DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Remarks
2. This Office Action is in response to applicant's Arguments/Remarks filed on 12/16/2025 Claims 1-21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the amended claims 1 and 20-21, applicant alleges that the combination of the cited references do not teach the amended claim limitation. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection using the cited references will be provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coverstone (U.S. Patent # US 9,300,347 B1) in view of Lorch et al (U.S. Patent # US 2010/0179991 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Coverstone discloses a mobile phone cover for use with a mobile phone (figures 1A-1D, a mobile device cover 100), comprising: a first frame (figures 1B-1C, a frame 100b); and a second frame that comprises a front side and a back side (see figures 1B-1C, a frame 100a; column 9, lines 16-21, the frame 100a is comprised a front side and a back side), wherein the first frame is secured on the second frame, and the first frame and the second frame encloses the mobile phone (column 9, lines 12-22 and column 18, lines 7-10,” the multiple pieces (i.e., 100a, 100B and 100C) of the mobile device cover 100 interlock together to house the host mobile device 110”), the back side comprising a plurality of LEDs (see figures 1B-1C, LEDs 160; column 9, lines 33-34 and lines 54-58, the back side of the frame 100a is comprised a plurality of LEDs 160); a graphical user interface (GUI) configured to be displayed on the mobile phone (column 17, lines 55-66, “… a user interface for generating or editing individual light patterns, ringtones, or associations to be displayed by the ILDs 160. Some embodiments of the application include different layouts and functionality. Such features can include switches provided by the application to enable, disable, or set various indications (e.g., alerts) for different types of notifications, duration of light patterns, colors of lights, intensity of lights, videos, display patterns, etc. Some embodiments provide that these different light patterns, colors of lights, intensity of lights, flashing of lights, etc. can be indicative of a specific notification.”) , the GUI comprising: a settings page configured to enable a user to customize notification displays and visual elements on the mobile phone cover (column 38, lines 33-53, “… user, for instance, can set up the mobile device cover 100 to provide red illumination via the ILDs 160 for an incoming call. The user can also set up the mobile device cover 100 to have a bead 180c light up the corresponding text (e.g., call, text, and alert) when receiving that particular incoming call, text, or alert on the host mobile device 110. In one embodiment, for example, the beads 190 in view of user preference can light up the word “TEXT” to indicate that a text message has been received by the host mobile device 110. The incoming text message information can then be scrolled along the ILDs 160 (e.g., on a display on the back cover 1030 or on a display along the edge of the mobile device cover 100).”), wherein the notification displays comprise icons, animations and lightshows for contacts, and wherein the visual elements comprise font style, text scrolling and orientation (column 38, lines 4-19), and wherein the GUI is configured to generate and store notification-type-specific display rules and to transmit the display rules to the mobile phone cover for use in controlling the plurality of LEDs independently of how notifications are displayed on the mobile phone (column 13, lines 1-46, “… the circuitry 150 will light up the ILDs 160 in a particular sequence, pattern, color, intensity, etc. based on, for example, the particular indicator that is received or detected from the host mobile device 110. The beads 180 that cover the ILDs 160 can further enhance the indication generated by the mobile device cover 100 by providing, for example, different shapes and colors. Some embodiments according to the present disclosure contemplate that the host mobile device 110 uses different indicators for different callers, different alerts, different types of messages, different senders of messages, etc., for example. The different indicators (e.g., different audio indicators, different electrical signal indicators, etc.) that are received or detected by the circuitry 150 cause the mobile device cover 100 to generate correspondingly different responses by lighting up the ILDs 160 or the ILDs 160 and the beads 180 in a respective sequence, pattern, color, shape, intensity, etc…. Individual ILD 160 patterns or sets of patterns and their correspondence to various events can be set by a user, software, firmware, etc. or can be set automatically due to default settings stored on the mobile device cover 100, the host mobile device 110, and a mobile application on the host mobile device 110.,…Some embodiments allow the user to select specific ILD 160 methods: patterns, colors, brightness, images, text, etc. to any number of ILD 160 devices for any specific or general call, text, notification, indicator, alert, from a specific or general person, mobile application, mobile accessory, data, news, information, etc..”; and (column 17, from line 50 to column 18, line 3 “….The application also can allow the user to assign one or more light patterns or videos (e.g., ILDs 160) to specific contacts or notifications. The associated light pattern can be used as an indicator (e.g., a particular type of communication, a particular alert, a particular phone number, a particular sender or caller, etc.). As shown in FIG. 24, the application provides a user interface for generating or editing individual light patterns, ringtones, or associations to be displayed by the ILDs 160. Some embodiments of the application include different layouts and functionality. Such features can include switches provided by the application to enable, disable, or set various indications (e.g., alerts) for different types of notifications, duration of light patterns, colors of lights, intensity of lights, videos, display patterns, etc. Some embodiments provide that these different light patterns, colors of lights, intensity of lights, flashing of lights, etc. can be indicative of a specific notification. This may include incoming information. Some embodiments provide that the application running on the host mobile device 110 can communicate with the circuitry and components on the mobile device cover 100”), and a preview page configured to display the notification displays and the visual elements in real-time according to the display rules (column 39, lines 55-67). Although Coverstone does not explicitly disclose the front side comprising a guide, the guide being configured to receive the mobile phone, Coverstone discloses “…the mobile device cover 100 that fit around a host mobile device 110” (column 6, lines 30-38). In another embedment Coverstone discloses a front side of back cover comprising a guide, the guide being configured to receive the mobile phone (figure 29 and column 18, lines 7-10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the guide in figure 29 of Coverstone in to a front side of the frame 100a in order to provide a user to easily detach/attach the mobile device from/to the mobile device cover.
