DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 9 April 2026, with respect to the rejections of the claims, as amended over Das have been fully considered and are partially persuasive.
Applicant argues that Das does not disclose the concentration of a fluid in the first and second gap as at least 50% and no more than 40%, respectfully. However, the claims and Specification indicate that such a fluid concentration is a result of the action of a blood pump, which is a recitation of the intended use of the claimed apparatus. There is nothing in the record to show that Applicant intended to claim a pump with fluid therein (see rejections below). Accordingly, the limitations drawn to the concentration of fluid within the gap is treated as an intended use of the claimed pump, and does not patentably distinguish from the prior art of record.
Applicant argues that the Examiner did not provide sufficient reasoning for asserting "routine optimization." Das discloses that the 1 µm-2µm gap range cited by Applicant is an example, not a limit, and the dimensions will vary with the type of pump, specifically teaching that the gap size is variable (see Das ||0028). Applicant discloses in the instant Specification that gap size varies based on pump type (see Specification ||0056). Accordingly, Das teaches and Applicant discloses that the gap size is a result-effective variable, in which the type and size of pump affect the resulting desired gap size.
Applicant argues that the instantly claimed gap size of 4µm-9µm is not a minor adjustment of Das' disclosed range of 1µm-2µm. However, Das' disclosed range is not limited to 1µm-2µm, as set forth in Das 10028. Das' range is an example, and is not limited to 1µm-2µm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1, 2, 4-9, 11, 12, 47, 49-53, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0339003 to Das et al.
In the specification and figures, Das discloses the apparatus as claimed by Applicant. With regard to claims 1, 2, 4-9, 12, 47, 49-51, Das discloses a blood pump 100 with a tubular body, with a lumen therethrough, an impeller 170 coupled to a flexible shaft 160, a bearing 172 within the lumen creating a radial bearing gap (not labeled) and a second gap 180 between the bearing and an impeller surface, wherein the pump or purge device may flow a fluid comprising a bicarbonate and an aqueous dextrose, wherein a purge bag is connected to the pump (see FIG 1 and accompanying text, 10008, 0014, 0049).
With regard to Applicant’s recitation of a concentration of fluid within the gap, a concentration is defined as the amount of a component in a given area or volume. As such, the Examiner is interpreting the limitation to mean that the amount of bicarbonate water in the first gap is 50% of the entirety of the bicarbonate fluid, and the amount of bicarbonate fluid in the second gap may be no more than 40% of the entirety of the bicarbonate fluid.
Nonetheless, the recitation of the amount of fluid in the gaps is not a structural limitation that defines the metes and bounds of the pump itself. In fact, the claims set forth that the blood pump flows fluid into the gaps (see claims 1, 12). Furthermore, the Specification at ¶0016 discloses that the “method may include controlling a flow rate such that a concentration of the fluid…is at least 50% of all the fluid in the first gap…” and “the method may include controlling a flow rate of the fluid such that a concentration of the fluid…is no more than 40% of all fluid in the second gap.” This disclosure indicates that the fluid in the gaps is not a part of the original structure of the pump as claimed, and is a statement of the intended use of the claimed apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 48, 52 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0339003 to Das et al.
In the specification and figures, Das discloses the apparatus substantially as claimed by Applicant (see rejections above).
With regard to claims 3 and 48, Das discloses that the purge fluid may comprise 1.5 mEq/L to 50mEQ/L, within the range claimed by Applicant. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
With regard to claims 42 and 53, Das discloses that the second bearing gap size is preferably between 1µm-2µm, and that the dimensions vary with the type of pump and represent an example of a gap size, not a limitation. Accordingly, Das teaches that the second bearing gap size is a result-effective variable, in which the type and size of pump affect the resulting desired gap size.
Conclusion
/LESLIE R DEAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 19 May 2026