DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application No. 18/114,120 filed on February 24, 2023.
Acknowledgment
The amendment filed on 06/25/2026 responding to the Office action mailed on 03/25/2026, has been entered. The present Office action is made with all the suggested amendments being fully considered. Accordingly, pending in this Office action are claims 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto (US 2002/0158339).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamamoto (see, e.g., Fig. 6F and annotated Fig. 6F), teaches an apparatus comprising:
a first layer 12 comprising a first dielectric material, and first and second regions R1/R2 on a first side 1S of the first layer 12, the first regions R1 comprising a first surface S1 in a first plane P1, and each of the second regions R2 comprising a second surface S2 in a second plane P2 spaced away from the first plane P1 by a first distance d1, wherein sidewalls SW1 extend between the first surface S1 and the second surfaces S2 (see, e.g., par. 0116);
a second layer SL comprising:
a plurality of conductive features 18a/18b/18c, each conductive feature 18a/18b/18c comprising a bottom surface 18bs on one of the second surfaces S2 and a top surface 18ts opposite the bottom surface 18bs (see, e.g., par. 0134);
a barrier film 26 comprising a second dielectric material, the barrier film 26 contacting the sidewalls SW1 and the top surfaces 18ts (see, e.g., par. 0147); and
a layer of a third dielectric material 28 contacting portions of the barrier film 26 in contact with the top surfaces 18ts, wherein the third dielectric material 28 is different from the second dielectric material (see, e.g., pars. 0147-0148).
Regarding Claim 2, Yamamoto teaches all aspects of claim 1. Yamamoto (see, e.g., Fig. 6F and annotated Fig. 6F), teaches that:
each of the conductive features 18a/18b/18c comprises a conductive feature sidewall SW2 extending between the bottom surface 18bs and the top surface 18ts;
the barrier film 26 contacts the conductive feature sidewall SW2 and the first surface S1;
the layer of third dielectric material 28 contacts portions of the barrier film 26 in contact with the conductive feature sidewalls SW2; and
the third dielectric material 28 and the first dielectric material are a same material (i.e., SOG film) (see, e.g., pars. 0116, 0147).
Regarding Claim 3, Yamamoto teaches all aspects of claim 1. Yamamoto (see, e.g., Fig. 6F and annotated Fig. 6F), teaches that the second dielectric material comprises silicon and nitrogen (see, e.g., pars. 0157, 0259).
Regarding Claim 5, Yamamoto teaches all aspects of claim 1. Yamamoto (see, e.g., Fig. 6F and annotated Fig. 6F), teaches that the first dielectric material comprises a filler-less material (see, e.g., par. 0116).
Regarding Claim 7, Yamamoto teaches all aspects of claim 1. Yamamoto (see, e.g., Figs. 5B, 6F and annotated Fig. 6F), teaches that the first distance d1 is between 25 nanometers and 10 microns (see, e.g., par. 0131).
Regarding Claim 8, Yamamoto teaches all aspects of claim 1. Yamamoto (see, e.g., Figs. 5B, 6F and annotated Fig. 6F), teaches that the barrier film 26 is on the first surface S1 and has a thickness t1 on the first surface S1 equal to the first distance d1 (see, e.g., pars. 0131, 0157).
Regarding Claim 9, Yamamoto teaches all aspects of claim 1. Yamamoto (see, e.g., Figs. 5B, 6F and annotated Fig. 6F), teaches that the barrier film 26 is on the first surface S1 and has a thickness t1 on the first surface S1 less than the first distance d1 (see, e.g., pars. 0131, 0157).
Regarding Claim 10, Yamamoto teaches all aspects of claim 1. Yamamoto (see, e.g., Fig. 6F and annotated Fig. 6F), teaches that the second dielectric material comprises silicon and oxygen, or carbon and oxygen (see, e.g., par. 0147).
Regarding Claim 11, Yamamoto teaches all aspects of claim 10. Yamamoto (see, e.g., Fig. 6F and annotated Fig. 6F), teaches, further comprising:
a third layer 30 over the second layer SL, wherein the third layer 30 comprises:
third and fourth regions R3/R4 on a third side 3S, the third layer 30 comprising the first dielectric material, wherein the third regions R3 comprise a third surface S3 in a third plane P3, and each of the fourth regions R4 comprise a fourth surface S4 in a fourth plane P4 spaced away from the third plane P3 by a second distance d2, and second sidewalls SW3 extending between the third and fourth surfaces S3/S4 (see, e.g., par. 0154);
a plurality of second conductive features 22a, each second conductive feature 22a comprising a bottom surface 22bs on one of the fourth surfaces S4; and
a second barrier film 34 comprising the second dielectric material, the second barrier film 34 contacting the second sidewalls SW3 (see, e.g., par. 0160).
