DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 02/24/2023 and 03/10/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 02/23/2026 is acknowledge. Group II (claims 11-20) are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“stage unit fixes a fixing surface of a target” in claim 1 (lines 4-5), “stage unit fixes the fixing surface of the target in a state in which the processing surface of the target faces a direction in which the laser is directed” in claim 4 (lines 1-3), and “stage unit” in claim 1 (line 4), claim 2 (line 3), claim 3 (line 2), claim 5 (lines 2, 3), claim 6 (line 2), claim 8 (line 3). These limitations use generic placeholder “unit” (Prong A); the term “unit” is modified by functional language “fixes a fixing surface of a target” as recited in claim 1, and “fixes the fixing surface of the target in a state in which the processing surface of the target faces a direction in which the laser is directed” as recited in claim 4 (Prong B); and the term “unit” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, these limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “stage unit” will be interpreted as to include “stage body and chuck plate” and equivalents, as indicated by Specification Par.0053: “The stage unit 12 may include a stage body 120 and a chuck plate 121.”, and as shown in Figs.1 & 2A of the Instant Application [see stage body 120 and chuck plate 121 in Figs.1 & 2A of the Instant Application].
“laser moving unit which moves the laser radiating unit along a processing path in a plan view” in claim 1 (lines 11-12). This limitation uses generic placeholder “unit” (Prong A); the term “unit” is modified by functional language “which moves the laser radiating unit along a processing path in a plan view” (Prong B); and the term “unit” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, this limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “laser moving unit” will be interpreted as to include “air-bearing” and equivalents, as indicated by Specification Par.0014: “the laser moving unit may include an air-bearing”.
“target moving unit moves the stage unit, to which the target is fixed, to a processing position” in claim 2 (lines 2-3) and “target moving unit” in claim 2 (line 2), claim 3 (line 1), claim 6 (line 1). This limitation uses generic placeholder “unit” (Prong A); the term “unit” is modified by functional language “moves the stage unit, to which the target is fixed, to a processing position” (Prong B); and the term “unit” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, this limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “target moving unit” will be interpreted as to include “a frame with guide rail, wherein the guide rail is configured to guide the rod to move in vertical direction, wherein the rod can be rotatable around its longitudinal axis” and equivalents, as shown in Figs.1, 2B-2C of the Instant Application [see the target rotationally-moving unit 130 and the target vertically-moving unit 131 in Figs.1, 2B-2C of the Instant Application] and as indicated by Specification Par.0056: “The target moving unit 13 may include a target rotationally-moving unit 130 and a target vertically-moving unit 131.”.
“target rotationally-moving unit which rotates the stage unit around a first axis” in claim 3 (line 2) and “target rotationally-moving unit rotates the stage unit in a way such that the processing surface of the target fixed to the stage unit faces a direction opposite to the direction in which the laser is directed” in claim 5 (lines 1-3). These limitations use generic placeholder “unit” (Prong A); the term “unit” is modified by functional language “which rotates the stage unit around a first axis” as recited in claim 3, and “rotates the stage unit in a way such that the processing surface of the target fixed to the stage unit faces a direction opposite to the direction in which the laser is directed” as recited in claim 5 (Prong B); and the term “unit” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, these limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “target rotationally-moving unit” will be interpreted as to include a rotatable rod and equivalents, as shown in Figs.1 & 2B of the Instant Application [see the target rotationally-moving unit 130 in Figs.1 & 2B of the Instant Application].
“target vertically-moving unit which moves the stage unit in a direction opposite to a direction in which the laser is directed” in claim 6 (lines 2-3). This limitation uses generic placeholder “unit” (Prong A); the term “unit” is modified by functional language “which moves the stage unit in a direction opposite to a direction in which the laser is directed” (Prong B); and the term “unit” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, this limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “target vertically-moving unit” will be interpreted as “a frame with guide rail, wherein the guide rail is configured to guide the rod to move in vertical direction” and equivalents, as shown in Figs.1 & 2C of the Instant Application [see the target vertically-moving unit 131 in Figs.1 & 2C of the Instant Application].
“pressure adjusting unit which adjusts a pressure of the loading area” in claim 7 (line 2). This limitation uses generic placeholder “unit” (Prong A); the term “unit” is modified by functional language “which adjusts a pressure of the loading area” (Prong B); and the term “unit” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, this limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “pressure adjusting unit” will be interpreted as to include “connection pipe and vacuum pump” and equivalents, as indicated by Specification Par.0061: “The pressure adjusting unit 15 may include a connection pipe 150 and a vacuum pump 151.”.
