The response of the applicant has been read and given careful consideration. The proper terminal disclaimer overcome the ODP rejection over 11732086, 11286338 and 11834542. Responses to the arguments advanced by the applicant are presented after the first rejection they are directed to. The rejection based in part upon Vidavsky has been obviated.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhodes et al. 20210079156, in view of Mueller et al. 20120056183.
Rhodes et al. 20210079156 describes in example 1, the combination of diisopropylphenyl)-3,3,5,5-tetramethylpyrrolidin-2-ylidene-triisopropylphosphine ruthenium carbide dichloride (Ru-6), 1-chloro-4-propoxy-9H-thioxanthen-9-one (CPTX) and 5-phenethylbicyclo[2.2.1]hept-2-ene (PENB) as component A and tolylcumyliodonium-tetrakis pentafluorophenylborate (Rhodorsil 2074) in toluene as component B. This was then fully polymerized (more than 99%) by a 3 minutes exposure to 395 nm UV light [0169]. Examples 2 and 3 are similar to example 1, but use 1,3-bis(2,6-diisopropylphenylimidazolidin-2-ylidene)-tricyclohexylphosphine-ruthenium carbide dichloride (Ru-3) and diethylphenyl)-3,3,5,5-tetramethylpyrrolidin-2-ylidene-triisopropylphosphine ruthenium carbide dichloride (Ru-5) respectively [0170]. Example 6 is similar to example 1, but uses 4-isopropylthioxanthone(ITX) as the sensitizing agent [0172]. Example 4 is similar to example 1, but co-polymerized monomers 5-phenethylbicyclo[2.2.1]hept-2-ene (PENB) and 5-(2-([1,1′-biphenyl]-2-yloxy)ethyl)bicyclo[2.2.1]hept-2-ene (NBEtO-2-PhPh) using 1,3-bis(2,4,6-trimethylphenylimidazolidin-2-ylidene)-tricyclohexylphosphine-ruthenium carbide dichloride (Ru-1) as the latent catalyst. Example 5 is similar to example 1, but co-polymerized monomers 5-phenethylbicyclo[2.2.1]hept-2-ene (PENB), dicyclopentadiene (DCPD) and 5-(2-([1,1′-biphenyl]-2-yloxy)ethyl)bicyclo[2.2.1]hept-2-ene (NBEtO-2-PhPh) using 1-(2,6-diethylphenyl)-3,3,5,5-tetramethylpyrrolidin-2-ylidene-triisopropylphosphine ruthenium carbide dichloride (Ru-5) as the latent catalyst [0171]. Examples 9,10 and 13 demonstrate the extended shelf like [0174,0176]. Example 12 combines dicyclopentadiene (DCPD) and 5-(2-([1,1′-biphenyl]-2-yloxy)ethyl)bicyclo[2.2.1]hept-2-ene (NBEtO-2-PhPh), 1-(2,6-diethylphenyl)-3,3,5,5-tetramethylpyrrolidin-2-ylidene-triisopropylphosphine ruthenium carbide dichloride (Ru-5), 1-chloro-4-propoxy-9H-thioxanthen-9-one (CPTX) and tolylcumyliodonium-tetrakis pentafluorophenylborate (Rhodorsil 2074) and was extruded through a nozzle and cured using UV light [0175]. Comparative example 1 and 3 are similar to the two of the inventive examples, but did not include a photosensitizer (CPTX) and did not (fully) cure [0180,0182]. Comparative 2 did not include either Rhodasil 2074 (PAG) and photosensitizer (CPTX) [0181]. Useful ROMP monomers can be used in combination [0034-0044,0087]
.
