DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ submission, filed on 04/06/2026, in response to claims 23-28 rejection from the final office action (10/07/2025), by amending claim 23 is entered and will be addressed below.
Claim Interpretations
The limitation “a controller configured to selectively cause one of generating the plasma inside the processing chamber over the shielding plate which is in the side of the dielectric window and generating the plasma under the shielding plate which is in the side of the sample stage” and the newly added limitation “to cause a first thickness of a deposited film on the sample to be uniform within a radial distance of 100 mm from a center of the sample, and a second thickness of the deposited film on the sample outside the radial distance of 100 mm from the center of the sample to be less than the first distance“ of claim 23, the controller only send signal to the solenoidal coils, Applicants’ Specification does not disclose a sensor to detect/determine the location of plasma generation and a thickness measurement to confirm coating is uniform.
As a result, the film produced is a product produced by the apparatus, it is not part of the apparatus structure.
Note also the ionic plasma processing also used the radio frequency power source 123 ([0046]), therefore, the solenoidal coil contribute only a portion of the plasma ion etching via ECR.
The previously added limitation “while allowing ions which are generated in the plasma formed under the dielectric shielding plate to irradiate the sample stage when the magnetic flux density position for generating electron cyclotron resonance with the microwave supplied from the microwave power source is controlled to occur under the dielectric shielding plate” is considered not an action by the controller. Furthermore, the controller does not have sensor to monitor this phenomenon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The newly added limitations “to cause a first thickness of a deposited film on the sample to be uniform within a radial distance of 100 mm from a center of the sample, and a second thickness of the deposited film on the sample outside the radial distance of 100 mm from the center of the sample to be less than the first distance” of claim 23 is not clear as what structure is required. Is it because the dielectric shielding plate, the vertical solenoidal coil, the horizontal coil, or their relative position, or the sequence of plasma generation over the dielectric shielding plate and then under the dielectric shielding plate.
Furthermore, “the first distance” lack antecedent basis. It seems this should be “… less than the first thickness”.
This portion of claim 23 will be examined as an apparatus with the claimed structure, it is considered capable of generating uniform film within a radial distance of 100 mm from a center of the sample.
Dependent claims 24-28 are also rejected under USC 112(b) at least due to dependency to rejected claim 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OHGOSHI et al. (US 20140020831, from IDS, hereafter ‘831), in view of Ikeda et al. (JP 2014229751, previously cited, hereafter ‘751) and Soeda (JP 02-230729, from IDS , hereafter ‘729). Alternatively, Claims 23-24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘751, in view of ‘831 and ‘729.
‘831 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 23: PLASMA PROCESSING APPARATUS (title, the claimed “A plasma processing apparatus comprising”):
A shower plate 102, for example, made of quartz and acting to introduce an etchant gas into a vacuum vessel 101 and a dielectric window 103, for example, made of quartz are mounted at higher positions in the vacuum vessel 101 whose upper side is open. The vessel is sealed off, thus forming a processing chamber 104 … An electrode 111 which acts as a sample stage for mounting a sample is mounted opposite to the shower plate 102 and located in a lower position within the vacuum vessel 101 (Fig. 1, [0051], the claimed “a processing chamber configured to perform plasma processing for a sample”);
FIG. 1 is a schematic vertical cross section of an ECR (electron cyclotron resonance) microwave plasma etching apparatus ([0050]), In order to convey electric power for generating a plasma into the processing chamber 104, a waveguide tube 107 transmitting electromagnetic waves is mounted above the dielectric window 103. The electromagnetic waves transmitted to the waveguide tube 107 are generated from an electromagnetic wave-generating power supply 109 that is an RF power supply for generating the plasma ([0052], the claimed “a microwave power source configured to supply microwave power inside the processing chamber via a dielectric window for generating plasma in the processing chamber”);
A field-generating coil 110 for producing a magnetic field is mounted outside the processing chamber 104. The electromagnetic waves produced by the power supply 109 for generation of electromagnetic waves interact with the magnetic field developed by the field-generating coil 110 to thereby generate a high-density plasma in the processing chamber 104 ([0053], the claimed “a magnetic field generator configured to generate a magnetic field inside the processing chamber”);
An electrode 111 which acts as a sample stage for mounting a sample is mounted opposite to the shower plate 102 and located in a lower position within the vacuum vessel 101 ([0051], last sentence, the claimed “a sample stage where the sample is placed”);
