DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 3 in the reply filed on is acknowledged.
Claims 10,12,15 and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6,11,13,19 and 21 are under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US20220367622A1) in view of Yin et al. (US20220157969A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fig.24 of Lin teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
an active pattern which includes a lower pattern 62 (para.0014) that extends in a first direction, and a plurality of sheet patterns 66 (para.0014) spaced apart from the lower pattern 62 in a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction;
a plurality of gate structures 122/124 (para.0015) which are on the lower pattern 62 and spaced apart from each other in the first direction, each gate structure 122/124 (para.0015) including a gate electrode 124 (para.0015) and a gate insulating film 122 (para.0015); and
a source/drain pattern 98 (para.0015) which is between a pair of the gate structures 122/124 that are adjacent to each other in the first direction, the source/drain pattern 98 including a semiconductor liner film 98A (para.0053) and a semiconductor filling film 98C (para.0053) on the semiconductor liner film 98A,
wherein the semiconductor liner film 98A (para.0054) and the semiconductor filling film 98C (para.0054) include silicon-germanium (para.0054, wherein the liner layers 98B and the main layers 98C in the p-type region 50P are formed of boron-doped silicon germanium and wherein the seed layers 98A include materials from which the materials of the liner layers 98B (e.g., boron-doped silicon germanium)),
wherein the semiconductor liner film 98A includes an outer surface that is in contact with the plurality of sheet patterns 66, and an inner surface that faces the semiconductor filling film 98C,
wherein a liner recess defined by the inner surface of the semiconductor liner film 98A includes a plurality of width extension regions (see annotated Fig.24), and
wherein a width of each width extension region in the first direction increases and then decreases as a distance increases in the second direction from an upper surface of the lower pattern 62.
Annotated Fig.24
Lin does not teach wherein a germanium fraction of the semiconductor liner film is smaller than the germanium fraction of the semiconductor filling film.
Fig.16 of Yin teaches a semiconductor device that includes a first source/drain feature and a second source/drain feature over a substrate. Each source/drain feature includes a first epitaxial layer 238, a second epitaxial layer 240, and a third epitaxial layer 242 in one source/drain region 212SD; wherein when the first epitaxial layer 238 and the second epitaxial layer 240 are p-type (i.e., formed of silicon germanium), the germanium content and the p-type dopant concentration in the second epitaxial layer 240 is greater than those in the first epitaxial layer 238 (para.0032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the difference in the concentration or fraction of germanium content in Lin’s semiconductor liner film and semiconductor filling film respectively, as taught by Yin, because the greater germanium content in the second epitaxial layer 240 allows the second epitaxial layer 240 to strain the channel layers 208 for improved hole mobility and the smaller germanium content in the first epitaxial layer 238 serves as a transitional layer between the germanium-free channel layers 208 and the second epitaxial layer 240 to reduce defects and contact resistance (Yin, [para.0032]).
Regarding claim 2, Fig.24 of Lin further teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the inner surface of the semiconductor liner film 98A (para.0054) includes a plurality of convex curved regions (see annotated Fig.24) and a plurality of concave curved regions (see annotated Fig.24).
Regarding claim 3, Fig.24 of Lin further teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a first of the width extension regions (see annotated Fig.24) is between a lower sheet pattern 62 (para.0014) and an upper sheet pattern 66 (para.0014) in the second direction, and wherein a point on which first width extension region (see annotated Fig.24) has a maximum width in the first direction is located between the lower sheet pattern 62 and the upper sheet pattern 66.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lin and Yin further teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the source/drain pattern 98 (para.0015) further includes a semiconductor insertion film 98B (para.0053) formed along the inner surface of the semiconductor liner film 98A (para.0054),
wherein the semiconductor insertion film 98B (para.0054) includes silicon germanium, and wherein a germanium fraction of the semiconductor insertion film 98B is between the germanium fraction of the semiconductor liner film 98A and the germanium fraction of the semiconductor filling film 98C (para.0055, wherein germanium concentration of the seed layers 98A is less than a germanium concentration of the liner layers 98B and the main layers 98C and in paragraph 0054 it is disclosed that the seed layers 98A include materials from which the materials of the liner layers 98B (e.g., boron-doped silicon germanium) have a low bottom-up growth rate).
Regarding claim 5, Lin further teaches the semiconductor device of claim 4, wherein the width of the semiconductor filling film 98C (para.0053) in the first direction increases as a distance increases in the second direction from the lower pattern 62 (para.0014).
Regarding claim 6, Lin further teaches the semiconductor device of claim 4, wherein the semiconductor insertion film 98B (para.0053) includes an outer surface that faces the inner surface of the semiconductor liner film 98A (para.0054), and an inner surface that faces the semiconductor filling film 98C (para.0053), and
wherein the inner surface of the semiconductor insertion film 98B includes a plurality of convex curved regions (see annotated Fig.24) and a plurality of concave curved regions (see annotated Fig.24).
