DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Amendment
The amendment filed on 13 January 2026 fails to place the application in condition for allowance.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1-8 are under examination.
Claims 9-20 are currently withdrawn.
Status of Rejections
The rejections of claims 1-8 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are herein withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment filed 13 January 2026.
All previous prior art rejections are herein maintained and amended in light of Applicant’s amendment filed 13 January 2026 with amended rational in light of Applicant’s amendment.
New rejections are further provided in light of updated search and consideration as a response to Applicant’s amendment filed 13 January 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Isaki et al (JP H02-298295 with citations provided to the translation provided via Espacenet attached herein).
As to claims 1 and 2, Isaki discloses A method for producing a rigid, heat-resistant part, the method comprising:
dispensing a quantity of a pre-coated particulate into a container of an electrolytic solution into a container of an electrolytic solution wherein the pre-coated particulate is a secondary alloy particulate coated with a primary alloy wherein the secondary alloy particle comprises aluminum (pg. 5 “The aluminum particles dispersed in the nickel plating bath are not particularly limited, and examples include not only pure aluminum but also various alloys such as aluminum-silicon alloy, aluminum-magnesium alloy, aluminum-iron alloy, and aluminum-zinc-silicon alloy” and pg. 6 “forming an electroless plating layer of nickel, nickel alloys (nickel alloys such as nickel-boron, nickel-boron, etc.), copper, copper alloys,”),
and
applying a charge to the electrolytic solution such that the pre-coated particulate is electrodeposited onto a cathode or an external casing of the cathode (pg. 7 “The plating conditions are a bath temperature of about 20 to 70°C, a cathode current
density of about 0.5 to 10 A/dm2”)
wherein the primary alloy is at least one of nickel, iron, cobalt, and copper (see citation above nickel alloy or copper alloy as required by instant claim 2)
and wherein the method creates a nickel, iron, or cobalt base precipitation layer (pg. 8 “nickel aluminum plating layer).
As to claim 4, the recitation is necessarily met because any deviation in any respect reads on “varying shape and varying dimension” absent further recitation as to the amount of varying or the like,
As to claim 5, Isaki discloses a shape of the cathode of a ABS resin plate, stainless steel plate, which is non planar due to the multiple surfaces of the three dimensional shape. (pgs. 6-7, 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werner et al (US 2015/0075327 A1).
As to claims 1 and 2, Werner discloses A method for producing a rigid, heat-resistant part, the method comprising:
dispensing (Fig. 1 [0046]) a quantity of a pre-coated particulate (#s 1 and 2) into a container of an electrolytic solution (#3 [0047]), the secondary alloy particles zirconium oxide ([0020], [0048])
wherein the pre-coated particulate is a secondary alloy particulate ([0048], [0049]) coated with a primary alloy ([0056]); and
applying a charge ([0053] and throughout citation to “electrodepostion” which inherently applied a charge to an electrolyte) to the electrolytic solution such that the pre-coated particulate is electrodeposited onto a cathode or an external casing of the cathode (Fig. 3 [0054])
wherein the secondary alloy particulate is a non-electrodepositable particulate that would generally dissolve in the electrolytic solution (via the specific properties of the particulate)
wherein the primary alloy is at least one of nickel, iron, cobalt, and copper ([0056])
and wherein the method creates a nickel, iron, or cobalt base precipitation layer ([0053] “NiCo matrix”)
Werner discloses explicitly the coating comprising “nickel and/or cobalt” ([0056] as required by instant claim 2), thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a nickel/cobalt alloy layer that dissolves into the matrix layer when nickel/cobalt are used as the matric material ([0047])
As to claim 3, Werner discloses the inclusion of additional hard particles ([0049]) thus are considered to be further grain growth inhibitors or recrystallization inhibitor absent further recitation as to their specific chemical make up.
As to claim 4, the recitation is necessarily met because any deviation in any respect reads on “varying shape and varying dimension” absent further recitation as to the amount of varying or the like,
As to claim 5, Werner discloses a shape 4 of the cathode which is non planar due to the multiple surfaces of the three dimensional shape.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werner in view of Krasikov et al (Krasikov, A.V. et. al., Influence of Vibration Parameters during Electrodeposition of Ni-SiC Composite Coatings from a Vibration Stabilized Suspension, Journal of Machinery Manufacture and Reliability, April 20, 2022, pp. 300-305. Vol. 51, No. 4, Moscow, Russia, as provided with the IDS dated 27 August 2024).
As to claims 6 and 7, Werner fails to explicitly disclose vibrating the container during the steps of dispensing the quantity of the pre-coated particulate and applying the charge to the electrolytic solution (instant claim 6) and wherein vibrating the container comprises applying a high amplitude, low frequency vibration to at least one of the container and the electrolytic solution. (instant claim 7 note: based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of instant claim 7, the recitation “vibrating the container” does not necessarily require movement of a container but encompasses vibration of the electrolytic solution through any means which through vibrations of the solution, causes vibration of a container to any magnitude or manner).