A shower plate 102, for example, made of quartz and acting to introduce an etchant gas into a vacuum vessel 101 and a dielectric window 103, for example, made of quartz are mounted at higher positions in the vacuum vessel 101 whose upper side is open ([0051], 1st sentence, the claimed “a dielectric shielding plate arranged inside the processing chamber between the sample stage and the dielectric window”, note Applicants’ dielectric shielding plate is formed of quartz, see claim 27),
A field-generating coil 110 for producing a magnetic field is mounted outside the processing chamber 104. The electromagnetic waves produced by the power supply 109 for generation of electromagnetic waves interact with the magnetic field developed by the field-generating coil 110 to thereby generate a high-density plasma in the processing chamber 104 ([0053], includes the claimed “a vertical solenoidal coil configured to generate a magnetic field inside the processing chamber and being disposed to extend along an exterior side of the processing chamber and to extend over a side of the dielectric shielding plate in each of a plurality of positions of the dielectric shielding plate for generating the plasma via electron cyclotron resonance in one of a first area over the dielectric shielding plate and a second area under the dielectric shielding plate“);
Fig. 1 shows one horizonal coil above dielectric window 103 and top of the chamber (includes the claimed “a horizontal coil configured to generate a magnetic field inside the processing chamber in cooperation with the vertical solenoidal coil and being disposed above the first vertical solenoidal coil, the dielectric shielding plate, and the dielectric window“);
A controller 120 for controlling the etching process using the aforementioned ECR microwave plasma etching apparatus controls various etching parameters including the repetition frequency at which the electromagnetic wave generation power supply 109, RF bias power supply 114, and pulse generation unit 121 are turned on and off in a pulsed manner, duty ratio, flow rate of gas for performing the etching, process pressure, electromagnetic wave power, RF bias power, and coil current in response to the input made through an input unit (not shown) ([0057], the claimed “a controller configured to selectively cause one of generating the plasma inside the processing chamber over the dielectric shielding plate in the first area which is between the dielectric shielding plate and the dielectric window, and generating the plasma under the dielectric shielding plate in the second area which is between the dielectric shielding plate and the sample stage”),
A shower plate 102, for example, made of quartz and acting to introduce an etchant gas into a vacuum vessel 101 ([0051], 1st sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the dielectric shielding plate is provided with a plurality of holes”).
‘831 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 1: (1A) (a vertical solenoidal coil) consisting of only a single coil configured (to generate a magnetic field inside the processing chamber and being disposed to extend along an exterior side of the processing chamber and to extend over a side of the dielectric shielding plate in each of a plurality of positions of the dielectric shielding plate for generating the plasma via electron cyclotron resonance in one of a first area over the dielectric shielding plate and a second area under the dielectric shielding plate);
(1B) wherein the controller is configured to cause said generating the plasma inside the processing chamber over the dielectric shielding plate by controlling the magnetic field generator such that a magnetic flux density position for generating electron cyclotron resonance with the microwave supplied from the microwave power source using the vertical solenoidal coil and the horizontal coil is over the dielectric shielding plate, and to cause said generating the plasma inside the processing chamber under the dielectric shielding plate by controlling the magnetic field generator such that the magnetic flux density position for generating electron cyclotron resonance with the microwave supplied from the microwave power source using the vertical solenoidal coil and the horizontal coil is under the dielectric shielding plate, and
(1C) (wherein the dielectric shielding plate is provided with a plurality of holes) each constructed to have a diameter (1D) which prevents ions which are generated in the plasma formed over the dielectric shielding plate when the magnetic flux density position for generating electron cyclotron resonance with the microwave supplied from the microwave power source is controlled to occur over the dielectric shielding plate from passing through the holes and (1E) irradiating the sample stage, in conjunction with the controller controlling the magnetic field generator such that the magnetic flux density position for generating electron cyclotron resonance with the microwave supplied from the microwave power source using the vertical solenoidal coil and the horizontal coil occurs over the dielectric shielding plate, causes ions which are generated in the plasma formed under the dielectric shielding plate to irradiate the sample stage when the magnetic flux density position for generating electron cyclotron resonance with the microwave supplied from the microwave power source is controlled to occur under the dielectric shielding plate, to cause a first thickness of a deposited film on the sample to be uniform within a radial distance of 100 mm from a center of the sample, and a second thickness of the deposited film on the sample outside the radial distance of 100 mm from the center of the sample to be less than the first distance.
