DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file, as electronically retrieved 04/19/2023.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 12-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geissler et al. (PG Pub 2018/0331080; hereinafter Geissler) and Kuo et al. (PG Pub 2017/0084589; hereinafter Kuo).
Regarding claim 1, refer to the modified Fig. 2b provided above, Geissler teaches a semiconductor package 200, comprising:
a main semiconductor chip 120 having a first thickness (annotated “t1”);
a first semiconductor device 110 disposed on a first side (left side) of the main semiconductor chip and having a second thickness (annotated “t2”) less than the first thickness (see Fig. 2b);
a second semiconductor device 110 disposed on a second side (right side) of the main semiconductor chip and having a third thickness (annotated “t3”) less than the first thickness (see Fig. 2b);
a first molding layer 730 that covers the main semiconductor chip, the first semiconductor device, and the second semiconductor device so as to expose a top surface of the first semiconductor device and the second semiconductor device, and to expose a top surface and a portion of a lateral surface of the main semiconductor chip (see Fig. 2b);
a first redistribution substrate (annotated “RDL-1”) below the first molding layer (see Fig. 2b);
a second redistribution substrate (annotated “RDL-2”) on the first molding layer (see Fig. 2b); and
a mold via 220 that penetrates the first molding layer and connects the first redistribution substrate to the second redistribution substrate (see Fig. 2b),
and the second semiconductor device is disposed between the first redistribution substrate and the second redistribution substrate in a vertical direction (see Fig. 2b), and
wherein a top surface of the first molding layer is coplanar with a top surface of the second semiconductor chip (see Fig. 2b).
Geissler does not teach “the second semiconductor device includes a first semiconductor chip and a second semiconductor chip, and the second semiconductor device is disposed between the first redistribution substrate and the second redistribution substrate in a vertical direction; and wherein a top surface of the first molding layer is coplanar with a top surface of the second semiconductor chip.”
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 1d-provided above, Kuo teaches a second semiconductor device (see claim limitations below) comprising: a first semiconductor chip 200; a second semiconductor chip 400; and the second semiconductor device is disposed between a first redistribution substrate (“RDL-1”) and the second redistribution substrate (“RDL-2”) in a vertical direction (see Fig. 1d); and wherein a top surface of a first molding layer 500 is coplanar with a top surface of the second semiconductor chip (see Fig. 1d).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second semiconductor device comprise two semiconductor chips, as taught by Kuo, to create a more robust package.
Regarding claim 2, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Geissler and Kuo, Kuo teaches the first semiconductor chip 200 includes a first chip pad 210, and the first semiconductor chip is oriented such that the first chip pad faces the first redistribution substrate (“RDL-1”) and is connected to the first redistribution substrate via the first chip pad (see Fig. 1d), and wherein the second semiconductor chip 400 includes a second chip pad 410, and the second semiconductor chip is stacked on the first semiconductor chip and is oriented such that the second chip pad faces the second redistribution substrate (“RDL-2”) and is connected to the second redistribution substrate (RDL-2”) via the second chip pad (see Fig. 1d).
Regarding claim 3, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Geissler and Kuo, Kuo teaches an adhesion layer 300 is disposed between the stacked first semiconductor chip 200 and the second semiconductor chip 400 in the vertical direction (see Fig. 1d), and Geissler teaches the second semiconductor chip the second thickness is equal to the third thickness (see Fig. 2b).
Regarding claim 12, refer to the modified Fig. 2b provided above, Geissler teaches a semiconductor package 200, comprising:
a first redistribution substrate (annotated “RDL-1”);
a main semiconductor chip 120 on the first redistribution substrate (see Fig. 2b);
a second redistribution substrate (annotated “RDL-2”) on the first redistribution substrate, a top surface of the second redistribution substrate being at a level lower than a level of the main semiconductor chip (see Fig. 2b);
a first molding layer 730 between the first redistribution substrate and the second redistribution substrate (see Fig. 2b); a second molding layer 980 that covers the second redistribution substrate and exposes a top surface of the main semiconductor chip (see Fig. 2b); and
a semiconductor device 110 (second) and the semiconductor device is disposed between the first redistribution substrate and the second redistribution substrate in a vertical direction (see Fig. 2b).
