DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-10, 13, 15-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2015/0108038 A1) in view of Sakurai (Patent No. US 6,425,484 B1) and Jewram et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2011/0186586 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu teaches an apparatus for transporting a plurality of semiconductor dies, comprising:
a first flexible tape (¶ 0018: cover tape 207) having a top side and a bottom side opposite of the top side, the top side including a plurality of deformable protrusions (¶ 0018 & fig. 1: 207 includes surface projections), wherein the plurality of deformable protrusions are spaced apart from adjacent deformable protrusion (fig. 2B: projections of 207 laterally spaced apart);
a second flexible tape (¶ 0017: carrier tape 208) having a front side and a back side opposite of the front side, the front side including:
a plurality of recesses (¶ 0017: front of 208 includes pockets 202), each of the plurality of recesses configured for receiving a corresponding one of the plurality of semiconductor dies (fig. 2B: 202 configured for receiving die 203), wherein each of the plurality of recesses is spaced apart from adjacent recesses at a predetermined interval (fig. 2B: 202 spaced at regular intervals corresponding to die 203), and
the plurality of semiconductor dies, each of the plurality of semiconductor dies disposed within a corresponding one of the plurality of recesses (fig. 2B: 203 disposed withing corresponding pocket 202);
wherein each of the plurality of deformable protrusions vertically aligns with a corresponding semiconductor die (fig. 2B: projections of 207 vertically aligned with corresponding 203) to immobilize the semiconductor die (¶ 0003: cover tape including projections configured to secure die);
wherein each of the plurality of deformable protrusions has a horizontal surface in contact with the corresponding semiconductor die and outside corners with a radius of curvature substantially equal to a thickness of the deformable protrusion (fig. 2B: projections have a horizontal surface in contact with 203 and corners with a radius substantially equal to thickness of the projections); and
wherein at least a portion of the top side of the first flexible tape is coupled to the front side of the second flexible tape (surface of 207 between projections coupled to front surface of 208).
Hsu further teaches the deformable protrusions can include various shapes (¶ 0019).
Hsu does not teach each of the plurality of deformable protrusions is spaced apart from adjacent deformable protrusions at the predetermined interval, or the horizontal surface of the protrusions in contact with the corresponding semiconductor die is planar.
Sakurai teaches an apparatus (col. 3 line 63 & fig. 3 among others: 10) including a flexible tape (cover tape 12, similar to 207 of Hsu) having a top side and a bottom side opposite of the top side, the top side including a plurality of deformable protrusions (col. 4 line 39 & fig. 3: projection parts 12B, similar to that of Hsu), wherein each of the plurality of deformable protrusions is spaced apart from adjacent deformable protrusions at a predetermined interval corresponding to a plurality of spaced apart recesses (col. 4 lines 39-41 & fig. 3: projecting parts 12B are sequentially provided along the longitudinal direction of the above cover tape 12 corresponding to each embossed part 11A of the carrier tape 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure adjacent deformable protrusions of Hsu with the predetermined interval, as a means to store the storage elements without any corners of the semiconductor tip contact or stick in the other inner side faces of the embossed part of the carrier tape (Sakurai, col. 9 lines 21-23). Furthermore, reducing the number of deformable protrusions of Hsu would reduce manufacturing complexity.
Hsu in view of Sakurai does not teach the horizontal surface of the protrusions in contact with the corresponding semiconductor die is planar.
Jewram teaches a flexible tape (¶ 0036 & fig. 3 among others: 14, similar to 207 or 208 of Hsu) including protrusions (¶ 0039: 26) configured to contact a product (¶ 0038 & fig. 5: 26 contacts 50, similar to 203 of Hsu), the protrusions including a planar horizontal surface (¶ 0040 & fig. 3: 26 includes planar upper surface 27) and radiused outside corners (¶¶ 0039, 0066 & figs. 1-2, 9: protrusions 26 include an oval shape with radiused corners).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the protrusions of Hsu in view of Sakurai with a planar surface, as a means to provide adequate support to the semiconductor die, so that a base contact portion of the product/die remains separated from a major surface of the flexible tape, while minimizing the total contact surface area required to support the product/die (Jewram, ¶ 0039). In addition, pedestals/protrusions facilitate removal of product/die from the flexible tape (Jewram, ¶ 0040).