Useful precatalysts (latent catalysts) are disclosed [0098-0106].
which are embraced by
wherein L is PR.sub.3, where R is independently selected from the group consisting of isopropyl, sec-butyl, tert-butyl, cyclohexyl, bicyclo(C.sub.5-C.sub.10)alkyl, phenyl, benzyl, isopropoxy, sec-butoxy, tert-butoxy, cyclohexyloxy, phenoxy and benzyloxy;
[0049] R.sub.7 is selected from the group consisting of methyl, ethyl, isopropyl, sec-butyl, tert-butyl, substituted or unsubstituted cyclohexyl, substituted or unsubstituted phenyl, substituted or unsubstituted biphenyl and substituted or unsubstituted naphthyl;
[0050] R.sub.8 and R.sub.9 are the same or different and each independently selected from the group consisting of hydrogen, methyl, ethyl, linear or branched (C.sub.1-C.sub.6)alkyl, (C.sub.6-C.sub.10)aryl, methoxy, ethoxy, linear or branched (C.sub.1-C.sub.6)alkoxy, (C.sub.6-C.sub.10)aryloxy, —NHCO(C.sub.1-C.sub.6)alkyl, —NHCO-perfluoro(C.sub.1-C.sub.6)alkyl, —SO.sub.2N((C.sub.1-C.sub.6)alkyl).sub.2 and —NO.sub.2; or R.sub.8 and R.sub.9 taken together with the carbon atom to which they are attached to form a (C.sub.3-C.sub.7)cycloalkyl ring; each R.sub.10 is independently selected from the group consisting of hydrogen, methyl, ethyl and linear or branched (C.sub.1-C.sub.6)alkyl;Ar.sub.1 and Ar.sub.2 are the same or different and each independently selected from the group consisting of substituted or unsubstituted phenyl, substituted or unsubstituted biphenyl and substituted or unsubstituted naphthyl; wherein said substituents are selected from the group consisting of methyl, ethyl, iso-propyl, tert-butyl and phenyl; and wherein said component A and component B are in a clear liquid form at room temperature [0046-0061]. Useful sensitizers which accelerate/sensitize the generation of the photoacid are disclosed [0106-0117].
Useful photoacid generators are disclosed [0118-0125]
. The use of pattern wise exposure with a laser or digital light projector is disclosed followed by development is disclosed [0156,0140]
Mueller et al. 20120056183 teaches in example B56-B-57, the copolymerization of 5-decylbicyclo[2.2.1]hept-2-ene (DecNB) and 2-[(bicyclo[2.2.1]hept-5-en-2-ylmethoxy)methyl]-oxirane (MGENB) by heating at 40 degrees C in the presence of a catalyst, which was then removed by precipitation of the polymer. [0214]. Examples B58-B59 and B62-B63 were similar, but copolymerized 5-butylbicyclo[2.2.1]hept-2-ene (BuNB) and 2-[(bicyclo[2.2.1]hept-5-en-2-ylmethoxy)methyl]-oxirane (MGENB) [0215,0217]. Examples B60-B61 the copolymerization of 5-decylbicyclo[2.2.1]hept-2-ene (DecNB) and 2-(6-bicyclo[2.2.1]hept-5-en-2-ylhexyl)-oxirane (EONB) [0216]. Examples C3 and C4 combines the copolymer obtained in B56 or B57 with the photoacid generator p-isopropylphenyl (p-methylphenyl)iodonium tetrakis(pentafluorophenyl)borate and crosslinks/cures the polymer using 254 nm UV [0233-0234]. Example C8 combines NuNB and MeOCinnNB 55:45 copolymer is formulated as a 13% w/w solution in 2-heptanone including 1.0% (by weight of polymer) of 1-chloro-4-propoxythioxanthone (photosensitizer) . The solution is spun at 1500rpm for 30s, annealed for 2 min at 120.degree. C. on a hotplate and irradiated under 365 nm UV light (11 mW/cm.sup.2) for 200 sec. Spin coated Merck Lisicon S1200.TM. is used in this example. The transfer curve is depicted in FIG. 10 [0238]. Useful ROMP monomers are disclosed including
And they are bounded by the formulae
