Claim Objections
Claim 20, line 7 are objected to because of the following informalities: “an axis within” should be - -the axis within- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20, line 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: “an inlet” should be - -a first inlet- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20, line 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the inlet” should be - -the first inlet- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20, line 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: “an inlet” should be - -a second inlet- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20, line 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the inlet” should be - -the second inlet- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8-9, 14,16, 20, 22, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witham et al (US 20170009995 as referenced in OA dated 1/23/2024) in view of Locke et al (US 20210172604 as referenced in OA dated 1/23/2024)
Annotated Figured 3 of Witham
Regarding claim 1, Witham discloses an assembly (Figure 3) for a turbine engine (Figure 1; 10), comprising:
an air swirler structure (Figure 3; 33) including a swirler wall (Annotated Figure 3; labeled swirler wall), an inner passage (Annotated Figure 3; labeled inner passage), a first air swirler passage (Annotated Figure 3; labeled air swirler passage), and a second air swirler passage (Annotated Figure 3; labeled second air swirler passage), the swirler wall including a flow guide surface (Annotated Figure 3; labeled flow guide surface) and a back surface (Annotated Figure 3; labeled back surface as denoted by dashed lines), the back surface extending axially along an axis (Annotated Figure 3; labeled axis) and defining a receptacle (Annotated Figure 3; labeled receptacle), at least an inner portion (The portion of the flow guide surface radially inward of the radially inner instance of Figure 3; 33a) of the flow guide surface having a frustoconical geometry (The inner portion has a frustoconical geometry), the inner passage extending axially along the axis within the air swirler structure to a swirler outlet (The rightmost vertical line of Annotated Figure 3; labeled inner passage is the swirler outlet), the air swirler passage extending radially into the air swirler structure, the first air swirler passage extending longitudinally along the flow guide surface within the air swirler structure, the first air swirler passage and the second air swirler passage fluidly coupled with the inner passage, the first air swirler passage axially between the second air swirler passage and the swirler wall (Along Annotated Figure 3; labeled line, the first air swirler passage is axially between the second air swirler passage and the swirler wall. Annotated Figure 3; labeled line is parallel to Annotated Figure 3; labeled axis), the first air swirler passage configured to direct swirled air in a first circumferential direction (Functional Language, the first air swirler passage directs swirled air in a first circumferential direction);
an injector nozzle (Figure 3; 31, 36) projecting axially into the inner passage, the swirler wall, the flow guide surface and the back surface each extending along a longitudinal centerline (Annotated Figure 3; labeled centerline denoted by the dashed lines) to a distal inner end (The distal inner end of the swirler wall) of the swirler wall, and the longitudinal centerline having a trajectory (The trajectory of the centerline) extending towards a tip (The tip of the injector nozzle) of the injector nozzle; and
a nozzle guide (Figure 3; 38b) coupling the injector nozzle to the air swirler structure, the nozzle guide axially abutted against and radially slidable (Functional Language, the spacing between the nozzle guide and Annotated Figure 3; labeled mounting plate allows for radial sliding of the nozzle guide along the back surface. Furthermore, Paragraph 0039. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Figure 2; 8a and 8b is analogous to Figure 3; 38a and 38b) along the back surface, the nozzle guide including an outer portion (The portion of the nozzle guide in Annotated Figure 3; labeled receptable) configured within the receptacle,
wherein:
the swirler wall projects longitudinally along the longitudinal centerline in a radial inward direction (The radial inward direction of the swirler wall) towards the axis to the distal inner end of the swirler wall;
a trajectory (The portion of Annotated Figure 3; labeled centerline of the radial inner portion) of the longitudinal centerline along a radial inner portion (Annotated Figure 3; labeled radial inner portion) of the swirler wall includes a radial inward component (The radial inward component of the trajectory) and an axial downstream component (The axial downstream component of the trajectory), with at least a portion of the longitudinal centerline along the radial inner portion of the swirler wall following a curved trajectory (The trajectory is curved); and
at least a portion of the frustoconical geometry of the inner portion of the flow guide surface follows a curved trajectory (The frustoconical geometry follows a curved trajectory) when viewed in a reference plane (The reference plane parallel to at least one of the axis and the longitudinal centerline) parallel with one or both of the axis and the longitudinal centerline, such that the radial inner portion of the swirler wall and the inner portion of the flow guide surface are configured as an air flow guide (Functional Language, The radial inner portion and inner portion are configured as an air flow guide.).