Coverstone does not explicitly disclose wherein the visual elements comprise font style and orientation.
Lorch et al discloses a notification/alert visual elements comprise font style and orientation (paragraphs 0297, 0394-0395 and 0480-0481).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Coverstone with the teachings of Lorch et al, such that the notification/alert visual elements could be comprised font style and orientation in order to provide an easy and more convenient way for a user to view the notification/alert or the data.
Regarding claim 2, Coverstone in view of Lorch et al discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Although Coverstone does not explicitly disclose wherein the second frame houses a male connector and a female connector, and the female connector is operatively coupled to the male connector, Coverstone states “…The connector 430 can include, for example, a housing 440, circuitry 450, a first coupler 460 on one side, and a second coupler 470 on another side (e.g., an opposite side) of the housing 440. The connector 430 can be integrated with the mobile device cover 100 so that when the mobile device cover 100 is attached to the host mobile device 110, the connector 430 physically and electrically connects with a docking port 480 of the host mobile device 110”. The couplers 470 and 460 of the connector 430 can be a female, multiple-pin connector (figure 13, column 25, lines 44-67 and column 36, lines 31-33). Since Coverstone teaches the connector 430 can be a female, multiple-pin connector and the mobile device cover 100 is attached to the host mobile device 110 via connector 430, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the second frame houses a male connector and a female connector, and the female connector is operatively coupled to the male connector in order to securely attach the host mobile device 110 to the mobile device cover 100.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a male connector and a female connector in the frame 100a of Coverstone in order to securely attach the host mobile device 110 to the mobile device cover 100.
Regarding claim 3, Coverstone in view of Lorch et al discloses the apparatus of claim 2. Coverstone discloses wherein the male connector is disposed such that the male connector mates with a second female connector of the mobile phone when the mobile phone is received by the guide (figure 13 and column 25, lines 44-67).
Regarding claim 4, Coverstone in view of Lorch et al discloses the apparatus of claim 12. Coverstone discloses wherein the female connector provides a USB-type port for the mobile phone cover (figure 13 and column 25, lines 44-67).
Regarding claim 5, Coverstone in view of Lorch et al discloses the apparatus of claim 4. Coverstone discloses wherein the female connector is configured to receive power from one or more of a wall plug, an alternating current (AC) power supply, a direct current (DC) power supply, and one or more batteries (column 10, lines 12-20, “…battery 170 of the mobile device cover 100 can also be recharged when the host mobile device 110 is connected to a wall outlet, for example, such as when the docking port 140 is connected to a wall outlet. The battery 170 may receive energy directly from the wall outlet (e.g., via connecting the mobile device cover 100 directly to the wall outlet) or through the host mobile device 110. In addition, the battery 170 may receive energy when the docking port 140 is connected to a computer” and the mobile device cover 100 can be a female connector (figure 13 and column 25, lines 44-67).
Regarding claim 6, Coverstone in view of Lorch et al discloses the apparatus of claim 2. Coverstone discloses wherein the female connector is configured to power the mobile phone cover and the mobile phone (column 26, lines 31-32, “…connector 430 can be configured to provide one or more power connections between the host mobile device 110 and the mobile device cover 100.”).
Regarding claim 7, Coverstone in view of Lorch et al discloses the apparatus of claim 2. Coverstone discloses wherein the female connector is configured to charge batteries of the mobile phone cover and the mobile phone (column 26, lines 31-32, “…connector 430 can be configured to provide one or more power connections between the host mobile device 110 and the mobile device cover 100.” and the mobile device cover 100 can be a female connector).
