DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed December 18, 2025 have been entered and considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (CN 112805835 A), in view of Li et al. (CN 112703595 A) and Oohata et al. (US 20030157741 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choi et al. teaches:
A display device comprising:
an external bank [BNK, paragraph [n0143], Fig. 10a, 12] disposed on a substrate [SUB, paragraph [n0064], Fig. 10a, 12] defining an emission area [EMA, paragraph [n0098-n0099], Fig. 10a, 12];
a first light emitting element [LD(top-left), paragraph [n0043-n0062], Fig. 10a, 12] and a second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] spaced apart from each other, each disposed on the substrate [SUB, Fig. 10a, 12] in the emission area [EMA, Fig. 10a, 12] and including a first end [EP1, paragraph [n0161], Fig. 10a, 12] having a first polarity and a second end [EP2, paragraph [n0161], Fig. 10a, 12] having a second polarity;
a first connection electrode [CNE1(top-left), paragraph [n0147], Fig. 10a, 12] disposed on the substrate [SUB, Fig. 10a, 12] and electrically contacting the first end [EP1, paragraph [n0165-n0166], Fig. 10a, 12] of the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12];
a fourth connection electrode [CNE1(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] disposed on the substrate [SUB, Fig. 10a, 12], spaced apart from the first connection electrode [CNE1(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12], and electrically contacting the first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] of the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12];
a first insulating layer [INS3, paragraph [n0192], [n0212], Fig. 12] disposed on the first connection electrode [CNE1(top-left), Fig. 12] and the fourth connection electrode [CNE1(top-right), paragraph [n0010-n0011], [n0130], [n0143], Fig. 12] and exposing the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12];
a second connection electrode [CNE2(top), Fig. 10a, 12] disposed on the first insulating layer [INS3, Fig. 12] and electrically contacting the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12]; and
a third connection electrode [CNE2(top), Fig. 10a, 12] disposed on the first insulating layer [INS3, Fig. 12], electrically contacting the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12].
Choi et al. does not teach:
A third connection electrode spaced apart from the second connection electrode.
Li et al. teaches:
A third connection electrode [CNE12, paragraph [n0141], [n0144], Fig. 6] spaced apart from the second connection electrode [CNE21, paragraph [n0141], [n0144], Fig. 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Li et al. into the teachings of Choi et al. to include a third connection electrode spaced apart from the second connection electrode, for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device, improving control, and preventing short circuits. See also, MPEP 2144.04(V)(C) Making Separable.
Choi et al. and Li et al. do not teach:
a third connection electrode directly connected to the first connection electrode through a first contact hole penetrating the first insulating layer.
Oohata et al. teaches:
a third connection electrode [19d, paragraph [0064], Fig. 7] directly connected to the first connection electrode [32, paragraph [0069-0070], Fig. 7] through a first contact hole [36, paragraph [0070], Fig. 7] penetrating the first insulating layer [34, Fig. 7].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Oohata et al. into the teachings of Choi et al. and Li et al. to include a third connection electrode directly connected to the first connection electrode through a first contact hole penetrating the first insulating layer, for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device, reducing size, and reducing costs. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 2, Choi et al., Li et al. and Oohata et al. teach the display device of claim 1.
Choi et al. further teaches:
each of the first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] of the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] of the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] comprises a p-type semiconductor [13, paragraph [n0052], Fig. 3b],
each of the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] comprises an n-type semiconductor [11, paragraph [n0049], Fig. 3b], and
the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] are disposed to face each other.
Regarding claim 3, Choi et al., Li et al. and Oohata et al. teach the display device of claim 2.
Choi et al. further teaches:
wherein the first contact hole [CH1(top), Fig. 10a, 12] is not disposed in the emission area [EMA, Fig. 10a, 12].
Regarding claim 4, Choi et al., Li et al. and Oohata et al. teach the display device of claim 3.
Choi et al. further teaches:
wherein in the emission area [EMA, Fig. 10a, 12],
the first connection electrode [CNE1(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the fourth third connection electrode [CNE2(top), Fig. 10a, 12] are spaced apart from each other,
the fourth connection electrode [CNE1(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] and the second connection electrode [CNE2(top), Fig. 10a, 12] are spaced apart from each other.
However, Choi et al. and Oohata et al. do not teach:
the second connection electrode is disposed between the first connection electrode and the third connection electrode,
the third connection electrode is disposed between the fourth connection electrode and the second connection electrode.
