DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The present office action is made in response to the amendment filed by applicant on 11/11/2025. It is noted that in the amendment, applicant has made changes to the claims. There is not any change being made to the abstract, the drawings and the specification.
Regarding the claims, applicant has amended claims 1-2 and 13-14 and canceled claims 7-12. There is not any claim being added into the application. Thus, as amended, the pending claims are claims 1-6 and 13-18.
Election/Restrictions
In response to the Election/Restriction mailed to applicant on 09/11/2025, applicant has made an election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 11/11/2025.
As a result of applicant’s election, claims 1-6 and 13-18 are examined in the present office action. Claims 7-12, directed to Invention II, have been canceled by applicant in the amendment of 11/11/2025.
Drawings
The drawings contain five sheets of figures 1-2, 3A-3B, 4A-4B and 5A-5E were received on 02/22/2023. These drawings are objected by the examiner for the following reason(s).
The drawings are objected to because the words/terms appeared in figures 5A-5E are so blurred that it is difficult to consider and lead to confusion and mistake during the issue and printing processes.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the numerical reference “600”in each of figures 3B and 4B which reference is not mentioned in the description. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “optical jig” for coarse alignment of the objective with respect to the pupil relay module as recited in claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the term “said” is used, see abstract on line 5. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The specification is objected to because it does not have headlines such as Summary of the Invention, Brief description of the Drawings, … for the purpose of providing a clear framework of the specification. Appropriate correction is required.
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
a) “a pupil relay module” as recited in each of claims 1 and 13;
b) “an optical jig” as recited in claim 2; and
c) “an imaging technique” as recited in claim 17.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 and 13-18 are objected to because of the use of claimed language being inconsistent. Appropriate correction is required.
a) Claims 1 and 13-15: the use of term “the/said” to refer to a component/element previously recited in the claim or its base claim is not consistent. In particular, while applicant uses the term of “said” to refer to an objective aberration component, see claim 1 on lines 5-6 or claim 13 on line 5; however, applicant uses the term of “the” for such a component, see claims 14-15, lines 1-2 of each claim.
Should the term “said” (claim 1 on line 5 and claim 13 on line 5) be changed to --the-- to maintain a consistence in claimed language being used throughout the claims?
b) Claims 1 and 13: the use of terms thereof “the measured combined aberration indicator reaching a predetermined indicator target” in claim 1 on lines 23-24 is not consistent to the use of terms thereof “the measured combined aberration indicator reaches a predetermined combined indicator target” in claim 13 on lines 12-13.
Should the terms “the measured combined aberration indicator reaches a predetermined combined indicator target” in claim 13 on lines 12-13 be changed to
-- the measured combined aberration indicator reaching a predetermined indicator target --?
c) The remaining claims are dependent upon the objected base claims and thus inherit the deficiencies thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
20. Claims 1-6 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the following reasons.
a) Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the following reasons:
a1) the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite by the feature thereof “the objective …the objective” (lines 2-6). The mentioned feature makes the claim indefinite due to the use of term “when” on line 6. Applicant should note that the term “when” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d); and
a2) In a similar way, the features thereof “adjusting the pupil relay module … the field of view” (lines 15-22) make the claim indefinite due to the use of term “when” on lines 16 and 20; and
b) Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the similar reasons as set forth in element a1) above.
c) The remaining claims are dependent upon the objected base claims and thus inherit the deficiencies thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
23. Claims 13-18, as best as understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai (US Patent No. 5,296,700) in view of Heh et al (EP reference No. EP 1 296 191 B1).
Kumagai discloses an optical device having an objective lens and a pupil relay module.
a) Regarding present claims 13 and 17, the optical device as described in columns 7-8 and shown in fig. 2 comprises an objective lens (31) configured to have an objective aberration and a pupil relay module (33) configured to have a pupil relay aberration disposed along an optical axis/path with the objective lens wherein the pupil relay module aberration cancels the objective aberration.
It is noted that while Kumagai discloses the objective lens and the pupil relay module being aligned to each other along the optical axis/path; however, Kumagai does not positively disclose a method of aligning the objective lens and the pupil relay module based on step of measuring a combined aberration from the mentioned optical elements and the step of adjusting an optical alignment of the mentioned optical elements based on the measured combined aberration to obtain an accurate alignment between them when the measured combined aberration reaches a predetermine target as claimed.
However, a method of alignment two optical elements based on measured combined aberration of two optical elements by the claimed steps is known to one skill in the rt as can be seen in the method for optimizing imaging properties of at least two optical elements provided by Geh et al.
In particular, Geh et al discloses an optical device having a first stationary optical element and a second optical element which is movable with respect to the first stationary optical element and teaches a method for alignment the two optical elements to obtain an optimizing in imaging properties which method comprises a step of measuring a total aberration of all optical elements composed of the aberration of the stationary optical element and the aberration of the moveable optical element, and representing the measured total aberration via an indicator at all positions of the movable optical element, a step of adjusting an optical alignment of the optical elements via a movement of the movable optical element by a rotation and/or a displacement, and a step of iterating the two mentioned steps until the measured combined aberration reaches a particular/threshold value, see pages 1-4 of the English Machine Translation of the EP reference which is attached with the present office action.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the method of alignment two optical elements based on measured aberrations as provided by Geh et al in an optical device having an objective lens having an objective aberration and a pupil relay module having a pupil relay aberration provided by Kumagai for the purpose of accurately alignment the objective lens and the pupil relay module so that their aberrations are compensated/canceled each other.
b) Regarding present claim 14, the aberrations of the first stationary optical element and the movable optical element each is a single aberration type of a Zernike order, see English Machine translation in pages 5-7 and 15-17.
c) Regarding present claims 15-16, the method as provided by Geh et al as mentioned by the inventors is able to apply/use for any specific aberration, see English Machine Translation in pages 1-2, which includes a field curvature aberration.
d) Regarding present claim 18, the use of a wavefront sensor for measuring total/combined aberration of the optical elements is read in the English Machine translation in page 5.
Allowable Subject Matter
24. Claims 1-6 would be allowable if claim 1 is rewritten/amended to overcome the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, set forth in the present office action.
25. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The method for aligning an objective and a pupil relay module wherein the pupil relay module aberration generated by the pupil relay module compensates the field curvature aberration generated by the objective as recited in the independent claim 1 is allowable with respect to the prior art, in particular, the US Patent No. 5,296,700 and the EP reference No. EP 1 296 191 B1 by the features thereof “measuring a combined aberration … accurate alignment” (claim 1 on lines 8-24). Such steps for accurate alignment of the objective and the pupil relay module as claimed in the mentioned features are not disclosed in the prior art.
Conclusion
26. The US Patent No. 10,890,743 is cited as of interest in that it discloses an optical device comprises an objective lens configured to have an objective aberration and a pupil relay module configured to have a pupil relay aberration disposed along an optical axis/path with the objective lens wherein the pupil relay module aberration cancels the objective aberration.
/THONG Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872