, where m is an integer from 0 to 5, and each of R.sup.1, R.sup.2, R.sup.3 and R.sup.4 are independently selected from H, a C.sub.1 to C.sub.25 hydrocarbyl, a C.sub.1 to C.sub.25 halohydrocarbyl or a C.sub.1 to C.sub.25 perhalocarbyl group [0032-0056]. Useful catalysts including those of US 20060020068 for polymerizing the monomers are disclosed [0059]. The use of sensitizers is disclosed as allowing crosslinking of maleimide polymerization with 365 nm UV light [0061-0062]. Photoacid generators are used to catalyze the crosslinking of the epoxy moieties using exposure to heat or UV radiation. Residual photoacid is removed by washing with a swelling solvent [0063]. In order to produce the desired properties for specific applications, a combination of norbornene monomers with several different classes of pendent groups can be polymerized to obtain control over the flexibility, adhesion, interface and solubility of the resulting polymer(s). For example, varying the length of an alkyl group attached to the backbone can allow control of the polymer's modulus and glass transition temperature (T.sub.g). Also, pendent groups selected from maleimide, cinnamate, coumarin, anhydride, alcohol, ester, and epoxy functional groups can be used to promote crosslinking and to modify solubility characteristics. Polar functional groups, epoxy and triethoxysilyl groups can be used to provide adhesion to metals, silicon, and oxides in adjacent device layers. Fluorinated groups, for example, can be used to effectively modify surface energy and influence the orthogonality of the solution with respect to other materials. where only one of R.sup.1-4 is different from H and where only one of R.sup.5-8 is different from H, such embodiments encompass a group that is either a photoreactive or a crosslinkable group. Further such groups encompass a linking portion L and a functional portion F. For example, L can appropriately encompass a C.sub.1-C.sub.12 alkyls, aralkyls, aryls or hetero atom analogs, while F can encompass one or more of a maleimide, a 3-monoalkyl- or 3,4-dialkylmaleimide, epoxy, vinyl, acetylenic, cinnamate, indenyl or coumarin moiety, which is capable of a crosslinking or 2+2 crosslinking reaction. The crosslinkable group of the reactive adhesion promoter can be, for example, a maleimide, a 3-monoalkyl-maleimide, a 3,4-dialkylmaleimide, an epoxy, a vinyl, an acetyl, an indenyl, a cinnamate or a coumarin group. Further, the crosslinkable group can encompass a substituted or unsubstituted maleimide portion, an epoxide portion, a vinyl portion, a cinnamate portion or a coumarin portion. The crosslinkable group of the crosslinker or crosslinking agent is, for example, selected from a maleimide, a 3-monoalkyl-maleimide, a 3,4-dialkylmaleimide, an epoxy, a vinyl, an acetyl, an indenyl, a cinnamate or a coumarin group. Further, the crosslinkable group can encompass a substituted or unsubstituted maleimide portion, an epoxide portion, a vinyl portion, a cinnamate portion or a coumarin portion [0037,0040,0092, 0104].
Rhodes et al. 20210079156 does not exemplify ROMP monomers which include an epoxy group.
Alternatively with respect to claims 1-20, It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the examples 4,5 or 12 of Rhodes et al. 20210079156 including a ROMP monomer, 1-(2,6-diethylphenyl)-3,3,5,5-tetramethylpyrrolidin-2-ylidene-triisopropylphosphine ruthenium carbide dichloride as the Ru precatalyst, tolylcumyliodonium-tetrakis pentafluorophenylborate (Rhodorsil 2074) as the photoacid generator and 1-chloro-4-propoxy-9H-thioxanthen-9-one (CPTX) as the sensitizer by adding a ROMP monomer including an epoxy functional group such as
,
,
or
of Mueller et al. 20120056183 to facilitate photocrosslinking via the photoacid generator to obtain control over the flexibility, adhesion, interface and solubility of the resulting polymer(s) [0063, 0037,0040,0092, 0104].