“laser aligning unit which aligns the laser radiating unit to an alignment position” in claim 9 (lines 1-2). This limitation uses generic placeholder “unit” (Prong A); the term “unit” is modified by functional language “which aligns the laser radiating unit to an alignment position” (Prong B); and the term “unit” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, this limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “laser aligning unit” will be interpreted as to include slidable block and equivalents, as shown in Figs.1 & 2D of the Instant Application [see laser aligning unit 163 in Figs.1 & 2D of the Instant Application].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR 102243721 B1, Published 04/23/2021, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an apparatus (apparatus 100, Lee Fig.2) for manufacturing a display apparatus (Lee Translated Document on page 2 paragraphs 1-5 discloses the invention is for manufacturing a display apparatus), the apparatus (apparatus 100, Lee Fig.2) comprising
a chamber (vacuum chamber 110, Lee Fig.2) in which a loading area (loading area, Lee annotated Fig.2 below) is defined;
a stage unit (“substrate carrier portion (not shown)”, see Lee Translated Document on page 4 – paragraph 2) disposed in the loading area (loading area, Lee annotated Fig.2 below) (Lee Translated Document on page 4 – paragraph 2 discloses: “Inside the vacuum chamber 110, a substrate carrier portion (not shown) that grasps and moves a substrate is provided.”, and the vacuum chamber 110 defines the loading area, as explained previously and see the loading area in Lee annotated Fig.2 below; therefore, the substrate carrier portion disposed in the loading area), wherein the stage unit (“substrate carrier portion (not shown)”, see Lee Translated Document on page 4 – paragraph 2) fixes a fixing surface of a target (substrate, Lee annotated Fig.2 below) (Lee Translated Document on page 4 – paragraph 2 discloses: “Inside the vacuum chamber 110, a substrate carrier portion (not shown) that grasps and moves a substrate is provided. In this embodiment, an electrostatic chuck (not shown) or a magnetic chuck (not shown) for chucking a substrate may be provided in the substrate carrier unit (not shown).”; since the substrate carrier portion that grasps and moves the substrate, thus, at least one surface of the substrate is grasped by the substrate carrier portion; therefore, the at least one surface of the substrate that is grasped by the substrate carrier portion is interpreted to be a fixing surface of the substrate); and
an optical unit (optical unit includes the laser scanner 120, the scanner moving unit 130 and the beam path changing unit 140, Lee Fig.2) disposed outside the chamber (vacuum chamber 110, Lee Fig.2), wherein the optical unit (optical unit includes the laser scanner 120, the scanner moving unit 130 and the beam path changing unit 140, Lee Fig.2) processes a processing surface (processing surface, Lee annotated Fig.2 below) of the target (substrate, Lee annotated Fig.2 below) (Lee Translated Document on page 3 – second paragraph from the bottom discloses: “As shown in FIGS. 2 to 10, the top-down substrate etching apparatus 100 according to the present embodiment includes a vacuum chamber 110 in which an etching process is performed on a substrate, and is disposed outside the vacuum chamber 110. A plurality of laser scanners that are disposed to be spaced apart from each other and perform an etching process by emitting a laser beam to a substrate in the vacuum chamber 110 through a chamber window 111 provided in the vacuum chamber 110 (120, a scanner movement unit 130 that supports the laser scanner 120 and moves the laser scanner 120 in the first axis direction (X), and is disposed adjacent to the laser scanner 120 and is a laser oscillator.”),
wherein the optical unit (optical unit includes the laser scanner 120, the scanner moving unit 130 and the beam path changing unit 140, Lee Fig.2) comprises:
a laser radiating unit (laser scanner 120, Lee Fig.2) which radiates a laser toward the processing surface (processing surface, Lee annotated Fig.2 below) of the target (substrate, Lee annotated Fig.2 below) (Lee Translated Document on page 4 – paragraph 5 discloses: “the laser beam emitted from the laser scanner 120 can be irradiated to the lower portion of the substrate”, and Lee Translated Document on page 4 – paragraph 6 discloses: “The laser scanner 120 receives a laser beam oscillated from a laser oscillator (not shown) coupled to the support frame P through the beam path changing unit 140 and emits it to the substrate.”; therefore, the laser scanner 120 radiates laser beam toward the processing surface of the substrate); and
a laser moving unit (moving unit 130, Lee Fig.2) which moves the laser radiating unit (laser scanner 120, Lee Fig.2) along a processing path (X direction, Lee Figs.3-4) in a plan view (X direction is in the plan view, see X direction in Lee Figs.3-4) (Lee Translated Document on page 3 – second paragraph from the bottom discloses: “a scanner movement unit 130 that supports the laser scanner 120 and moves the laser scanner 120 in the first axis direction (X)”).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Lee also discloses further comprising:
