DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of copending Application No. 18/240,967. There is no secondary reference as the reference claim is narrower than the rejected claim 1 of the current application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Current Application
Reference Application#18/240,967
Claim 1:
A system for charging a battery comprising:
a switch [1];
a transformer in operable communication with the switch [2]; and
a processor in communication with the switch [3] and in communication with a model of the transformer [4], the processor configured to execute instructions to control the switch to generate a sequence of pulses at the transformer to produce a shaped charge waveform [3] responsive to running the model to generate the shaped charge waveform [4].
Claim 6 (limitations of claim 1+claim 4+claim 6)
A system for charging a battery comprising:
a power supply circuit comprising a converter portion receiving a power signal, the power supply circuit further comprising a voltage booster portion; a storage capacitor in operable communication with an output of the booster portion of the power supply circuit, the storage capacitor and power supply circuit correcting for a power factor loss of the power signal during charging of an electrochemical device; and a combined direct current/direct current (DC/DC) converter and charge waveform shaping circuit to alter a DC signal from the booster portion to a shaped charge waveform for charging the electrochemical device.
Claim 4:
… wherein the combined DC/DC converter and charge waveform shaping circuit comprises:
a transformer in operable communication with the power supply circuit to receive the power signal;
a switch in operable communication with the transformer [1,2]; and
a processor in communication with the switch and configured to execute instructions to control the switch to generate a sequence of pulses at the transformer to produce the shaped charge waveform [3].
Claim 6:
… wherein the processor is in communication with a model of the transformer and further configured to control the switch responsive to running the model [4].
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of copending Application No. 17/566,535. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because then reference claim is narrower than the currently pending claim of the current application
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Current Application
Application#17/566,535
Claim 1:
A system for charging a battery comprising:
a switch [1];
a transformer in operable communication with the switch [2]; and
a processor in communication with the switch and in communication with a model of the transformer [3], the processor configured to execute instructions to control the switch to generate a sequence of pulses at the transformer to produce a shaped charge waveform responsive to running the model to generate the shaped charge waveform [4].
Claim 11 (limitations of claim 1+ claim 11):
Claim 1:
A system for charging a battery comprising:
a first switch [1];
a first inductive element in operable communication with the switch [2];
a second inductive element in operable communication with the first inductive element;
and a processor in communication with the switch and in communication with a model [3], the processor configured to execute instructions to control the switch to generate a sequence of pulses at the first inductive element to produce a shaped charge waveform responsive to running the model to generate the shaped charge waveform [4], wherein the model comprises a model of the first inductive element, the second inductive element, and a battery.
Claim 11:
The system of claim 1 wherein the first inductive element is a part of a transformer [2].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13, 17-18 and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOSOTANI (US 2014/0368056 A1, hereinafter HOSOTANI) in view of DADRAS et al. (US 2017/0080814 A1, hereinafter DADRAS).
Regarding claim 1 (claim 1 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), HOSOTANI discloses a system for charging a battery comprising:
a switch (See Fig.1, Item#S1 and Par.77, disclose a switching element comprising a switch Q1);
a transformer in operable communication with the switch (See Fig.1, disclose a primary coil Lp of power transmitting unit PSU and a secondary coil Ls of power receiving unit PRU, the two coils when placed close to one act as a transformer); and
a processor in communication with the switch (See Fig.1 and Par.79, disclose a processor 10 for controlling the switch Q1), the processor configured to execute instructions to control the switch to generate a sequence of pulses at the transformer to produce a shaped charge waveform (See Fig. 1 and Par.107 disclose "By turning on/off the switching element Q1 through the control of the switching control circuit 10, an alternating current is flowed in the power transmitting coil Lp by the power transmitting unit-side alternating current generation circuit." Also Par.115 discloses "FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating voltage and current waveforms at the corresponding portions in the power transmission system 111 shown in FIG. 1. Hereinafter, operations in the respective states of switching period will be described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2." The waveform shown in FIG. 2 is interpreted to be a shaped charge waveform).
However, HOSOTANI does not disclose the processor is in communication with a model of the transformer and responsive to running the model generates the shaped charge waveform.