Li et al. teaches:
the second connection electrode [CNE21, paragraph [n0141], [n0144], Fig. 6] is disposed between the first connection electrode [CNE11, paragraph [n0141], [n0144], Fig. 6] and the third connection electrode [CNE12, paragraph [n0141], [n0144], Fig. 6],
the third connection electrode [CNE12, paragraph [n0141], [n0144], Fig. 6] is disposed between the fourth connection electrode [CNE22, paragraph [n0141], [n0144], Fig. 6] and the second connection electrode [CNE21, paragraph [n0141], [n0144], Fig. 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Li et al. into the teachings of Choi et al. and Oohata et al. to include the second connection electrode is disposed between the first connection electrode and the third connection electrode, the third connection electrode is disposed between the fourth connection electrode and the second connection electrode, for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device, improving control, and preventing short circuits. See also, MPEP 2144.04(V)(C) Making Separable.
Regarding claim 5, Choi et al., Li et al. and Oohata et al. teach the display device of claim 4.
Choi et al. further teaches:
a first power voltage [VDD, paragraph [n0074-n0076], [n0079], [n0087], [n0180], Fig. 5a, 12] is supplied to the fourth connection electrode [CNE1(top-right), Fig. 12],
a second power voltage [VSS/PL, paragraph [n0074-n0076], [n0156-n0157], [n0180], [n0190], Fig. 12] is supplied to the second connection electrode [CNE2(top), Fig. 12], and
a potential value of the first power voltage [VDD, paragraph [n0074], Fig. 10a, 12] is greater than a potential value of the second power voltage [VSS].
Regarding claim 6, Choi et al., Li et al. and Oohata et al. teach the display device of claim 4.
Choi et al. further teaches:
a third light emitting element [LD(bottom-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and a fourth light emitting element [LD(bottom-right), Fig. 10a, 12] spaced apart from the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12], each disposed on the substrate [SUB, Fig. 10a, 12] in the emission area [EMA, Fig. 10a, 12] and including a first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] having the first polarity and the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] having a second polarity;
a fifth connection electrode [CNE1 (bottom-left), Fig. 10a, 12] disposed between the substrate [SUB, Fig. 10a, 12] and the first insulating layer [INS3, Fig. 12] and electrically contacting the first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] of the third light emitting element [LD(bottom-left), Fig. 10a, 12];
an eighth connection electrode [CNE1(bottom-right), Fig. 10a, 12] disposed between the substrate [SUB, Fig. 10a, 12] and the first insulating layer [INS3, Fig. 12], spaced apart from the fifth connection electrode [CNE1(bottom-left), Fig. 10a, 12], and electrically contacting the first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] of the fourth light emitting element [LD(bottom-right), Fig. 10a, 12];
a sixth connection electrode [CNE2 (bottom), Fig. 10a, 12] disposed on the first insulating layer [INS3, Fig. 12] and electrically contacting the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the third light emitting element [LD(bottom-left), Fig. 10a, 12]; and
a seventh connection electrode [CNE2(bottom), Fig. 10a, 12] disposed on the first insulating layer [INS3, Fig. 12], and electrically contacting the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the fourth light emitting element [LD(bottom-right), Fig. 10a, 12],
the first connection electrode [CNE1 (top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the sixth connection electrode [CNE2(bottom), Fig. 10a, 12].
the third connection electrode [CNE2(top) , Fig. 10a, 12] and the eighth connection electrode [CNE1(bottom-right), Fig. 10a, 12].
However, Choi et al. and Oohata et al. do not teach:
a seventh connection electrode spaced apart from the sixth connection electrode.
Li et al. teaches:
a seventh connection electrode [CNE12, paragraph [n0141], [n0144], Fig. 6] spaced apart from the sixth connection electrode [CNE21, paragraph [n0141], [n0144], Fig. 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Li et al. into the teachings of Choi et al. and Oohata et al. to include a seventh connection electrode spaced apart from the sixth connection electrode, for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device, improving control, and preventing short circuits. See also, MPEP 2144.04(V)(C) Making Separable.
Choi et al., Li et al. and Oohata et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Choi et al. and Li et al. do not teach:
the first connection electrode and the sixth connection electrode are electrically connected through a second contact hole penetrating the first insulating layer, and
the third connection electrode and the eighth connection electrode are electrically connected through a third contact hole penetrating the first insulating layer.