wherein the optical unit (optical unit includes the laser scanner 120, the scanner moving unit 130 and the beam path changing unit 140, Lee Fig.2) further comprises a laser aligning unit (“mover unit (not shown)” and “stator portion (not shown)”, Lee Translated Document on page 5 – paragraphs 8-9) which aligns the laser radiating unit (laser scanner 120, Lee Fig.2) to an alignment position (alignment position as shown in Lee Fig.2) (the mover unit and the stator portion align the laser scanner 120 to alignment position because Lee Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 4 discloses: “The scanner moving unit 130 according to the present embodiment is a moving block for a plurality of scanners to which each of the plurality of laser scanners 120 is individually coupled, as shown in detail in FIGS. 3 to 4 and 7 to 9 The unit 131 is connected to the scanner moving block unit 131 and connected to the scanner moving guide unit 133 for guiding the movement of the scanner moving block unit 131 and the scanner moving block unit 131 And it includes a scanner moving driving unit 135 for moving the moving block unit 131 for the scanner.”, Lee Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 6 discloses: “The scanner moving block unit 131 is connected to the scanner moving guide unit 133 so as to be slidably moved.”, Lee Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 8 discloses: “The scanner moving driving unit 135 interacts with a mover unit (not shown) that is individually coupled to each scanner moving block unit 131, and the scanner moving block unit 131 by interacting with the mover unit (not shown). It includes a stator portion (not shown) for generating a propulsive force by electromagnetic force.”, and Lee Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 9 discloses: “The mover unit (not shown) is individually coupled to each of the scanner moving block units 131. A plurality of stator portions (not shown) are provided and disposed along the longitudinal direction (ie, the first axis direction) of the moving guide portion 133 for the scanner. This stator part (not shown) interacts with the mover part (not shown) to generate a propulsion force by electromagnetic force in each of the moving block parts 131 for scanners. In this embodiment, the stator part (not shown) is provided with a permanent magnet and the movable part (not shown) is provided with an electromagnet.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 102243721 B1) in view of Machida (JP 2021077782 A, Published 05/20/2021, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Lee does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
a target moving unit disposed in the loading area, wherein the target moving unit moves the stage unit, to which the target is fixed, to a processing position.
Machida teaches an apparatus (Machida Figs.1-2):
a target moving unit (substrate holding device 200, Machida Figs.2a-2b) disposed in the loading area (chamber R2 defines the loading area, see the chamber R2 in Machida Fig.1) (Machida Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 4 teaches: “The substrate holding device 200 according to this embodiment is provided in the second chamber R2.”), wherein the target moving unit (substrate holding device 200, Machida Figs.2a-2b) moves the stage unit (substrate holder 100, Machida Figs.1 & 2b) (Machida Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 4 teaches: “The substrate holding device 200 plays a role of reversing (rotating 180 °) the substrate holding body 100 holding the substrate 10.”, and Machida Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 5 teaches: “The carrier mounting member 210 is integrated with a holder (clamp) 211 that mechanically holds the substrate holder 100 and a holder (clamp) 212 that mechanically holds the substrate 10 held by the substrate holder 100. It is provided as a target. These holders 211 and 212 can be reciprocated so as to approach or move away from the mounting surface of the substrate holder 100 on the carrier mounting member 210 (reciprocating in the vertical direction in FIG. 2B). The substrate holder 100 and the substrate 10 can be fixed to the carrier mounting member 210 by being configured to be movable)”), to which the target (substrate 10, Machida Figs.1 & 2b) is fixed, to a processing position (processing position is after the substrate 10 get rotated so that the substrate 10 is held downward in a way that the substrate 10 is located below the substrate holder 100 as shown in Machida Fig.1 in chamber R2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lee, by adding target moving unit disposed in the loading area, wherein the target moving unit moves the stage unit, to which the target is fixed, to a processing position, as taught by Machida, in order to ensure high precision, uniformity, and efficiency. The modification allows the substrate to be perfectly positioned and oriented relative to the laser beam, and also allows the substrate to change orientation before or after various treatments on various surfaces. Thus, enhance process uniformity, ensure consistent treatment across entire surfaces, reduce waste and improve product quality.
