during operation can be detected and possibly corrected”) for the unspecified light source of Isshiki et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional light source (e.g., comprising details such as a third infrared detector is configured to output an internal reference signal based on the radiation it receives, wherein the light emitting diode and the third infrared detector are arranged such that a portion of the radiation emitted from the light emitting diode is received by the third infrared detector without being transmitted through the sample chamber and without being transmitted through the gas to be tested) as the unspecified light source of Isshiki et al.
In regard to claim 3 which is dependent on claim 1, Isshiki et al. also disclose that the peak wavelength, at which maximum transmittance of the bandpass filter occurs, is in the range from 3200 nm to 3260 nm (e.g., “… "transmission" means that the amount of light transmitted through the optical filter is 3% or more of the amount of light incident on the optical filter … first optical filter 41 transmits the light in the first transmission band … central wavelength of the first transmission band in the first optical filter 41 is preferably the wavelength of 3.2 µm or more and 3.4 µm or less … full width at half maximum of the transmission spectrum of the light transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is preferably 80 nm or more and 300 nm or less …” in paragraphs 23, 39, 42, and 43 and a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05) since the claimed 3200-3360 nm peak wavelength range overlap the “"transmission" means that the amount of light transmitted through the optical filter is 3% or more of the amount of light incident on the optical filter ” within “first optical filter 41 transmits the light in the first transmission band … central wavelength of the first transmission band in the first optical filter 41 is preferably the wavelength of 3.2 µm or more and 3.4 µm or less … full width at half maximum of the transmission spectrum of the light transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is preferably 80 nm or more and 300 nm or less” range disclosed by the cited prior art).
In regard to claim 4 which is dependent on claim 1, Isshiki et al. also disclose that the FWHM of the bandpass filter is in the range of 80 nm to 200 nm (e.g., “… "transmission" means that the amount of light transmitted through the optical filter is 3% or more of the amount of light incident on the optical filter … first optical filter 41 transmits the light in the first transmission band … central wavelength of the first transmission band in the first optical filter 41 is preferably the wavelength of 3.2 µm or more and 3.4 µm or less … full width at half maximum of the transmission spectrum of the light transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is preferably 80 nm or more and 300 nm or less …” in paragraphs 23, 39, 42, and 43 and a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05) since the claimed 80-200 nm FWHM range overlap the “full width at half maximum of the transmission spectrum of the light transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is preferably 80 nm or more and 300 nm or less” range disclosed by the cited prior art).
In regard to claim 5 which is dependent on claim 1, Isshiki et al. also disclose that the upper cut-off wavelength of the bandpass filter is in the range of 3275 nm to 3325 nm (e.g., “… "transmission" means that the amount of light transmitted through the optical filter is 3% or more of the amount of light incident on the optical filter … first optical filter 41 transmits the light in the first transmission band … central wavelength of the first transmission band in the first optical filter 41 is preferably the wavelength of 3.2 µm or more and 3.4 µm or less … full width at half maximum of the transmission spectrum of the light transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is preferably 80 nm or more and 300 nm or less …” in paragraphs 23, 39, 42, and 43 and a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05) since the claimed 3275-3325 nm upper cut-off wavelength range overlap the “"transmission" means that the amount of light transmitted through the optical filter is 3% or more of the amount of light incident on the optical filter ” within “first optical filter 41 transmits the light in the first transmission band … central wavelength of the first transmission band in the first optical filter 41 is preferably the wavelength of 3.2 µm or more and 3.4 µm or less … full width at half maximum of the transmission spectrum of the light transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is preferably 80 nm or more and 300 nm or less” range disclosed by the cited prior art).