Witham does not disclose wherein the first air swirler passage configured to direct swirled air in a first circumferential direction, and the second air swirler passage configured to direct swirled air in a second circumferential direction, wherein the first circumferential direction is opposite the second circumferential direction.
However, Locke teaches a first air swirler passage (Figure 3; 92) configured to direct swirled air in a first circumferential direction (Functional Language, The circumferential direction of the first air swirler passage, Paragraph 0049), and a second air swirler passage (Figure 3; 110) configured to direct swirled air in a second circumferential direction (Functional Language, The circumferential direction of the first air swirler passage, Paragraph 0049), wherein the first circumferential direction is opposite the second circumferential direction (Functional Language, Paragraph 0049).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Witham wherein the first air swirler passage configured to direct swirled air in a first circumferential direction, and the second air swirler passage configured to direct swirled air in a second circumferential direction, wherein the first circumferential direction is opposite the second circumferential direction as taught by and suggested by Locke because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Locke’s opposite swirling airflows according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Witham’s assembly, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case providing opposite swirling airflows, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification makes the air swirled from the first and second swirler passages to be in opposite direction).
Regarding claim 3, Witham in view of Locke teaches the invention as claimed.
Witham further discloses wherein the air swirler structure further includes a mounting plate (Annotated Figure 3; labeled mounting plate) connected to the swirler wall; and
the outer portion of the nozzle guide is received within the receptacle formed by and axially between the swirler wall and the mounting plate.
Regarding claim 4, Witham in view of Locke teaches the invention as claimed.
Witham further discloses wherein the nozzle guide is radially abutted against the injector nozzle.
Regarding claim 5, Witham in view of Locke teaches the invention as claimed.
Witham further discloses wherein the nozzle guide circumscribes and is slidable axially along the injector nozzle (Functional Language, The nozzle guide can slide axially along the injector nozzle. Furthermore, Paragraph 0039. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Figure 2; 8a and 8b is analogous to Figure 3; 38a and 38b).
Regarding claim 8, Witham in view of Locke teaches the invention as claimed.
Witham further discloses wherein
the swirler wall is a first swirler wall (The swirler wall is a first swirler wall), and the air swirler structure further includes a second swirler wall (Annotated Figure 3; labeled second swirler wall), a third swirler wall (Annotated Figure 3; labeled third swirler wall) and a plurality of first swirler vanes (Figure 3; 33a for the first swirler passage), the third swirler wall axially between the first air swirler passage and the second air swirler passage (Along Annotated Figure 3; labeled line, the third swirler wall is axially between the first and second air swirler passages. Annotated Figure 3; labeled line is parallel to Annotated Figure 3; labeled axis);
the first air swirler passage is formed by and is axially between the first swirler wall and the third swirler wall (Along Annotated Figure 3; labeled line, the first swirler passage is between the first and third swirler walls. Annotated Figure 3; labeled line is parallel to Annotated Figure 3; labeled axis); and
each of the plurality of first swirler vanes extends axially across the first air swirler passage from the first swirler wall to the third swirler wall (The first swirler vanes extend axially and radially with respect to Annotated Figure 3; labeled axis).
Regarding claim 9, Witham in view of Locke teaches the invention as claimed.
Witham further discloses wherein the plurality of first swirler vanes are connected to a radial outer portion (The portion of the first swirler wall that is radially at and outward of the plurality of swirler vanes) of the first swirler wall; and
a radial inner portion (The portion of the first swirler wall that is radially inward of the plurality of swirler vanes) of the first swirler wall includes the inner portion of the flow guide surface having the frustoconical geometry. Regarding claim 14, Witham discloses the invention as claimed.
Witham further discloses wherein the nozzle guide includes a foot (Annotated Figure 3; labeled foot) that radially engages the injector nozzle; and
a first portion (The portion of the foot that is inside Annotated Figure 3; labeled inner passage) of the foot radially tapers towards the injector nozzle as the first portion of the foot projects axially into the inner passage along the injector nozzle.
Regarding claim 14, Witham in view of Locke teaches the invention as claimed.
Witham further discloses wherein
the nozzle guide includes a foot (Annotated Figure 3; labeled foot) that radially engages the injector nozzle; and
a first portion (The portion of the foot that is inside Annotated Figure 3; labeled inner passage) of the foot radially tapers towards the injector nozzle as the first portion of the foot projects axially into the inner passage along the injector nozzle.