Oohata et al. teaches:
the first connection electrode [19d, paragraph [0064], Fig. 7] and the sixth connection electrode [32, paragraph [0069-0070], Fig. 7] are electrically connected through a second contact hole [36, paragraph [0070], Fig. 7] penetrating the first insulating layer [34, paragraph [0069-0070], Fig. 7], and
the third connection electrode [19d, paragraph [0064], Fig. 7] and the eighth connection electrode [32, paragraph [0069-0070], Fig. 7] are electrically connected through a third contact hole [36, paragraph [0070], Fig. 7] penetrating the first insulating layer [34, paragraph [0069-0070], Fig. 7].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Oohata et al. into the teachings of Choi et al., Li et al. and Oohata et al. to include the first connection electrode and the sixth connection electrode are electrically connected through a second contact hole penetrating the first insulating layer, and the third connection electrode and the eighth connection electrode are electrically connected through a third contact hole penetrating the first insulating layer, for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device, reducing size, and reducing costs. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 7, Choi et al., Li et al. and Oohata et al. teach the display device of claim 6.
Choi et al. further teaches:
each of the first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] of the third light emitting element [LD(bottom-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] of the fourth light emitting element [LD(bottom-right), Fig. 10a, 12] comprises a p-type semiconductor [13, paragraph [n0052], Fig. 3b],
each of the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the third light emitting element [LD(bottom-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the fourth light emitting element [LD(bottom-right), Fig. 10a, 12] comprises an n-type semiconductor [11, paragraph [n0049], Fig. 3b],
the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the third light emitting element [LD(bottom-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the fourth light emitting element [LD(bottom-right), Fig. 10a, 12] are disposed to face each other,
the second contact hole [CH1(bottom), paragraph [n0152], Fig. 10a, 12] is disposed between the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the third light emitting element [LD(bottom-left), Fig. 10a, 12].
the third contact hole [CH2(top), paragraph [n0156], Fig. 10a, 12] is disposed between the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] and the fourth light emitting element [LD(bottom-right), Fig. 10a, 12].
Choi et al., Li et al. and Oohata et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Choi et al. and Li et al. do not teach:
the second contact hole is disposed between the first light emitting element and the third light emitting element in the emission area, and
the third contact hole is disposed between the second light emitting element and the fourth light emitting element in the emission area.
Oohata et al. teaches:
the second contact hole [36(middle), paragraph [0070], Fig. 7] is disposed between the first light emitting element [11(left), paragraph [0062-0063], [0069-0070], Fig. 3A, 7] and the third light emitting element [11(right), paragraph [0062-0063], [0069-0070], Fig. 3A, 7] in the emission area, and
the third contact hole [36(middle), paragraph [0070], Fig. 7] is disposed between the second light emitting element [11(left), paragraph [0062-0063], [0069-0070], Fig. 3A, 7] and the fourth light emitting element [11(right), paragraph [0062-0063], [0069-0070], Fig. 3A, 7] in the emission area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Oohata et al. into the teachings of Choi et al., Li et al. and Oohata et al. to include the second contact hole is disposed between the first light emitting element and the third light emitting element in the emission area, and the third contact hole is disposed between the second light emitting element and the fourth light emitting element in the emission area, for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device, reducing size, and reducing costs. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 8, Choi et al., Li et al. and Oohata et al. teach the display device of claim 4.
Choi et al. further teaches:
wherein the first insulating layer [INS3, Fig. 12] is not disposed between the second connection electrode [CNE2(top), Fig. 10a, 12] and the third connection electrode [CNE2(top), Fig. 10a, 12].
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (CN 112805835 A), in view of Li et al. (CN 112703595 A) and Oohata et al. (US 20030157741 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wu (US 20140299836 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Choi et al., Li et al. and Oohata et al. teach the display device of claim 1.
Choi et al. further teaches:
each of the first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] of the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] of the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] comprises a p-type semiconductor [13, paragraph [n0052], Fig. 3b],
each of the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] comprises an n-type semiconductor [11, paragraph [n0049], Fig. 3b].
Choi et al., Li et al. and Oohata et al. do not teach:
the first end of the first light emitting element and the first end of the second light emitting element are disposed to face each other.
Wu teaches:
the first end [121, paragraph [0032-0033], [0057], Fig. 1A-4, 10] of the first light emitting element [12, Fig. 1A] and the first end [151, paragraph [0032], [0035], [0057], Fig. 1A-4, 10] of the second light emitting element [15, Fig. 1A] are disposed to face each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wu into the teachings of Choi et al., Li et al. and Oohata et al. to include the first end of the first light emitting element and the first end of the second light emitting element are disposed to face each other, for the purpose of improving light quality, output, pattern, visibility, symmetry, uniformity, control and performance, ensuring good connections and creating more uniform light distribution.