In regard to claim 6 which is dependent on claim 1, Isshiki et al. also disclose that the bandpass filter has a lower cutoff wavelength in the range from 3100nm to 3200nm, wherein the lower cut-off wavelength is the wavelength at which the bandpass filter has a transmittance of 5% of the maximum transmittance of the bandpass filter, the lower cut-off wavelength being smaller than the peak wavelength of the bandpass filter at which maximum transmittance occurs (e.g., “… "transmission" means that the amount of light transmitted through the optical filter is 3% or more of the amount of light incident on the optical filter … first optical filter 41 transmits the light in the first transmission band … central wavelength of the first transmission band in the first optical filter 41 is preferably the wavelength of 3.2 µm or more and 3.4 µm or less … full width at half maximum of the transmission spectrum of the light transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is preferably 80 nm or more and 300 nm or less …” in paragraphs 23, 39, 42, and 43 and a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05) since the claimed 3100-3200 nm lower cut-off wavelength range overlap the “"transmission" means that the amount of light transmitted through the optical filter is 3% or more of the amount of light incident on the optical filter ” within “first optical filter 41 transmits the light in the first transmission band … central wavelength of the first transmission band in the first optical filter 41 is preferably the wavelength of 3.2 µm or more and 3.4 µm or less … full width at half maximum of the transmission spectrum of the light transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is preferably 80 nm or more and 300 nm or less” range disclosed by the cited prior art).
In regard to claims 8 and 9 which are dependent on claim 1, Isshiki et al. also disclose a first mirror positioned along the first optical path and configured to reflect radiation from the light emitting diode to the first infrared detector, wherein the first mirror is flat, concave, parabolic or spherical (e.g., see “… first optical path L1 … first light guide part 21 reflects infrared light multiple times or rotationally converts the radiation angle at the time of emitting infrared light so that infrared light emitted from the first light source 31 eventually reaches the first light receiving part 51. The first light guide part 21 includes a mirror 211 and a mirror 212 …” in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and paragraphs 51, 73, and 74).
In regard to claim 15 which is dependent on claim 1 in so far as understood, the sensor of Isshiki et al. lacks a third optical path shorter than the first and second optical paths. The sensor of Isshiki et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… first light source 31 is preferably an incoherent light source …” such as a third infrared detector is configured to output an internal reference signal based on the radiation it receives, wherein the light emitting diode and the third infrared detector are arranged such that a portion of the radiation emitted from the light emitting diode is received by the third infrared detector without being transmitted through the sample chamber and without being transmitted through the gas to be tested. However, “… light source …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… determine the presence and/or concentration of the gas in question by analyzing the absorption characteristics of the gas to be detected in a quite specific wavelength range in order to detect polar gases, such as methane or carbon dioxide, is known. Such gas sensors have a radiation source, an absorption path and a radiation detector … wavelength of interest can be adjusted via an interference filter … redundant branch 124. In addition to the first detector 112 which analyses the reflected light beam 111 which is affected by the transducer layer 102, a second detector 126 is provided-this measures the radiation emitted by the radiation source 108 directly and makes it available as a reference value. Due to the second detector 126, lamp ageing can be compared independently of measurement effects and the effects of ageing of the transducer layer 102, thus providing an additional margin of safety. For example, it is possible to ascertain that the signal delivered by the actual measuring detector 112 is plausible because, for instance, the signal from the additional detector 126 must always be bigger than the signal from the first detector because there is no attenuation due to deflection by the light conducting body 106. This means that specific simple-optical-evaluation fault scenarios which occur during operation can be detected and possibly corrected …” in paragraphs 4 and 35 of Frodl et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional light source (e.g., comprising details such as “second detector 126”, in order that “lamp ageing can be compared independently of measurement effects” so that “specific simple-optical-evaluation fault scenarios which occur during operation can be detected and possibly corrected”) for the unspecified light source of Isshiki et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional light source (e.g., comprising details such as a third optical path shorter than the first and second optical paths) as the unspecified light source of Isshiki et al.