Regarding claim 8, Coverstone in view of Lorch et al discloses the apparatus of claim 2. Coverstone discloses wherein the male connector is used to synchronize information between the mobile phone cover and the mobile phone (column 27, lines 32-38, “… when the connector 430 is connected to the docking port 480 of the host mobile device 110, the circuitry 150 of the mobile device cover 100 is connected to the circuitry of the host mobile device 110. For example, data and programming can be synchronized between the mobile device cover 100 and the host mobile device 110.”).
Regarding claim 9, Coverstone in view of Lorch et al discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Coverstone discloses wherein the first frame comprises rubber material that is stretched across the second frame and the mobile phone (column 6, lines 31-38 and column 9, lines 7-9, ”… the mobile device cover 100 can be snapped on or stretched around or otherwise can be fit around the host mobile device 110”).
Regarding claim 12, Coverstone in view of Lorch et al discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Coverstone discloses wherein the back side of the second frame comprises one or more second guides between which a rechargeable battery is placed, and at least one of the one or more second guides comprises a screw post (see figures 1C and 20, 100a and figure 20, supports 830 and column 11, lines 59-66).
Regarding claim 13, Coverstone in view of Lorch et al discloses the apparatus of claim 12. Coverstone discloses wherein the rechargeable battery is covered by a printed circuit board that is secured to the back side of the second frame (see figures 1B-1C, circuitry 150; column 9, lines 54-57 and column 10, lines 31-45).
Regarding claim 14, Coverstone in view of Lorch et al discloses the apparatus of claim 13. Coverstone discloses wherein the printed circuit board comprises a multi-layer printed circuit board (figure 1C and column 10, lines 31-45, “…the circuit boards may have multiple layers”).
Regarding claim 15, Coverstone in view of Lorch et al discloses the apparatus of claim 13. Coverstone discloses wherein the printed circuit board comprises wireless circuitry that is used to communicate with the mobile phone (column 6, lines 50-53 and column 17, lines 8-25, the host mobile device 110 can communicate with the circuitry and components on the mobile device cover 100 via a Bluetooth port).
Regarding claim 16, Coverstone in view of Lorch et al discloses the apparatus of claim 13. Coverstone discloses wherein the printed circuit board comprises an array of lights (figures 1B-1C, 18 and 20, ILDs 160).
Regarding claim 17, Coverstone in view of Lorch et al discloses the apparatus of claim 13. Coverstone discloses mobile the phone cover comprising: a third frame that is configured to be mounted on the second frame (figures 1B-1C, a third frame (i.e., a frame 100C), the third frame (i.e., the frame 100C) is configured to be mounted on the second frame (i.e., the frame 100a)), wherein the third frame and the second frame enclose the rechargeable battery and the printed circuit board (figures 1B-1C, circuitry 150 and a battery 17; column 9, lines 54-57 and column 10, lines 31-45).
Regarding claim 18, Coverstone in view of Lorch et al discloses the apparatus of claim 13. Coverstone discloses the mobile phone cover comprising: a third frame that is configured to be mounted on the second frame (see figures 1B-1C, a third frame (i.e., a frame 100c), the third frame (i.e., the frame 100c) is configured to be mounted on the second frame (i.e., the frame 100a), wherein: the third frame and the second frame enclose the rechargeable battery and the printed circuit board (figures 1B-1C, circuitry 150 and a battery 17; column 9, lines 54-57 and column 10, lines 31-45), the printed circuit board comprises an array of lights (see figures 1B-1C ILDs 160), and the third frame is transparent or semi-transparent so that the lights can be seen through the third frame (figures 1B-1C, the frame 100C and column 10, lines 46-53).
Regarding claim 19, Coverstone in view of Lorch et al discloses the apparatus of claim 13. Coverstone discloses wherein: the mobile phone cover provides a port (figure 4, an audio connector 250) configured to receive a connector from a headset, an earphone, a headphone, or an input/output (I/O) device, and one or both of the mobile phone cover and the mobile phone are configured to use the headset, the earphone, the headphone, or the I/O device connected, via the port, to the mobile phone cover (column 16, lines 44-51; “….The mobile device cover 100 includes circuitry 150 that may be, for example, embedded, at least in part, in the mobile device cover 100… The circuit board may include, for example, a physical via through which an audio connector 250 (e.g., an earphone connector, a headphone connector, a speaker connector, a headset connector, etc.) passes to connect to the audio port 120 and the other circuitry of the host mobile device 110.”).