Further it would have been obvious to modify the compositions rendered obvious above by replacing at least one of the Ru precatalyst, photoacid generator, ROMP monomer without the epoxy moiety and the sensitizer with other disclosed in Rhodes et al. 20210079156 and/or replacing the ROMP monomers exemplified in Mueller et al. 20120056183 with other bounded by the teachings of Mueller, et al. including those where m is 1 (1,4:5,8 dimethanonaphthalen-2-yl) with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful photocurable composition based upon their disclosed equivalence.
With respect to claims 19 and 20, it further would have been obvious to use the resulting compositions for organic encapsulant layers and/or as filler materials in some of such OLED devices as taught at [0157] of Rhodes et al. 20210079156 with a reasonable expectation of success.
The “further” clause, above embraces embodiments where the Ruthenium catalyst is (1-(2.6-diethypheny)-3,5-dimethyl-3,5diethylpvrroidin-2-yl)(tris-isopropylphosphine) rutheninm carbide dichloride, (1-(2.6-diethypheny)-3,3,5,5-tetraethylpvrroidin-2-yl)(tris-isopropylphosphine) rutheninm carbide dichloride or (1-(2.6-diethypheny)-3,3,5,5-tetramethylpvrroidin-2-yl)(tris-cyclohexylphosphine) ruthenium carbide dichloride
In the response of 1/26/2026, the applicant argues that the Mueller et al. does not teach that the epoxy monomers can be used in ROMP mass polymerization. The examiner disagrees pointing out that the Mueller et al. 20120056183 teaches in example B56-B-57 to ROMP polymerization to form copolymers, which in examples C3 and C4 combines the copolymer obtained in B56 or B57 with the photoacid generator p-isopropylphenyl (p-methylphenyl)iodonium tetrakis(pentafluorophenyl)borate and crosslinks/cures the polymer using 254 nm UV [0233-0234]. The examiner recognizes that these are performed stepwise, but notes that Rhodes et al. 20210079156 establishes the compatibility of the Ru ROMP catalyst, the photoacid generator and the sensitizer in composition inducing ROMP polymerization and photoacid catalyzed polymerization. This provides a reasonable expectation of being able to perform the ROMP copolymerization and the photoacid successively in a single pot system. The claims do not recite the thermoset limitation, so the argued position is not commensurate in scope with the coverage sought. The argued position with respect to the example including only a photoacid generator, sensitizer and CHEpNB lacks a Ru catalyst, so the ROMP polymerization does not occur (prepub at [0172]). In the Rhodes references both the photoacid generator and the Ru ROMP catalyst are present, so both the ROMP copolymerization and the epoxy crosslinking can occur. The examples B56-B-57 in Mueller clearly use heating at 40 degrees to drive the ROMP reaction, followed by the UV exposure in examples C3 and C4. The applicant argues that these relate to different polymers, but overlooks the fact that the ROMP reactions are the same in the references. The applicant has a one pot composition which successively undergoes the thermally activated ROMP polymerization of the olefin and photoacid induced crosslinking/polymerization of the epoxy. This is similar to the successive process of examples B56-B-57 and C3 and C4 in Mueller et al. The rejection stands.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhodes et al. 20210079156, in view of Mueller et al. 20120056183, further in view of Ng et al. 20160147145
