DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on August 14, 2026.
Claims 1, 5, and 7 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claims 1 – 17 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendments
Applicant's amendments to the claims, filed August 14, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 4, 14 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou as set forth in the office action filed May 27, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed August 14, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 5, 7, 8, 10 – 12 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou as set forth in the office action filed May 27, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the organic compounds of the present invention are characterized by having a specific substituent (such as a branched alkyl group having 3 to carbon atoms on Ar1 or Ar2 in General Formula (G1)) and that Hildebrandt specifically directs a skilled artisan towards usage of C4 butyl chains and offers no motivation that would have led one to predictable advantages from longer straight chains or branched alkyl chains on Ar1 or Ar2. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hildebrandt does not limit the length of the alkyl chains in the compound. Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to either extend the straight alkyl chain to a length, such as that claimed, or to provide the 4 carbon atoms in a branched alkyl configured, as claimed.
Applicant argues that as shown in Table 1 of Example 3, FT2TDMN, without a branched alkyl group has a solubility of 0% whereas EtHex-FT2TDMN exhibits good solubility and that this provides evidence of unexpected solubility enhancement. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The data in the table shows the solubility difference between an unsubstituted compound and a compound with a branched alkyl chain. The table does not show the effect of a shorter, unbranched alkyl chain or an unbranched alkyl chain of the claimed length. Therefore, the data is not seen as sufficient evidence for Applicant’s claim of unexpected solubility enhancement for substituents within the claimed group.
Applicant argues that Hildebrandt has not been shown to teach, suggest, or appreciate the advantageous dramatic improvement in solubility due to specific substituents. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to claims 1 – 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6 – 28 of copending Application No. 18/269004 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula (G1) in claim 1 of the instant Application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula (G1) in claim 6 of the ‘004 Application as evidenced by compound (102) in claim 12 of the ‘004 Application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hildebrandt (US20130167931A1).
As per claims 1, 3, and 4, Hildebrandt teaches:
An organic compound represented by General Formula (G1)
(Hildebrandt teaches compound 1b
([0093]), which reads on the claimed Formula wherein n1 represents an integer of 1 and D1 represents a substituted thiophene-containing heteroarylene group having 8 carbon atoms; Ar1 and Ar2 represent a substituted thiophene-diyl group; m1 and k1 are both 1; A1 and A2 represent a vinyl group having two substituents, represented by General Formula (g1-2) in claims 3. While the alkyl chains in compound 1b are 4 carbon atoms long, which is shorter than the claimed length, Hildebrandt does not limit the length of the alkyl chains in the compound. Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to either extend the straight alkyl chain to a length, such as that claimed, or to provide the 4 carbon atoms in a branched alkyl configured, as claimed.)
Hildebrandt includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Hildebrandt being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of compounds improving efficiency when used in devices ([0037]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 2, 5, 14 and 15, another compound taught by Hildebrandt is Compound 1a
, wherein a thienothiophene group is present as the central group instead of the dithienopyrrole group in compound 1b. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the dithienopyrrole group in compound 1b with a thienothiophene group and arrive at the claimed compound wherein D1 is represented by General Formula (g1-1-2) in claim 2, wherein n12 is 0 and X4 and X7 are both sulfur, and the entire compound is represented by General Formula (G1-1) in claim 5, wherein n15 is 1, n14 is 0, n17 is 1 and n16 is 1 and X20, X16, X19, and X21 are all sulfur.
Hildebrandt includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Hildebrandt being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of compounds improving efficiency when used in devices ([0037]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 6, the only difference between the modified compound of Hildebrandt above and Structural Formula (100)
is the bonding of the alkyl groups on the thiophene-diyl group. That is, when the alkyl chain of the compounds of Hildebrandt is selected to be a branched C8 group in the modified compound above, it is a structural isomer of Structural Formula (100).
The Office points out that sections 2144.09 I and II of the MPEP state “A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities.” An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) (discussed in more detail below) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (discussed below and in MPEP § 2144) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. See also MPEP § 2144.08, paragraph II.A.4.(c). and “Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious).
As per claims 7 and 8, Hildebrandt teaches:
A light-receiving device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic compound layer, wherein the organic compound layer is positioned between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the organic compound layer comprises an organic compound represented by Formula (G1) (Abstract: “The present disclosure relates to an optoelectronic component having an electrode (2), a counter electrode (6) and at least one organic light-sensitive layer (4) between the electrode and counter electrode. The organic light-sensitive layer (4) contains at least one compound of the general formula EWG (electron withdrawing group)-D (donor block)-EWG with at least one substituent on the extended donor block D.” The organic-light sensitive layer is interpreted as the claimed active layer in claim 8.)
As per claim 9, Hildebrandt teaches:
Wherein the organic compound layer is an electron-transport layer ([0118]: “In a further working example, the inventive photoactive component in FIG. 7 has the following layer sequence: 1.) Glass substrate 1, 2.) ITO base contact 2, 3.) Electron transport layer (ETL) 3, 4.) Organic light-sensitive layer system (10-200 nm) 4, 5.) Hole transport layer (HTL) 5, 6.) Top contact (e.g. gold) 6.”)
As per claim 10, Hildebrandt teaches:
Further comprising a light-emitting layer ([0058]: “Preferably, the at least one organic light-sensitive layer of the inventive component is a light-absorbing or light-emitting layer.”)
As per claims 11, 16, and 17, Hildebrandt teaches:
A light-emitting and light-receiving apparatus comprising the light-receiving device and a light-emitting device ([0057]: “The inventive optoelectronic component may be an organic solar cell, an organic light-emitting diode, a transistor or a photodetector, and is more preferably an organic solar cell.”)
As per claim 12, Hildebrandt teaches:
Further comprising a substrate ([0118]: “In a further working example, the inventive photoactive component in FIG. 7 has the following layer sequence: 1.) Glass substrate 1, 2.) ITO base contact 2, 3.) Electron transport layer (ETL) 3, 4.) Organic light-sensitive layer system (10-200 nm) 4, 5.) Hole transport layer (HTL) 5, 6.) Top contact (e.g. gold) 6.”)
As per claim 13, Hildebrandt teaches:
An electronic device comprising the light emitting and light-receiving apparatus and at least … a connection terminal… ([0011]: “The free charge carriers thus generated can then be transported to the contacts. By connection of the contacts via a load, the electrical energy can be utilized. It is of particular significance that excitons which have been generated in the bulk of the organic material can diffuse to this photoactive interface.”)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789