Furthermore, modifying the deformable protrusions of Hsu to meet the claimed limitation of "the plurality of deformable protrusions has a planar horizontal surface…” would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. Absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed protrusions is significant, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 2, Hsu in view of Sakurai and Jewram teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein portions of the first flexible tape are deformed and the deformed portions of the first flexible tape form the plurality of deformable protrusions (Hsu, ¶ 0016: cover tape has projections extending from a surface).
Regarding claim 5, Hsu in view of Sakurai and Jewram teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of protrusions are attached to the top side of the first flexible tape by an adhesive (Hsu, ¶ 0015: cover tape includes adhesive surface).
Regarding claim 6, Hsu in view of Sakurai and Jewram teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a depth of each of the plurality of recesses is greater than the thickness of each of the plurality of deformable protrusions (Hsu, fig. 2B: depth of 202 greater than thickness of projections).
Regarding claim 7, Hsu in view of Sakurai and Jewram teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein an exterior surface of each of the plurality of deformable protrusions contacts an upper surface of the corresponding semiconductor die (Hsu, fig. 2B: exterior surfaces of projections contact upper surface of 203).
Regarding claim 8, Hsu in view of Sakurai and Jewram teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein exterior surfaces of each of the plurality of deformable protrusions are spaced apart from sidewalls of each of the plurality of recesses in the second flexible tape (Hsu, fig. 2B: exterior surface of projections spaced apart from sidewalls of 202).
Regarding claim 9, Hsu teaches an apparatus for transporting a plurality of semiconductor dies, comprising:
a first tape having a top side and a bottom side opposite of the top side (¶ 0018 & figs. 1-2: cover tape 207), the top side including a plurality of protrusions (¶ 0014: surface of cover tape includes projections), wherein each of the plurality of protrusions is spaced apart from adjacent protrusions (fig. 2B: projections of 207 spaced apart), and wherein each of the plurality of protrusions has a horizontal surface (fig. 2B: top surface of 207 projections) and outside corners with a radius of curvature substantially equal to a thickness of the protrusion (figs. 1, 2B: corners of 207 projections have a tapered profile, such that a radius of curvature is substantially equal to a thickness of 207 projections); and
a second tape having a front side and a back side opposite of the front side (¶ 0017 & figs. 1-2: carrier tape 208), the front side including a plurality of pockets (¶ 0017: front side of 208 includes pockets 202), each of the plurality of pockets configured for receiving a semiconductor die (fig. 2B: 202 configured for receiving die 203), wherein each of the plurality of pockets is spaced apart from adjacent pocket at a predetermined interval (figs. 2A-2B: 202 spaced apart by regular intervals);
wherein each of the plurality of protrusions is configured to vertically align with a corresponding one of the plurality of pockets (fig. 2B: each projection vertically aligned with corresponding pocket 202).
Hsu does not teach each of the plurality of protrusions is spaced apart from adjacent protrusions at the predetermined interval, or the horizontal surface of the protrusions is planar.
Sakurai teaches an apparatus (col. 3 line 63 & fig. 3 among others: 10) including a flexible tape (cover tape 12, similar to 207 of Hsu) having a top side and a bottom side opposite of the top side, the top side including a plurality of deformable protrusions (col. 4 line 39 & fig. 3: projection parts 12B, similar to that of Hsu), wherein each of the plurality of deformable protrusions is spaced apart from adjacent deformable protrusions at a predetermined interval corresponding to a plurality of spaced apart recesses (col. 4 lines 39-41 & fig. 3: projecting parts 12B are sequentially provided along the longitudinal direction of the above cover tape 12 corresponding to each embossed part 11A of the carrier tape 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure adjacent deformable protrusions of Hsu with the predetermined interval, as a means to store the storage elements without any corners of the semiconductor tip contact or stick in the other inner side faces of the embossed part of the carrier tape (Sakurai, col. 9 lines 21-23). Furthermore, reducing the number of deformable protrusions of Hsu would reduce manufacturing complexity.
Hsu in view of Sakurai does not teach the horizontal surface of the protrusions is planar.