Ng et al. 20160147145 teaches in example 1, the copolymerization of 5-decylbicyclo[2.2.1]hept-2-ene (DecNB) and 2-(bicyclo[2.2.1]hept-5-en-2-yl)ethyl)((3-ethyloxetan-3-yl)methoxy)dimethylsilane (NB-SiMe.sub.2O-Oxetane) with a Ni catalyst and the polymer was precipitated [0164]. The polymers of examples 2-5 were prepared similarly [0166]. A negative tone composition was formed by combining the oxetane functionalized polymer of example 5 with cyclohexane divinyl ether (CHDVE), 3,5-bis(1,1-dimethylethyl)-4-hydroxy-octadecyl ester benzenepropanoic acid (IRGANOX 1076, free radical photoinitiator), (3-GTS) triethoxy(3-(oxiran-2-ylmethoxy)propyl)silane (also commonly known as 3-glycidoxypropyl triethoxysilane, an epoxy), P-(p-isopropylphenyl)(p-methylphenyl)-iodonium tetrakis(pentafluorophenyl) borate (DPI-TPFPB, RHODORSIL 2074, cationic photoinitiator),1-chloro-4-propoxy-1,9a-dihydro-9H-thioxanthen-9-one (CPTX, photosensitizer), and phenothiazine. This was then spin coated upon a wafer, soft baked, image wise exposed and developed in methyl amyl ketone (MAK) to form a crosslinked pattern [0170-0171]. Useful monomers disclosed include those bounded by formula II with an epoxy moiety (B)
, wherein:
denotes a place of bonding with another repeat unit; b is 0 or 1; R.sub.3, R.sub.4, R.sub.5 and R.sub.6 are the same or different and each independently of one another is selected from hydrogen, linear or branched (C.sub.1-C.sub.16)alkyl, (C.sub.1-C.sub.16)alkenyl, hydroxy(C.sub.1-C.sub.16)alkyl, hydroxyperfluoro(C.sub.1-C.sub.4)alkyl(C.sub.1-C.sub.4)alkyl, perfluoro(C.sub.1-C.sub.12)alkyl, (C.sub.3-C.sub.12)cycloalkyl, (C.sub.6-C .sub.12)bicycloalkyl, (C.sub.7-C.sub.14)tricycloalkyl, (C.sub.6-C.sub.10)aryl, (C.sub.6-C.sub.10)aryl(C.sub.1-C.sub.3)alkyl, perfluoro(C.sub.6-C.sub.10)aryl, perfluoro(C.sub.6-C.sub.10)aryl(C.sub.1-C.sub.3)alkyl, di(C.sub.1-C.sub.2)alkylmaleimide(C.sub.3-C.sub.6)alkyl, di(C.sub.1-C.sub.2)alkylmaleimide(C.sub.2-C.sub.6)alkoxy(C.sub.1-C.sub.2)alkyl, hydroxy, (C.sub.1-C.sub.12)alkoxy, (C.sub.3-C .sub.12)cycloalkoxy, (C.sub.6-C .sub.12)bicycloalkoxy, (C.sub.7-C .sub.14)tricycloalkoxy, (C1-C.sub.12)alkoxy(C.sub.1-C.sub.8)alkyl, (C.sub.6-C.sub.10)aryloxy(C.sub.1-C.sub.3)alkyl, (C.sub.s-C.sub.10)heteroaryloxy(C.sub.1-C.sub.3)alkyl, (C.sub.6-C.sub.10)aryloxy, (C.sub.5-C.sub.10)heteroaryloxy, (C.sub.1-C.sub.6)acyloxy, (C.sub.1-C.sub.6)acyloxy, oxiranyl(C.sub.0-C.sub.8)alkyl, oxiranyl(CH.sub.2).sub.cO(CH.sub.2).sub.d—, halogen or a group of formula (A): —(CH.sub.2).sub.c—(OCH.sub.2—CH.sub.2).sub.d—OR (A); or a group of formula (B):
[0066- 0107]. Useful photoacid generators are disclosed, including sulfonium and iodonium salts.
are among those exemplified[0117-0119]. The addition of sensitizers is also disclosed including
, which are described as being selected to absorb the exposure light. [0121]. Crosslinking compounds disclosed include epoxy containing compounds such as
[0126].
The combination of Rhodes et al. 20210079156 and Mueller et al. 20120056183 does not teach cyclohexeneoxide containing epoxy groups.
