DETAILED ACTION
Priority
With respect to claim 1, the support for the sinusoidal wave with a rising edge to a body portion with a constant current (as in figs. 9A-10B) is not found in the parent application 17/699,016 of this continuation-in-part application, nor in provisional applications 63/313,147 or 63/163,011. The parent application also does not mention a “constant current” portion (only the general use of CC-CV charging) nor the separate “body portion” of the signal. Provisional application 63/313,147 has an asymmetric waveform in figure 6, but not the constant current portion like in the instant applications figures 9A-10B. Provisional application 63/163,011 does not illustrate the waveforms at all, and also does not mention a separate “body portion” or a “constant current” portion of the signal.
Thus, claim 1 does not receive the priority dates of parent application 17/699,016 nor provisional applications 63/313,147 and 63/163,011, but does find support in provisional application 63/331,633.
The same analysis as above applies to claims 6 and 10 which find support only in provisional application 63/331,633.
Claims 2-5, 7-9 and 11-12 receive the priority date of 17/699,016 and 63/313,147, but not of 63/163,011. Claims 1-12 all receive the priority of provisional application 63/331,633. The table below summarizes the priority dates of the to-be-examined claims (excluding withdrawn claims 13-33).
Claim
Priority Date
Claim 1
April 15, 2022
Claim 2
February 23, 2022
Claim 3
February 23, 2022
Claim 4
February 23, 2022
Claim 5
February 23, 2022
Claim 6
April 15, 2022
Claim 7
February 23, 2022
Claim 8
February 23, 2022
Claim 9
February 23, 2022
Claim 10
April 15, 2022
Claim 11
February 23, 2022
Claim 12
February 23, 2022
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 27, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “wherein the temperature of the battery is based on a time of application of the repeating signal where the second portion comprises the alternating current”. It isn’t clear if this means that the temperature is affected by the alternating current or it is calculated by the alternating current. For the purpose of Examination, Examiner is interpreting the limitation as either.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. US PGPUB 2022/0219568.
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a method of heating a battery [figs. 3-7] comprising:
generating a repeating signal to apply to a battery [fig. 3; hybrid wave applied to the battery for heating; pars. 11-16, 56-58, 85-86, 88 & 93-96], the repeating signal comprising a first portion and a second portion over a period, the first portion defining a sinusoidally shaped leading edge rising to a body portion comprising a constant current and terminating at a falling edge, the first portion defining a first percentage of the period, the second portion comprising an alternating current following the falling edge of the first portion, the second portion defining a second percentage of the period where the first percentage and the second percentage comprise the period [pars. 11-16, 56-58, 85-86, 88 & 93-96; fig. 3; the hybrid wave has a period, with a first portion defining a sinusoidal shaped leading edge rising to a constant current portion (see the trough of the first sine wave, the signal rises from the trough to a constant current flat portion), which then terminates at the falling edge (of the square wave) and completes the negative portion of the square wave and then completes the period, with the first portion comprising the portion from the positive zero crossing of the sine wave to the beginning of the falling edge of the square wave, thus the first portion and the second portion each comprises percentages of the period]
Regarding claim 2, Huang discloses wherein the repeating signal is a current signal [fig. 3; a current signal; pars. 44-45 & 58].
Regarding claim 3, Huang discloses wherein the sinusoidally shaped leading edge is of a first frequency associated with a first harmonic that when applied to the battery has a relatively low impedance as compared to other harmonics [pars. 55-57; the sine wave has a first frequency that heats the battery less than the square wave, which is comprised of a plurality of harmonics (par. 55), thus has a relatively lower impedance than other harmonics].
Regarding claim 4, Huang discloses wherein the alternating current is centered at about zero amps [fig. 3].
Regarding claim 5, Huang discloses wherein the alternating current defines a sine wave with a positive current portion and a negative current portion [fig. 3; the hybrid wave comprises a sine wave (and a square wave as well, Examiner notes the use of the transitional phrase “comprise” as opposed to “consist”)].
Regarding claim 8, Huang discloses wherein the second portion forms an alternating current to a zero charge current when a temperature of the battery rises about a threshold [figs. 3 & 7; when the temperature of the battery rises above some threshold (any arbitrary threshold, Examiner notes that the threshold is not claimed as a stored or fixed value) since the temperature gradient is rising, the alternating signal is changed to a different one, but that also has a zero charge current (figs. 3 & 7)].
Regarding claim 9, Huang discloses wherein the temperature of the battery is based on a sensed temperature [par. 78; a temperature is “detected” by the battery management unit].
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses wherein the temperature of the battery is based on a time of application of the repeating signal where the second portion comprises the alternating current [fig. 7; the temperature of the battery changes due to the applied repeating signal (“temperature rise rate”)].
Regarding claim 11, Huang discloses wherein the repeating pattern is applied to the battery when the battery temperature is below a threshold [pars. 58, 60 & 78; fig. 3].
Regarding claim 12, Huang discloses wherein generating an alternating current signal to apply to the battery below a temperature, and then generating the repeating signal comprising the first portion and the second portion when the battery reaches the temperature [pars. 55-58, 60 & 78; fig. 3; an alternating current signal is applied below some arbitrary temperature (“a temperature”, not a specific threshold is claimed) at which heating is performed like the first sine wave of fig. 3, and then the remainder of the hybrid signal of fig. 3 is generating (i.e. the first sine wave is generated at a temperature very close to the “reached temperature” and by time the sine wave is finished the square wave is generated].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. US PGPUB 2022/0219568 in view of Rastegar US PGPUB 2021/0307113.
Regarding claim 6, Huang discloses wherein the alternating current is applied with a positive direct current offset.
However, Rastegar discloses a battery heating system [abs.] wherein the alternating current is applied with a positive direct current offset [abs; par. 104, 110, 128 & 164; a DC offset is applied or DC charging can take place with a superimposed AC current for heating the battery (par. 128)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang to further include wherein the alternating current is applied with a positive direct current offset for the purpose of heating the battery if the temperature drops to an unsafe level while the battery is charging, as taught by Rastegar (par. 128).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. US PGPUB 2022/0219568 in view of Coe et al. US PGPUB 2010/0201320.
Regarding claim 7, Huang does not explicitly disclose wherein the sinusoidally shaped leading edge is changed to a second frequency of a second harmonic when the impedance of the second harmonic is lower than the impedance of the first harmonic.
However, Coe discloses a battery charging system wherein the sinusoidally shaped leading edge is changed to a second frequency of a second harmonic when the impedance of the second harmonic is lower than the impedance of the first harmonic [pars. 5, 7, 18, 27 & 34-35; fig. 7B; the sinusoidal pulse (par. 27) can be changed to a different frequency/harmonic to lower the impedance].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wherein the sinusoidally shaped leading edge is changed to a second frequency of a second harmonic when the impedance of the second harmonic is lower than the impedance of the first harmonic to further include
for the purpose of using the optimal frequency, as taught by Coe (pars. 34-35).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Huang et al. US PGPUB 2022/0209707 discloses a battery heating method using a plurality of harmonics of a frequency.
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859