In regard to claim 16 which is dependent on claim 1 in so far as understood, the sensor of Isshiki et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… first light source 31 is preferably an incoherent light source …” such as an internal chamber contains a vacuum or partial vacuum , or is filled with a gas or gas mixture that is substantial transmissive to infrared radiation in the range of 3100 to 3400 nm. However, “… light source …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… determine the presence and/or concentration of the gas in question by analyzing the absorption characteristics of the gas to be detected in a quite specific wavelength range in order to detect polar gases, such as methane or carbon dioxide, is known. Such gas sensors have a radiation source, an absorption path and a radiation detector … wavelength of interest can be adjusted via an interference filter … redundant branch 124. In addition to the first detector 112 which analyses the reflected light beam 111 which is affected by the transducer layer 102, a second detector 126 is provided-this measures the radiation emitted by the radiation source 108 directly and makes it available as a reference value. Due to the second detector 126, lamp ageing can be compared independently of measurement effects and the effects of ageing of the transducer layer 102, thus providing an additional margin of safety. For example, it is possible to ascertain that the signal delivered by the actual measuring detector 112 is plausible because, for instance, the signal from the additional detector 126 must always be bigger than the signal from the first detector because there is no attenuation due to deflection by the light conducting body 106. This means that specific simple-optical-evaluation fault scenarios which occur during operation can be detected and possibly corrected …” in paragraphs 4 and 35 of Frodl et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional light source (e.g., comprising details such as “second detector 126”, in order that “lamp ageing can be compared independently of measurement effects” so that “specific simple-optical-evaluation fault scenarios which occur during operation can be detected and possibly corrected”) for the unspecified light source of Isshiki et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional light source (e.g., comprising details such as an internal chamber contains a vacuum or partial vacuum , or is filled with a gas or gas mixture that is substantial transmissive to infrared radiation in the range of 3100 to 3400 nm) as the unspecified light source of Isshiki et al.
Claim(s) 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isshiki et al. in view of Frodl et al. as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Spectrogon (Optical filters (3 February 2023), 11 pages, Retrieved from Internet: <web.archive.org/web/20230203060455/https://www.spectrogon.com/products/optical-filters/spectrogon-ab/bandpass-filters/>).
In regard to claim 2 which is dependent on claim 1, the sensor of Isshiki et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… optical filter 41 …” such as the maximum transmittance of the bandpass filter is at least 65%. However, “… optical filter …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… General Specifications: Diameter: 25.4 mm +0/-0.2 mm. Custom sizing Thickness: Specified in the filter list below (mm), tol ±0.2 mm Blocking: Avg < 0.1 % UV to block high Slope: < 5 % defined as:
%
S
l
o
p
e
=
λ
80
%
o
f
T
p
e
a
k
-
λ
c
λ
c
×
100
… Description: BP-CWL-HW in nanometers (HW 50 % Tpeak) Click on the Description, to see spectral characteristics for the filters in stock. … Description Substrate Thk CWL +/- tol HW +/- tol Transm >% Block high pc(s) in stock Price EUR 1-9 pcs … BP-3250-100 nm Quartz 0.5 20 20 70 30000 >10 418 …” on pp. 3-5 of Spectrogon). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional filter (e.g., commercially available “BP-3250-100 nm” filter with “70” “Transm >%”, in order to detect methane) for the unspecified filter of Isshiki et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional filter (e.g., comprising details such as the maximum transmittance of the bandpass filter is at least 65%) as the unspecified filter of Isshiki et al.
In regard to claim 7 which is dependent on claim 1, the sensor of Isshiki et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… optical filter 41 …” such as the upper slope of the transmission spectrum of the bandpass filter or the lower slope of the transmission spectrum of the bandpass filter has an average gradient in the range of 0.5% to 1.5%; wherein the upper slope is the region between an upper shoulder wavelength that is greater than the peak wavelength and at which the transmittance of the bandpass filter is 80% of the maximum transmittance value of the bandpass filter and the upper cut-off wavelength, and the lower slope is the region between a lower cut-off wavelength and a lower shoulder wavelength that is smaller than the peak wavelength and at which the transmittance of the bandpass filter is 80% of the maximum transmittance value of the bandpass filter. However, “… optical filter …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… General Specifications: Diameter: 25.4 mm +0/-0.2 mm. Custom sizing Thickness: Specified in the filter list below (mm), tol ±0.2 mm Blocking: Avg < 0.1 % UV to block high Slope: < 5 % defined as:
%
S
l
o
p
e
=
λ
80
%
o
f
T
p
e
a
k
-
λ
c
λ
c
×
100
… Description: BP-CWL-HW in nanometers (HW 50 % Tpeak) Click on the Description, to see spectral characteristics for the filters in stock. … Description Substrate Thk CWL +/- tol HW +/- tol Transm >% Block high pc(s) in stock Price EUR 1-9 pcs … BP-3250-100 nm Quartz 0.5 20 20 70 30000 >10 418 …” on pp. 3-5 of Spectrogon). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional filter (e.g., commercially available “BP-3250-100 nm” filter with “Slope: < 5 % defined as:
%
S
l
o
p
e
=
λ
80
%
o
f
T
p
e
a
k
-
λ
c
λ
c
×
100
”, in order to detect methane) for the unspecified filter of Isshiki et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional filter (e.g., comprising details such as the upper slope of the transmission spectrum of the bandpass filter or the lower slope of the transmission spectrum of the bandpass filter has an average gradient in the range of 0.5% to 1.5%; wherein the upper slope is the region between an upper shoulder wavelength that is greater than the peak wavelength and at which the transmittance of the bandpass filter is 80% of the maximum transmittance value of the bandpass filter and the upper cut-off wavelength, and the lower slope is the region between a lower cut-off wavelength and a lower shoulder wavelength that is smaller than the peak wavelength and at which the transmittance of the bandpass filter is 80% of the maximum transmittance value of the bandpass filter) as the unspecified filter of Isshiki et al.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isshiki et al. in view of Frodl et al. as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Lützelschwab et al. (US 2020/0400556) and Iutzi et al. (US 2024/0353323).