‘751 is an analogous art in the field of semiconductor manufacturing apparatus (title), To provide a plasma processing apparatus in which high selection ratio and etching shape control can be combined (English translation, abstract), A microwave ECR (middle of page 2), There is a need for an etching technique that can control the amount of reactive products and radicals at the same time while controlling the amount of ions and energy that contribute (background-art) with quartz shower plate 102 (bottom of page 2). ‘751 teaches that A magnetic field generating coil 107 that forms a magnetic field is provided on the outer periphery of the processing chamber 104 (middle of page 2, Fig. 1 shows a single coil 107). Note coil 107 is used during etching.
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the two coils 110 as shown in Fig. 1 of ‘831 into one single coil 107 of ‘751 (the limitation of 1A), for the purpose of high selection ratio and etching shape control can be combined, as taught by ‘751 (English translation, abstract), and/or for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
‘729 is an analogous art in the field of semiconductor manufacturing apparatus (title), to perform an isotropic etching and an anisotropic etching in the same treating chamber by providing a microwave source and a high frequency source in the single treating chamber, and controlling the driving of both sources with a controlling means (abstract). ‘729 teaches that FIG. 3 shows the state at the time of isotropic plasma etching (first plasma processing) FIG. 4 is a view showing a state during anisotropic plasma etching (second plasma processing) ([0003]), for the purpose of compact configuration (see background of the invention). Note the first plasma processing is generated by the microwave source 38 without magnetic field. Note also the high frequency source 39 is similar to the high frequency source 114 of ‘831 (and Applicants’ radio frequency source 123). Note Fig. 3 is operating at the condition of (1D) and Fig. 4 is operating at the condition of (1E).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have performed the isotropic etching and the anisotropic etching in the same treating chamber, as taught by ‘729, by turning off the magnetic field generating coil 110 of ‘831 for the first plasma generation above the quartz shower plate 102 and as shown in Fig. 3 of ‘729, and by plasma generation in the processing chamber 104, as taught by ‘831 (the limitations of 1B, 1D, and 1E), and as a result, the hole size of the shower plate has to be adjusted to filter out ions and electrons (the limitation of 1C), for the purpose of performing isotropic plasma etching and anisotropic plasma etching in a compact configuration, as taught by ‘729 (see background of the invention).
Note for the last four lines limitation of 1E is a property of the film deposited, not part of the structure of the apparatus. An apparatus that has all the structural limitations of the claim 23 is considered having the capability to form film “uniform within a radial distance of 100 mm from a center of the sample”.
Note ‘751 may be applied as primary reference in view of ‘831 and ‘729.
‘831 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 24: an RF bias power supply 114 is connected to the sample mounting electrode 111 via a matching circuit 113 ([0055], includes the claimed “further comprising a power supply for supplying radio frequency power to the sample stage”).