Regarding claim 10, Choi et al., Li et al., Oohata et al. and Wu teach the display device of claim 9.
Choi et al. further teaches:
wherein the first contact hole [CH1(top), paragraph [n0152], Fig. 10a, 12] is not disposed in the emission area [EMA, Fig. 10a, 12].
Regarding claim 11, Choi et al., Li et al., Oohata et al. and Wu teach the display device of claim 10.
Choi et al. further teaches:
wherein in the emission area [EMA, Fig. 10a, 12],
the first connection electrode [CNE1(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the third connection electrode [CNE2(top), Fig. 10a, 12] are spaced apart from each other,
the fourth connection electrode [CNE1(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] and the second connection electrode [CNE2(top), Fig. 10a, 12] are spaced apart from each other.
Choi et al., Li et al., Oohata et al. and Wu disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Choi et al. Oohata et al. and Wu do not teach:
the second connection electrode is disposed between the first connection electrode and the third connection electrode,
the third connection electrode is disposed between the fourth connection electrode and the second connection electrode.
Li et al. teaches:
the second connection electrode [CNE21, paragraph [n0141], [n0144], Fig. 6] is disposed between the first connection electrode [CNE11, paragraph [n0141], [n0144], Fig. 6] and the third connection electrode [CNE12, paragraph [n0141], [n0144], Fig. 6],
the third connection electrode [CNE12, paragraph [n0141], [n0144], Fig. 6] is disposed between the fourth connection electrode [CNE22, paragraph [n0141], [n0144], Fig. 6] and the second connection electrode [CNE21, paragraph [n0141], [n0144], Fig. 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Li et al. into the teachings of Choi et al., Li et al., Oohata et al. and Wu to include the second connection electrode is disposed between the first connection electrode and the third connection electrode, the third connection electrode is disposed between the fourth connection electrode and the second connection electrode, for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device, improving control, and preventing short circuits. See also, MPEP 2144.04(V)(C) Making Separable.
Regarding claim 12, Choi et al., Li et al., Oohata et al. and Wu teach the display device of claim 11.
Choi et al. further teaches:
a first power voltage [VDD, paragraph [n0074-n0076], [n0079], [n0087], [n0180], Fig. 5a, 12] is supplied to the second fourth connection electrode [CNE1(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12],
a second power voltage [VSS/PL, paragraph [n0074-n0076], [n0156-n0157], [n0180], [n0190], Fig. 12] is supplied to the third second connection electrode [CNE2(top), Fig. 10a, 12], and
a potential value of the first power voltage [VDD, paragraph [n0074], Fig. 10a, 12] is greater than a potential value of the second power voltage [VSS].
Regarding claim 13, Choi et al., Li et al., Oohata et al. and Wu teach the display device of claim 11.
Choi et al. further teaches:
a third light emitting element [LD(bottom-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and a fourth light emitting element [LD(bottom-right), Fig. 10a, 12] spaced apart from the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12], each disposed on the substrate [SUB, Fig. 10a, 12] in the emission area [EMA, Fig. 10a, 12] and including a first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] having the first polarity and a second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] having the second polarity;
a fifth connection electrode [CNE1(bottom-left), Fig. 10a, 12] disposed between the substrate [SUB, Fig. 10a, 12] and the first insulating layer [INS3, Fig. 12] and electrically contacting the first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] of the third light emitting element [LD(bottom-left), Fig. 10a, 12];
an eighth connection electrode [CNE1(bottom-right), Fig. 10a, 12] disposed between the substrate [SUB, Fig. 10a, 12] and the first insulating layer [INS3, Fig. 12], spaced apart from the fifth connection electrode [CNE1(bottom-left), Fig. 10a, 12], and electrically contacting the first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] of the fourth light emitting element [LD(bottom-right), Fig. 10a, 12];
a sixth connection electrode [CNE2(bottom), Fig. 10a, 12] disposed on the first insulating layer [INS3, Fig. 12] and electrically contacting the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the third light emitting element [LD(bottom-left), Fig. 10a, 12]; and
a seventh connection electrode [CNE2(bottom), Fig. 10a, 12] disposed on the first insulating layer [INS3, Fig. 12], and electrically contacting the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the fourth light emitting element [LD(bottom-right), Fig. 10a, 12].
the first connection electrode [CNE1(top-left)] and the sixth connection electrode [CNE2(bottom)].
the third connection electrode [CNE2(top)] and the eighth connection electrode [CNE1(bottom-right)].