In regard to claims 12 and 13 which are dependent on claim 1, the sensor of Isshiki et al. lacks an explicit description that a portion of the radiation transmitted through the bandpass filter is reflected by a second mirror along the second optical path through the sample chamber before being received by the second infrared detector. However, NDIR (non-dispersive infrared) is known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… When a specie of interest is introduced into the measurement chamber, it absorbs a portion of the infrared light, causing the signal output by each IR sensor to drop. Since the measurement path is longer than the reference path, more IR light is absorbed therein, causing the IR sensor associated with this path to receive proportionally less IR light than the sensor associated with the reference path. The difference in, and/or the ratio of, the outputs of the two sensors can hence be exploited to measure not only the presence but also the concentration of the specie of interest present in the measurement chamber. This principle is well-known … ratio L1/L2 is typically between 4/5 and 1/5, preferably between 1/3 and 2/3 …” in paragraphs 5 and 40 of Lützelschwab et al. and “… Differential path length (DPL) automatically cancels the changes in LED and filter's performance characteristics such as changes in intensity or wavelength and makes for a robust measurement of gas absorption … Differential path length module 700 comprises … optical filter 755 is placed directly above light source 720 … Filtered light gets split into two paths: a collimated portion which is reflected off of mirror 760, traverses the gas absorption region 780 of the chamber and received by main detector 740; and portion that get reflected to reference detector 730. ASIC is then used to process the detector signals while processing any necessary ratios …” in paragraphs 99, 183, and 186 of Iutzi et al.). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second mirror positioned along the second optical path and configured to reflect radiation from the light emitting diode to the second infrared detector, wherein the light emitting diode, the bandpass filter and the second infrared detector are arranged such that a portion of the radiation emitted from the light emitting diode is transmitted through the bandpass filter and along the second optical path through the sample chamber, before being received by the second infrared detector in the sensor of Isshiki et al., in order to also correct for “changes in LED and filter's performance characteristics”.
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isshiki et al. in view of Frodl et al. as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Gunn et al. (US 2009/0008560).
In regard to claim 17 which is dependent on claim 1, Isshiki et al. also disclose a processor (e.g., see “… operation part 60 may include at least one of the drive part 70, a general-purpose processor that executes a function according to a program to be read, and a dedicated processor specialized for a specific process …” in Fig. 1 and paragraph 85), the processor configured to:
(a) receive the output signal from the first infrared detector (e.g., see “… based on the first detection signal output from the first light receiving part 51 …” in Fig. 1 and paragraph 86);
(b) receive the short path reference signal from the second infrared detector (e.g., see “… based on the second detection signal output from the second light receiving part 52 … first optical path length l1 is equal to or longer than the second optical path length l2 …” in Fig. 1 and paragraphs 87 and 104);
(c) compare the output signal with the short path reference signal (e.g., “… For example, the operation part 60 calculates the concentration of gas to be measured by subtracting the second attenuation amount from the amount obtained by multiplying the first attenuation amount by a proportional constant …” in paragraph 88); and
(d) determine the concentration of methane in the sample chamber based on the comparison of the output signal and the short path reference signal (e.g., “… equation (1) according to the Lambert-Beer law … From equation (1), it is clear that the attenuation amount ΔI of the intensity of infrared light by gas behaves exponentially … It is preferable that the operation part 60 calculates the concentration of gas to be measured by using a polynomial of third order or higher in the equation (2) …” in paragraphs 90, 91, and 128).