DADRAS discloses to a wireless battery charging system comprising a transformer (See Par.17, discloses "Loosely coupled coils that form a transformer are present in a variety of systems and applications. In the loosely coupled transformer, a first coil may act as a primary coil and a second coil may act as a secondary coil." Also Par.23, discloses "The EVSE 38 may have one or more transmit coils 40 that are configured to be placed in proximity to one or more receive coils 34 of the vehicle 12.") and a processor Par.62, discloses "The processes, methods, or algorithms disclosed herein can be deliverable to/implemented by a processing device, controller, or computer, which can include any existing programmable electronic control unit or dedicated electronic control unit.") in communication with a model of the transformer (See Fig.2, Item#130 and Par.47-48, disclose "The Kalman filter described may be implemented in the EVSE controller 130. The Kalman filter operates to reduce an error between a measured transmit coil current (Y) and an estimated transmit coil current (FT*{circumflex over (T)}) that is derived from a model defined by the parameters.") and produces a shaped charge waveform responsive to running the model to generate the shaped charge waveform (See Par.52, discloses “ Based on the parameters identified for the transformer model, the selectable impedance may be selected for one or both of the transmit coil 40 and the receive coil 34. The impedance may be selected to maximize energy transferred from the transmit coil 40 to the receive coil 34. The impedance value may be selectable from control signals from one or more of the controllers.").
HOSOTANI and DADRAS are analogous art in the field of wireless charging systems.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by of HOSOTANI with the teachings of DADRAS by adding the disclosed model to the processor to produce a shaped charge waveform responsive to the model of DADRAS for the benefit of improving the performance of the transformer (See DADRAS, Par.17, discloses “…accurate knowledge of the parameters is beneficial. A transformer parameter estimation system may provide an estimate of the parameters so that performance may be improved").
Regarding claim 2, HOSOTANI and DADRAS disclose the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the switch is operably coupled with a power supply (See HOSOTANI, Fig.1 and Par.76, discloses an input power source Vi in an input section of the power transmitting unit PSU) and the processor is further configured to execute the sequence of pulses and adjust the sequence of pulses to produce the shaped waveform (See Par.34, discloses “the power transmitting unit-side alternating current generation circuit be configured to control transmission power by deforming a waveform of a resonance current with respect to an ideal sine curve using PWM (pulse width modulation) in which a time ratio is controlled by turning on/off a switching circuit at a fixed switching frequency.") and DADRAS (as applied to claim 1 rejection) discloses a processor executing charging according to the model (See Par.52, discloses " Based on the parameters identified for the transformer model, the selectable impedance may be selected for one or both of the transmit coil 40 and the receive coil 34. The impedance may be selected to maximize energy transferred from the transmit coil 40 to the receive coil 34. The impedance value may be selectable from control signals from one or more of the controllers.").
HOSOTANI and DADRAS are analogous art in the field of wireless charging systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by HOSOTANI by adjusting the control circuit with one that produces a shaped charge waveform produce pulses according to the model like DADRAS for the benefit of improving the performance of the transformer, as disclosed by DADRAS (See Par.17, discloses "accurate knowledge of the parameters is beneficial. A transformer parameter estimation system may provide an estimate of the parameters so that performance may be improved.").
Regarding claim 3, HOSOTANI and DADRAS disclose the system of claim 1 as discussed above, and DADRAS further discloses the model comprises a configurable inductance value and a configurable resistance value (See Par.32, discloses "The primary-side circuit 102 of the transformer model 100 includes a series connection of a primary resistance, R1 106, a primary inductance, L 1 108, and a secondary current dependent voltage generator 110. The secondary-side circuit 104 includes a series connection of a secondary resistance, R2 112, a secondary inductance, L2 114, and a primary current dependent voltage generator 116."), and wherein the processor is further configured to execute instructions to calibrate the model by applying a known signal to the transformer (See Par.60, discloses "At operation 206, the test voltage may be applied to the transmit coil 40. The test voltage may cause a voltage and current in the receive coil 34. At operation 208, voltage and current signals are measured and stored for processing.") and obtaining a first measurement at a first point on the known signal and a second measurement at a second point on the known signal, and changing at least one of the configurable inductance value or the configurable resistance value when at least one of the first measurement at the first point or the second measurement at the second point does not match a respective first intended measurement at the first point or a second intended measurement at the second point (See Par.53, discloses " For the identification to take place, a test voltage may be applied to the transmit coil 40. The test voltage may be a pulsed voltage or square wave at a predetermined frequency to excite the system to allow for improved parameter identification. The identification may be performed until the error between the estimated current and actual measured current is less than a predetermined error. The test voltage may also be applied for a predetermined duration. A magnitude of the test voltage may be less than a typical charging voltage magnitude." NOTE: By applying a test voltage for a duration, multiple measurements on the signal are taken, until the current estimated by the model matches the observed current. The "identification" in context is the model parameters, aka the resistance and inductance, so the model is correcting those parameters until the model current matches the observed current.).