Regarding claim 16, Witham in view of Locke teaches the invention as claimed.
Witham does not disclose the air swirler structure further includes an annulus and a third air swirler passage;
the annulus is radially outboard from the inner passage, and the annulus extends circumferentially about and axially along the inner passage; and
the third air swirler passage extends radially into the air swirler structure to the annulus.
However, Locke teaches wherein
an air swirler structure (Figure 7; 100, 64) further includes an annulus (Figure 3; 86) and a third air swirler passage (Figure 3; 130);
the annulus is radially outboard from an inner passage (Figure 3; 84), and the annulus extends circumferentially about and axially along the inner passage; and
the third air swirler passage extends radially into the air swirler structure to the annulus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Witham wherein the air swirler structure further includes an annulus and a third air swirler passage; the annulus is radially outboard from the inner passage, and the annulus extends circumferentially about and axially along the inner passage; and the third air swirler passage extends radially into the air swirler structure to the annulus as taught by and suggested by Locke in order to affect atomization quality (Paragraph 0067, The modification adds an annulus and third air swirler passage).
Regarding claim 20, Witham discloses an assembly (Figure 3) for a turbine engine (Figure 1; 10), comprising:
an air swirler structure (Figure 3; 33) including a first swirler wall (Annotated Figure 3; labeled swirler wall), a second swirler wall (Annotated Figure 3; labeled second swirler wall), a third swirler wall (Annotated Figure 3; labeled third swirler wall), an inner passage (Annotated Figure 3; labeled inner passage), a first air swirler passage (Annotated Figure 3; labeled air swirler passage), a second air swirler passage (Annotated Figure 3; labeled second air swirler passage), a plurality of first swirler vanes (Figure 3; 33a for the first swirler passage), and a plurality of second swirler vanes (Figure 3; 33a for the second swirler passage), the first swirler wall including a flow guide surface (Annotated Figure 3; labeled flow guide surface) and a back surface (Annotated Figure 3; labeled back surface as denoted by dashed lines), the flow guide surface extending along a longitudinal centerline (Annotated Figure 3; labeled centerline denoted by the dashed lines) to a distal inner end of the first swirler wall, the back surface extending axially along an axis (Annotated Figure 3; labeled axis) defining a receptacle (Annotated Figure 3; labeled receptacle), the inner passage extending axially along the axis within the air swirler structure, the first air swirler passage formed by and extending axially between the first swirler wall and the third swirler wall (Along Annotated Figure 3; labeled line, the first swirler passage is between the first and third swirler walls. Annotated Figure 3; labeled line is parallel to Annotated Figure 3; labeled axis), the first air swirler passage extending from a first inlet (Annotated Figure 3; labeled inlet) into the first air swirler passage radially into the air swirler structure, each of the plurality of first swirler vanes extending axially across the first air swirler passage from the first swirler wall to the third swirler wall into the first air swirler passage, the second air swirler passage formed by and extending axially between the third swirler wall and the second swirler wall (Along Annotated Figure 3; labeled line, the second swirler passage is between the second and third swirler walls. Annotated Figure 3; labeled line is parallel to Annotated Figure 3; labeled axis), the second air swirler passage extending from a second inlet (Annotated Figure 3; labeled second inlet) into the second air swirler passage radially into the air swirler structure, each of the plurality of second swirler vanes extending axially across the second air swirler passage from the third swirler wall to the second swirler wall into the second air swirler passage, the first air swirler passage configured to direct swirled air in a first circumferential direction (Functional Language, the first air swirler passage directs swirled air in a first circumferential direction),
an injector nozzle (Figure 3; 31, 36); and
a nozzle guide (Figure 3; 38b) coupling the injector nozzle to the air swirler structure, the nozzle guide configured to axially engage the swirler wall, the nozzle guide including an outer portion (The portion of the nozzle guide in Annotated Figure 3; labeled receptable) configured within the receptacle;
the first swirler wall comprising a flow guide surface (Annotated Figure 3; labeled flow guide surface) configured to direct air flowing out of the first air swirler passage and second air swirler passage into the inner passage downstream and away from a corner (Annotated Figured 3; labeled corner) between the nozzle guide and the injector nozzle; and
the injector nozzle projecting axially into the inner passage beyond a distal inner end (The distal inner end of the flow guide surface) of the flow guide surface,
wherein:
the first swirler wall projects longitudinally along the longitudinal centerline in a radial inward direction (The radial inward direction of the first swirler wall) towards the axis to a distal inner end (The distal inner end of the first swirler wall) of the first swirler wall;
a trajectory (The portion of Annotated Figure 3; labeled centerline of the radial inner portion) of the longitudinal centerline along a radial inner portion (Annotated Figure 3; labeled radial inner portion)of the first swirler wall includes a radial inward component (The radial inward component of the trajectory) and an axial downstream component (The axial downstream component of the trajectory), with at least a portion of the longitudinal centerline along the radial inner portion of the first swirler wall following a curved trajectory (The trajectory is curved), and
an inner portion (The portion of the flow guide surface radially inward of the radially inner instance of Figure 3; 33a) of the flow guide surface follows a curved trajectory (The curved trajectory of the flow guide surface) when viewed in a reference plane (The reference plane parallel to at least one of the axis and the longitudinal centerline) parallel with one or both of the axis and the longitudinal centerline, such that the radial inner portion of the first swirler wall and the inner portion of the flow guide surface are configured as an air flow guide (Functional Language, The radial inner portion and inner portion are configured as an air flow guide.).
