DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 21, applicant argues that element 116 cannot be interpreted to be part of Kim’s leadframe. However, element 116 does structurally support the die and makes external connections via element 109. In an effort to advance prosecution, new rejection in view of Essig et al. (US Publication No. 2022/0020605) are set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 15, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Essig et al. (US Publication No. 2022/0020605).
Regarding claim 1, Essig discloses a semiconductor package, comprising:
a die carrier (1) comprising a first main face (upper) and a second main face (lower) opposite to the first main face
a semiconductor die (30) disposed on the die carrier (1), the semiconductor die comprising a first pad (32) and a second pad (31)
a first electrical connector (41) disposed on the first pad (32)
a second electrical connector (2) connected with formed directly on the first main face of the die carrier (1)
an encapsulant (7) at least partially covering the semiconductor die (30), the die carrier (1), the first electrical connector (41), and the second electrical connector (2)
and an insulation layer (8) disposed on the second main face of the die carrier (1)
wherein upper surfaces of the first electrical connector (41) and the second electrical connector (2) are not covered by the encapsulant (7)
wherein a main surface of the encapsulant (7) is coplanar with the upper surfaces of the first electrical connector (41) and the second electrical connector (2) (Figure 12)
Regarding claim 15, Essig discloses a semiconductor device module, comprising:
a package carrier (1) comprising an opening (52)
a semiconductor package (30)
wherein the semiconductor package (30) is disposed in the opening (52) and comprises:
a die carrier (6) comprising a first main face (upper) and a second main face (lower) opposite to the first main face
a semiconductor die (30) disposed on the die carrier (6), the semiconductor die comprising a first pad (32) and a second pad (33)
a first electrical connector (42) disposed on the first pad (5)
an encapsulant (7) at least partially covering the semiconductor die (30), the die carrier (6), and the first electrical connector (42)
an insulation layer (8) disposed on (on via the package carrier 1) the second main face of the die carrier (6)
Regarding claim 21, Essig discloses a semiconductor package, comprising:
a leadframe (50)
a die carrier (1) that is part of the leadframe (50), the die carrier comprising a first main face (upper) and a second main face (lower) opposite to the first main face
a semiconductor die (30) disposed on the die carrier (1), the semiconductor die comprising a first pad (32) and a second pad (33)
a first electrical connector (41) disposed on the first pad (32)
an encapsulant (7) at least partially covering the semiconductor die (30), the die carrier (1), and the first electrical connector (41)
an insulation layer (8) disposed on the second main face of the die carrier (1)
Regarding claim 22, Essig discloses the second electrical connector is plated on the first main face of the die carrier (paragraph 91).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0357729).
Regarding claim 21, Kim discloses a semiconductor package, comprising:
a leadframe (108)
a die carrier (116) that is part of the leadframe (108), the die carrier comprising a first main face (126) and a second main face (115) opposite to the first main face (126)
a semiconductor die (101/102) disposed on the die carrier (116), the semiconductor die comprising a first and second pad
a first electrical connector (104) disposed on the first pad (138)
an encapsulant (120) at least partially covering the semiconductor die (101/102), the die carrier (116), and the first electrical connector (104)
an insulation layer (112) disposed on the second main face (115) of the die carrier (116)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0357729) in view of Essig et al. (US Publication No. 2022/0020605).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a semiconductor package, comprising:
a die carrier (114/116) comprising a first main face (down) and a second main face (up) opposite to the first main face
a semiconductor die (102) disposed on the die carrier (114/116), the semiconductor die comprising a first pad (138) and a second pad (132)
a first electrical connector (104) disposed on the first pad (138)
an encapsulant (120) at least partially covering the semiconductor die (102), the die carrier (114/116), and the first electrical connector (104)
an insulation layer (112) disposed on the second main face (up) of the die carrier (114/116)
wherein upper surfaces of the first electrical connector (104) and the second electrical connector (131 or 132) are not covered by the encapsulant (120)
wherein a main surface (126/142) of the encapsulant (120) is coplanar with the upper surfaces of the first electrical connector (104) and the second electrical connector (131)
Kim does not disclose the second electrical connector formed directly on the first main face of the die carrier. However, Essig discloses first (12), second (31), third (41), and fourth (42) electrodes, with the second electrode (31) formed directly on the first main surface (101) of a die carrier (1) with a main surface of the encapsulant being coplanar with upper services of the electrical connectors. It would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the electrodes of Kim to have the second electrode on the main surface of the die carrier, as taught by Essig, since it realizes electrical connections without costly via and RDL structures, thereby improving yield and reducing process costs (paragraph 53).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the semiconductor die comprises a vertical transistor in which the first pad (138S) is disposed on a first main face (down) of the semiconductor die (102) remote from the die carrier (114/116) and the second pad (132D) is disposed on a second main face (up) of the semiconductor die (102) and connected with the first main face (down) of the die carrier (116).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the first pad (138) is a source pad (138) and the second pad (132) is a drain pad (132) (paragraph 37).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a leadframe, wherein the die carrier is part of the leadframe (Figure 12; paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the insulation layer (112) comprises one or more of an organic insulator, a polymer, a resin, an epoxy resin, a ceramic material, or one of the above filled with ceramic particles (paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the insulation layer (112) is an integral insulation layer (situated between metals 116 and 118) of the die carrier (Figure 5; paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the insulation layer (112) is a part of and contiguous with the encapsulant (120).