Regarding claim 4, HOSOTANI and DADRAS disclose the system of claim 3 as discussed above, wherein the first measurement is a first current or a first voltage, the second measurement is a second current or a second voltage, and the respective first intended measurement is a first intended current or first intended voltage and the respective second intended measurement is a second intended current or a second intended voltage (See DADRAS, Par.53 discloses " For the identification to take place, a test voltage may be applied to the transmit coil 40. The test voltage may be a pulsed voltage or square wave at a predetermined frequency to excite the system to allow for improved parameter identification. The identification may be performed until the error between the estimated current and actual measured current is less than a predetermined error. The test voltage may also be applied for a predetermined duration. A magnitude of the test voltage may be less than a typical charging voltage magnitude.").
Regarding claim 6, HOSOTANI and DADRAS disclose the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the sequence of pulses is at a primary winding of the transformer (See HOSOTANI, Par.34 discloses “…it is preferable that the power transmitting unit-side alternating current generation circuit be configured to control transmission power by deforming a waveform of a resonance current with respect to an ideal sine curve using PWM (pulse width modulation) in which a time ratio is controlled by turning on/off a switching circuit at a fixed switching frequency.").
Regarding claim 7, HOSOTANI and DADRAS disclose the system of claim 6 as discussed above, wherein the switch is a transistor (See HOSOTANI, Par.107 discloses " In the power transmission system 111 according to the first embodiment shown in FIG. 1, switching elements having parasitic output capacitance, a parasitic diode, and so on such as MOSFETs are used for the switching elements Q1 and Q2, and the switching circuits S1 and S2 are configured making use of the stated parasitic capacitance, the parasitic diode, and so on.").
Regarding claim 8, HOSOTANI and DADRAS disclose the system of claim 7 as discussed above, wherein the system comprising a secondary winding of the transformer (See HOSOTANI, Fig.2 and Par.78 discloses "The power receiving unit PRU includes: a power receiving coil Ls;''), and a battery operably coupled with the secondary winding to receive the shaped charge waveform (See Fig.2, Item:Ro and Par.198 discloses "the load Ro of the second power transmitting/receiving unit PSU/PRU2 has a rechargeable battery and a charging circuit thereof.").
Regarding claim 9, HOSOTANI and DADRAS disclose the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the model comprises an inductor value representative of transformer (See DADRAS, Par.32, discloses "The primary-side circuit 102 of the transformer model 100 includes a series connection of a primary resistance, R1 106, a primary inductance, L1 108, and a secondary current dependent voltage generator 110. The secondary-side circuit 104 includes a series connection of a secondary resistance, R2 112, a secondary inductance, L2 114, and a primary current dependent voltage generator 116.").
Regarding claim 10, HOSOTANI and DADRAS disclose the system of claim 9 as discussed above, wherein the model further comprises a resistance value representative of the transformer (See DADRAS, Par.32 discloses "The primary-side circuit 102 of the transformer model 100 includes a series connection of a primary resistance, R1 106, a primary inductance, L 1 108, and a secondary current dependent voltage generator 110. The secondary-side circuit 104 includes a series connection of a secondary resistance, R2 112, a secondary inductance, L2 114, and a primary current dependent voltage generator 116.").