Jewram teaches a flexible tape (¶ 0036 & fig. 3 among others: 14, similar to 207 or 208 of Hsu) including protrusions (¶ 0039: 26) configured to contact a product (¶ 0038 & fig. 5: 26 contacts 50, similar to 203 of Hsu), the protrusions including a planar horizontal surface (¶ 0040 & fig. 3: 26 includes planar upper surface 27) and radiused outside corners (¶¶ 0039, 0066 & figs. 1-2, 9: protrusions 26 include an oval shape with radiused corners).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the protrusions of Hsu in view of Sakurai with a planar surface, as a means to provide adequate support to the semiconductor die, so that a base contact portion of the product/die remains separated from a major surface of the flexible tape, while minimizing the total contact surface area required to support the product/die (Jewram, ¶ 0039). In addition, pedestals/protrusions facilitate removal of product/die from the flexible tape (Jewram, ¶ 0040).
Furthermore, modifying the deformable protrusions of Hsu to meet the claimed limitation of "the plurality of deformable protrusions has a planar horizontal surface…” would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. Absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed protrusions is significant, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 10, Hsu in view of Sakurai and Jewram teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein one or more portions of the first tape are deformed to form at least one of the plurality of protrusions (Hsu, ¶ 0016: cover tape has projections).
Regarding claim 13, Hsu in view of Sakurai and Jewram teaches the apparatus of claim 9,
wherein each of the plurality of protrusions are attached to the top side of the first tape by an adhesive (Hsu, figs. 2A-2B: projections at least indirectly attached to top side of 207 by adhesive layer 206).
Regarding claim 15, Hsu in view of Sakurai and Jewram teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein a depth of each of the plurality of recesses is greater than the thickness of each of the plurality of deformable protrusions (Hsu, fig. 2B: depth of 202 greater than thickness of projections).
Regarding claim 16, Hsu teaches a method of securing a plurality of semiconductor dies, comprising:
providing a first flexible tape having a top side and a bottom side opposite of the top side (¶ 0018 & figs. 1-2: cover tape 207), the top side including a plurality of protrusions (¶ 0014: surface of cover tape includes projections), wherein each of the plurality of protrusions is spaced apart from adjacent protrusions (fig. 2B: projections of 207 spaced at regular intervals) and wherein each of the plurality of protrusions has a horizontal surface (fig. 2B: top surface of 207 projections), and outside corners with a radius of curvature substantially equal to a thickness of the protrusion (figs. 1, 2B: corners of 207 projections have a tapered profile, such that a radius of curvature is substantially equal to a thickness of 207 projections);
providing a second tape having a front side and a back side opposite of the front side (¶ 0017 & figs. 1-2: carrier tape 208), the front side including a plurality of pockets (¶ 0017: front side of 208 includes pockets 202), each of the plurality of pockets configured for receiving a semiconductor die (fig. 2B: 202 configured for receiving die 203), wherein each of the plurality of pockets is spaced apart from adjacent pocket at a predetermined interval (figs. 2A-2B: 202 spaced apart by regular intervals);
disposing a plurality of semiconductor dies into the plurality of recesses (fig. 2B: 203 disposed in 202); and
coupling the first flexible tape to the second tape such that each of the plurality of deformable protrusions vertically aligns with a corresponding semiconductor die (fig. 2B: surface of 207 coupled to front surface of 208 such that each projection aligns with corresponding die 203) to immobilize the semiconductor die (¶ 0003: cover tape including projections configured to secure die).
Hsu does not teach each of the plurality of protrusions is spaced apart from adjacent protrusions at the predetermined interval, or the horizontal surface of the protrusions in contact with the corresponding semiconductor die is planar.
Sakurai teaches an apparatus (col. 3 line 63 & fig. 3 among others: 10) including a flexible tape (cover tape 12, similar to 207 of Hsu) having a top side and a bottom side opposite of the top side, the top side including a plurality of deformable protrusions (col. 4 line 39 & fig. 3: projection parts 12B, similar to that of Hsu), wherein each of the plurality of deformable protrusions is spaced apart from adjacent deformable protrusions at a predetermined interval corresponding to a plurality of spaced apart recesses (col. 4 lines 39-41 & fig. 3: projecting parts 12B are sequentially provided along the longitudinal direction of the above cover tape 12 corresponding to each embossed part 11A of the carrier tape 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure adjacent deformable protrusions of Hsu with the predetermined interval, as a means to store the storage elements without any corners of the semiconductor tip contact or stick in the other inner side faces of the embossed part of the carrier tape (Sakurai, col. 9 lines 21-23). Furthermore, reducing the number of deformable protrusions of Hsu would reduce manufacturing complexity.