The sensor of Isshiki et al. lacks an explicit description of details of NDIR use such as output an indication of the concentration of methane in the sample chamber. However, NDIR (non-dispersive infrared) use is known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… gas detection system which includes infrared gas detector apparatus that is specific to hydrocarbon components through which a sample gas flows, a computer system for receiving data from the infra-red gas detector apparatus and for processing such data, a display (e.g. screen and/or strip chart) to display results … methane detection filter over the detection channel crystal is made of quartz (fused silica) and has the following properties (passband P3 FIG. 16): Centre Wavelength: 3260 nm (tolerance ±20 nm) 5% cut-on: 3190 nm (tolerance ±15 nm) 5% cut-off: 3330 nm (tolerance <±10 nm) Half-power bandwidth: 93 nm Passband transmission: >70% The 5% cut-off wavelength is the most critical of the three parameters as will be explained in greater detail below. A filter with these properties can presently be obtained from Spectrogon AB …” in paragraphs 74, 126, and 127 of Gunn et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional NDIR use (e.g., comprising details such as “display results”) for the unspecified NDIR use of Isshiki et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional NDIR use (e.g., comprising details such as output an indication of the concentration of methane in the sample chamber) as the unspecified NDIR use of Isshiki et al.
In regard to claim 18 which is dependent on claim 17, Isshiki et al. also disclose that comparing the output signal with the short path reference signal comprises calculating the difference between the output signal and the short path reference signal and/or the internal reference signal (e.g., “… For example, the operation part 60 calculates the concentration of gas to be measured by subtracting the second attenuation amount from the amount obtained by multiplying the first attenuation amount by a proportional constant …” in paragraph 88), and wherein determining the concentration of methane in the contents of the sample chamber comprises estimating a proportion of radiation emitted by the light emitting diode absorbed by the contents of the sample chamber based on the calculated difference between the output signal and the short path reference signal, and calculating the concentration of methane in the sample chamber based on the estimated proportion of radiation emitted by the light emitting diode absorbed by the contents of the sample chamber (e.g., “… equation (1) according to the Lambert-Beer law … From equation (1), it is clear that the attenuation amount ΔI of the intensity of infrared light by gas behaves exponentially … It is preferable that the operation part 60 calculates the concentration of gas to be measured by using a polynomial of third order or higher in the equation (2) …” in paragraphs 90, 91, and 128).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isshiki et al. (US 2022/0307976) in view of Frodl et al. (US 2008/0116378) and Gunn et al. (US 2009/0008560).
In regard to claim 19, Isshiki et al. disclose a method for detecting a concentration of methane in a gas sample, comprising:
(a) providing a gas sensor comprising:
(a1) a light emitting diode arranged to emit infrared radiation into a sample chamber configured for containing the gas sample (e.g., see ““… first light guide part 21 … first light source 31 is preferably an incoherent light source, and is, for example, a Light Emitting Diode (LED) … When the second light source 32 is integrated into the first light source 31, the first light guide part 21 and the second light guide part 22 should be configured so that the infrared light emitted from the light source is taken to each light guide part …” in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and paragraphs 30, 32, and 36);
(a2) a first infrared detector configured to output an output signal based on the radiation it receives (e.g., see “… first light receiving part 51 generates a first detection signal according to the first intensity of the light received and outputs the signal …” in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and paragraph 50); and
(a3) a bandpass filter configured to filter radiation passing therethrough (e.g., see “… gas to be measured is methane … central wavelength of the first transmission band in the first optical filter 41 is preferably the wavelength of 3.2 µm or more and 3.4 µm or less … full width at half maximum of the transmission spectrum of the light transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is preferably 80 nm or more and 300 nm or less …” in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and paragraphs 42 and 43),
wherein the light emitting diode, the bandpass filter and the first infrared detector are arranged such that at least a portion of the radiation emitted from the light emitting diode is transmitted through the bandpass filter and along a first optical path through the sample chamber before being received by the first infrared detector (e.g., see “… first optical path L1 …” in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and paragraph 51),