Although, Geissler teaches the semiconductor device is disposed between the first redistribution substrate and the second redistribution substrate in a vertical direction, Geissler does not teach “the semiconductor device includes a first semiconductor chip and a second semiconductor chip, wherein a top surface of the first molding layer is coplanar with a top surface of the second semiconductor chip.”
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 1d-provided above, Kuo teaches a semiconductor device comprising: a first semiconductor chip 200; a second semiconductor chip 400; wherein the semiconductor device is disposed between a first redistribution substrate (RDL-1”) and a second redistribution substrate (“RDL-2”) in a vertical direction (see Fig. 1d); wherein a top surface of a first molding layer 500 is coplanar with a top surface of the second semiconductor chip (see Fig. 1d).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second chip comprise a stack of chips, as taught by Kuo, to create a more robust package.
Regarding claim 13, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Geissler and Kim, Geissler teaches the semiconductor device 110 (second) is horizontally spaced apart from the main semiconductor chip 120 (see Fig. 2b), and wherein the semiconductor device comprises a first semiconductor chip 110 (second) includes first chip pads (“pads”), and the first semiconductor chip is oriented such that the first chip pads face the first redistribution substrate (“RDL-1”) and is connected to the first redistribution substrate via the first chip pads (see Fig. 2b).
Geissler does not teach the semiconductor device 110 (second) comprises a “second semiconductor chip includes a second chip pad, and the second semiconductor chip is stacked on the first semiconductor chip and is oriented such that the second chip pad faces the second redistribution substrate and is connected to the second redistribution substrate via the second chip pad.”
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 1d-provided above, Kuo teaches a semiconductor device (see claim limitations below) comprising: a first semiconductor chip 200; a second semiconductor chip 400; wherein the second semiconductor chip includes a second chip pad 410, and the second semiconductor chip is stacked on a first semiconductor chip 200 and is oriented such that the second chip pad faces a second redistribution substrate (annotated RDL-2”) and is connected to the second redistribution substrate via the second chip pad (see Fig. 1d).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second chip comprise a stack of chips, as taught by Kuo, to create a more robust package.
Regarding claim 14, refer to the figures cited above, Geissler and Kuo teach the first semiconductor chip (200-Kuo) and the second semiconductor chip (400-Kuo) are different types from each other (para [0025] and [0034]), wherein an adhesion layer 300 is disposed between the stacked first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip (para [0033]), and wherein a top surface of a first molding layer 500-Kuo = 730=Geissler) is coplanar with a top surface of the second semiconductor chip (see figures cited above).
Regarding claim 16, refer to the figures cited above, Geissler and Kuo teach the first chip pads (“pads” of Geissler) are adjacent to a bottom surface of the first semiconductor chip 110 (second),
Geissler does not teach “the second semiconductor chip includes a second chip pads, the second chip pads are adjacent to a top surface of the second semiconductor chip, the first redistribution substrate includes first redistribution patterns that contact the first chip pads, and the second redistribution substrate includes second redistribution patterns that contact the second chip pads.
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 1d-provided above, Kuo teaches a semiconductor device comprising: a first semiconductor chip 200; a second semiconductor chip 400; wherein the second semiconductor chip includes a second chip pads 410, and the second chip pads are adjacent to a top surface of the second semiconductor chip (see Fig. 1d), a first redistribution substrate (“RDL-1”) includes first redistribution patterns 820 that contact the first chip pads (see Fig. 1d), and a second redistribution substrate (“RDL-2”) includes second redistribution patterns 620 that contact the second chip pads (see Fig. 1d).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second chip comprise a stack of chips, as taught by Kuo, to create a more robust package.
Claim(s) 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geissler and Kuo, as applied to claim 3 and claim 14 above-respectively, and further in view of Kim et al. (PG Pub 2020/0273801; hereinafter Kim-2).
Regarding claim 4, refer to the figures cited above, Geissler and Kuo teach the first semiconductor chip (110-Geissler).