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0357729) in view of Essig et al. (US Publication No. 2022/0020605), and further in view of Ichiryu et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0027814).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kim does not disclose a further pad disposed on a first main face of the semiconductor die remote from the die carrier; and a further electrical connector disposed on the further pad, wherein a surface of the further electrical connector is not covered by the encapsulant. However, Ichiryu discloses a further pad (35 ohmic pad) disposed on a first main face of the semiconductor die (3) remote from the die carrier (2); and a further electrical connector (35 pad electrode) disposed on the further pad (paragraph 118), wherein a surface of the further electrical connector (35) is not covered by the encapsulant (4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device of Kim to form further pads in relation to the encapsulant, as taught by Ichiryu, since it can allow for improved humidity resistance (paragraph 54) and heat dissipation through conductor layers (paragraph 58).
Regarding claim 8, Ichiryu discloses a main surface of the encapsulant (4) is coplanar with the surface of the further electrical connector (71) that is not covered by the encapsulant (40). As explained above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Kim in view of Ichiryu.
Regarding claim 9, Ichiryu discloses the further pad comprises a gate pad (35G). As explained above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Kim in view of Ichiryu.
Regarding claim 10, Ichiryu discloses the semiconductor die (3) comprises a lateral transistor (paragraph 117) in which the first pad (35) comprises a source pad (35S) and the second pad (35) comprises a drain pad (35D) and both the first and second pads are disposed on a first main face (upper side) of the semiconductor die (3) remote from the die carrier (2). As explained above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Kim in view of Ichiryu.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0357729) in view of Essig et al. (US Publication No. 2022/0020605).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a semiconductor device module, comprising:
a die carrier (116) comprising a first main face and a second main face opposite the first main face
a semiconductor die (102) disposed on the die carrier (116), the semiconductor die (102) comprising a first pad (138) and a second pad (132)
a first electrical connector (104) disposed on the first pad (138)
an encapsulant (120) at least partially covering the semiconductor die (102), the die carrier (116), and the first electrical connector (104)
an insulation layer (112) disposed on the second main face (115) of the die carrier (116)
Kim does not disclose a package carrier comprising an opening for the semiconductor package. However, Essig discloses a package carrier (1) with an opening (52) enclosing a package (30) (Figure 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the package of Kim to be included in a package carrier opening as taught by Essig, since it realizes electrical connections without costly via and RDL structures, thereby improving yield and reducing process costs (paragraph 53).
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0357729) in view of Essig et al. (US Publication No. 2022/0020605), and further in view of Ichiryu et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0027814).
Regarding claim 16, Kim/Essig discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 15 above. Kim/Essig does not disclose the package carrier is a printed circuit board. However, Ichiryu discloses the package carrier is a printed circuit board (paragraph 50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the package carrier of Kim/Essig to be a printed circuit board, as taught by Ichiryu, since it can improve heat dissipation properties (paragraphs 83-84) and thermal resistance to reduce bonding re-melting during secondary implementation process (paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 17, Ichiryu discloses a first insulation layer (38) covering at least portions of the package carrier (2) and the semiconductor package (3). As explained above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Kim in view of Ichiryu.
Regarding claim 18, Ichiryu discloses the first insulation layer (38) comprises electrical vias (71) connected with the first electrical connector (35). As explained above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Kim in view of Ichiryu.
Regarding claim 19, Ichiryu discloses a second insulation layer (8) disposed above a first main face of the first insulation layer (38); and a third insulation layer (9) disposed above a second main face of the first insulation layer (38). As explained above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Kim in view of Ichiryu.
Regarding claim 20, Ichiryu discloses a heatsink (5) applied to a lower surface; and electrical or electronic components (3) applied to an upper surface (Figure 7). As explained above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Kim in view of Ichiryu.
Conclusion
/N.R.P/ 9/11/2026Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897