wherein the bandpass filter has a full width at half maximum, FWHM, in the range from 70 nm to 300 nm and an upper cut-off wavelength of less than or equal to 3350 nm (e.g., “… "transmission" means that the amount of light transmitted through the optical filter is 3% or more of the amount of light incident on the optical filter … first optical filter 41 transmits the light in the first transmission band … central wavelength of the first transmission band in the first optical filter 41 is preferably the wavelength of 3.2 µm or more and 3.4 µm or less … full width at half maximum of the transmission spectrum of the light transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is preferably 80 nm or more and 300 nm or less …” in paragraphs 23, 39, 42, and 43 and a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05) since the claimed 70-300 nm FWHM range overlap the “full width at half maximum of the transmission spectrum of the light transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is preferably 80 nm or more and 300 nm or less” range disclosed by the cited prior art and the claimed ≤3350 nm upper cut-off wavelength range overlap the “"transmission" means that the amount of light transmitted through the optical filter is 3% or more of the amount of light incident on the optical filter ” within “first optical filter 41 transmits the light in the first transmission band … central wavelength of the first transmission band in the first optical filter 41 is preferably the wavelength of 3.2 µm or more and 3.4 µm or less … full width at half maximum of the transmission spectrum of the light transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is preferably 80 nm or more and 300 nm or less” range disclosed by the cited prior art),
wherein an upper cut-off wavelength is the wavelength at which the bandpass filter has a transmittance of 5% of the maximum transmittance of the bandpass filter, the upper cut-off wavelength being greater than a peak wavelength of the bandpass filter at which maximum transmittance occurs (e.g., ““… "transmission" means that the amount of light transmitted through the optical filter is 3% or more of the amount of light incident on the optical filter … full width at half maximum of the transmission spectrum of the light transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is preferably 80 nm or more and 300 nm or less …” in paragraphs 23 and 43), and
wherein the FWHM is a difference between the wavelengths at which the transmittance of the bandpass filter is at 50% of the maximum transmittance of the bandpass filter (e.g., “… full width at half maximum of the transmission spectrum of the light transmitted through the first optical filter 41 is preferably 80 nm or more and 300 nm or less …” in paragraph 43);
(b) receiving, by a processor, the output signal from the first infrared detector and a short path reference signal from a second infrared detector, wherein the light emitting diode and the second infrared detector are arranged such that a portion of the radiation emitted from the light emitting diode is transmitted along a second optical path through the sample chamber before being received by the second infrared detector, wherein a length of the first optical path through the sample chamber is at least twice a length of the second optical path through the sample chamber, and wherein the first infrared detector and second infrared detector are located adjacent to the light emitting diode (e.g., see “… operation part 60 may include at least one of the drive part 70, a general-purpose processor that executes a function according to a program to be read, and a dedicated processor specialized for a specific process … based on the first detection signal output from the first light receiving part 51 … based on the second detection signal output from the second light receiving part 52 … first optical path length l1 is equal to or longer than the second optical path length l2 … first light source 31, the second light source 32, the first light receiving part 51 and the second light receiving part 52 may preferably be mounted on the same substrate …” in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and paragraphs 85-87, 104, and 113 and a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05) since the claimed at least twice range overlap the “longer than” range disclosed by the cited prior art);
(c) comparing, by the processor, an electromagnetic spectra of the output signal and the short path reference signal (e.g., “… For example, the operation part 60 calculates the concentration of gas to be measured by subtracting the second attenuation amount from the amount obtained by multiplying the first attenuation amount by a proportional constant …” in paragraph 88); and
(d) determining, by the processor, the concentration of methane in the sample chamber based on the comparison of the electromagnetic spectra of the output signal and the short path reference signal (e.g., “… equation (1) according to the Lambert-Beer law … From equation (1), it is clear that the attenuation amount ΔI of the intensity of infrared light by gas behaves exponentially … It is preferable that the operation part 60 calculates the concentration of gas to be measured by using a polynomial of third order or higher in the equation (2) …” in paragraphs 90, 91, and 128).