Regarding claim 3, Lee in view of Machida teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 2, and Lee in view of Machida also teaches:
wherein the target moving unit (substrate holding device 200, Machida Figs.2a-2b; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 2 above) comprises a target rotationally-moving unit (rotation mechanism includes rotation shaft 220, carrier mounting member 210, rotation drive source 230, bearing 240; Machida Fig.2b & Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 5) which rotates the stage unit (substrate holder 100, Machida Figs.1 & 2b) around a first axis (axis of rotation of the substrate holder 100, see the rotation of the substrate holder 100 in Machida Fig.1 in chamber R2, it is noted that the axis of rotation is direction into the page) (Machida Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 5 teaches: “The substrate holding device 200 according to the present embodiment includes a rotation mechanism that rotates the substrate holding body 100 about a straight line parallel to the film forming surface of the substrate 10. The rotation mechanism includes a rotation shaft 220, a carrier mounting member 210 fixed to the rotation shaft 220, a rotation drive source 230 such as a motor for rotating the rotation shaft 220, and a bearing 240 of the rotation shaft 220.”).
Regarding claim 4, Lee in view of Machida teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 3, and Lee in view of Machida also teaches:
wherein the stage unit (substrate holder 100, Machida Figs.1 & 2b) fixes the fixing surface (fixing surface, Machida annotated Fig.1 below) of the target (substrate 10, Machida Fig.1) in a state in which the processing surface (processing surface, Machida annotated Fig.1 below) of the target (substrate 10, Machida Fig.1) faces a direction in which the laser is directed (It is noted that the primary reference Lee shows the laser is directed from bottom to top in vertical direction, see Lee annotated Fig.2 in the rejection of claim 1 above. Therefore, in combination, Lee in view of Machida teaches the substrate holder 100 fixes the fixing surface of the substrate 10 in a state in which the processing surface of the substrate 10 faces a direction in which the laser is directed).
Regarding claim 5, Lee in view of Machida teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 4, and Lee in view of Machida also teaches:
wherein the target rotationally-moving unit (rotation mechanism includes rotation shaft 220, carrier mounting member 210, rotation drive source 230, bearing 240; Machida Fig.2b & Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 5; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 3 above) rotates the stage unit (substrate holder 100, Machida Figs.1 & 2b) in a way such that the processing surface (processing surface, Machida annotated Fig.1 below) of the target (substrate 10, Machida Fig.1) fixed to the stage unit (substrate holder 100, Machida Figs.1 & 2b) faces a direction opposite to the direction in which the laser is directed (It is noted that the primary reference Lee shows the laser is directed from bottom to top in vertical direction, see Lee annotated Fig.2 in the rejection of claim 1 above. In this case, since Machida teaches rotation mechanism including rotation shaft 220, carrier mounting member 210, rotation drive source 230, bearing 240 are configured to rotate the substrate holder 100 and the substrate 10 together, as explained in details in the rejections of claims 2-3 above, and as shown in chamber R2 in Machida Fig.1. Thus, the rotation mechanism including rotation shaft 220, carrier mounting member 210, rotation drive source 230, bearing 240 capable of rotating the substrate holder 100 in a way such that the processing surface of the substrate 10 fixed to the substrate holder 100 faces a direction opposite to the direction in which the laser is directed, in which the processing surface faces upward because the laser is directed from bottom to top in vertical direction. It is further noted that the Machida annotated Fig.1 below is used for illustration purposes only to show that the rotation mechanism includes rotation shaft 220, carrier mounting member 210, rotation drive source 230, bearing 240 capable of rotating the substrate holder 100 in a way such that the processing surface of the substrate 10 fixed to the substrate holder 100 faces away from the bottom of the chamber R2).
Regarding claim 6, Lee in view of Machida teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 2, and Lee in view of Machida also teaches:
wherein the target moving unit (substrate holding device 200, Machida Figs.2a-2b; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 2 above) further comprises a target vertically-moving unit (holders 211 and 212, Machida Fig.2b) which moves the stage unit (substrate holder 100, Machida Figs.1 & 2b) in a direction opposite to a direction in which the laser is directed (It is noted that the primary reference Lee shows the laser is directed from bottom to top in vertical direction, see Lee annotated Fig.2 below. In this case, Machida Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 5 teaches: “The carrier mounting member 210 is integrated with a holder (clamp) 211 that mechanically holds the substrate holder 100 and a holder (clamp) 212 that mechanically holds the substrate 10 held by the substrate holder 100. It is provided as a target. These holders 211 and 212 can be reciprocated so as to approach or move away from the mounting surface of the substrate holder 100 on the carrier mounting member 210 (reciprocating in the vertical direction in FIG. 2B). The substrate holder 100 and the substrate 10 can be fixed to the carrier mounting member 210 by being configured to be movable)”; therefore, the holders 211 and 212 can move the substrate holder 100 up and down in vertical direction. Thus, in combination, Lee in view of Machida teaches the holders 211 and 212 capable of moving the substrate holder 100 in a direction opposite to a direction in which the laser is directed).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 102243721 B1) in view of Um (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0069879 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Lee does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
a pressure adjusting unit which adjusts a pressure of the loading area.