With respect to claims 1-20, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the examples 4,5 or 12 of Rhodes et al. 20210079156 including a ROMP monomer, 1-(2,6-diethylphenyl)-3,3,5,5-tetramethylpyrrolidin-2-ylidene-triisopropylphosphine ruthenium carbide dichloride as the Ru precatalyst, tolylcumyliodonium-tetrakis pentafluorophenylborate (Rhodorsil 2074) as the photoacid generator and 1-chloro-4-propoxy-9H-thioxanthen-9-one (CPTX) as the sensitizer by adding a ROMP monomer including an epoxy/oxiranyl functional group such as
,
or
similar epoxy/oxiranyl containing ROMP monomers taught in [0066-0105] of Ng et al. 20160147145 to facilitate photocrosslinking via the photoacid generator to obtain control over the flexibility, adhesion, interface and solubility of the resulting polymer(s) as taught at [0063, 0037,0040,0092, 0104] of Mueller et al. 20120056183. Further it would have been obvious to modify the compositions rendered obvious above by replacing at least one of the Ru precatalyst, photoacid generator, ROMP monomer without the epoxy moiety and the sensitizer with other disclosed in Rhodes et al. 20210079156 and/or replacing the ROMP monomers exemplified in Ng et al. 20160147145 with other bounded by the teachings of Ng et al. 20160147145 including those where m is 1 (1,4:5,8 dimethanonaphthalen-2-yl) with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful photocurable composition based upon their disclosed equivalence.
With respect to claims 19 and 20, it further would have been obvious to use the resulting compositions for organic encapsulant layers and/or as filler materials in some of such OLED devices as taught at [0157] of Rhodes et al. 20210079156 with a reasonable expectation of success.
The “further” clause, above embraces embodiments where the Ruthenium catalyst is (1-(2.6-diethypheny)-3,5-dimethyl-3,5diethylpvrroidin-2-yl)(tris-isopropylphosphine) rutheninm carbide dichloride, (1-(2.6-diethypheny)-3,3,5,5-tetraethylpvrroidin-2-yl)(tris-isopropylphosphine) rutheninm carbide dichloride or (1-(2.6-diethypheny)-3,3,5,5-tetramethylpvrroidin-2-yl)(tris-cyclohexylphosphine) ruthenium carbide dichloride
In the response of 1/29/2026, the applicant also argues the Ng et al. does not suggest that the epoxy containing polymers can be used in ROMP mass polymerization or that the result in a thermoset polymer/composition. The claims do not recite the thermoset limitation, so the argued position is not commensurate in scope with the coverage sought. The argued position with respect to the example including only a photoacid generator, sensitizer and CHEpNB lacks a Ru catalyst, so the ROMP polymerization does not occur (prepub at [0172]). In the Rhodes references both the photoacid generator and the Ru ROMP catalyst are present, so both the ROMP copolymerization and the epoxy crosslinking can occur. The examples B56-B-57 in Mueller clearly use heating at 40 degrees to drive the ROMP reaction, followed by the UV exposure in examples C3 and C4. The applicant argues that these relate to different polymers, but overlooks the fact that the ROMP reactions are the same in the references. The applicant has a one pot composition which successively undergoes the thermally activated ROMP polymerization of the olefin and photoacid induced crosslinking/polymerization of the epoxy. This is similar to the successive process of examples B56-B-57 and C3 and C4 in Mueller et al. The rejection stands.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhodes et al. 20210079133, in view of Mueller et al. 20120056183 and Ng et al. 20160147145
