DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 12/22/2025 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the preliminary amendment filed on 12/22/2025 and 1/15/2026. Claims 3 and 14-19 are canceled. Claims 1-2 and 4-13 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Merritello (US PGPUB No. 2008/0216870), hereinafter referred to as Merritello.
Regarding claims 1 (Currently Amended) and 8 (Currently Amended), Merritello discloses a particle blast system configured for cryogenic particles [Merritello, fig 3], the particle blast system comprising:
a. a source of entrained cryogenic particles [Merritello, fig 3, 31 and page 3, pp 0063] (clm 8);
b. a source of shroud fluid [Merritello, fig 3, 33] (clm 8)
c. a blast nozzle assembly [Merritello, fig 3] (clm 1) comprising
i. a shroud [Merritello, fig 3, 47] comprising a shroud passageway and at least one shroud inlet [Merritello, fig 3, the space between 49 and 47 is the passageway and an inlet where 47 meets 32], the shroud passageway comprising:
(a) a shroud passageway interior surface [Merritello, fig 3, interior surface of 47];
(b) a shroud exit [Merritello, fig 3, right hand side where 47 ends], wherein each said at least one shroud inlet is in fluid communication with the shroud exit [Merritello, fig 3, the left and right portions of 47 are in fluid communication], and each at least one shroud inlet is in fluid communication with the source of shroud fluid [Merritello, the left side of 47 is connected to 33 by 32]; and
(c)a shroud direction of flow defined in the direction from the at least one shroud inlet to the shroud exit [Merritello, fig 3, showing flow is from left to right 47]; and
ii. a blast nozzle [Merritello, fig 3, 49] comprising an exterior surface [Merritello, fig 3, 31outside surface of 49] and an internal nozzle passageway [Merritello, fig 3, 45], the internal nozzle passageway configured to convey an entrained flow of cryogenic particles therethrough [Merritello, page 3, pp 0063, 31 supplies liquid carbon dioxide], the internal nozzle passageway comprising:
(a) a nozzle inlet [Merritello, fig 3, left side of 49 where 49 meets 36] in fluid communication with the source of entrained cryogenic particles [Merritello, 49 is connected to 31];
(b) a nozzle exit [Merritello, fig 3, right side of 49 that terminates at the same location as 47]; and
(c) a nozzle direction of flow defined in the direction from the nozzle inlet to the nozzle exit [Merritello, fig 3, flow is from left to right] wherein the blast nozzle is mounted to the shroud such that at least a portion of the exterior surface of the blast nozzle comprises an inner boundary of the shroud passageway [Merritello, fig 3, showing the point where 49 is mounted to 47].
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Merritello further discloses the blast nozzle assembly of claim 1, wherein the nozzle exit is aligned with the shroud exit [Merritello, fig 3, showing that 47 and 49 terminate with each other].
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Merritello further discloses the blast nozzle assembly of claim 1, wherein the shroud passageway is annular [Merritello, page 3, pp 0063, the annular gap, meaning that 47 is also annular].
Regarding claim 7 (Original), Merritello further discloses the blast nozzle assembly of claim 1, wherein the internal nozzle passageway comprises a converging portion [Merritello, fig 3, 45 has a converging portion] and a diverging portion disposed downstream of the converging portion [Merritello, fig 3, 45 has a diverging portion after the converging portion].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merritello (US PGPUB No. 2008/0216870) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Kyutae et al (Korean Patent Publication No. KR20210009915), hereinafter referred to as Merritello and Kyutae, respectively.
Regarding claims 5 (Original) and 6 (Original), Merritello discloses the blast nozzle assembly of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the blast nozzle comprises a plurality of spacers configured to support the nozzle relative to the shroud passageway interior surface (clm 5), and wherein the nozzle comprises a nozzle axis and the shroud comprises a shroud axis, and wherein the plurality of spacers are configured to align the nozzle axis with the shroud axis (clm 6).