Regarding claim 11, HOSOTANI discloses a system for charging a battery (See Fig 1, and Par.198 disclose "load Ro of the second power transmitting/receiving unit PSU/PRU2 has a rechargeable battery and a charging circuit thereof.") comprising:
a first switch (See Fig.1, Item#S1 and Par.77, disclose a switching element comprising a switch Q1),
a first inductor in operable communication with the first switch (See Fig.1 and Par.77 disclose an inductor Lp in communication with the switch Q1); and
a processor in communication with the switch (See Fig 1, Item#10 and Par.79 disclose "… the power transmitting unit PSU is provided with a switching control circuit 1O for controlling the switching element Q1."), the processor configured to execute instructions to control the switch to generate a sequence of pulses at the transformer to produce a shaped charge waveform ((See Fig. 1 and Par.107 disclose "By turning on/off the switching element Q1 through the control of the switching control circuit 10, an alternating current is flowed in the power transmitting coil Lp by the power transmitting unit-side alternating current generation circuit." Also Par.115 discloses "FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating voltage and current waveforms at the corresponding portions in the power transmission system 111 shown in FIG. 1. Hereinafter, operations in the respective states of switching period will be described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2." The waveform shown in FIG. 2 is interpreted to be a shaped charge waveform).
However, HOSOTANI does not disclose a processor in communication with a model including the first inductor or produces a shaped charge waveform responsive to running the model to generate the shaped charge waveform.
DADRAS discloses to a wireless battery charging system comprising a transformer (See Par.17, discloses "Loosely coupled coils that form a transformer are present in a variety of systems and applications. In the loosely coupled transformer, a first coil may act as a primary coil and a second coil may act as a secondary coil." Also Par.23, discloses "The EVSE 38 may have one or more transmit coils 40 that are configured to be placed in proximity to one or more receive coils 34 of the vehicle 12.") and a processor Par.62, discloses "The processes, methods, or algorithms disclosed herein can be deliverable to/implemented by a processing device, controller, or computer, which can include any existing programmable electronic control unit or dedicated electronic control unit.") in communication with a model of the transformer (See Fig.2, Item#130 and Par.47-48, disclose "The Kalman filter described may be implemented in the EVSE controller 130. The Kalman filter operates to reduce an error between a measured transmit coil current (Y) and an estimated transmit coil current (FT*{circumflex over (T)}) that is derived from a model defined by the parameters.") and produces a shaped charge waveform responsive to running the model to generate the shaped charge waveform (See Par.52, discloses “ Based on the parameters identified for the transformer model, the selectable impedance may be selected for one or both of the transmit coil 40 and the receive coil 34. The impedance may be selected to maximize energy transferred from the transmit coil 40 to the receive coil 34. The impedance value may be selectable from control signals from one or more of the controllers.").
HOSOTANI and DADRAS are analogous art in the field of wireless charging systems.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by of HOSOTANI with the teachings of DADRAS by adding the disclosed model to the processor to produce a shaped charge waveform responsive to the model of DADRAS for the benefit of improving the performance of the transformer (See DADRAS, Par.17, discloses “…accurate knowledge of the parameters is beneficial. A transformer parameter estimation system may provide an estimate of the parameters so that performance may be improved").
Regarding claim 12, HOSOTANI and DADRAS disclose the system of claim 11 as discussed above, wherein the first inductor comprises a first side of the wireless interface (See HOSOTANI, Par.77 discloses "The power transmitting unit PSU includes ... a switching circuit S1 that is connected with the power transmitting coil Lp", Also Par.152 discloses, " .. the power can be efficiently transmitted by wireless… "), the system further comprising a second inductor comprising a second side of a wireless interface, the first inductor and the second inductor operably forming a transformer when proximately positioned relatively (See HOSOTANI, Fig.1 and Par.78 disclose "The power receiving unit PRU includes: a power receiving coil Ls"), the first inductor and the second inductor operably forming a transformer when proximately positioned relatively (See HOSOTANI, Par.5 discloses "a power transmitting coil and a power receiving coil together act as an insulation transformer''. The transmitting coil Lp and the receiving coil Ls when placed close to one another form a transformer).
Regarding claim 13, HOSOTANI and DADRAS disclose the system of claim 11 as discussed above, However, HOSOTANI and DADRAS as applied to claim 11 do not disclose wherein the wireless interface further comprises a second inductor of a first side of the wireless interface, the second inductor forming a transformer when positioned proximately a third inductor of a second side of the wireless interface.