Regarding claim 20, Coverstone discloses an accessory for use with a mobile (figures 1A-1D, a mobile device cover 100), comprising: a first frame (figures 1B-1C, a frame 100b); a second frame that comprises a front side and a back side (see figures 1B-1C, a second frame (i.e., a frame 100a); column 9, lines 16-21, the frame 100a is comprised a front side and a back side), the back side comprising a plurality of LEDs (see figures 1B-1C, LEDs 160; column 9, lines 33-34 and lines 54-58, the back side of the frame 100a is comprised a plurality of LEDs 160), wherein the first frame is secured on the second frame, and the first frame and the second frame encloses the mobile phone (column 9, lines 12-22 and column 18, lines 7-10, ”… the multiple pieces of the mobile device cover 100 interlock together to house the host mobile device 110”); a printed circuit board secured to the back side of the second frame (see figures 1B-1C, a circuitry 150; column 9, lines 54-57 and column 10, lines 31-45, the circuitry 150 is secured to the back side of the second frame 100a) and comprising lights (see figures 1B-1C, the circuitry 150 is comprising lights (i.e., ILDs 160) and Bluetooth circuitry to communicate with the mobile phone (column 6, lines 50-53 and column 17, lines 8-25, the host mobile device 110 can communicate with the circuitry and components on the mobile device cover 100 via a Bluetooth port); and a third frame that is configured to be mounted on the second frame (see figures 1B-1C, the third frame (i.e., the frame 100c) is configured to be mounted on the second frame (i.e., the frame 100a)), wherein the third frame and the second frame enclose the printed circuit board (figures 1B-1C, the circuitry 150; column 9, lines 54-57 and column 10, lines 31-45; the third frame (i.e., the 100C) and the second frame (i.e., the100a) enclose the printed circuit board 150), and the third frame is transparent or semi-transparent so that the lights can be seen through the third frame (figures 1B-1C, beads 180 of the third frame (i.e., the frame 100C) and column 10, lines 46-53); a graphical user interface (GUI) configured to be displayed on the mobile phone (column 17, lines 55-66, “… a user interface for generating or editing individual light patterns, ringtones, or associations to be displayed by the ILDs 160. Some embodiments of the application include different layouts and functionality. Such features can include switches provided by the application to enable, disable, or set various indications (e.g., alerts) for different types of notifications, duration of light patterns, colors of lights, intensity of lights, videos, display patterns, etc. Some embodiments provide that these different light patterns, colors of lights, intensity of lights, flashing of lights, etc. can be indicative of a specific notification.”), the GUI comprising: a settings page configured to enable a user to customize notification displays and visual elements on the mobile phone cover (column 38, lines 33-53, “… user, for instance, can set up the mobile device cover 100 to provide red illumination via the ILDs 160 for an incoming call. The user can also set up the mobile device cover 100 to have a bead 180c light up the corresponding text (e.g., call, text, and alert) when receiving that particular incoming call, text, or alert on the host mobile device 110. In one embodiment, for example, the beads 190 in view of user preference can light up the word “TEXT” to indicate that a text message has been received by the host mobile device 110. The incoming text message information can then be scrolled along the ILDs 160 (e.g., on a display on the back cover 1030 or on a display along the edge of the mobile device cover 100).”), wherein the notification displays comprise icons, animations and lightshows for contacts, and wherein the visual elements comprise font style, text scrolling and orientation (column 38, lines 4-19), and wherein the GUI is configured to generate and store notification-type-specific display rules and to transmit the display rules to the mobile phone cover for use in controlling the plurality of LEDs independently of how notifications are displayed on the mobile phone (column 13, lines 1-46, “… the circuitry 150 will light up the ILDs 160 in a particular sequence, pattern, color, intensity, etc. based on, for example, the particular indicator that is received or detected from the host mobile device 110. The beads 180 that cover the ILDs 160 can further enhance the indication generated by the mobile device cover 100 by providing, for example, different shapes and colors. Some embodiments according to the present disclosure contemplate that the host mobile device 110 uses different indicators for different callers, different alerts, different types of messages, different senders of messages, etc., for example. The different indicators (e.g., different audio indicators, different electrical signal indicators, etc.) that are received or detected by the circuitry 150 cause the mobile device cover 100 to generate correspondingly different responses by lighting up the ILDs 160 or the ILDs 160 and the beads 180 in a respective sequence, pattern, color, shape, intensity, etc…. Individual ILD 160 patterns or sets of patterns and their correspondence to various events can be set by a user, software, firmware, etc. or can be set automatically due to default settings stored on the mobile device cover 100, the host mobile device 110, and a mobile application on the host mobile device 110., Some embodiments allow the user to select specific ILD 160 methods: patterns, colors, brightness, images, text, etc. to any number