The method of Isshiki et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… first light source 31 is preferably an incoherent light source …” such as receiving, by a processor, an internal reference signal from a third infrared detector, the light emitting diode and the third infrared detector are arranged such that a portion of the radiation emitted from the light emitting diode is transmitted along a third optical path, and wherein the portion of the radiation received by the third infrared detector from the light emitting diode is received without being transmitted through the sample chamber and without being transmitted through the gas to be tested, an explicit description of details of the “… optical concentration measuring device 1 can be applied to devices …” (paragraph 136) such as outputting, by the processor, an indication of the concentration of methane in the sample chamber. However, “… light source …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… determine the presence and/or concentration of the gas in question by analyzing the absorption characteristics of the gas to be detected in a quite specific wavelength range in order to detect polar gases, such as methane or carbon dioxide, is known. Such gas sensors have a radiation source, an absorption path and a radiation detector … wavelength of interest can be adjusted via an interference filter … redundant branch 124. In addition to the first detector 112 which analyses the reflected light beam 111 which is affected by the transducer layer 102, a second detector 126 is provided-this measures the radiation emitted by the radiation source 108 directly and makes it available as a reference value. Due to the second detector 126, lamp ageing can be compared independently of measurement effects and the effects of ageing of the transducer layer 102, thus providing an additional margin of safety. For example, it is possible to ascertain that the signal delivered by the actual measuring detector 112 is plausible because, for instance, the signal from the additional detector 126 must always be bigger than the signal from the first detector because there is no attenuation due to deflection by the light conducting body 106. This means that specific simple-optical-evaluation fault scenarios which occur during operation can be detected and possibly corrected …” in paragraphs 4 and 35 of Frodl et al.) and NDIR (non-dispersive infrared) use is also known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… gas detection system which includes infrared gas detector apparatus that is specific to hydrocarbon components through which a sample gas flows, a computer system for receiving data from the infra-red gas detector apparatus and for processing such data, a display (e.g. screen and/or strip chart) to display results … methane detection filter over the detection channel crystal is made of quartz (fused silica) and has the following properties (passband P3 FIG. 16): Centre Wavelength: 3260 nm (tolerance ±20 nm) 5% cut-on: 3190 nm (tolerance ±15 nm) 5% cut-off: 3330 nm (tolerance <±10 nm) Half-power bandwidth: 93 nm Passband transmission: >70% The 5% cut-off wavelength is the most critical of the three parameters as will be explained in greater detail below. A filter with these properties can presently be obtained from Spectrogon AB …” in paragraphs 74, 126, and 127 of Gunn et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional light source (e.g., comprising details such as “second detector 126”, in order that “lamp ageing can be compared independently of measurement effects” so that “specific simple-optical-evaluation fault scenarios which occur during operation can be detected and possibly corrected”) for the unspecified light source of Isshiki et al. and substituted a known conventional NDIR use (e.g., comprising details such as “display results”) for the unspecified NDIR use of Isshiki et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional light source (e.g., comprising details such as a third infrared detector is configured to output an internal reference signal based on the radiation it receives, wherein the light emitting diode and the third infrared detector are arranged such that a portion of the radiation emitted from the light emitting diode is received by the third infrared detector without being transmitted through the sample chamber and without being transmitted through the gas to be tested, outputting, by the processor, an indication of the concentration of methane in the sample chamber) as the unspecified light source of Isshiki et al. and provide a known conventional NDIR use (e.g., comprising details such as outputting, by the processor, an indication of the concentration of methane in the sample chamber) as the unspecified NDIR use of Isshiki et al.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isshiki et al. (US 2022/0307976) in view of Lützelschwab et al. (US 2020/0400556), Iutzi et al. (US 2024/0353323), and Frodl et al. (US 2008/0116378).
In regard to claim 20, Isshiki et al. disclose a gas sensor for detecting a concentration of a target gas in a gas sample, comprising:
(a) a sample chamber for containing the gas sample (e.g., see “… first light guide part 21 …” in Fig. 1 and paragraph 30);
(b) an infrared light emitting diode arranged to emit infrared radiation into the sample chamber (e.g., see “… first light source 31 is preferably an incoherent light source, and is, for example, a Light Emitting Diode (LED) …” in Fig. 1 and paragraph 32);
(c) a first infrared detector configured to produce an output signal based on the radiation it receives (e.g., see “… first light receiving part 51 generates a first detection signal according to the first intensity of the light received and outputs the signal …” in Fig. 1 and paragraph 50); and
(d) a first mirror positioned along a first optical path and configured to reflect radiation from the light emitting diode to the first infrared detector, wherein the light emitting diode, the first mirror and the first infrared detector are arranged such that a portion of the radiation emitted from the light emitting diode is transmitted along the first optical path through the sample chamber, reflected by the first mirror and received by the first infrared detector (e.g., see “… first optical path L1 … first light guide part 21 reflects infrared light multiple times or rotationally converts the radiation angle at the time of emitting infrared light so that infrared light emitted from the first light source 31 eventually reaches the first light receiving part 51. The first light guide part 21 includes a mirror 211 and a mirror 212 …” in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and paragraphs 51, 73, and 74).