Witham does not disclose each of the plurality of first swirler vanes at the first inlet, and each of the plurality of second swirler vanes at the second inlet;
the second air swirler passage configured to direct swirled air in a second circumferential direction, wherein the first circumferential direction is opposite the second circumferential direction.
However, Locke teaches an assembly (Figure 7) for a turbine engine (Figure 1; 20), comprising:
each of a plurality of first swirler vanes (Figure 3; 90) at a first inlet (The radially outermost surface of Figure 3; 76 with 92), and each of a plurality of second swirler vanes (Figure 3; 108) at the second inlet (The radially outermost surface of Figure 3; 77 with 110);
a first air swirler passage (Figure 3; 92) configured to direct swirled air in a first circumferential direction (Functional Language, The circumferential direction of the first air swirler passage, Paragraph 0049), and a second air swirler passage (Figure 3; 110) configured to direct swirled air in a second circumferential direction (Functional Language, The circumferential direction of the first air swirler passage, Paragraph 0049), wherein the first circumferential direction is opposite the second circumferential direction (Functional Language, Paragraph 0049).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Witham wherein each of the plurality of first swirler vanes at the first inlet, and each of the plurality of second swirler vanes at the second inlet; the second air swirler passage configured to direct swirled air in a second circumferential direction, wherein the first circumferential direction is opposite the second circumferential direction as taught by and suggested by Locke because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Locke’s swirler vanes at inlets and opposite swirling airflows according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Witham’s assembly, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case providing swirling at the inlet and providing opposite swirling airflows, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification has the vanes being at the inlet and makes the air swirled from the first and second swirler passages to be in opposite direction).
Regarding claim 22, Witham in view of Locke teaches the invention as claimed.
Witham further discloses wherein the longitudinal centerline is angularly offset from the axis by a non-zero acute angle (The longitudinal centerline is angularly offset form the axis by a non-zero acute angle) along the radial inner portion of the swirler wall.
Regarding claim 24, Witham in view of Locke teaches the invention as claimed.
Witham further discloses wherein
the swirler wall is a first swirler wall (The swirler wall is a first swirler wall), and the air swirler structure further includes a second swirler wall (Annotated Figure 3; labeled second swirler wall), a third swirler wall (Annotated Figure 3; labeled third swirler wall) and a plurality of second swirler vanes (Figure 3; 33a for the second swirler passage), the third swirler wall axially between the first air swirler passage and the second air swirler passage (Along Annotated Figure 3; labeled line, the third swirler wall is axially between the first and second air swirler passages. Annotated Figure 3; labeled line is parallel to Annotated Figure 3; labeled axis);
the second air swirler passage is formed by and is axially between the third swirler wall and the second swirler wall (Along Annotated Figure 3; labeled line, the second swirler passage is between the second and third swirler walls. Annotated Figure 3; labeled line is parallel to Annotated Figure 3; labeled axis); and
each of the plurality of second swirler vanes extends axially across the second air swirler passage from the third swirler wall to the second swirler wall (The second swirler vanes extend axially and radially with respect to Annotated Figure 3; labeled axis).
Claim(s) 6, 10, 11, 13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witham in view of Locke as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sampath et al (US 20200248903 as referenced in OA dated 7/27/2023).