Regarding claim 11, Lin further teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the outer surface of the semiconductor liner film 98A (para.0054) includes a plurality of convex curved regions (see annotated Fig.24) and a plurality of concave curved regions (see annotated Fig.24),
wherein one of the concave curved regions is in contact with a corresponding one of the sheet patterns 66 (para.0014), and
wherein one of the convex curved regions is in contact with one of the gate insulating films 122 (para.0015) of one of the gate electrodes 124 (para.0015).
Regarding claim 13, Lin further teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the outer surface of the semiconductor liner film 98A (para.0054) includes a plurality of first concave curved regions (see annotated Fig.24) and a plurality of second concave curved regions (see annotated Fig.24),
wherein one of the first concave curved regions is in contact with one of the sheet patterns 66 (para.0014), and
wherein one of the second concave curved regions is in contact with one of the gate insulating films 122 (para.0015) of one of the gate electrodes 124 (para.0015).
Regarding claim 19, Fig.24 of Lin teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
an active pattern which includes a lower pattern 62 (para.0014) that extends in a first direction, and a plurality of sheet patterns 66 (para.0014) spaced apart from the lower pattern 62 in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction;
a plurality of gate structures 122/124 (para.0015) which are on the lower pattern 62 and spaced apart in the first direction, each gate structure 122/124 including a gate electrode 124 (para.0015) and a gate insulating film 122 (para.0015); and
a source/drain pattern 98 (para.0015) which is between a pair of the gate structures 122/124 that are adjacent to each other in the first direction,
wherein each gate structure 122/124 includes inner gate structure 122/124 between the lower pattern 62 and the sheet pattern 66 in the second direction, and between each pair of the sheet patterns 66 adjacent to each other in the second direction, each inner gate structure 122/124 including the gate electrode 124 and the gate insulating film 122,
wherein the source/drain pattern 98 includes a semiconductor liner film 98A (para.0053), a semiconductor filling film 98C (para.0053) on the semiconductor liner film 98A, and a semiconductor insertion film 98B (para.0053) between the semiconductor liner film 98A and the semiconductor filling film 98C,
wherein the semiconductor liner film 98A, the semiconductor insertion film 98B and the semiconductor filling film 98C include silicon-germanium,
wherein a germanium fraction of the semiconductor insertion film 98B is less than a germanium fraction of the semiconductor filling film 98C (para.0068, wherein the main layers 98C may have a greater germanium concentration and a greater boron concentration than the liner layers 98B),
wherein the semiconductor liner film 98A includes an outer surface which is in contact with the sheet pattern 66 and the inner gate structure 122/124, and an inner surface which is in contact with the semiconductor insertion film 98B, and
wherein the inner surface of the semiconductor liner film 98A includes a plurality of convex curved regions (see annotated Fig.24) and a plurality of concave curved regions (see annotated Fig.24).
Lin does not teach wherein a germanium fraction of the semiconductor insertion film is greater than a germanium fraction of the semiconductor liner film.
Fig.16 of Yin teaches a semiconductor device that includes a first source/drain feature and a second source/drain feature over a substrate. Each source/drain feature includes a first epitaxial layer 238, a second epitaxial layer 240, and a third epitaxial layer 242 in one source/drain region 212SD; wherein when the first epitaxial layer 238 and the second epitaxial layer 240 are p-type (i.e., formed of silicon germanium), the germanium content and the p-type dopant concentration in the second epitaxial layer 240 is greater than those in the first epitaxial layer 238 (para.0032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the difference in the concentration or fraction of germanium content in Lin’s semiconductor liner film and semiconductor filling film respectively, as taught by Yin, because the greater germanium content in the second epitaxial layer 240 allows the second epitaxial layer 240 to strain the channel layers 208 for improved hole mobility and the smaller germanium content in the first epitaxial layer 238 serves as a transitional layer between the germanium-free channel layers 208 and the second epitaxial layer 240 to reduce defects and contact resistance (Yin, [para.0032]).
Regarding claim 21, Lin further teaches the semiconductor device of claim 19, wherein the semiconductor insertion film 98B (para.0053) conforms to the inner surface of the semiconductor liner film 98A (para.0053).
Claims 7-9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US20220367622A1) in view of Yin et al. (US20220157969A1) and in further view of Lee et al. (US11489063B2).