HOSOTANI further discloses wherein the wireless interface further comprises a second inductor of a first side of the wireless interface (FIG. 15, Item: Lp1 discloses a first inductor and Lp2 discloses a second inductor on the first side of the wireless interface), the second inductor forming a transformer when positioned proximately a third inductor of a second side of the wireless interface (FIG. 15, Item: Ls discloses third inductor, Par.189, discloses "FIG. 15 is a circuit diagram of a power transmission system 123 according to a thirteenth embodiment. In this example, a push-pull circuit is configured including two FETs Q1 and Q2 on the power transmitting unit side. With this, a larger amount of power can be supplied in comparison with a case where the ·push-pull configuration is made using one FET. Further, since the two FETs Q1 and Q2 alternately carry out switching operation, an electromagnetic field resonance coupling circuit can be formed equivalently twice the frequency.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by HOSOTANI and DADRAS as applied to claim 11 with the further teachings of HOSOTANI by adding a second inductor to the first side of the wireless interface for the benefit of allowing a larger amount of power to be transferred to the wireless power receiving device.
Regarding claim 17, HOSOTANI and DADRAS disclose the system of claim 11 as discussed above, wherein the model comprises a configurable inductance value (See DADRAS, Par.32 discloses "The primary-side circuit 102 of the transformer model 100 includes a series connection of a primary resistance, R1 106, a primary inductance, L1 108, and a secondary current dependent voltage generator 110. The secondary-side circuit 104 includes a series connection of a secondary resistance, R2 112, a secondary inductance, L2 114, and a primary current dependent voltage generator 116."), and wherein the processor is further configured to execute instructions to calibrate the model by applying a known signal to the transformer (See DADRAS, Par.60 discloses "At operation 206, the test voltage may be applied to the transmit coil 40. The test voltage may cause a voltage and current in the receive coil 34. At operation 208, voltage and current signals are measured and stored for processing.") and obtaining a first measurement at a first point on the known signal and a second measurement at a second point on the known signal, and changing at least one of the configurable inductance value or the configurable resistance value when at least one of the first measurement at the first point or the second measurement at the second point does not match a respective first intended measurement at the first point or a second intended measurement at the second point (See DADRAS, Par.53 discloses " for identification to take place, a test voltage may be applied to the transmit coil 40. The test voltage may be a pulsed voltage or square wave at a predetermined frequency to excite the system to allow for improved parameter identification. The identification may be performed until the error between the estimated current and actual measured current is less than a predetermined error. The test voltage may also be applied for a predetermined duration. A magnitude of the test voltage may be less than a typical charging voltage magnitude." The examiner explains that by applying a test voltage for a duration, multiple measurements on the signal are taken, until the current estimated by the model matches the observed current. The "identification" in context is the model parameters, aka the resistance and inductance, so the model is correcting those parameters until the model current matches the observed current).
Regarding claim 18, HOSOTANI and DADRAS disclose the system of claim 17 as discussed above, wherein the first measurement is a first current or a first voltage, the second measurement is a second current or a second voltage, and the respective first intended measurement is a first intended current or first intended voltage and the respective second intended measurement is a second intended current or a second intended voltage (See DADRAS, Par.53 discloses " For the identification to take place, a test voltage may be applied to the transmit coil 40. The test voltage may be a pulsed voltage or square wave at a predetermined frequency to excite the system to allow for improved parameter identification. The identification may be performed until the error between the estimated current and actual measured current is less than a predetermined error. The test voltage may also be applied for a predetermined duration. A magnitude of the test voltage may be less than a typical charging voltage magnitude.").
Regarding claim 20, HOSOTANI and DADRAS disclose the system of claim 11 as discussed above, wherein the model comprises an inductor value representative of transformer (See DADRAS, Par.32 discloses "The primary-side circuit 102 of the transformer model 100 includes a series connection of a primary resistance, R1 106, a primary inductance, L 1 108, and a secondary current dependent voltage generator 110. The secondary-side circuit 104 includes a series connection of a secondary resistance, R2 112, a secondary inductance, L2 114, and a primary current dependent voltage generator 116.").
Regarding claim 21, HOSOTANI and DADRAS disclose the system of claim 17 as discussed above, wherein the model further comprises a resistance value representative of the transformer (See DADRAS, Par.32 discloses "The primary-side circuit 102 of the transformer model 100 includes a series connection of a primary resistance, R1 106, a primary inductance, L1 108, and a secondary current dependent voltage generator 110. The secondary-side circuit 104 includes a series connection of a secondary resistance, R2 112, a secondary inductance, L2 114, and a primary current dependent voltage generator 116.").