Annotated Figure 5, 6, and Close-up of Figure 5 of Sampath
Regarding claim 6, Witham in view of Locke teaches the invention as claimed.
Witham in view of Locke does not teach wherein at least a portion of the frustoconical geometry follows a straight line trajectory in the reference plane parallel with the axis.
However, Sampath teaches an assembly (Figure 5) for a turbine engine (Paragraph 0001), comprising:
an air swirler structure (Figure 2; 50) including a swirler wall (Annotated Figure 5; labeled swirler wall), an inner passage (Annotated Figure 5 labeled; inner passage) and an air swirler passage (Annotated Figure 5; labeled air swirler passage), the swirler wall including a flow guide surface (The right surface of the swirler wall in Figure 5. See Annotated Figure 5; labeled flow guide surface), at least an inner portion of the flow guide surface having a frustoconical geometry (The inner portion of the flow guide surface has a frustoconical geometry, the inner passage extending axially along an axis (Figure 2; 38) within the air swirler structure to a swirler outlet (Annotated Figure 5; labeled swirler outlet) and the air swirler passage extending radially into the air swirler structure, longitudinally along the flow guide surface and to the inner passage;
an injector nozzle (Figure 5; 41) projecting axially into the inner passage; and
a nozzle guide (Figure 5; 147) coupling the injector nozzle to the air swirler structure, the nozzle guide axially abutted against the swirler wall;
wherein:
the swirler wall projects longitudinally along a longitudinal centerline (The longitudinal centerline of the swirler wall) in a radial inward direction (The radial inward direction of the swirler wall) towards the axis to the distal inner end of the swirler wall;
a trajectory (The trajectory of the longitudinal centerline)of the longitudinal centerline along a radial inner portion (The portion of the swirler wall having Annotated Figure 6; labeled curved and straight trajectory) of the swirler wall includes a radial inward component (The radial inward component of the trajectory) and an axial downstream component (The axial downstream component of the trajectory), with at least a portion of the longitudinal centerline along the radial inner portion of the swirler wall following a curved trajectory (Annotated Figure 6; labeled curved trajectory); and
wherein at least a portion of the frustoconical geometry follows a straight trajectory (Annotated Figure 6; labeled straight trajectory) in a reference plane (The reference plane of Figure 2. The reference plane that contains the curved trajectory and axis) parallel with the axis (The reference plane is parallel to the axis because the reference plane contains the axis, and thus, is equidistant with the axis at all points).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Witham in view of Locke wherein at least a portion of the frustoconical geometry follows a straight line trajectory in the reference plane parallel with the axis as taught by and suggested by Sampath in order to provide effective radial swirling and a suitable component of axial momentum in the aft direction (Paragraph 0035, The modification uses the flow guide of Sampath in Witham).
Regarding claim 10, Witham in view of Locke teaches the invention as claimed.
Witham in view of Locke does not teach wherein an outer portion of the flow guide surface has a planar geometry.
However, Sampath teaches an assembly (Figure 5) for a turbine engine (Paragraph 0001), comprising:
an air swirler structure (Figure 2; 50) including a swirler wall (Annotated Figure 5; labeled swirler wall), an inner passage (Annotated Figure 5 labeled inner passage) and an air swirler passage (Annotated Figure 5; labeled air swirler passage), the swirler wall including a flow guide surface (The right surface of the swirler wall in Figure 5. See Annotated Figure 5; labeled flow guide surface), at least an inner portion of the flow guide surface having a frustoconical geometry (The inner portion of the flow guide surface has a frustoconical geometry, the inner passage extending axially along an axis (Figure 2; 30) within the air swirler structure to a swirler outlet (Annotated Figure 5; labeled swirler outlet) and the air swirler passage extending radially into the air swirler structure, longitudinally along the flow guide surface and to the inner passage;
an injector nozzle (Figure 5; 41) projecting axially into the inner passage; and
a nozzle guide (Figure 5; 147) coupling the injector nozzle to the air swirler structure, the nozzle guide axially abutted against the swirler wall;
wherein an outer portion of the flow guide surface has a planar geometry (The outer portion of the flow guide surface has a planar geometry).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Witham in view of Locke wherein an outer portion of the flow guide surface has a planar geometry as taught by and suggested by Sampath in order to provide effective radial swirling and a suitable component of axial momentum in the aft direction (Paragraph 0035, The modification uses the flow guide of Sampath in Witham).