Krasikov discloses forming a composite material (title) via a codeposition during electroplating (Abstract) vibrating the container during the steps of dispensing the quantity of the pre-coated particulate and applying the charge to the electrolytic solution and wherein vibrating the container comprises applying a high amplitude, low frequency vibration to at least one of the container and the electrolytic solution. (Fig. 1 use of vibration stand and signal generator).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a step of vibrating the container/ electrolytic solution as disclosed in Krasikov in the method of Werner because it promotes a uniform distribution of particles within the coating (Krasikov Abstract citing to the uniform distribution of SiC in the nickel plating).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werner in view of Xu et al (CN 109402709 A with citations drawn towards the translation from ESPACNET for convenience)
As to claim 8, Werner fails to explicitly disclose drawing partial vacuum from within the container during the step of applying the charge, such that hydrogen is removed from the container.
Xu discloses composite plating ([0004]) and drawing partial vacuum from within the container during the step of applying the charge, such that hydrogen is removed from the container ([0024] “Vacuum treatment can fully promote hydrogen precipitation and eliminate internal stress., [0026] “By analyzing the influence of vacuum field parameters on the cathode hydrogen evolution reaction rate, hydrogen evolution amount and hydrogen content of the gradient layer and their laws, a vacuum field is added to promote hydrogen evolution reaction, improve concentration polarization phenomenon, reduce the hydrogen content of the gradient layer”)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used at least a partial vacuum as taught by Xu in the method of Werner because it prevents hydrogen content in the plated layer thus promoting the bonding strength and reducing the internal stresses of the layer (Xu [0024], [0026] as cited above).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaki in view of Krasikov et al (Krasikov, A.V. et. al., Influence of Vibration Parameters during Electrodeposition of Ni-SiC Composite Coatings from a Vibration Stabilized Suspension, Journal of Machinery Manufacture and Reliability, April 20, 2022, pp. 300-305. Vol. 51, No. 4, Moscow, Russia, as provided with the IDS dated 27 August 2024).
As to claims 6 and 7, Isaki fails to explicitly disclose vibrating the container during the steps of dispensing the quantity of the pre-coated particulate and applying the charge to the electrolytic solution (instant claim 6) and wherein vibrating the container comprises applying a high amplitude, low frequency vibration to at least one of the container and the electrolytic solution. (instant claim 7 note: based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of instant claim 7, the recitation “vibrating the container” does not necessarily require movement of a container but encompasses vibration of the electrolytic solution through any means which through vibrations of the solution, causes vibration of a container to any magnitude or manner).
Krasikov discloses forming a composite material (title) via a codeposition during electroplating (Abstract) vibrating the container during the steps of dispensing the quantity of the pre-coated particulate and applying the charge to the electrolytic solution and wherein vibrating the container comprises applying a high amplitude, low frequency vibration to at least one of the container and the electrolytic solution. (Fig. 1 use of vibration stand and signal generator).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a step of vibrating the container/ electrolytic solution as disclosed in Krasikov in the method of Isaki because it promotes a uniform distribution of particles within the coating (Krasikov Abstract citing to the uniform distribution of SiC in the nickel plating).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaki in view of Xu et al (CN 109402709 A with citations drawn towards the translation from ESPACNET for convenience)
As to claim 8, Isaki fails to explicitly disclose drawing partial vacuum from within the container during the step of applying the charge, such that hydrogen is removed from the container.
Xu discloses composite plating ([0004]) and drawing partial vacuum from within the container during the step of applying the charge, such that hydrogen is removed from the container ([0024] “Vacuum treatment can fully promote hydrogen precipitation and eliminate internal stress., [0026] “By analyzing the influence of vacuum field parameters on the cathode hydrogen evolution reaction rate, hydrogen evolution amount and hydrogen content of the gradient layer and their laws, a vacuum field is added to promote hydrogen evolution reaction, improve concentration polarization phenomenon, reduce the hydrogen content of the gradient layer”)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used at least a partial vacuum as taught by Xu in the method of Isaki because it prevents hydrogen content in the plated layer thus promoting the bonding strength and reducing the internal stresses of the layer (Xu [0024], [0026] as cited above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Werner fails to disclose coating reactive particles containing an element now claimed in instant claim 1, this argument is not persuasive because Werner discloses using zirconium oxide as the first particle which reads on the instant claim limitations.
Applicant’s argument drawn towards the technical problem solved by Applicant are noted. However, in light of the scope of the instant claims as drawn, the broadest reasonable interpretation if the method steps as claimed read on the method of Werner based on the type of particles as those disclosed.
No further arguments are presented.
Conclusion
/LOUIS J RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795