DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pub. No.: US 2019/0203983 A1 (herein “Jeon”).
Regarding claim 1.
Jeon discloses a phase-change heat dissipater (Fig. 1; 300 and 400), comprising at least two evaporators (310 and 410), at least one condenser (320 and 420), and at least two sets of heat transfer pipelines (first pipelines 330 and 340, and second pipelines 430 and 440), wherein the at least two evaporators and at least one condenser form at least two circulating heat dissipation circuits through the at least two sets of heat transfer pipelines (shown in Fig. 1), and a phase-change medium is filled in the at least two circulating heat dissipation circuits ([0076]);
wherein the at least two evaporators are arranged sequentially along a vertical direction which is parallel to a direction of gravity (shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2.
Jeon discloses the phase-change heat dissipater according to claim 1, wherein at least two condensers (320 and 420) are provided, and the at least two condensers are in communication with the at least two evaporators respectively through the at least two circulating heat dissipation circuits (shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5.
Jeon discloses the phase-change heat dissipater according to claim 1, wherein a spacing is reserved between two adjacent evaporators (shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6.
Jeon disclose a power module, comprising a heat source (210 and 220) and the phase-change heat dissipater according to claim 1, wherein the heat source is arranged in contact with the at least two evaporators of the phase-change heat dissipater (shown in Fig. 1).
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pub. No.: US 2015/0062821 A1 (herein “Yoshikawa”).
Regarding claim 1.
Yoshikawa discloses a phase-change heat dissipater (Figs. 5A and 6), comprising at least two evaporators (110), at least one condenser (Fig. 5A; condensers 320) (Fig. 6; condensers 321 and 322), and at least two sets of heat transfer pipelines (Fig. 5A; 131 and 132) (Fig. 6; 130), wherein the at least two evaporators and at least one condenser form at least two circulating heat dissipation circuits through the at least two sets of heat transfer pipelines (shown in Figs. 5A and 6), and a phase-change medium is filled in the at least two circulating heat dissipation circuits ([0011]);
wherein the at least two evaporators are arranged sequentially along a vertical direction which is parallel to a direction of gravity (shown in Figs. 5A and 6).
Regarding claim 2.
Yoshikawa discloses the phase-change heat dissipater according to claim 1, wherein at least two condensers (Fig. 5A; condensers 320) (Fig. 6; condensers 321 and 322) are provided, and the at least two condensers are in communication with the at least two evaporators respectively through the at least two circulating heat dissipation circuits (shown in Figs. 5A and 6).
Regarding claim 5.
Yoshikawa discloses the phase-change heat dissipater according to claim 1, wherein a spacing is reserved between two adjacent evaporators (shown in Figs. 5A and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Patent No.: US 9,968,003 B2 (herein “Sakamoto”).
Regarding claim 3.
Jeon discloses the phase-change heat dissipater according to claim 2, but not that a condensing air duct is provided outside the at least two condensers, and the at least two condensers are arranged sequentially along an extending direction of the condensing air duct.
Sakamoto discloses a phase-change heat dissipater, wherein a condensing air duct (through 300) is provided outside the at least two condensers, and the at least two condensers are arranged sequentially along an extending direction of the condensing air duct (shown in Figs. 1 and 2 – along X direction).
Sakamoto states (col. 3, ln. 66) that by using the cooling device according to the present invention or the like, the size of the cooling device or the like can be reduced without deteriorating a function to dissipate heat generated by a heat generating element. Therefore, in an attempt to improve the size of the heat dissipater, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heat dissipater of Jeon with the condensing air duct of Sakamoto.
Regarding claim 4.
The combined teachings of Jeon and Sakamoto disclose the phase-change heat dissipater according to claim 3, wherein the condensing air duct extends along the vertical direction (Jeon: condensers arranged in the vertical direction).
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto in view of Jeon.
Regarding claim 6.
Sakamoto discloses a power module (Fig. 1 – 1000), comprising a heat source (220, 230) and a phase-change heat dissipater, wherein the heat source is arranged in contact with the at least two evaporators of the phase-change heat dissipater (220 and 230 in contact with 400 and 410).
Sakamoto does not disclose the phase-change heat dissipater according to claim 1.
Jeon discloses the phase-change heat dissipater according to claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the phase-change heat dissipator of Sakamoto with the phase-change heat dissipator of Jeon because they are equivalent structures used for the same purpose – phase change heat dissipation between multiple evaporators and condensers.
Regarding claim 7.
The combined teachings of Sakamoto and Jeon disclose the power module according to claim 6, wherein the power module further comprises a housing (Sakamoto: 300), the heat source and the phase-change heat dissipater are arranged in the housing (Sakamoto: shown in Figs. 1 and 2), a condensing air duct is formed in the housing (Sakamoto: Fig. 2 – wall of 300 form duct for fan 800), and the at least one condenser of the phase-change heat dissipater is located in the condensing air duct (Sakamoto: shown in Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 8.
The combined teachings of Sakamoto and Jeon disclose the power module according to claim 7, wherein at least two condensers are provided (Sakamoto: 700, 710), and the at least two condensers are in communication with the at least two evaporators respectively through the at least two circulating heat dissipation circuits (Sakamoto: via 500 and 600, via 510 and 610);
the at least two condensers are arranged sequentially or side by side along an extending direction of the condensing air duct (Sakamoto: 700 and 710 arranged sequentially in duct).
Regarding claim 9.
The combined teachings of Sakamoto and Jeon disclose the power module according to claim 8, wherein the condensing air duct extends along the vertical direction (Jeon: arranged in the vertical direction).
Regarding claim 10.
The combined teachings of Sakamoto and Jeon disclose the power module according to claim 6, wherein the heat source can be an IGBT power module and/or an IGCT power module (Sakamoto: col. 5, ll. 10-19).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered, however, they are made with respect to new limitations added by amendment. In response, Applicant is directed to the rejection above which addresses these new limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JON T. SCHERMERHORN JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763