Regarding Claim 12, Yamamoto teaches all aspects of claim 11. Yamamoto (see, e.g., Fig. 6F and annotated Fig. 6F), teaches that the apparatus comprises processor circuitry (see, e.g., pars. 0292-0298, 0319).
Regarding Claim 13, Yamamoto (see, e.g., Figs. 6F, 27-29, and annotated Fig. 6F), teaches a system comprising:
a microprocessor comprising circuitry on an integrated circuit (IC) die, wherein the IC die comprises (see, e.g., pars. 0292-0298, 0319):
a first layer 12 comprising a first dielectric material and a first side TS, the first side 1S comprising first and second regions R1/R2, wherein the first region R1 comprises a first surface S1 in a first plane P1, each of the second regions R2 comprise a second surface S2 in a second plane P2 spaced away from the first plane P1 by a first distance d1, wherein sidewalls SW1 extend between the first S1 and second surfaces S2 (see, e.g., par. 0116);
a second layer SL comprising:
a plurality of conductive features 18a/18b/18c, each conductive feature 18a/18b/18c comprising a bottom surface 18bs in contact with one of the second regions R2 and a top surface 18ts opposite the bottom surface 18bs (see, e.g., par. 0134);
a barrier film 26 on the first surface S1 between first and second conductive features 22a, on the top surfaces 18ts, and comprising a second dielectric material (see, e.g., par. 0147);
a layer of third dielectric material 28 contacting portions of the barrier film 26 on the top surfaces 18ts, wherein the third dielectric material 28 is different from the second dielectric material (see, e.g., pars. 0147-0148).
Regarding Claim 14, Yamamoto teaches all aspects of claim 13. Yamamoto (see, e.g., Figs. 5B, 6F and annotated Fig. 6F), teaches that the barrier film 26 has a thickness t1 equal to the first distance d1 (see, e.g., pars. 0131, 0157).
Regarding Claim 15, Yamamoto teaches all aspects of claim 13. Yamamoto (see, e.g., Figs. 5B, 6F and annotated Fig. 6F), teaches that:
each of the conductive features 18a/18b/18c comprise a conductive feature sidewall SW2 extending between the bottom surface 18bs and the top surface 18ts; and
the barrier film 26 contacts the conductive feature sidewalls SW2;
the layer of third dielectric material 28 contacts portions of the barrier film 26 in contact with the conductive feature sidewalls SW2; and
the third dielectric material and the first dielectric material are a same material (i.e., SOG film) (see, e.g., pars. 0116, 0147).
Regarding Claim 16, Yamamoto teaches all aspects of claim 13. Yamamoto (see, e.g., Figs. 6F and annotated Fig. 6F), teaches that the second dielectric material comprises silicon and nitrogen (see, e.g., pars. 0157, 0259).
Regarding Claim 19, Yamamoto (see, e.g., Figs. 5A-6F, and annotated Fig. 6F), teaches a method comprising:
forming conductive features 18a/18b/18c on a first side 1S of a first layer 12 of an IC die, the first layer 12 comprising a first dielectric material, and first and second regions R1/R2 on the first side 1S, wherein each of the conductive features 18a/18b/18c comprises a bottom surface 18bs on a respective one of the second regions R2 and a top surface 18ts opposite the bottom surface 18bs (see, e.g., pars. 0116, 0134);
etching the first side TS to create a first surface S1 in a first plane P1 in the first regions R1 and second surfaces S2 in the second regions R2, wherein each of the second surfaces S2 are in a second plane P2 spaced away from the first plane P1 by a first distance d1, and sidewalls SW1 extend between the first surface S1 and the second surfaces S2 (see, e.g., par. 0116);
forming a barrier film 26 contacting the sidewalls SW1 and the top surfaces 18ts, the barrier film 26 comprising a second dielectric material (see, e.g., par. 0147)
forming a layer of third dielectric material 28 contacting portions of the barrier film 26 in contact with the top surfaces 18ts, wherein the third dielectric material 28 is different from the second dielectric material (see, e.g., pars. 0147-0148).