The recited "is one of a near field communication (NFC) controller and a touch screen controller chip." (i.e., function) does not structurally distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus see In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 838 (CCPA 1959) (apparatus claims must distinguish in terms of structure rather than function). The only structural limitation that appears to be required for the prior art apparatus to be capable of performing the aforementioned function is having the second semiconductor chip, which Geissler clearly shows or in other words, the prior art appears to inherently possess the capability of performing the recited functions. "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art's functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. V. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210 (CCPA 1971) to emphasize that "where the Patent [and Trademark] Office has reason to believe that a functional limitation asserted to be critical for establishing novelty in the claimed subject matter may, in fact be an inherent characteristic of the prior art, it possesses the authority to require the applicant to prove that the subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on.").
In addition, Geissler does not teach the functionality of the first semiconductor chip as being a capacitor including silicon (Si).
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 10, Kim-2 teaches a semiconductor package (para [0019- 0091]) comprising: a first semiconductor chip 3830 (para [0091]) is a capacitor (para [0091]) including silicon (para [0091]).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the material composition of the capacitor comprise silicon, as taught by Kim-2, for the purpose of choosing a suitable and well-known capacitor material composition.
Regarding claim 15, refer to the figures cited above, Geissler and Kuo teach the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip.
Geissler does not teach the functionality of the first semiconductor chip as being a capacitor including silicon (Si).
The recited "second semiconductor chip is one of a near field communication (NFC) controller and a touch screen controller chip" (i.e., function) does not structurally distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus see In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 838 (CCPA 1959) (apparatus claims must distinguish in terms of structure rather than function). The only structural limitation that appears to be required for the prior art apparatus to be capable of performing the aforementioned function is having the second semiconductor chip, which Geissler clearly shows or in other words, the prior art appears to inherently possess the capability of performing the recited functions. "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art's functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. V. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210 (CCPA 1971) to emphasize that "where the Patent [and Trademark] Office has reason to believe that a functional limitation asserted to be critical for establishing novelty in the claimed subject matter may, in fact be an inherent characteristic of the prior art, it possesses the authority to require the applicant to prove that the subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on.").
Geissler does not teach the functionality of the first semiconductor chip as being a capacitor including silicon (Si).
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 10, Kim-2 teaches a semiconductor package (para [0019- 0091]) comprising: a first semiconductor chip 3830 (para [0091]) is a capacitor (para [0091]) including silicon (para [0091]).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the material composition of the capacitor comprise silicon, as taught by Kim-2, for the purpose of choosing a suitable and well-known capacitor material composition.
Claim(s) 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geissler and Kuo, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kuoang et al. (PG Pub 2020/0321288; hereinafter Kuoang).
Regarding claim 5, refer to the figures cited above, Geissler and Kuo teach the first redistribution substrate ("RDL-1") comprises embedding electrical conductive redistribution connections in a dielectric (para [0077]).
Geissler does not explicitly teach the details of the redistribution substrate such that "a first redistribution dielectric layer and first redistribution patterns in the first redistribution dielectric layer, wherein each of the first redistribution patterns includes a first line part and a first via part on the first line part."
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 10a, Kuoang teaches a redistribution layer structure (para [0017-0055]) comprising: a first redistribution dielectric layer (110, 120, 130 and 140; para [0039]) and first redistribution patterns (113/115) in the first redistribution dielectric layer, wherein each of the first redistribution patterns includes a first line part 113 and a first via part 115 on the first line part (see Fig. 10a).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the RDL of Geissler comprise the structural elements, as taught by Kuoang, to re-route or redistribute signals to/from the device (para [0039]).
Regarding claim 6, refer to the figures cited above, Geissler and Kuo teach the second redistribution substrate ('RDL-2") comprises embedding electrical conductive redistribution connections in a dielectric (para [0077]).
Geissler does not explicitly teach the details of the second redistribution substrate "includes a second redistribution dielectric layer and a second redistribution pattern in the second redistribution dielectric layer, wherein the second redistribution pattern includes a second line part and a second via part below the second line part."
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig.10a, Kuoang teaches a redistribution layer structure (para [0017-0055]) comprising: a second redistribution dielectric layer (110, 120, 130 and 140; para [0039]) and first redistribution patterns (113/115) in the first redistribution dielectric layer, wherein each of the first redistribution patterns includes a first line part 113 and a first via part 115 on the first line part (see Fig. 10a).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the RDL of Geissler comprise the structural elements, as taught by Kuoang, to re-route or redistribute signals to/from the device (para [0039]).