Kyutae teaches a blast nozzle assembly comprising:
a. a shroud [Kyutae, fig 1, 120] comprising a shroud passageway [Kyutae, fig 1, 121] and at least one shroud inlet [Kyutae, fig 1, 131 connected to 140], the shroud passageway comprising:
i. a shroud passageway interior surface [Kyutae, fig 1, interior surface of 120];
ii. a shroud exit [Kyutae, fig 1, left side of 120], wherein each said at least one shroud inlet is in fluid communication with the shroud exit [Kyutae, figs 1 and 3, showing 121 is in communication with the left side of 120 and the connection to 131 and 140], and each at least one shroud inlet is configured to be connected to a source of shroud fluid [Kyutae, fig 1, 140 is a connected to a source]; and
iii. a shroud direction of flow defined in the direction from the at least one shroud inlet to the shroud exit [Kyutae, fig 1, flow is from right to left]; and
b. a blast nozzle [Kyutae, fig 1, 110] comprising an exterior surface and an internal nozzle passageway [Kyute, fig 1, outside surface of 110 denoted by d1], the internal nozzle passageway comprising:
i. a nozzle inlet [Kyutae, fig 1, right side of 110 denoted by r1];
ii. a nozzle exit [Kyutae, fig 1, 112 and fig 3, 111 is shown in the middle of 112]; and
iii. a nozzle direction of flow defined in the direction from the nozzle inlet to the nozzle exit [Kyutae, fig 1, flow if from right to left] wherein the blast nozzle is mounted to the shroud such that at least a portion of the exterior surface of the blast nozzle comprises an inner boundary of the shroud passageway [Kyutae, figs 1 and 3, 110 is mounted to 120 by 113].
wherein the blast nozzle comprises a plurality of spacers configured to support the nozzle relative to the shroud passageway interior surface [Kyutae, fig 3, 113 is a plurality of spacers around 121] (clm 5), and wherein the nozzle comprises a nozzle axis and the shroud comprises a shroud axis [Kyutae, figs 1 and 3, axis down 111], and wherein the plurality of spacers are configured to align the nozzle axis with the shroud axis [Kyutae, fig 3, 113 align 110 within 120] (clm 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that in mounting the blast nozzle to the shroud of Merritello to use the spacers as taught by Kyutae because this configuration reduces shaking caused by high airflow [Kyutae, pages 40-41, pp’s 0079-00082, summarized].
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merritello (US PGPUB No. 2008/0216870) as applied to claim 8 above, and in further view of Jurgen von Der (German Patent Publication No. DE102010020619), hereinafter referred to as Merritello and Jurgen, respectively.
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Merritello further discloses the particle blast system of claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the source of shroud fluid is configured to provide shroud fluid which has a temperature above the dew point temperature of ambient conditions.
Jurgen teaches a particle blast system configured for cryogenic particles, the particle blast system comprising:
a. a source of entrained cryogenic particles [Jurgen, fig 1, 11-14];
b. a source of shroud fluid [Jurgen, fig 1, 15-16 and 1]
c. a blast nozzle assembly [Jurgen, fig 1, 19 and 20] comprising
i. a shroud [Jurgen, fig 1, 19] and
ii. a blast nozzle [Jurgen, fig 1, 20] comprising a nozzle passageway, the nozzle passageway configured to convey an entrained flow of cryogenic particles therethrough [Jurgen, page 19, pp 0050];
wherein the source of shroud fluid is configured to provide shroud fluid which has a temperature above the dew point temperature of ambient conditions [Jurgen, page 19, pp 0050, heated to 80 degrees C which is above the dew point which is noted on page 8, pp 0022 of 55 degrees C].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added heaters to the shroud fluid to heat and dry the shroud fluid of Merritello with the heater and conditioning system of Jurgen because the supercritical dried and heated compressed air reduces the temperature difference between the start and operating phases which leads to a reduction in tolerances and enables the use of find-grained blasting medium, prevents the reduction of the temperature difference between the contamination and the component to be cleaned, and counteracts the formation of condensate from the ambient air on the surface of the component to be cleaned [Jurgen, page 8, pp 0021, summarized].
Regarding claim 10 (Original), Merritello further discloses the particle blast system of claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose comprising an aftercooler configured to reduce the moisture content of the shroud fluid.
Jurgen teaches a particle blast system configured for cryogenic particles, the particle blast system comprising:
a. a source of entrained cryogenic particles [Jurgen, fig 1, 11-14];
b. a source of shroud fluid [Jurgen, fig 1, 15-16 and 1]
c. a blast nozzle assembly [Jurgen, fig 1, 19 and 20] comprising
i. a shroud [Jurgen, fig 1, 19] and
ii. a blast nozzle [Jurgen, fig 1, 20] comprising a nozzle passageway, the nozzle passageway configured to convey an entrained flow of cryogenic particles therethrough [Jurgen, page 19, pp 0050];
comprising an aftercooler configured to reduce the moisture content of the shroud fluid [Jurgen, page 15, pp 0035 and claim 9].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added an aftercooler to reduce the moisture content of the shroud fluid as taught by Jurgen to the shroud fluid supply of Merritello because the supercritical dried and heated compressed air, aided by the aftercooler, reduces the temperature difference between the start and operating phases which leads to a reduction in tolerances and enables the use of find-grained blasting medium, prevents the reduction of the temperature difference between the contamination and the component to be cleaned, and counteracts the formation of condensate from the ambient air on the surface of the component to be cleaned [Jurgen, page 8, pp 0021, and claim 9, summarized].