Choi et al., Li et al., Oohata et al. and Wu disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Choi et al. Oohata et al. and Wu do not teach:
a seventh connection electrode spaced apart from the sixth connection electrode.
Li et al. teaches:
a seventh connection electrode [CNE12, paragraph [n0141], [n0144], Fig. 6] spaced apart from the sixth connection electrode [CNE21, paragraph [n0141], [n0144], Fig. 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Li et al. into the teachings of Choi et al., Li et al., Oohata et al. and Wu to include a seventh connection electrode spaced apart from the sixth connection electrode, for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device, improving control, and preventing short circuits. See also, MPEP 2144.04(V)(C) Making Separable.
Choi et al., Li et al., Oohata et al. and Wu disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Choi et al. Li et al. and Wu do not teach:
the first connection electrode and the sixth connection electrode are electrically connected through a second contact hole penetrating the first insulating layer, and
the third connection electrode and the eighth connection electrode are electrically connected through a third contact hole penetrating the first insulating layer.
Oohata et al. teaches:
the first connection electrode [19d, paragraph [0064], Fig. 7] and the sixth connection electrode [32, paragraph [0069-0070], Fig. 7] are electrically connected through a second contact hole [36, paragraph [0070], Fig. 7] penetrating the first insulating layer [34, paragraph [0069-0070], Fig. 7], and
the third connection electrode [19d, paragraph [0064], Fig. 7] and the eighth connection electrode [32, paragraph [0069-0070], Fig. 7] are electrically connected through a third contact hole [36, paragraph [0070], Fig. 7] penetrating the first insulating layer [34, paragraph [0069-0070], Fig. 7].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Oohata et al. into the teachings of Choi et al., Li et al., Oohata et al. and Wu to include the first connection electrode and the sixth connection electrode are electrically connected through a second contact hole penetrating the first insulating layer, and the third connection electrode and the eighth connection electrode are electrically connected through a third contact hole penetrating the first insulating layer, for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device, reducing size, and reducing costs. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 14, Choi et al., Li et al., Oohata et al. and Wu teach the display device of claim 13.
Choi et al. further teaches:
each of the first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] of the third light emitting element [LD(bottom-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] of the fourth light emitting element [LD(bottom-right), Fig. 10a, 12] comprises a p-type semiconductor [13, paragraph [n0052], Fig. 3b],
each of the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the third light emitting element [LD(bottom-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the fourth light emitting element [LD(bottom-right), Fig. 10a, 12] comprises an n-type semiconductor [11, paragraph [n0049], Fig. 3b],
the second contact hole [CH1(bottom), paragraph [n0152], Fig. 10a, 12] is disposed between the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a] and the third light emitting element [LD(bottom-left), Fig. 10a].
the third contact hole [CH2(top), paragraph [n0156], Fig. 10a, 12] is disposed between the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a] and the fourth light emitting element [LD(bottom-right), Fig. 10a].
Choi et al., Li et al., Oohata et al. and Wu disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Choi et al., Li et al., and Oohata et al. do not teach:
the first end of the first light emitting element and the first end of the second light emitting element are disposed to face each other.
Wu teaches:
the first end [121, paragraph [0032-0033], [0057], Fig. 1A-4, 10] of the first light emitting element [12, Fig. 1A] and the first end [151, paragraph [0032], [0035], [0057], Fig. 1A-4, 10] of the second light emitting element [15, Fig. 1A] are disposed to face each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wu into the teachings of Choi et al., Li et al., Oohata et al. and Wu to include the first end of the first light emitting element and the first end of the second light emitting element are disposed to face each other, for the purpose of improving light quality, output, pattern, visibility, symmetry, uniformity, control and performance, ensuring good connections and creating more uniform light distribution.
Choi et al., Li et al., Oohata et al. and Wu disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Choi et al., Li et al. and Wu do not teach:
the second contact hole is disposed between the first light emitting element and the third light emitting element in the emission area, and
the third contact hole is disposed between the second light emitting element and the fourth light emitting element in the emission area.