Um teaches an apparatus (100, Um Fig.1) for manufacturing a display apparatus (Um Abstract teaches: “Provided are an apparatus and method of manufacturing a display apparatus.”), comprising:
a pressure adjusting unit (pressure adjusting unit 191 includes connection pipe 191-1 and pump 191-2, Um Fig.1) which adjusts a pressure of the loading area (chamber 110 defines loading area, see chamber 110 in Um Fig.1) (Um Par.0059 teaches: “The pressure adjusting unit 191 may include a connection pipe 191-1 that is connected with the chamber 110, and a pump 191-2 that is installed in the connection pipe 191-1. In this case, the pressure adjusting unit 191 may maintain air pressure, or may maintain a vacuum state, in the chamber 110.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lee, by adding pressure adjusting unit which adjusts a pressure of the loading area, as taught by Um, in order to maintain the vacuum environment inside of the chamber, and compensate for leaks or outgassing during laser processing. The pressure adjusting unit maintains a consistent vacuum level for quality, and enables process-specific, low-pressure environments.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. Embodiment Fig.2 (KR 102243721 B1) in view of Lee et al. Embodiment Fig.1 (KR 102243721 B1).
Regarding claim 8, Lee Embodiment Fig.2 discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Lee Embodiment Fig.2 also discloses further comprising:
a window (chamber window 111, Lee Fig.2) disposed on one side of the chamber (bottom side of the vacuum chamber 110, Lee Fig.2), which is between the laser radiating unit (laser scanner 120, Lee Fig.2) and the stage unit (“substrate carrier portion (not shown)” is located at the loading area, see Lee Translated Document on page 4 – paragraph 2 & Lee annotated Fig.2 below, as explained previously in the rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein the window (chamber window 111, Lee Fig.2) allows the laser to pass therethrough (Lee Translated Document on page 4 – paragraph 1 discloses: “A chamber window 111 is provided on the bottom of the vacuum chamber 110. The chamber window 111 is a window through which a laser beam of a specific wavelength can pass, and allows the laser beam from the laser scanner 120 disposed outside the vacuum chamber 110 to be transmitted into the vacuum chamber 110.”).
Lee Embodiment Fig.2 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the window comprises a transparent material
Lee Embodiment Fig.1 (Lee Fig.1) teaches:
wherein the window (transparent chamber window 20, Lee Fig.1 & Translated Document on page 2 – paragraph 10) comprises a transparent material (Lee Translated Document on page 2 – paragraph 10 discloses: “The substrate G is disposed inside the vacuum chamber, while the laser scanner 10 is disposed outside the vacuum chamber, and a laser beam is irradiated onto the substrate G at that position. At this time, a transparent chamber window 20 through which the laser beam passes is interposed on the wall surface of the vacuum chamber in which the laser scanner 10 is disposed.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Lee Embodiment Fig.2 chamber window (see the Lee chamber window 111 in Lee Fig.2) with the Lee Embodiment Fig.1 chamber window (see the Lee chamber window 20 in Lee Fig.1), because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of allowing the laser beam to pass through the chamber window to process surface of the substrate positioned inside of the chamber while help to maintain the vacuum environment inside of the chamber for processing substrate. MPEP 2143 I (B).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 102243721 B1) in view of Manens et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0033970 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Lee does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the laser moving unit comprises an air- bearing.
Manens teaches a laser processing apparatus (400, Manens Fig.15):
wherein the laser moving unit (X laser stage 418, Fig.15) comprises an air- bearing (Manens Par.0051 teaches “An X laser stage 418 can be used to provide for X-direction movement of laser assemblies 420 during laser scribing of a workpiece. The X laser stage can include a linear motor and one or more air bearings for travel of a laser assembly support 422 along a support rail 424.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lee, by adding air bearing to the laser moving unit, as taught by Manens, in order to provide frictionless, vibration-free, and high-precision motion for the laser radiating unit, which is crucial for achieving sub-micron straightness and repeatability. The air bearing eliminates wear, enables high-speed movement, and ensures consistent and high-accuracy laser processing.
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Moon et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0162833 A1) discloses a method of manufacturing a display apparatus using a mask assembly.
Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0083449 A1) discloses a laser ablation apparatus using a solid-state laser and a method of manufacturing a display device.
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 03/20/2026
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761