Regarding Claim 20, Yamamoto teaches all aspects of claim 19. Yamamoto (see, e.g., Figs. 5A-6F and annotated Fig. 6F), teaches that the second dielectric material (i.e., material of layer 12) comprises silicon and nitrogen, silicon and oxygen, or carbon and oxygen, and the third dielectric material 28 comprises composite polymer/filler material, an organic material, or a polyimide (see, e.g., pars. 0116, 0148).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US 2002/0158339) in view of Paek (US 2014/0138817).
Regarding Claims 4 and 17, Yamamoto teaches all aspects of claims 1 and 13. Yamamoto (see, e.g., Fig. 6F and annotated Fig. 6F), teaches that the first dielectric material comprises, a silicone oxide or BPSG (borophospho silicate glass) film deposited by CVD, a silicon nitride film deposited by CVD, a SOG film (see, e.g., par. 0116). Yamamoto does not teach that the first dielectric material comprises composite polymer/filler material, an organic material, or a polyimide.
Yamamoto discloses the claimed invention except for the use of silicone oxide or silicon nitride for the dielectric material instead of an organic material. Paek, on the other hand, teaches that an organic material and silicone oxide or silicon nitride are equivalent materials known in the art (see, e.g., par. 0095). Therefore, because these insulating materials were art-recognized equivalents at the time of the invention, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute an organic material for silicone oxide or silicon nitride since the substitution would yield predictable results. See Supreme Court decision in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. _, 82 YSPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US 2002/0158339).
Regarding Claims 6 and 18, Yamamoto teaches all aspects of claims 1 and 13. Yamamoto (see, e.g., Fig. 6F and annotated Fig. 6F), teaches that the first surface S1 has a first surface roughness value, the second surface S2 has a second surface roughness value (every surface has roughness).
Yamamoto does not teach that the first surface roughness value is greater than the second surface roughness value.
However, this claim limitation is merely considered a change in surface roughness of the first and/or second surfaces in Yamamoto’s device. The specific claimed roughness relationship, absent any criticality, is only considered to be an obvious modification of the roughness of the first and/or second surfaces in Yamamoto’s device, as the courts have held that changes in roughness, without any criticality, are within the level of skill in the art. According to the courts, a particular roughness, is nothing more than one among numerous roughnesses that a person having ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide using routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Accordingly, since Applicant’s disclosure does not teach why having the first surface roughness value being greater than the second surface roughness value, is critical to the invention (see next paragraph below), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the claimed roughness relationship in Yamamoto’s device.
CRITICALITY
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed surface roughness or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon a particular chosen roughness or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen roughness is critical. See In re Aller,
220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicants argue:
Yamamoto does not appear to disclose “a layer of third dielectric material contacting portions of the barrier film in contact with the top surfaces, wherein the third dielectric material is different from the second dielectric material”.
The examiner responds:
Yamamoto clearly discloses a layer of third dielectric material 28 contacting portions of the barrier film 26 in contact with the top surfaces 18ts, wherein the third dielectric material 28 is different from the second dielectric material (i.e., film 26 is fluorinated silicon oxide and film 28 is siloxane) (see, e.g., pars. 0147-0148).
The Applicants argue:
Yamamoto does not appear to recognize that surface roughness is a results-effective variable with respect to protecting against intralayer electromigration.
The examiner responds:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the criticality that the first surface roughness value is greater than the second surface roughness value were not found persuasive to overcome the rejection of the claims. For example, to overcome the rejection of claim 6 and rebut the examiners assertion that the applicants have failed to establish the criticality of the claimed roughness, the applicants stated that “an etch process may selectively increase the surface roughness of the first regions of the first surface between adjacent conductive features to add length to a possible path of electromigration”. Further, the Applicants stated that “As a result, the structures and features described herein may lengthen the time period before electromigration failure occurs or may prevent electromigration failure altogether. As such, a further advantage of the integrated circuits described herein is that product lifetime may be extended”.
To be of probative value, applicants’ assertion should be supported by actual proof. The MPEP gives guidelines on how to demonstrate the criticality of a claimed value, range, etc. See, e.g., §716.02(d). As explained therein, the applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show criticality of the claimed range. The evidence relied upon should establish “that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance.” Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). The applicants, however, have failed to present any data showing that having a value of the first surface roughness being greater than a value of the second surface roughness is critical. Due to the absence of said data, the examiner concludes that applicants’ assertion that the claimed roughness relationship is critical constitutes mere argument. Therefore, since the applicants have failed to establish the criticality of the roughness relationship and since the cited art shows all the other limitations in the claim, claim 6 stands rejected under Yamamoto.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Wael Fahmy can be reached on (571)272-1705. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Nelson Garces/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814