Claim 27: A shower plate 102, for example, made of quartz and acting to introduce an etchant gas into a vacuum vessel 101 ([0051], includes the claimed “wherein the dielectric shielding plate is formed of quartz, alumina, or yttria”).
Alternatively claims 23-24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘831, in view of ‘751, ‘729 and Miyamoto et al. (US 5178962 , hereafter ‘962).
In case Applicants argue that the combination of ‘831, ‘751, and ‘729 does not teach using the magnetic field of the coil to control the plasma generation location.
‘962 is an analogous art in the field of ECR microwave plasma (Fig. 39, col. 4, lines 44-45). ‘962 teaches that an ECR plasma generator, has at least three coils along the side wall of a cylindrical chamber, where a magnetic field is controlled by the coils. A microwave is led into the cylindrical chamber in the vertical direction to form an ECR point near the substrate surface. Generally, the ECR point can be changed as a distance from the substrate surface by changing the quantity of current to the coils. At the ECR point, a plasma with a low kinetic energy, a high ionization efficiency and a high density of electronically excited species can be formed (col. 4, lines 54-63).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have altered the current to the magnetic coils to different ECR points near the substrate or away from the substrate, as taught by ‘962, to the magnetic field generating coil 110 of ‘583 to perform the isotropic etching and the anisotropic etching in the same treating chamber, as taught by ‘729 (background of the invention).
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘831, 751, and ‘729 (optionally with ‘962), further in view of Rikeret al. (US 20080295872, hereafter ‘872).
‘831 is silent on the diameter of the holes in the shower plate 102. The combination of ‘831, ‘751, and ‘729 (optionally with ‘962) does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 25: wherein the diameter of each of the plurality of holes is between 1 to 2 cm.
Claim 26: wherein the plurality of holes are formed in a ring-like area around a center of the dielectric shielding plate.
‘872 is an analogous art in the field of processing of substrates such as semiconductors and displays, layers are formed on the substrate, and then etched ([0002]), A remote gas energizer 52 comprising a microwave gas activator providing a microwave power (Fig. 1 [0020], last sentence), The pedestal 80 can optionally comprise an electrode (not shown) that can be electrically biased to hold the substrate 22 to the pedestal 80 or affect the characteristics of the process, such as the degree of ion bombardment of the substrate 22 ([0032], 2nd last sentence). ‘872 teaches that The holes 140 are shaped, sized, and distributed in a spaced apart relationship across the surface of the plate 120 to promote uniform delivery of the process gas to the surface of the substrate 22 … As one example, the first ring of holes 140a each have a diameter of from about 1 to about 5 mm; the second ring of holes 140b each have a diameter of from about 2 to about 10 mm; the third ring of holes 140c each have a diameter of from about 3 to about 15 mm; and the fourth ring of holes 140a each have a diameter of from about 4 to about 20 mm … The gas distributor plate 120 can be composed of a ceramic, such as for example, aluminum oxide or silicon oxide, and the silicon oxide can be quartz (Fig. 4C, [0042], 2nd sentence to end).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have adopted the hole distribution of quartz shower plate of ‘872 as the shower plate 102 of ‘831, for the purpose of uniform delivery of process gas, as taught by ‘872 ([0042]).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘831, ‘751, and ‘729 (optionally with ‘962), further in view of One et al. (US 4450031, from IDS, hereafter ‘031) and (US 20020084034, hereafter ‘034).
The combination of ‘831, ‘751, and ‘729 (optionally with ‘962) does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 28: wherein respective distances between the dielectric shielding plate and the dielectric window and between the dielectric shielding plate and the sample stage are set 40 mm or more.