Oohata et al. teaches:
the second contact hole [36(middle), paragraph [0070], Fig. 7] is disposed between the first light emitting element [11(left), paragraph [0062-0063], [0069-0070], Fig. 3A, 7] and the third light emitting element [11(right), paragraph [0062-0063], [0069-0070], Fig. 3A, 7] in the emission area, and
the third contact hole [36(middle), paragraph [0070], Fig. 7] is disposed between the second light emitting element [11(left), paragraph [0062-0063], [0069-0070], Fig. 3A, 7] and the fourth light emitting element [11(right), paragraph [0062-0063], [0069-0070], Fig. 3A, 7] in the emission area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Oohata et al. into the teachings of Choi et al., Li et al., Oohata et al. and Wu to include the second contact hole is disposed between the first light emitting element and the third light emitting element in the emission area, and the third contact hole is disposed between the second light emitting element and the fourth light emitting element in the emission area, for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device, reducing size, and reducing costs. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 15, Choi et al., Li et al., Oohata et al. and Wu teach the display device of claim 11.
Choi et al. further teaches:
wherein the first insulating layer [INS3, Fig. 12] has an opening between the first connection electrode [CNE1(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the external bank [BNK, Fig. 10a, 12] and between the fourth connection electrode [CNE1(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] and the external bank [BNK, Fig. 10a, 12].
Although not specifically mentioned. The opening in the insulating layer [INS3] between the first connection electrode [CNE1(top-left)] and the external bank [BNK] and between the fourth connection electrode [CNE1(top-right)] and the external bank [BNK] can be seen in figure 12. See MPEP 2125 Drawings as Prior Art (I) Drawings can be used as prior art.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (CN 112805835 A), in view of Li et al. (CN 112703595 A) and Ohnuma (US 20070037069 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Choi et al. teaches:
A display device comprising:
an external bank [BNK, Fig. 10a, 12] disposed on a substrate [SUB, Fig. 10a, 12] defining an emission area [EMA, Fig. 10a, 12];
a first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and a second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] spaced apart from each other, each disposed on the substrate [SUB, Fig. 10a, 12] in the emission area [EMA, Fig. 10a, 12] and including a first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] having a first polarity and a second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] having a second polarity;
a first connection electrode [CNE1(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] disposed on the substrate [SUB, Fig. 10a, 12] and electrically contacting the first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] of the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12];
a fourth connection electrode [CNE1(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] disposed on the substrate [SUB, Fig. 10a, 12], spaced apart from the first connection electrode [CNE1(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12], and electrically contacting the first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] of the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12];
a first insulating layer [INS3, Fig.12] disposed on the first connection electrode [CNE1(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the fourth connection electrode [CNE1(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] and exposing the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12];
a second connection electrode [CNE2(top), Fig. 10a, 12] disposed on the first insulating layer [INS3, Fig. 12], electrically contacting the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12],
a third connection electrode [CNE2(top) , Fig. 10a, 12] disposed on the first insulating layer [INS3, Fig. 12], spaced apart from the first connection electrode [CNE1(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12], electrically contacting the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12].
Choi et al. does not teach:
A third connection electrode spaced apart from the second connection electrode.
Li et al. teaches:
A third connection electrode [CNE12, paragraph [n0141], [n0144], Fig. 6] spaced apart from the second connection electrode [CNE21, paragraph [n0141], [n0144], Fig. 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Li et al. into the teachings of Choi et al. to include a third connection electrode spaced apart from the second connection electrode, for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device, improving control, and preventing short circuits. See also, MPEP 2144.04(V)(C) Making Separable.
Choi et al. and Li et al. do not teach:
a second connection electrode having a width greater than a width of the first connection electrode in a direction
a third connection electrode having a width greater than a width of the fourth connection electrode in the direction.
Ohnuma teaches:
a second connection electrode [765, paragraph [0191], Fig. 8C] having a width greater than a width of the first connection electrode [770, paragraph [0191], Fig. 8C] in a direction
a third connection electrode [765, paragraph [0191], Fig. 8C] having a width greater than a width of the fourth connection electrode [770, paragraph [0191], Fig. 8C] in the direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Ohnuma into the teachings of Choi et al. and Li et al. to include a second connection electrode having a width greater than a width of the first connection electrode in a direction, a third connection electrode having a width greater than a width of the fourth connection electrode in the direction, for the purpose of wider electrodes produce stronger and uniform magnetic fields, increase active area and improve charge collection efficiency. MPEP2144.04(IV)(A) Changes in Size/Proportion.