Rhodes et al. 20210079133 in example 1 teaches the UV curing/polymerization of 5-phenethylbicyclo[2.2.1]hept-2-ene (PENB) in the presence of 1,3-bis(2,6-diisopropylphenylimidazolidin-2-ylidene)-tricyclohexylphosphine-ruthenium carbide diiodide (Ru-4), tolylcumyliodonium-tetrakis pentafluorophenylborate (Rhodorsil 2074) and 1-chloro-4-propoxy-9H-thioxanthen-9-one (CPTX) [0144,0169]. A mixture of dicyclopentadiene (DCPD), 5-phenethylbicyclo[2.2.1]hept-2-ene (PENB), 5-(2-([1,1′-biphenyl]-2-yloxy)ethyl)bicyclo[2.2.1]hept-2-ene (NBEtO-2-PhPh), 1-(2,6-diethylphenyl)-3,3,5,5-tetramethylpyrrolidin-2-ylidene-triisopropylphosphine ruthenium carbide diiodide (Ru-7), tolylcumyliodonium-tetrakis pentafluorophenylborate (Rhodorsil 2074) and 1-chloro-4-propoxy-9H-thioxanthen-9-one (CPTX) is disclosed at [0148]. A mixture of 5-phenethylbicyclo[2.2.1]hept-2-ene (PENB), 5-(2-([1,1′-biphenyl]-2-yloxy)ethyl)bicyclo[2.2.1]hept-2-ene (NBEtO-2-PhPh), 1-(2,6-diethylphenyl)-3,3,5,5-tetramethylpyrrolidin-2-ylidene-triisopropylphosphine ruthenium carbide diiodide (Ru-7), tolylcumyliodonium-tetrakis pentafluorophenylborate (Rhodorsil 2074) and 1-chloro-4-propoxy-9H-thioxanthen-9-one (CPTX) is disclosed at [0149]. Useful ROMP monomers are disclosed on pages 6-8. Useful Ru latent catalysts are disclosed at [0096-0103]. Useful photosensitizers are disclosed [0104-0112]. Useful photoacid generators are disclosed [0117-0125].
With respect to claims 1-20, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the exemplified mixtures of Rhodes et al. 20210079133 including a ROMP monomer, ruthenium carbide as the Ru precatalyst, tolylcumyliodonium-tetrakis pentafluorophenylborate (Rhodorsil 2074) as the photoacid generator and 1-chloro-4-propoxy-9H-thioxanthen-9-one (CPTX) as the sensitizer by adding a ROMP monomer including an epoxy/oxiranyl functional group such as
,
or
similar epoxy/oxiranyl containing ROMP monomers taught in [0066-0105] of Ng et al. 20160147145 or a ROMP monomer including an epoxy functional group such as
,
,
or
of Mueller et al. 20120056183 to facilitate photocrosslinking via the photoacid generator to obtain control over the flexibility, adhesion, interface and solubility of the resulting polymer(s) as taught at [0063, 0037,0040,0092, 0104] of Mueller et al. 20120056183. Further it would have been obvious to modify the compositions rendered obvious above by replacing at least one of the Ru precatalyst, photoacid generator, ROMP monomer without the epoxy moiety and the sensitizer with other disclosed in Rhodes et al. 20210079156 and/or replacing the ROMP monomers exemplified in Ng et al. 20160147145 with other bounded by the teachings of Ng et al. 20160147145 including those where m is 1 (1,4:5,8 dimethanonaphthalen-2-yl) with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful photocurable composition based upon their disclosed equivalence.
With respect to claims 19 and 20, it further would have been obvious to use the resulting compositions for organic encapsulant layers and/or as filler materials in some of such OLED devices as taught at [0157] of Rhodes et al. 20210079156 with a reasonable expectation of success.
The “further” clause, above embraces embodiments where the Ruthenium catalyst is (1-(2.6-diethypheny)-3,5-dimethyl-3,5diethylpvrroidin-2-yl)(tris-isopropylphosphine) rutheninm carbide dichloride, (1-(2.6-diethypheny)-3,3,5,5-tetraethylpvrroidin-2-yl)(tris-isopropylphosphine) rutheninm carbide dichloride or (1-(2.6-diethypheny)-3,3,5,5-tetramethylpvrroidin-2-yl)(tris-cyclohexylphosphine) ruthenium carbide dichloride
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 February 11, 2026