DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-10, 13, 15-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2015/0108038 A1) in view of Sakurai (Patent No. US 6,425,484 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu teaches an apparatus for transporting a plurality of semiconductor dies, comprising:
a first flexible tape (¶ 0018: cover tape 207) having a top side and a bottom side opposite of the top side, the top side including a plurality of deformable protrusions (¶ 0018 & fig. 1: 207 includes surface projections), wherein the plurality of deformable protrusions are spaced apart from adjacent deformable protrusion (fig. 2B: projections of 207 laterally spaced apart);
a second flexible tape (¶ 0017: carrier tape 208) having a front side and a back side opposite of the front side, the front side including:
a plurality of recesses (¶ 0017: front of 208 includes pockets 202), each of the plurality of recesses configured for receiving a corresponding one of the plurality of semiconductor dies (fig. 2B: 202 configured for receiving die 203), wherein each of the plurality of recesses is spaced apart from adjacent recesses at a predetermined interval (fig. 2B: 202 spaced at regular intervals corresponding to die 203), and
the plurality of semiconductor dies, each of the plurality of semiconductor dies disposed within a corresponding one of the plurality of recesses (fig. 2B: 203 disposed withing corresponding pocket 202);
wherein each of the plurality of deformable protrusions vertically aligns with a corresponding semiconductor die (fig. 2B: projections of 207 vertically aligned with corresponding 203) to immobilize the semiconductor die (¶ 0003: cover tape including projections configured to secure die); and
wherein at least a portion of the top side of the first flexible tape is coupled to the front side of the second flexible tape (surface of 207 between projections coupled to front surface of 208).
Hsu does not teach each of the plurality of deformable protrusions is spaced apart from adjacent deformable protrusions at the predetermined interval.
Sakurai teaches an apparatus (col. 3 line 63 & fig. 3 among others: 10) including a flexible tape (cover tape 12, similar to 207 of Hsu) having a top side and a bottom side opposite of the top side, the top side including a plurality of deformable protrusions (col. 4 line 39 & fig. 3: projection parts 12B, similar to that of Hsu), wherein each of the plurality of deformable protrusions is spaced apart from adjacent deformable protrusions at a predetermined interval corresponding to a plurality of spaced apart recesses (col. 4 lines 39-41 & fig. 3: projecting parts 12B are sequentially provided along the longitudinal direction of the above cover tape 12 corresponding to each embossed part 11A of the carrier tape 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure adjacent deformable protrusions of Hsu with the predetermined interval, as a means to store the storage elements without any corners of the semiconductor tip contact or stick in the other inner side faces of the embossed part of the carrier tape (Sakurai, col. 9 lines 21-23). Furthermore, reducing the number of deformable protrusions of Hsu would reduce manufacturing complexity.
Regarding claim 2, Hsu in view of Sakurai teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein portions of the first flexible tape are deformed and the deformed portions of the first flexible tape form the plurality of deformable protrusions (Hsu, ¶ 0016: cover tape has projections extending from a surface).
Regarding claim 5, Hsu in view of Sakurai teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of protrusions are attached to the top side of the first flexible tape by an adhesive (Hsu, ¶ 0015: cover tape includes adhesive surface).
Regarding claim 6, Hsu in view of Sakurai teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a depth of each of the plurality of recesses is greater than a thickness of each of the plurality of deformable protrusions (Hsu, fig. 2B: depth of 202 greater than thickness of projections).
Regarding claim 7, Hsu in view of Sakurai teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein an exterior surface of each of the plurality of deformable protrusions contacts an upper surface of the corresponding semiconductor die (Hsu, fig. 2B: exterior surfaces of projections contact upper surface of 203).
Regarding claim 8, Hsu in view of Sakurai teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein exterior surfaces of each of the plurality of deformable protrusions are spaced apart from sidewalls of each of the plurality of recesses in the second flexible tape (Hsu, fig. 2B: exterior surface of projections spaced apart from sidewalls of 202).
Regarding claim 9, Hsu teaches an apparatus for transporting a plurality of semiconductor dies, comprising:
a first tape having a top side and a bottom side opposite of the top side (¶ 0018 & figs. 1-2: cover tape 207), the top side including a plurality of protrusions (¶ 0014: surface of cover tape includes projections), wherein each of the plurality of protrusions is spaced apart from adjacent protrusions (fig. 2B: projections of 207 spaced apart); and
a second tape having a front side and a back side opposite of the front side (¶ 0017 & figs. 1-2: carrier tape 208), the front side including a plurality of pockets (¶ 0017: front side of 208 includes pockets 202), each of the plurality of pockets configured for receiving a semiconductor die (fig. 2B: 202 configured for receiving die 203), wherein each of the plurality of pockets is spaced apart from adjacent pocket at a predetermined interval (figs. 2A-2B: 202 spaced apart by regular intervals);
wherein each of the plurality of protrusions is configured to vertically align with a corresponding one of the plurality of pockets (fig. 2B: each projection vertically aligned with corresponding pocket 202).
Hsu does not teach each of the plurality of protrusions is spaced apart from adjacent protrusions at the predetermined interval.
Sakurai teaches an apparatus (col. 3 line 63 & fig. 3 among others: 10) including a flexible tape (cover tape 12, similar to 207 of Hsu) having a top side and a bottom side opposite of the top side, the top side including a plurality of deformable protrusions (col. 4 line 39 & fig. 3: projection parts 12B, similar to that of Hsu), wherein each of the plurality of deformable protrusions is spaced apart from adjacent deformable protrusions at a predetermined interval corresponding to a plurality of spaced apart recesses (col. 4 lines 39-41 & fig. 3: projecting parts 12B are sequentially provided along the longitudinal direction of the above cover tape 12 corresponding to each embossed part 11A of the carrier tape 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure adjacent deformable protrusions of Hsu with the predetermined interval, as a means to store the storage elements without any corners of the semiconductor tip contact or stick in the other inner side faces of the embossed part of the carrier tape (Sakurai, col. 9 lines 21-23). Furthermore, reducing the number of deformable protrusions of Hsu would reduce manufacturing complexity.