While Isshiki et al. also disclose that infrared detector(s) preferably are located adjacent to light emitting diode(s) (e.g., “… first light source 31, the second light source 32, the first light receiving part 51 and the second light receiving part 52 may preferably be mounted on the same substrate …” in paragraph 113), the sensor of Isshiki et al. lacks that a portion of the radiation emitted from the light emitting diode is received by a third infrared detector without being transmitted through the gas sample and without being reflected by a mirror to produce an internal reference signal, a portion of the radiation emitted from the light emitting diode is reflected by a second mirror to a second infrared detector along a second optical path through the sample chamber to produce a short path reference signal, wherein the first optical path length is at least twice the second optical path length. However, NDIR (non-dispersive infrared) is known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… When a specie of interest is introduced into the measurement chamber, it absorbs a portion of the infrared light, causing the signal output by each IR sensor to drop. Since the measurement path is longer than the reference path, more IR light is absorbed therein, causing the IR sensor associated with this path to receive proportionally less IR light than the sensor associated with the reference path. The difference in, and/or the ratio of, the outputs of the two sensors can hence be exploited to measure not only the presence but also the concentration of the specie of interest present in the measurement chamber. This principle is well-known … ratio L1/L2 is typically between 4/5 and 1/5, preferably between 1/3 and 2/3 …” in paragraphs 5 and 40 of Lützelschwab et al., “… Differential path length (DPL) automatically cancels the changes in LED and filter's performance characteristics such as changes in intensity or wavelength and makes for a robust measurement of gas absorption … Differential path length module 700 comprises … optical filter 755 is placed directly above light source 720 … Filtered light gets split into two paths: a collimated portion which is reflected off of mirror 760, traverses the gas absorption region 780 of the chamber and received by main detector 740; and portion that get reflected to reference detector 730. ASIC is then used to process the detector signals while processing any necessary ratios …” in paragraphs 99, 183, and 186 of Iutzi et al. and “… determine the presence and/or concentration of the gas in question by analyzing the absorption characteristics of the gas to be detected in a quite specific wavelength range in order to detect polar gases, such as methane or carbon dioxide, is known. Such gas sensors have a radiation source, an absorption path and a radiation detector … wavelength of interest can be adjusted via an interference filter … redundant branch 124. In addition to the first detector 112 which analyses the reflected light beam 111 which is affected by the transducer layer 102, a second detector 126 is provided-this measures the radiation emitted by the radiation source 108 directly and makes it available as a reference value. Due to the second detector 126, lamp ageing can be compared independently of measurement effects and the effects of ageing of the transducer layer 102, thus providing an additional margin of safety. For example, it is possible to ascertain that the signal delivered by the actual measuring detector 112 is plausible because, for instance, the signal from the additional detector 126 must always be bigger than the signal from the first detector because there is no attenuation due to deflection by the light conducting body 106. This means that specific simple-optical-evaluation fault scenarios which occur during operation can be detected and possibly corrected …” in
and paragraphs 4 and 35 of Frodl et al.). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a short path (i.e., first optical path length at least twice the second optical path length) reference signal produced by reflecting a portion of the radiation emitted from the light emitting diode by a second mirror to a second infrared detector along a second optical path through the sample chamber in the sensor of Isshiki et al., in order to also correct for “changes in LED and filter's performance characteristics”. It would also have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an internal reference signal produced by a third infrared detector from a portion of the radiation emitted from the light emitting diode that is not transmitted through the gas sample and without reflected by a mirror in the sensor of Isshiki et al., in order to correct “specific simple-optical-evaluation fault scenarios which occur during operation”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 4,507,558 teaches gas detection.
US 2002/0050567 teaches gas detection.
US 2003/0090670 teaches gas detection.
US 2013/0342680 teaches gas detection.
US 2021/0102840 teaches gas detection.
/SL/
Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884