Regarding claim 7, refer to the figures cited above, Geissler, Kuo and Kuoang teach a third semiconductor device 130 on the second redistribution pattern (“RDL-2"), wherein the second redistribution pattern comprises via structures (annotated "via-1” and “via-2" in Fig. 2b), wherein the via structures include: a first via structure (annotated "via-1") that connects the third semiconductor device and the second semiconductor chip 110 (second) to each other (see Fig. 2b); and a second via structure (“via-2”) that connects the second semiconductor chip and the mold via 220 to each other (see Fig. 2b).
Regarding claim 8, refer to the figures cited above, Geissler, Kuo and Kuoang teach the second semiconductor chip 110 (second) is connected through the second via structure ("via-2") to the first redistribution substrate ('RDL-1") and is one of a near field communication (NFC) controller and a touch screen controller chip.
The recited "is one of a near field communication (NFC) controller and a touch screen controller chip." (i.e., function) does not structurally distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus see In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 838 (CCPA 1959) (apparatus claims must distinguish in terms of structure rather than function). The only structural limitation that appears to be required for the prior art apparatus to be capable of performing the aforementioned function is having the second semiconductor chip, which Geissler clearly shows or in other words, the prior art appears to inherently possess the capability of performing the recited functions. "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art's functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. V. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). TKuos, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210 (CCPA 1971) to emphasize that "where the Patent [and Trademark] Office has reason to believe that a functional limitation asserted to be critical for establishing novelty in the claimed subject matter may, in fact be an inherent characteristic of the prior art, it possesses the authority to require the applicant to prove that the subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on.").
Regarding claim 9, refer to the figures cited above, Geissler, Kuo and Kuoang teach a second molding layer 980 that covers the third semiconductor device 130 and exposes the top surface of the main semiconductor chip 120.
Geissler does not teach a top surface of the third semiconductor chip is at a level lower than a level of the top surface of the main semiconductor chip.
However, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, such as to have the top surface of the third semiconductor chip be at a lever lower then, equal to or greater than a level of the top surface of the main semiconductor chip to achieve the same desired outcome (see MPEP 2143 (1)(E) and KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397).
Regarding claim 10, refer to the figures cited above, Geissler, Kuo and Kuoang do not teach a top surface of the second molding layer 980-top is coplanar with the top surface of the main semiconductor chip ("main-1") (see Fig. 10g).
However, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, such as to have the top surface of the second molding layer either be coplanar with, higher than or less than the top surface of the main semiconductor chip, with a reasonable expectation of achieving the same desired outcome (see MPEP 2143 (I)(E) and KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397).
Regarding claim 11, refer to the figures cited above, Geissler, Kuo and Kuoang teach a fourth semiconductor device 130 (fourth) on the second redistribution pattern (“RDL-2”) and spaced apart from the third semiconductor device 130 (third) and on the second side (e.g. left side) of the main semiconductor chip 120 (see Fig. 2b).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 17-20 are allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 17 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 17, a main semiconductor chip; a first redistribution substrate below the main semiconductor chip; external connection terminals bonded to a bottom surface of the first redistribution substrate; first redistribution patterns in the first redistribution substrate; a second redistribution substrate that extends parallel to the first redistribution substrate and extends in an outward direction from a lateral surface of the main semiconductor chip; second redistribution patterns in the second redistribution substrate; at least one semiconductor device between the first redistribution substrate and the second redistribution substrate; a first molding layer between the first redistribution substrate and the second redistribution substrate, the first molding layer covering a portion of the lateral surface of the main semiconductor chip; and a second molding layer that covers the second redistribution substrate and another portion of the lateral surface of the main semiconductor chip, the second molding layer exposing a top surface of the main semiconductor chip, wherein each of the first redistribution patterns includes a first line part and a first via part on the first line part, wherein each of the second redistribution patterns includes a second line part and a second via part on the second line part, wherein one of the first and second redistribution patterns transmits a power, wherein another of the first and second redistribution patterns transmits a signal, wherein the main semiconductor chip has a first thickness, wherein the at least one semiconductor device has a second thickness, and wherein the first thickness is about 2 to 5 times the second thickness. Claims 18-20 would be allowable, because they depend on allowable claim 17.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA A SYLVIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2817 /MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817