Regarding claim 10, Hsu in view of Sakurai teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein one or more portions of the first tape are deformed to form at least one of the plurality of protrusions (Hsu, ¶ 0016: cover tape has projections).
Regarding claim 15, Hsu in view of Sakurai teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein a depth of each of the plurality of recesses is greater than a thickness of each of the plurality of deformable protrusions (Hsu, fig. 2B: depth of 202 greater than thickness of projections).
Regarding claim 16, Hsu teaches a method of securing a plurality of semiconductor dies, comprising:
providing a first flexible tape having a top side and a bottom side opposite of the top side (¶ 0018 & figs. 1-2: cover tape 207), the top side including a plurality of protrusions (¶ 0014: surface of cover tape includes projections), wherein each of the plurality of protrusions is spaced apart from adjacent protrusions (fig. 2B: projections of 207 spaced at regular intervals);
providing a second tape having a front side and a back side opposite of the front side (¶ 0017 & figs. 1-2: carrier tape 208), the front side including a plurality of pockets (¶ 0017: front side of 208 includes pockets 202), each of the plurality of pockets configured for receiving a semiconductor die (fig. 2B: 202 configured for receiving die 203), wherein each of the plurality of pockets is spaced apart from adjacent pocket at a predetermined interval (figs. 2A-2B: 202 spaced apart by regular intervals);
disposing a plurality of semiconductor dies into the plurality of recesses (fig. 2B: 203 disposed in 202); and
coupling the first flexible tape to the second tape such that each of the plurality of deformable protrusions vertically aligns with a corresponding semiconductor die (fig. 2B: surface of 207 coupled to front surface of 208 such that each projection aligns with corresponding die 203) to immobilize the semiconductor die (¶ 0003: cover tape including projections configured to secure die).
Hsu does not teach each of the plurality of protrusions is spaced apart from adjacent protrusions at the predetermined interval.
Sakurai teaches an apparatus (col. 3 line 63 & fig. 3 among others: 10) including a flexible tape (cover tape 12, similar to 207 of Hsu) having a top side and a bottom side opposite of the top side, the top side including a plurality of deformable protrusions (col. 4 line 39 & fig. 3: projection parts 12B, similar to that of Hsu), wherein each of the plurality of deformable protrusions is spaced apart from adjacent deformable protrusions at a predetermined interval corresponding to a plurality of spaced apart recesses (col. 4 lines 39-41 & fig. 3: projecting parts 12B are sequentially provided along the longitudinal direction of the above cover tape 12 corresponding to each embossed part 11A of the carrier tape 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure adjacent deformable protrusions of Hsu with the predetermined interval, as a means to store the storage elements without any corners of the semiconductor tip contact or stick in the other inner side faces of the embossed part of the carrier tape (Sakurai, col. 9 lines 21-23). Furthermore, reducing the number of deformable protrusions of Hsu would reduce manufacturing complexity.
Regarding claim 19, Hsu in view of Sakurai teaches the method of claim 16, wherein a depth of each of the plurality of recesses in the second tape is greater than a thickness of each of the plurality of deformable protrusions (Hsu, fig. 2B: depth of 202 greater than thickness of projections).
Regarding claim 20, Hsu in view of Sakurai teaches the method of claim 16, wherein exterior surfaces of each of the plurality of deformable protrusions are spaced apart from sidewalls of each of the plurality of recesses in the second tape (Hsu, fig. 2B: exterior surface of projections spaced apart from sidewalls of 202).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu in view of Sakurai as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2014/0061091 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Hsu in view of Sakurai teaches the apparatus of claim 9, comprising a plurality of protrusions (Hsu, fig. 1 among others: protrusions of cover tape 207).
Hsu in view of Sakurai does not teach wherein each of the plurality of protrusions is transparent.
Zhang teaches an apparatus including a first tape (¶ 0028: cover tape 100, similar to 207 of Hsu), wherein the first tape is transparent (¶ 0039: cover tape substantially transparent).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the first tape of Hsu in view of Sakurai, including protrusions, with a transparent material, in order to check the type and condition status of the electronic component without opening the component package (Zhang, ¶ 0004).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu in view of Sakurai as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Yasufuku et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2006/0157382 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Hsu in view of Sakurai teaches the method of claim 16, including a plurality of deformable protrusions (Hsu, protrusions of 207).
Hsu in view of Sakurai does not teach wherein each of the formed plurality of deformable protrusions is further shaped by introducing a compressive force to each of the plurality of deformable protrusions.
Yasufuku teaches a first tape (¶ 0020: cover tape 12) comprising deformable protrusions (12B), the deformable protrusions further shaped by introducing a compressive force (¶¶ 0033, 0038 & fig. 3: tape 12 subjected to pressure such that protrusions contact electronic components. Since the protrusions contact the electronic components, they implicitly meet the limitation of “further shaped”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the method of Hsu in view of Sakurai with the compressive force of Yasufuku, as a means to bond the cover tape to the carrier tape containing electronic components (Yasufuku, ¶ 0038), as well as minimizing an area of contact between protrusions and the upper surfaces of electronic components, preventing electronic components from sticking to the cover tape (Yasufuku, ¶ 0041).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10 section D, filed 12/18/2025, with respect to the formal objections to claims 5, 16, 19 and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Accordingly, these objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103 rejections of claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN TURNER/Examiner, Art Unit 2818