Regarding claim 17, Choi et al., Li et al. and Ohnuma teach the display device of claim 16.
Choi et al. further teaches:
each of the first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] of the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] of the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] comprises a p-type semiconductor [13, paragraph [n0052], Fig. 3b],
each of the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] comprises an n-type semiconductor [11, paragraph [n0049], Fig. 3b], and
the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] are disposed to face each other.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (CN 112805835 A), in view of Li et al. (CN 112703595 A) and Ohnuma (US 20070037069 A1) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Kang (KR 20200062458 A).
Regarding claim 18, Choi et al., Li et al. and Ohnuma teach the display device of claim 17.
Choi et al. further teaches:
a first alignment electrode [ELT1(top-left), paragraph [n0099], Fig. 10a, 12], a second alignment electrode [ELT2(top), paragraph [n0099], Fig. 10a, 12], and a third alignment electrode [ELT1(top-right), paragraph [n0099], Fig. 10a, 12] sequentially arranged to be spaced apart from each other on the substrate [SUB, Fig. 10a, 12] in the emission area [EMA, Fig. 10a, 12], wherein
the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), paragraph [n0104], Fig. 10a, 12] is disposed between the first alignment electrode [ELT1(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the second alignment electrode [ELT2(top), Fig. 10a, 12],
the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] is disposed between the second alignment electrode [ELT2(top), Fig. 10a, 12] and the third alignment electrode [ELT1(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12],
the second connection electrode [CNE2(top), paragraph [n0147], [n0163], [n0166], Fig. 10a, 12] is disposed on the second alignment electrode [ELT2(top), Fig. 10a, 12].
the third connection electrode [CNE2(top), paragraph [n0147], [n0163], [n0166], Fig. 10a, 12] is disposed on the second alignment electrode [ELT2(top), Fig. 10a, 12].
Choi et al., Li et al. and Ohnuma do not teach:
the second connection electrode is disposed on the second alignment electrode and covers at least half of a distance between the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode.
the third connection electrode is disposed on the second alignment electrode and covers at least half of a distance between the second alignment electrode and the third alignment electrode.
Kang teaches:
the second connection electrode [CNE2, paragraph [0161], [0183-0186], Fig. 9a, 9b] is disposed on the second alignment electrode [ALE2, paragraph [0161], [0183-0186], Fig. 9a, 9b] and covers at least half of a distance between the first alignment electrode [ALE1, Fig. 9a, 9b] and the second alignment electrode [ALE2, Fig. 9a, 9b].
the third connection electrode [CNE2, paragraph [0161], [0183-0186], Fig. 9a, 9b] is disposed on the second alignment electrode [ALE2, paragraph [0161], [0183-0186], Fig. 9a, 9b] and covers at least half of a distance between the second alignment electrode [ALE2, Fig. 9a, 9b] and the third alignment electrode [ALE1, Fig. 9a, 9b].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kang into the teachings of Choi et al., Li et al. and Ohnuma to include the second connection electrode is disposed on the second alignment electrode and covers at least half of a distance between the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode, the third connection electrode is disposed on the second alignment electrode and covers at least half of a distance between the second alignment electrode and the third alignment electrode, for the purpose of receiving power and transmitting power to the device, electrically connecting features within the device, preventing features from moving, and improving connections and performance.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (CN 112805835 A), in view of Li et al. (CN 112703595 A) and Ohnuma (US 20070037069 A1) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Wu (US 20140299836 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Choi et al., Li et al. and Ohnuma teach the display device of claim 16.
Choi et al. further teaches:
each of the first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] of the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the first end [EP1, Fig. 10a, 12] of the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] comprises a p-type semiconductor [13, paragraph [n0052], Fig. 3b],
each of the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the second end [EP2, Fig. 10a, 12] of the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] comprises an n-type semiconductor [11, paragraph [n0049], Fig. 3b].
Choi et al., Li et al. and Ohnuma do not teach:
the first end of the first light emitting element and the first end of the second light emitting element are disposed to face each other.
Wu teaches:
the first end [121, paragraph [0032-0033], [0057], Fig. 1A-4, 10] of the first light emitting element [12, Fig. 1A] and the first end [151, paragraph [0032], [0035], [0057], Fig. 1A-4, 10] of the second light emitting element [15, Fig. 1A] are disposed to face each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wu into the teachings of Choi et al., Li et al. and Ohnuma to include the first end of the first light emitting element and the first end of the second light emitting element are disposed to face each other, for the purpose of improving light quality, output, pattern, visibility, symmetry, uniformity, control and performance, ensuring good connections and creating more uniform light distribution.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (CN 112805835 A), in view of Li et al. (CN 112703595 A), Ohnuma (US 20070037069 A1) and Wu (US 20140299836 A1) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Kang (KR 20200062458 A).