Hsu in view of Sakurai does not teach the horizontal surface of the protrusions in contact with the corresponding semiconductor die is planar.
Jewram teaches a flexible tape (¶ 0036 & fig. 3 among others: 14, similar to 207 or 208 of Hsu) including protrusions (¶ 0039: 26) configured to contact a product (¶ 0038 & fig. 5: 26 contacts 50, similar to 203 of Hsu), the protrusions including a planar horizontal surface (¶ 0040 & fig. 3: 26 includes planar upper surface 27) and radiused outside corners (¶¶ 0039, 0066 & figs. 1-2, 9: protrusions 26 include an oval shape with radiused corners).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the protrusions of Hsu in view of Sakurai with a planar surface, as a means to provide adequate support to the semiconductor die, so that a base contact portion of the product/die remains separated from a major surface of the flexible tape, while minimizing the total contact surface area required to support the product/die (Jewram, ¶ 0039). In addition, pedestals/protrusions facilitate removal of product/die from the flexible tape (Jewram, ¶ 0040).
Furthermore, modifying the deformable protrusions of Hsu to meet the claimed limitation of "the plurality of deformable protrusions has a planar horizontal surface…” would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. Absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed protrusions is significant, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 19, Hsu in view of Sakurai and Jewram teaches the method of claim 16, wherein a depth of each of the plurality of recesses in the second tape is greater than the thickness of each of the plurality of deformable protrusions (Hsu, fig. 2B: depth of 202 greater than thickness of projections).
Regarding claim 20, Hsu in view of Sakurai and Jewram teaches the method of claim 16, wherein exterior surfaces of each of the plurality of deformable protrusions are spaced apart from sidewalls of each of the plurality of recesses in the second tape (Hsu, fig. 2B: exterior surface of projections spaced apart from sidewalls of 202).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu in view of Sakurai and Jewram as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2014/0061091 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Hsu in view of Sakurai and Jewram teaches the apparatus of claim 9, comprising a plurality of protrusions (Hsu, fig. 1 among others: protrusions of cover tape 207).
Hsu in view of Sakurai and Jewram does not teach wherein each of the plurality of protrusions is transparent.
Zhang teaches an apparatus including a first tape (¶ 0028: cover tape 100, similar to 207 of Hsu), wherein the first tape is transparent (¶ 0039: cover tape substantially transparent).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the first tape of Hsu in view of Sakurai and Jewram, including protrusions, with a transparent material, in order to check the type and condition status of the electronic component without opening the component package (Zhang, ¶ 0004).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu in view of Sakurai and Jewram as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Yasufuku et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2006/0157382 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Hsu in view of Sakurai and Jewram teaches the method of claim 16, including a plurality of deformable protrusions (Hsu, protrusions of 207).
Hsu in view of Sakurai and Jewram does not teach wherein each of the formed plurality of deformable protrusions is further shaped by introducing a compressive force to each of the plurality of deformable protrusions.
Yasufuku teaches a first tape (¶ 0020: cover tape 12) comprising deformable protrusions (12B), the deformable protrusions further shaped by introducing a compressive force (¶¶ 0033, 0038 & fig. 3: tape 12 subjected to pressure such that protrusions contact electronic components. Since the protrusions contact the electronic components, they implicitly meet the limitation of “further shaped”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the method of Hsu in view of Sakurai and Jewram with the compressive force of Yasufuku, as a means to bond the cover tape to the carrier tape containing electronic components (Yasufuku, ¶ 0038), as well as minimizing an area of contact between protrusions and the upper surfaces of electronic components, preventing electronic components from sticking to the cover tape (Yasufuku, ¶ 0041).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejections of claims 1-2, 5-10 and 13-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Hamanaka et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2008/0202981 A1) teaches a flexible tape (¶ 0049 & fig. 6 among others: 41, similar to 207 or 208 of Hsu) including protrusions (¶ 0066: 50-1/50-2/50-3, and/or portions of 41 between 50-1/50-2/50-3) including a planar horizontal surface and radiused outside corners (¶ 0074 & fig. 6: protrusions include planar horizontal surface configured to contact semiconductor devices pressed into spaced 44, and radiused corners).
White et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2006/0011509 A1) teaches projections (100) attached to a cover tape (110) with an adhesive (¶ 0033).
/BRIAN TURNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818