of ILD 160 devices for any specific or general call, text, notification, indicator, alert, from a specific or general person, mobile application, mobile accessory, data, news, information, etc..”; and (column 17, from line 50 to column 18, line 3, “….The application also can allow the user to assign one or more light patterns or videos (e.g., ILDs 160) to specific contacts or notifications. The associated light pattern can be used as an indicator (e.g., a particular type of communication, a particular alert, a particular phone number, a particular sender or caller, etc.). As shown in FIG. 24, the application provides a user interface for generating or editing individual light patterns, ringtones, or associations to be displayed by the ILDs 160. Some embodiments of the application include different layouts and functionality. Such features can include switches provided by the application to enable, disable, or set various indications (e.g., alerts) for different types of notifications, duration of light patterns, colors of lights, intensity of lights, videos, display patterns, etc. Some embodiments provide that these different light patterns, colors of lights, intensity of lights, flashing of lights, etc. can be indicative of a specific notification. This may include incoming information. Some embodiments provide that the application running on the host mobile device 110 can communicate with the circuitry and components on the mobile device cover 100”),, and a preview page configured to display the notification displays and the visual elements in real-time according to the display rules. (column 39, lines 55-67). Although Coverstone does not explicitly disclose the front side comprising a guide, the guide being configured to receive the mobile phone, Coverstone discloses “…the mobile device cover 100 that fit around a host mobile device 110” (column 6, lines 30-38). In another embedment Coverstone discloses a front side of back cover comprising a guide, the guide being configured to receive the mobile phone (figure 29 and column 18, lines 7-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the guide in figure 29 of Coverstone in a front side of the frame 100a in order to provide a user to easily detach/attach the mobile device from/to the mobile device cover.
Coverstone does not explicitly disclose wherein the visual elements comprise font style and orientation.
Lorch et al discloses a notification/alert visual elements comprise font style and orientation (paragraphs 0297, 0394-0395 and 0480-0481).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Coverstone with the teachings of Lorch et al, such that the notification/alert visual elements could be comprised font style and orientation in order to provide an easy and more convenient way for a user to view the notification/alert or the data.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 is similar in scope to the claim 20 expect in method form and thus the rejection to claim 20 hereinabove is also applicable to claim 21.
5. Claims 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coverstone (U.S. Patent # US 9,300,347 B1) in view of Lorch et al (U.S. Patent # US 2010/0179991 A1) further in view of Poon et al (U.S. Patent # US 2016/0211877 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Coverstone in view of Lorch et al discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Coverstone in view of Lorch et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the first frame comprises a rubber locking mechanism, the second frame comprises a plastic lock, and the rubber lock is configured to interlock with the plastic lock.
However, Poon et al discloses a first frame comprises a rubber locking mechanism (figures 1-2C, a locking tab 9), the second frame comprises a plastic lock (figures 1-2C, a cavity 19), and the rubber lock is configured to interlock with the plastic lock (paragraph 0016).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Coverstone in view of Lorch et al with the teachings of Poon et al to incorporate the first frame comprises a rubber locking mechanism, the second frame comprises a plastic lock, and the rubber lock is configured to interlock with the plastic lock in order to create different case designs and functions as taught by Poon et al (paragraph 0014).
Regarding claim 11, Coverstone in view of Lorch et al discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Coverstone discloses wherein the guide comprises a first side and a second side, the first side is configured to receive the mobile phone (figure 29, a front side and a back side of the mobile device cover 100 and column 18, lines 7-10). Coverstone in view of Lorch et al does not explicitly disclose the second side is configured to provide a first lock that is configured to interlock with a second lock of the first frame.
However, Poon et al discloses a second side of a mobile device cover is configured to provide a first lock that is configured to interlock with a second lock of a first frame (figures 1-2C and paragraph 0016 “…The locking tab 9 rests in the corresponding cavity 19 on the rubber cover 2 such that the back panel is fixed and prevented from sliding with respect to the rubber cover 2 or plastic frame 4”),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Coverstone in view of Lorch et al with the teachings of Poon et al to incorporate the second side is configured to provide a first lock that is configured to interlock with a second lock of the first frame in order secure the electronic device within the electronic device cover.
Conclusion
/FATUMA G SHERIF/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649