Regarding claim 11 (Original), Merritello further discloses the particle blast system of claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose comprising a heater configured to increase the temperature of the shroud fluid.
Jurgen teaches a particle blast system configured for cryogenic particles, the particle blast system comprising:
a. a source of entrained cryogenic particles [Jurgen, fig 1, 11-14];
b. a source of shroud fluid [Jurgen, fig 1, 15-16 and 1]
c. a blast nozzle assembly [Jurgen, fig 1, 19 and 20] comprising
i. a shroud [Jurgen, fig 1, 19] and
ii. a blast nozzle [Jurgen, fig 1, 20] comprising a nozzle passageway, the nozzle passageway configured to convey an entrained flow of cryogenic particles therethrough [Jurgen, page 19, pp 0050];
comprising a heater configured to increase the temperature of the shroud fluid [Jurgen, fig 1, heaters 8-10 and page 19, pp 0050, heated to 80 degrees C].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added heaters to the shroud fluid to heat and dry the shroud fluid of Merritello with the heater and conditioning system of Jurgen because the supercritical dried and heated compressed air reduces the temperature difference between the start and operating phases which leads to a reduction in tolerances and enables the use of find-grained blasting medium, prevents the reduction of the temperature difference between the contamination and the component to be cleaned, and counteracts the formation of condensate from the ambient air on the surface of the component to be cleaned [Jurgen, page 8, pp 0021, summarized].
Regarding claims 12 (Original) and 13 (Original), Merritello further discloses the particle blast system of claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the source of shroud fluid is configured to provide shroud fluid at a temperature, moisture content and flow rate sufficient to keep ice from forming adjacent the nozzle exit and interfering with the exiting flow of entrained particles during continuous operation of the particle blast system for a period of time (clm 12), wherein the particle blast system has a design time period for continuous operation, and wherein the source of shroud fluid is configured to provide shroud fluid at a temperature, moisture content and flow rate sufficient to keep ice from forming adjacent the nozzle exit and interfering with the exiting flow of entrained particles during continuous operation of the particle blast system for the entirety of the design time period for continuous operation (clm 13).
Jurgen von Der (German Patent Publication No. DE102010020619) teaches a particle blast system configured for cryogenic particles, the particle blast system comprising:
a. a source of entrained cryogenic particles [Jurgen, fig 1, 11-14];
b. a source of shroud fluid [Jurgen, fig 1, 15-16 and 1]
c. a blast nozzle assembly [Jurgen, fig 1, 19 and 20] comprising
i. a shroud [Jurgen, fig 1, 19] and
ii. a blast nozzle [Jurgen, fig 1, 20] comprising a nozzle passageway, the nozzle passageway configured to convey an entrained flow of cryogenic particles therethrough [Jurgen, page 19, pp 0050];
wherein the source of shroud fluid is configured to provide shroud fluid at a temperature, moisture content and flow rate sufficient to keep ice from forming adjacent the nozzle exit and interfering with the exiting flow of entrained particles during continuous operation of the particle blast system for a period of time [Jurgen, page 10, pp 0026] (clm 12),
wherein the particle blast system has a design time period for continuous operation [Jurgen, page 14, pp’s 0033-0034], and wherein the source of shroud fluid is configured to provide shroud fluid at a temperature, moisture content and flow rate sufficient to keep ice from forming adjacent the nozzle exit and interfering with the exiting flow of entrained particles during continuous operation of the particle blast system [Jurgen, page 10, pp 0026] for the entirety of the design time period for continuous operation [Jurgen, page 14, pp’s 0033-0034] (clm 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added heaters to the shroud fluid to heat and dry the shroud fluid of Merritello with the heater and conditioning system of Jurgen because the supercritical dried and heated compressed air reduces the temperature difference between the start and operating phases which leads to a reduction in tolerances and enables the use of find-grained blasting medium, prevents the reduction of the temperature difference between the contamination and the component to be cleaned, and counteracts the formation of condensate from the ambient air on the surface of the component to be cleaned [Jurgen, page 8, pp 0021, summarized].
Conclusion
/ROBERT F NEIBAUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723