Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that elements 126 lower side and 142 lower side of Kim cannot both be main surfaces. However, applicant describes the die carrier to comprise two main surfaces (first and second) in the specification. Regardless, the conductive elements connected to the pads are on the same side exposed by the encapsulant. Therefore, a main surface (142 lower) of the encapsulant (120) is coplanar with upper surfaces (144) of the first electrical connector (104) and a main surface (126) of the encapsulant (120) is coplanar with the second electrical connector (131/132). Element 131 is electrically connected to 106 and element 132 is electrically connected to 108, both of which are exposed and coplanar with surface 142. Regarding claim 7, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11-14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0357729).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a semiconductor package, comprising:
a die carrier (114/116) comprising a first main face (down) and a second main face (up) opposite to the first main face
a semiconductor die (102) disposed on the die carrier (114/116), the semiconductor die comprising a first pad (138) and a second pad (132)
a first electrical connector (104) disposed on the first pad (138)
an encapsulant (120) at least partially covering the semiconductor die (102), the die carrier (114/116), and the first electrical connector (104)
an insulation layer (112) disposed on the second main face (up) of the die carrier (114/116)
wherein upper surfaces of the first electrical connector (104) and the second electrical connector (131 or 132) are not covered by the encapsulant (120)
wherein a main surface (126/142) of the encapsulant (120) is coplanar with the upper surfaces of the first electrical connector (104) and the second electrical connector (131)
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the semiconductor die comprises a vertical transistor in which the first pad (138S) is disposed on a first main face (down) of the semiconductor die (102) remote from the die carrier (114/116) and the second pad (132D) is disposed on a second main face (up) of the semiconductor die (102) and connected with the first main face (down) of the die carrier (116).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the first pad (138) is a source pad (138) and the second pad (132) is a drain pad (132) (paragraph 37).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a leadframe, wherein the die carrier is part of the leadframe (Figure 12; paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the insulation layer (112) comprises one or more of an organic insulator, a polymer, a resin, an epoxy resin, a ceramic material, or one of the above filled with ceramic particles (paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the insulation layer (112) is an integral insulation layer (situated between metals 116 and 118) of the die carrier (Figure 5; paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the insulation layer (112) is a part of and contiguous with the encapsulant (120).
Regarding claim 21, Kim discloses a semiconductor package, comprising:
a leadframe (108)
a die carrier (116) that is part of the leadframe (108), the die carrier comprising a first main face (126) and a second main face (115) opposite to the first main face (126)
a semiconductor die (101/102) disposed on the die carrier (116), the semiconductor die comprising a first and second pad
a first electrical connector (104) disposed on the first pad (138)
an encapsulant (120) at least partially covering the semiconductor die (101/102), the die carrier (116), and the first electrical connector (104)
an insulation layer (112) disposed on the second main face (115) of the die carrier (116)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0357729) in view of Ichiryu et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0027814).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kim does not disclose a further pad disposed on a first main face of the semiconductor die remote from the die carrier; and a further electrical connector disposed on the further pad, wherein a surface of the further electrical connector is not covered by the encapsulant. However, Ichiryu discloses a further pad (35 ohmic pad) disposed on a first main face of the semiconductor die (3) remote from the die carrier (2); and a further electrical connector (35 pad electrode) disposed on the further pad (paragraph 118), wherein a surface of the further electrical connector (35) is not covered by the encapsulant (4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device of Kim to form further pads in relation to the encapsulant, as taught by Ichiryu, since it can allow for improved humidity resistance (paragraph 54) and heat dissipation through conductor layers (paragraph 58).
Regarding claim 8, Ichiryu discloses a main surface of the encapsulant (4) is coplanar with the surface of the further electrical connector (71) that is not covered by the encapsulant (40). As explained above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Kim in view of Ichiryu.
Regarding claim 9, Ichiryu discloses the further pad comprises a gate pad (35G). As explained above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Kim in view of Ichiryu.
Regarding claim 10, Ichiryu discloses the semiconductor die (3) comprises a lateral transistor (paragraph 117) in which the first pad (35) comprises a source pad (35S) and the second pad (35) comprises a drain pad (35D) and both the first and second pads are disposed on a first main face (upper side) of the semiconductor die (3) remote from the die carrier (2). As explained above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Kim in view of Ichiryu.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0357729) in view of Mamitsu et al. (US Patent No. 6,703,707).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a semiconductor device module, comprising:
a die carrier (116) comprising a first main face and a second main face opposite the first main face
a semiconductor die (102) disposed on the die carrier (116), the semiconductor die (102) comprising a first pad (138) and a second pad (132)
a first electrical connector (104) disposed on the first pad (138)
an encapsulant (120) at least partially covering the semiconductor die (102), the die carrier (116), and the first electrical connector (104)
an insulation layer (112) disposed on the second main face (115) of the die carrier (116)
Kim does not disclose a package carrier comprising an opening for the semiconductor package. However, Mamitsu discloses a package carrier (160) with an opening (within 162) enclosing a package (101/102) (Figure 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the package of Kim to be included in a package carrier opening as taught by Mamitsu, since it can improve the radiation property of the device and electrical conductivity (col. 2, lines 17-34).
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0357729) in view of Mamitsu et al. (US Patent No. 6,703,707), and further in view of Ichiryu et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0027814).
Regarding claim 16, Kim/Mamitsu discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 15 above. Kim?Mamitsu does not disclose the package carrier is a printed circuit board. However, Ichiryu discloses the package carrier is a printed circuit board (paragraph 50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the package carrier of Kim/Mamitsu to be a printed circuit board, as taught by Ichiryu, since it can imprive heat dissipation properties (paragraphs 83-84) and thermal resistance to reduce bonding re-melting during secondary implementation process (paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 17, Ichiryu discloses a first insulation layer (38) covering at least portions of the package carrier (2) and the semiconductor package (3). As explained above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Kim in view of Ichiryu.
Regarding claim 18, Ichiryu discloses the first insulation layer (38) comprises electrical vias (71) connected with the first electrical connector (35). As explained above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Kim in view of Ichiryu.
Regarding claim 19, Ichiryu discloses a second insulation layer (8) disposed above a first main face of the first insulation layer (38); and a third insulation layer (9) disposed above a second main face of the first insulation layer (38). As explained above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Kim in view of Ichiryu.
Regarding claim 20, Ichiryu discloses a heatsink (5) applied to a lower surface; and electrical or electronic components (3) applied to an upper surface (Figure 7). As explained above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Kim in view of Ichiryu.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.R.P/ 5/13/2026Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897