‘031 is an analogous art in the field of an ion source of a prior art ion shower apparatus of the type in which plasma is produced by electron cyclotron resonance excited by microwave (Fig. 2, col. 2, lines 3-5), FIG. 11 shows … an insulating member is provided on the surface of an ion extraction electrode. The surface is on the side of the plasma formation chamber. Reference numeral 50 denotes a single ion extraction electrode on the upper surface (that is, the surface in contact with plasma) of which an insulating member is provided (col. 11, lines 43-48). ‘031 teaches that in order to facilitate the absorption of the microwave by plasma … the inner height between the top of the plasma formation chamber 21 and the shield electrode or grid 40 is determined to be 200 mm, so that the plasma formation chamber 21 is in the form of a microwave cavity resonator (col. 12, lines 13-20).
‘034 is an analogous art in the field of DRY ETCHING APPARATUS (title), The processing with a low gate rate of destruction and high anisotropy is achieved in dry etching. Plasma is generated by ECR resonance of electromagnetic wave which arose by supplying Ultra High Frequency electric power (abstract). ‘034 teaches that by shortening the distance between samples-shower plate at 60 mm, the processing could be carried out without the in-plane difference of the CD gain (Fig. 1, [0078], last sentence), a distance between said shower plate and said holder is less than 100 mm (claim 4, and elsewhere in ‘034).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have adopted a height of microwave plasma formation chamber of about 200 mm, as taught by ‘031, as the distance between the microwave window 103 and the shower plate 102 of ‘831, for the purpose of facilitating the absorption of the microwave by plasma, as taught by ‘031 (col. 12, lines 13-14). Furthermore, to have adopted a distance of shower plate to sample distance of 60 mm or less than 100 mm, as taught by ‘034, for the purpose without the in-plane difference of the CD gain, as taught by ‘034 ([0078], last sentence).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants repeatedly assert that sensor is not in the claim and immaterial to the claim, see the bottom of page 6 to page 10, particularly the middle of page 7.
This argument is found not persuasive.
The lack of sensor is exactly why the claimed property performance property is not part of the controller function.
The OC has clearly stated that the claim only require that the controller send signal to the coil(s). The claim does NOT include a sensor or controller linking to a sensor that detect the plasma is over or under the dielectric shielding plate”. Likewise, the newly added limitations “to cause a first thickness of a deposited film on the sample to be uniform within a radial distance of 100 mm from a center of the sample, and a second thickness of the deposited film on the sample outside the radial distance of 100 mm from the center of the sample to be less than the first distance“ is a result of the film deposition, not part of the apparatus, nor a part of the controller detecting the film thickness conditions.
In other words, the controller only send signal to the solenoidal coil. The controller does not have any means to determine “cause one of generating the plasma inside the processing chamber over the dielectric shielding plate in the first area which is between the dielectric shielding plate and the dielectric window, and generating the plasma under the dielectric shielding plate in the second area which is between the dielectric shielding plate and the sample stage” (the limitation of 1B). In still other words, the controller does not have information about the process performed in the chamber. The controller only send signal to the coil at predetermined level, including turning off power to the coil, which is one of the plasma formation as discussed in the rejection.
Still furthermore, the limitation of 1B is clearly taught by ‘729 (Figs. 3-4).
Applicants assert that the combination does not teach “plasma Processing Arrangement which includes a First Vertical Solenoidal Coil Consisting Of Only a Single Coil configured to Generate a Magnetic Field Inside the Processing Chamber and Extending Along an Exterior Side of the Processing Chamber and Over a Side of a Dielectric Shielding Plate in Each of a Plurality of Positions of the Dielectric Shielding Plate for Generating Plasma In one of a First Area Over the Dielectric Shielding Plate and a Second Area Under the Dielectric Shielding Plate“ because
A) ‘831’s teaching in [0053] would not lead one skilled in the art to combine with any other references cited, see page 20.
This argument is found not persuasive.
The OC has clearly set forth the motivation to combine with each of the secondary references.
The rejection is not because the particular teaching of [0053]. There is nothing in MPEP requires the combination has to be fitted with any of the paragraph of Applicants’ choice to be combinable.
