DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12, 13, 15, 17-20, and 22-25 are pending and have been examined in this Office Action. Claims 6, 14, and 16 have been canceled and claims 23-25 have been added since the last Office Action.
Examiner' s Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the disclosure.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 20, “on” is missing between “based at least” and “the second data”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0025841 to Haynes et al. in view of U.S. Patent 11,565,709 to Caldwell et al.
As per claim 9, Haynes discloses a system (Haynes; At least the abstract) comprising:
one or more processors to (Haynes; At least paragraph(s) 81):
receive, for performing a plurality of simulations to test one or more autonomous systems associated with a simulated object, input data representative of one or more maps indicating at least a first location of the simulated object within an environment a simulated environment at a first time and one or more representations of one or more second locations of the fust-simulated object within the simulated environment prior to the first time (Haynes; At least paragraph(s) 19, 22, and 27);
generate, based at least on one or more first neural networks from an ensemble of neural networks processing at least a first portion of the input data, first data representative of navigational goals for the simulated object within the simulated environment over one or more second times that are after the first time (Haynes; At least paragraph(s) 29-31, 34, 35, 49, and 50);
generate, based at least on one or more second neural networks from the ensemble of neural networks processing at least a second portion of the input data and the first data representative of the navigational goals for the simulated object, second data representative of possible trajectories to perform the navigational goals for the simulated object within the simulated environment over the one or more second times (Haynes; At least paragraph(s) 52-54, 56, and 57);
generate, based at least the second data, simulation data representative of the plurality of simulations that include the simulated object performing at least a portion of the possible trajectories (Haynes; At least paragraph(s) 62)
Haynes discloses receiving data object locations, and modeling and evaluating goals and trajectories of objects based on the object locations, but does not explicitly disclose to test the one or more autonomous systems associated with the simulated object; and causing, based at least on the simulation data, a performance of the plurality of simulation that include at least the simulated object performing the at least the portion of the possible trajectories within the simulated environment to test the one or more autonomous systems.
However, the above feature(s) are taught by Caldwell (Caldwell; At least the abstract and column 1, line(s) 62-67 and column 2, line(s) 13-18). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of Caldwell into the invention of Haynes with a reasonable expectation of success with the motivation of using a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way with predictable results. Simulation testing is safer, quicker, more controllable, etc. as discussed in the background of Caldwell and, therefore, would be obvious to use to test autonomous systems and their reactions, for example, to predicted goals and trajectories of surrounding vehicles.
As per claim 10, Haynes discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to: determine, based at least on one or more third neural networks processing at least a third portion of the input data, one or more predicted trajectories for one or more second simulated objects within the simulated environment, wherein the plurality of simulations further include the one or more second simulated objects one or more predicted trajectories within the simulated environment (Haynes; At least paragraph(s) 74; “based at least in part on the predicted future location of the objects” meaning that the trajectories of at least one second object is used).
As per claim 12, Haynes discloses plurality of simulations include at least: a first simulation that includes the simulated object performing a first possible trajectory associated with a first navigational goal of the navigational goals; and a second simulation that includes the simulated object performing a second possible trajectory associated with a second navigational goal of the navigational goals (Haynes; At least paragraph(s) 62; multiple goals and trajectories are determined, therefore, each one would be simulated).
As per claim 13, Haynes discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to: determine one or more metrics associated with the plurality of simulations as performed; and evaluate the plurality of simulations based at least on the one or more metrics (Haynes; At least paragraph(s) 62).
As per claim 15, Haynes discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to: determine, based at least on predicted trajectories associated with one or more second simulated objects within the simulated environment, scores associated with the possible trajectories; and determine, based at least on the scores, the at least the portion of the possible trajectories for performing the plurality of simulations (Haynes; At least paragraph(s) 62).
As per claim 17, Haynes discloses wherein the system is comprised in at least one a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing digital twin operations; a system for performing light transport simulation; a system for performing collaborative content creation for 3D assets; a system for performing deep learning operations; a system implemented using an edge device; a system implemented using a robot; a system for performing conversational AI operations; a system for generating synthetic data; a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs); a system implemented at least partially in a data center; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources (Haynes; At least the abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 18-20, and 22-25 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: None of the prior art, taken alone or in combination, teach a simulation of an object preforming a trajectory based on action data associated with navigational goals and a predicted trajectory of another object, along with the other limitations of the independent claim(s). The Examiner could find no motivation to combine references to read on all the limitations without improper hindsight.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 17-28, filed 06/01/2026, with respect to objections, 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections, and 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection of claims 1-8, 18-20, and 22 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections, 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections, and 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejections of claims 1-8, 18-20, and 22 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 28-29, filed 06/01/2028, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 9-17 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Caldwell.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892. The prior art shows the state of the art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/David P. Merlino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665