Regarding claim 20, Choi et al., Li et al., Ohnuma and Wu teach the display device of claim 19.
Choi et al. further teaches:
a first alignment electrode [ELT1(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12], a second alignment electrode [ELT2(top), Fig. 10a, 12], and a third alignment electrode [ELT1(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] sequentially arranged to be spaced apart from each other on the substrate [SUB, Fig. 10a, 12] in the emission area [EMA, Fig. 10a, 12], wherein
the first light emitting element [LD(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] is disposed between the first alignment electrode [ELT1(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12] and the second alignment electrode [ELT2(top), Fig. 10a, 12],
the second light emitting element [LD(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12] is disposed between the second alignment electrode [ELT2(top), Fig. 10a, 12] and the third alignment electrode [ELT1(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12],
the fourth connection electrode [CNE1(top-right), paragraph [n0147], [n0162], [n0165-n0166], [n0192], Fig. 10a, 12] is disposed on the third alignment electrode [ELT1(top-right), Fig. 10a, 12],
the first connection electrode [CNE1(top-left), paragraph [n0147], [n0162], [n0165-n0166], [n0192], Fig. 10a, 12] is disposed on the first alignment electrode [ELT1(top-left), Fig. 10a, 12].
Choi et al., Li et al., Ohnuma and Wu do not teach:
the fourth connection electrode is disposed on the third alignment electrode and covers at least half of a distance between the second alignment electrode and the third alignment electrode.
the first connection electrode is disposed on the first alignment electrode and covers at least half of a distance between the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode.
Kang teaches:
the fourth connection electrode [CNE2, paragraph [0161], [0183-0186], Fig. 9a, 9b] is disposed on the third alignment electrode [ALE2, paragraph [0161], [0183-0186], Fig. 9a, 9b] and covers at least half of a distance between the second alignment electrode [ALE1, Fig. 9a, 9b] and the third alignment electrode [ALE2, Fig. 9a, 9b].
the first connection electrode [CNE2, paragraph [0161], [0183-0186], Fig. 9a, 9b] is disposed on the first alignment electrode [ALE2, paragraph [0161], [0183-0186], Fig. 9a, 9b] and covers at least half of a distance between the first alignment electrode [ALE2, Fig. 9a, 9b] and the second alignment electrode [ALE1, Fig. 9a, 9b].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kang into the teachings of Choi et al., Li et al., Ohnuma and Wu to include the fourth connection electrode is disposed on the third alignment electrode and covers at least half of a distance between the second alignment electrode and the third alignment electrode, the first connection electrode is disposed on the first alignment electrode and covers at least half of a distance between the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode, for the purpose of receiving power and transmitting power to the device, electrically connecting features within the device, preventing features from moving, and improving connections and performance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 1, Section: I. Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112, in remarks filed December 18, 2025, with respect to claims 4, 8, 11, 15, 18 and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The §112 rejection of claims 4, 8, 11, 15, 18 and 20 has been withdrawn. Examiner pointed out inconsistences with respect to the claims and drawings. Applicant fixed the inconsistences.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-4, Section: II. Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103, in remarks filed December 18, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent claims 1 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art reference Choi et al. (CN 112805835 A). Applicant argues that the current prior art of record does not teach the amendments to independent claims 1 and 16. Applicant argues that primary reference Bibl et al. (US 9240397 B2) cannot teach the amended limitation of independent claim 1 because connecting the two alleged electrodes would cause a short circuit. Applicant also argues that the alleged electrodes overlap with each other and are therefore not spaced apart from each other, as recited in the amendment to independent claim 16. Examiner agrees with Applicant, the previous rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant argues on page 4, Section: II. Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103, in remarks filed December 18, 2025, that all dependent claims should be allowable as well. After a new line of search and consideration of the prior art, Examiner disagrees with Applicant. A new line of rejection was introduced with respect to newly cited primary reference Choi et al. (CN112805835A). All claims directly or indirectly dependent on independent claims 1 and 16 are rejected for at least the reasons mentioned above.
Conclusion
/D.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2815 03/03/2026
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815