DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 10 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10 November 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jiao (US 2023/0003927).
Regarding independent claim 1, Jiao teaches a color converting panel (Fig. 3D) comprising a substrate (Fig. 3D; lowermost layer); a plurality of banks (Fig. 5A, Element 17; ¶ [0091]) disposed on the substrate, wherein the banks partition a red light emitting area (Fig. 3D, Element 111; ¶ [0063]), a green light emitting area (Fig. 3D, Element 121; ¶ [0063]), a blue light emitting area (Fig. 3D, Element 131; ¶ [0063]), and a white light emitting area (Fig. 3D, Element 141; ¶ [0065]); a red color conversion layer (Fig. 3D, Element 103; ¶ [0065]) disposed in the red light emitting area; a green color conversion layer (Fig. 3D, Element 101; ¶ [0065]) disposed in the green light emitting area; and a green color conversion layer (101) and a red color conversion layer (103) disposed in the white light emitting area (Fig. 3D).
Regarding claim 2, Jiao teaches the green color conversion layer (101) and the red color conversion layer (103) in the white light emitting area (141) stacked one on another (Fig. 3D).
Regarding claim 3, Jiao teaches the green color conversion layer (101) and the red color conversion layer (103) in the white light emitting area (141) mixed with each other to define a single layer (Fig. 3C).
Regarding claim 4, Jiao teaches a transmission layer (Fig. 5A, Element 18; ¶ [0092]) disposed in the blue light emitting area (131) and the white light emitting area (141).
Regarding claim 5, Jiao teaches the green color conversion layer (101), the red color conversion layer (103), and the transmission layer (18) in the white light emitting area stacked one on another (Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 6, Jiao teaches the green color conversion layer (101), the red color conversion layer (103), and the transmission layer (18) in the white light emitting area mixed with each other to define a single layer in the white light emitting area (Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 10, Jiao teaches a red color filter (Fig. 3D, Element 105; ¶ [0074]) disposed on the substrate and overlapping the red light emitting area; a green color filter (Fig. 3D, Element 106; ¶ [0075]) disposed on the substrate and overlapping the green light emitting area; and a blue color filter (Fig. 3D, Element 107; ¶ [0076]) disposed on the substrate and overlapping the blue light emitting area.
Regarding claim 11, Jiao teaches a reflective color filter (Fig. 4F, Element 151; ¶s [0078], [0091]) disposed on the substrate and overlapping the white light emitting area.
Regarding independent claim 12, Jiao teaches a color converting panel comprising a substrate (Fig. 3D; lowermost layer); a plurality of banks (Fig. 5A, Element 17; ¶ [0091]) disposed on the substrate, wherein the banks partition a red light emitting area (Fig. 3D, Element 111; ¶ [0063]), a green light emitting area (Fig. 3D, Element 121; ¶ [0063]), a blue light emitting area (Fig. 3D, Element 131; ¶ [0063]), and a white light emitting area (Fig. 3D, Element 141; ¶ [0065]); a red color conversion layer (Fig. 3D, Element 103; ¶ [0065]) disposed in the red light emitting area; a green color conversion layer (Fig. 3D, Element 101; ¶ [0065]) disposed in the green light emitting area; a blue color conversion layer (Fig. 3D, Element 104; ¶ [0076]) disposed in the blue light emitting area; and a scatterer layer disposed in the white light emitting area (¶ [0078]), wherein the scatterer layer is disposed to overlap the red color conversion layer, the green color conversion layer, and the blue color conversion layer (¶ [0078]).
Regarding independent claim 13, Jiao teaches a color converting panel comprising a substrate (Fig. 3D; lowermost layer); a plurality of banks (Fig. 5A, Element 17; ¶ [0091]) disposed on the substrate, where the banks partition a red light emitting area (Fig. 3D, Element 111; ¶ [0063]), a green light emitting area (Fig. 3D, Element 121; ¶ [0063]), a blue light emitting area (Fig. 3D, Element 131; ¶ [0063]), and a white light emitting area (Fig. 3D, Element 141; ¶ [0065]); a red color conversion layer (Fig. 3D, Element 103; ¶ [0065]) disposed in the red light emitting area; a green color conversion layer (Fig. 3D, Element 101; ¶ [0065]) disposed in the green light emitting area; a blue color conversion layer (Fig. 3D, Element 104; ¶ [0076]) disposed in the blue light emitting area; and a white color conversion layer disposed in the white light emitting area (¶ [0065]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiao (US 2023/0003927) in view of Lee (US 2020/0119101).
Regarding claim 7, Jiao teaches the limitations of claim 4 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify a blue color conversion layer disposed in the blue light emitting area and the white light emitting area.
Lee teaches a color converting panel comprising a blue color conversion layer (Fig. 27, Element BL) disposed in a blue light emitting area (Fig. 27, Element 123) and a white light emitting area (Fig. 27, Element 124) for obtaining excellent efficiency (¶ [0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the color converting panel of Jiao with the structure taught by Lee for obtaining excellent efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches a green color conversion layer (Fig. 27, Element 124P2), a red color conversion layer (Fig. 27, Element 124P1), and the blue color conversion layer (BL) in the white light emitting area stacked one on another.
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches the green color conversion layer (124P2), the red color conversion layer (124P1), and the blue color conversion layer (BL) in the white light emitting area sequentially arranged in a direction perpendicular to a thickness direction of a substrate.
Contact Information
/Kevin Quarterman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 5 February 2026