Regarding claim 7, Fig.24 of Lin further teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1,
wherein each of the semiconductor insertion films 98B (para.0054) is between the semiconductor liner film 98A (para.0054) and the semiconductor filling film 98C (para.0055,
wherein each semiconductor insertion film 98B includes silicon germanium, and wherein a germanium fraction of each semiconductor insertion film 98B is greater than the germanium fraction of the semiconductor liner film 98A and smaller than the germanium fraction of the semiconductor filling film 98C (para.0055, wherein germanium concentration of the seed layers 98A is less than a germanium concentration of the liner layers 98B and the main layers 98C and in paragraph 0054 it is disclosed that the seed layers 98A include materials from which the materials of the liner layers 98B (e.g., boron-doped silicon germanium) have a low bottom-up growth rate).
Lin does not teach wherein the source/drain pattern further includes a plurality of semiconductor insertion films spaced apart from each other in the second direction,
Fig.18 of Lee teaches a source/drain epitaxial feature formed in a source/ drain trench; wherein the source/drain epitaxial feature includes seed layers (semiconductor insertion films) 66 that are spaced apart from each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Lee’s seed layers that are spaced apart in the teachings of Lin in order to increase the available semiconductor surfaces in the S/D trench 60 for the epitaxial growth and enable the portions of the semiconductor layer 68a grown directly from different semiconductor surfaces merge better and provide a less wavy surface for the subsequent epitaxial growth of the semiconductor layer (Lee, col.10, lines 25-36).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Lin and Le further teaches the semiconductor device of claim 7, wherein the semiconductor filling film 68 (Lee, col.10, lines 1-2) is in contact with the semiconductor liner film 64 (col.9, line 38).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Lin and Le further teaches the semiconductor device of claim 7, wherein the inner surface of the semiconductor liner film 98A (para.0054) includes a plurality of convex curved regions (see annotated Fig.24) and a plurality of concave curved regions (see annotated Fig.24), and
wherein at least part of one of the semiconductor insertion films 98B (para.0054) is in one of the concave curved regions.
Regarding claim 20, Lin does not teach wherein the semiconductor insertion film includes a plurality of sub-semiconductor insertion films spaced apart in the second direction.
Fig.18 of Lee teaches a source/drain epitaxial feature formed in a source/ drain trench; wherein the source/drain epitaxial feature includes seed layers (semiconductor insertion films) 66 that are spaced apart from each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Lee’s seed layers that are spaced apart in the teachings of Lin in order to increase the available semiconductor surfaces in the S/D trench 60 for the epitaxial growth and enable the portions of the semiconductor layer 68a grown directly from different semiconductor surfaces merge better and provide a less wavy surface for the subsequent epitaxial growth of the semiconductor layer (Lee, col.10, lines 25-36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US20220367622A1).
Regarding claim 14, Fig.24 of Lin teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
an active pattern which includes a lower pattern 62 (para.0014) that extends in a first direction, and a plurality of sheet patterns 66 (para.0014) spaced apart from the lower pattern 62 in a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction;
a plurality of gate structures 122/124 (para.0015) which are on the lower pattern 62 and spaced apart from each other in the first direction, each gate structure 122/124 including a gate electrode 124 (para.0015) and a gate insulating film 122 (para.0015); and
a source/drain pattern 98 (para.0015) which is between a pair of the gate structures 122/124 that are adjacent to each other in the first direction, the source/drain pattern 98 including a semiconductor insertion film 98B (para.0053), and a semiconductor filling film 98C (para.0054) on the semiconductor insertion film 98B,
wherein the semiconductor insertion film 98B and the semiconductor filling film 98C include silicon-germanium,
wherein a germanium fraction of the semiconductor insertion film 98B is less than the germanium fraction of the semiconductor filling film 98C (para.0068, wherein the main layers 98C may have a greater germanium concentration and a greater boron concentration than the liner layers 98B),
wherein the semiconductor insertion film 98B includes an inner surface that is in contact with the semiconductor filling film 98C, and an outer surface that faces the plurality of sheet patterns 66,
wherein the outer surface of the semiconductor insertion film 98B includes a plurality of first convex curved regions (see annotated Fig.24) and a plurality of first concave curved regions (see annotated Fig.24), and wherein the outer surface of the semiconductor insertion film 98B is not in contact with the plurality of sheet patterns 66.
Regarding claim 17, Lin further teaches the semiconductor device of claim 14, wherein the source/drain pattern 98 (para.0015) includes a semiconductor liner film 98A (para.0053) which surrounds the outer surface of the semiconductor insertion film 98B (para.0053) and is in contact with the semiconductor insertion film 98B, and
wherein the semiconductor liner film 98A is in contact with the plurality of sheet patterns 66 (para.0014) and the lower pattern 62 (para.0014).
Conclusion
VINCENT KIPKEMOI. RONO
Examiner
Art Unit 2891
/V.K.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891