Furthermore, none of the combination requires to violate the axial symmetry of the apparatus, if that matters.
The examiner notices Applicants’ apparatus is not axial symmetry, as pump 124 is unsymmetrically placed. Is Applicants arguing the uniformity of the film deposited is due to the unsymmetric arrangement of the pump? If so, please provide support or evidence and claim accordingly.
B) Applicants repeatedly argue that ‘831 is not understood as even teaching generating plasma on the upper side of the shoer plate 102, see the bottom of page 23.
This argument is found not persuasive.
This is attacking reference individually.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The limitation of 1B, including plasma generation above and under the dielectric plate, is taught by ‘729 (Figs. 3-4).
C) Applicants argued that ‘831 does not teach “a horizontal coil configured to generate a magnetic field inside the processing chamber in cooperation with the vertical solenoidal coil and being disposed above the vertical solenoidal coil, the dielectric shielding plate, and the dielectric window”, see the middle of page 26.
This argument is found not persuasive.
This statement is completely wrong.
The OC has set forth that
Fig. 1 shows one horizonal coil above dielectric window 103 and top of the chamber (includes the claimed “a horizontal coil configured to generate a magnetic field inside the processing chamber in cooperation with the vertical solenoidal coil and being disposed above the first vertical solenoidal coil, the dielectric shielding plate, and the dielectric window“).
D) Applicants argued that ‘831 cannot be combined with single vertical coil of ‘751 because ‘751 does not state that the single coil because the advantage in high selection ratio and etching shape control can be combined is due to timing “Ikeda, page 7, 3rd paragraph (English translation)”, see the middle of page 32 to the middle of page 33.
This argument is found not persuasive.
‘751, as a whole, describe the structure of the apparatus plus the method to achieve the stated advantage. The structure of the apparatus is integral to the stated advantage.
Note that Applicants numerous attempts to bring the method claims into apparatus claim. Applicants stated advantage, the newly added limitation of film uniformity, is also a result of the structure and the method.
In any event, even if the single coil vs. double coil is not related to the advantage of ‘751, which the examiner disagrees, it is merely a suitability with predictable results.
D) Applicants argued that Soeda ‘729 cannot be combined because magnetic field, see the middle of page 34 to the middle of page 35.
This argument is found not persuasive.
This is again attacking references individually.
‘831 teaches magnetic field generation by coils. ‘729 teaches isotropic plasma etching and anisotropic plasma etching by generating plasma above and under the plate 34 (Figs. 3 and 4). The motivation to combine is for the purpose of performing isotropic plasma etching and anisotropic plasma etching in a compact configuration, as taught by ‘729 (see background of the invention).
E) Applicants repeatedly argue that ‘831 and ‘729 have such different technical approach and cannot be combined, see the bottom of page 40.
This argument is found not persuasive.
The OC has clearly set forth that:
‘729 is an analogous art in the field of semiconductor manufacturing apparatus (title), to perform an isotropic etching and an anisotropic etching in the same treating chamber by providing a microwave source and a high frequency source in the single treating chamber, and controlling the driving of both sources with a controlling means (abstract).
In this case, ‘729 clearly teaches the advantage of two plasma generation operation. A person of ordinary skill in the art can easily incorporate such operation in ‘831’s apparatus.
In short, Applicants’ argument is that each reference has to teach all limitations of the claim, and any difference in the reference makes them not combinable. This is clearly not in accord with 35 USC 103 guidelines.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20020033330 is cited for central region having uniform film thickness ([0027]).
US 20160351404 is cited for a single magnetic field generating coil 107 on the lateral side of the chamber (Fig. 1).
US 4253907 is cited for radicals available for isotropic etching. The ionic species must compete with these radicals to produce an anisotropic profile (col. 10, lines 46-48).
US 20140262034 is cited for radical isotropic etching by radical two holes in quartz plate ([0108]) or anisotropic and selective etching ([0109]). Both are now in IDS.
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716