Regarding claim 22, HOSOTANI and DADRAS disclose the system of claim 17 as discussed above, wherein the model configurable inductor value is representative of a transformer of the wireless interface, the transformer including the first inductor (See DADRAS, Par.32 discloses "The primary-side circuit 102 of the transformer model 100 includes a series connection of a primary resistance, R1 106, a primary inductance, L1 108, and a secondary current dependent voltage generator 110. The secondary-side circuit 104 includes a series connection of a secondary resistance, R2 112, a secondary inductance, L2 114, and a primary current dependent voltage generator 116.").
Regarding claim 23, HOSOTANI and DADRAS disclose the system of claim 11 as discussed above, However, HOSOTANI and DADRAS do not disclose wherein the system comprising a second switch in electrical communication with the first switch on a common node in electrical communication with the first inductor
HOSOTANI further discloses a system comprising a second switch in electrical communication with the first switch on a common node in electrical communication with the first inductor (See FIG.116 and Par.190, disclose multiple switches Q1-Q4 share common nodes in communication with inductor Lp).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by HOSOTANI and DADRAS as applied to claim 11 with the further teachings of HOSOTANI by replacing the single switch on the transmission side with the plurality of switches for the benefit of transmitting a larger amount of power (See HOSOTANI, Par.190).
Claim(s) 5 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOSOTANI in view of DADRAS and in further view of VON NOVAK et al. (US 2010/0277003 A1, hereinafter VON NOVAK).
Regarding claims 5 and 19 (claim 5 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), HOSOTANI and DADRAS disclose the system of claim 1 as discussed above. However, HOSOTANI and DADRAS do not disclose wherein that the processor comprises a microcontroller.
VON NOVAK, drawn to wireless power systems with a transformer model, discloses a processor that comprises a microcontroller (See Par.108 discloses "A general purpose processor may be a microprocessor, but in the alternative, the processor may be any conventional processor, controller, microcontroller, or state machine.").
HOSOTANI, DADRAS and VON NOVAK are analogous art in the field of wireless power transmitters.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by HOSOTANI and DADRAS such that the processor of HOSOANI and DADRAS be a microcontroller as disclosed by VON NOVAK for the known benefit of having a compact size.
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOSOTANI in view of DADRAS and in further view of MILLER et al. (US 2016/0001662 A1, hereinafter MILLER).
Regarding claim 14, HOSOTANI and DADRAS disclose the system of claim 11 as discussed above, further comprising a DC power source (See HOSOTANI, Fig.1, Item:Vi and Par 76).
However, HOSOTANI and DADRAS do not disclose further comprising an AC to DC converter operably coupled with the wireless interface and converting an AC signal from the wireless interface to a DC signal operably applied to the first switch.
MILLER discloses a wireless power transmitting device comprising a wireless interface (See Fig.4, Item: primary pad comprising a wireless power transmitting inductor L1), further comprising an AC to DC converter operably coupled with the wireless interface and converting an AC signal from the wireless interface to a DC signal (See Fig.4, Item” Active Front end “AFE” and Par.15, disclose AFE receives AC from AC power source Uac and delivers a unipolar “DC” voltage) operably applied to the first switch (HOSOTANI, Fig.1 discloses DC is provided to the switch Q1 of Figure 1 and the combination of HOSOTANI, DADRAS and MILLER would provide the output of the AC to DC converter to the switch).
HOSOTANI, DADRAS and MILLER are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by HOSOTANI and DADRAS with the teachings of MILLER by adding an AC to DC converter for the benefit of extending the wireless charger operating time by using a mains power supply comprising an AC source.
Regarding claim 15, HOSOTANI, DADRAS and MILLER disclose the system of claim 14 as discussed above, wherein the wireless interface receives AC power from a power source (See HOSOTANI, Fig.1, and Par.107, disclose the transmitting coil Lp receives AC by controlling switch Q1 to change DC into AC).
Regarding claim 16, HOSOTANI, DADRAS and MILLER disclose the system of claim 14 as discussed above wherein the wireless interface receives power from a DC source (See HOSOTANI, Fig.1, in this case the interface is interpreted to be coil Lp+Q1) and includes a DC to AC converter to provide an AC signal to a transformer of the wireless interface (See HOSOTANI, Fig.1, Item#Q1 and Item#10, disclose a switch which is controlled to change the DC input Vi into AC and apply it to the wireless interface Lp).
Conclusion
/AHMED H OMAR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859