Regarding claim 11, Witham in view of Locke teaches the invention as claimed.
Witham in view of Locke does not teach wherein an outer portion of the flow guide surface is perpendicular to the axis.
However, Sampath teaches an assembly (Figure 5) for a turbine engine (Paragraph 0001), comprising:
an air swirler structure (Figure 2; 50) including a swirler wall (Annotated Figure 5; labeled swirler wall), an inner passage (Annotated Figure 5 labeled inner passage) and an air swirler passage (Annotated Figure 5; labeled air swirler passage), the swirler wall including a flow guide surface (The right surface of the swirler wall in Figure 5. See Annotated Figure 5; labeled flow guide surface), at least an inner portion of the flow guide surface having a frustoconical geometry (The inner portion of the flow guide surface has a frustoconical geometry, the inner passage extending axially along an axis (Figure 2; 30) within the air swirler structure to a swirler outlet (Annotated Figure 5; labeled swirler outlet) and the air swirler passage extending radially into the air swirler structure, longitudinally along the flow guide surface and to the inner passage;
an injector nozzle (Figure 5; 41) projecting axially into the inner passage; and
a nozzle guide (Figure 5; 147) coupling the injector nozzle to the air swirler structure, the nozzle guide axially abutted against the swirler wall;
wherein an outer portion of the flow guide surface is perpendicular to the axis (The outer portion of the flow guide surface is perpendicular to the axis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Witham in view of Locke wherein an outer portion of the flow guide surface is perpendicular to the axis as taught by and suggested by Sampath in order to provide effective radial swirling and a suitable component of axial momentum in the aft direction (Paragraph 0035, The modification uses the flow guide of Sampath in Witham).
Regarding claim 13, Witham in view of Locke teaches the invention as claimed.
Witham in view of Locke does not teach wherein a purge aperture extends axially across the nozzle guide.
However, Sampath teaches an assembly (Figure 5) for a turbine engine (Paragraph 0001), comprising:
an air swirler structure (Figure 2; 50) including a swirler wall (Annotated Figure 5; labeled swirler wall), an inner passage (Annotated Figure 5 labeled inner passage) and an air swirler passage (Annotated Figure 5; labeled air swirler passage), the swirler wall including a flow guide surface (The right surface of the swirler wall in Figure 5. See Annotated Figure 5; labeled flow guide surface), at least an inner portion of the flow guide surface having a frustoconical geometry (The inner portion of the flow guide surface has a frustoconical geometry, the inner passage extending axially along an axis (Figure 2; 30) within the air swirler structure to a swirler outlet (Annotated Figure 5; labeled swirler outlet) and the air swirler passage extending radially into the air swirler structure, longitudinally along the flow guide surface and to the inner passage;
an injector nozzle (Figure 5; 41) projecting axially into the inner passage; and
a nozzle guide (Figure 5; 147) coupling the injector nozzle to the air swirler structure, the nozzle guide axially abutted against the swirler wall;
wherein a purge aperture (Figure 5; 154) extends axially across the nozzle guide.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Witham in view of Locke wherein a purge aperture extends axially across the nozzle guide as taught by and suggested by Sampath in order to provide additional airflow (Paragraph 0038, The modification adds purge apertures to the nozzle guide).
Claim(s) 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witham in view of Sampath and Locke
Regarding claim 17, Witham discloses an assembly (Figure 3) for a turbine engine (Figure 1; 10), comprising:
an air swirler structure (Figure 3; 33) including a swirler wall (Annotated Figure 3; labeled swirler wall),the swirler wall including flow guide surface and a back surface (Annotated Figure 3; labeled flow guide surface), the back surface extending axially along an axis (Annotated Figure 3; labeled axis) and defining a receptacle (Annotated Figure 3; labeled receptacle), an inner passage (Annotated Figure 3; labeled inner passage), a first air swirler passage (Annotated Figure 3; labeled air swirler passage) and a second air swirler passage (Annotated Figure 3; labeled second air swirler passage), the swirler wall extending along a longitudinal centerline (Annotated Figure 3; labeled centerline denoted by the dashed lines) to a distal inner end (The distal inner end of the swirler wall) of the swirler wall, the longitudinal centerline including a radial component and an axial component (The radial and axial components of the centerline), the inner passage extending axially along an axis (Annotated Figure 3; labeled axis) within the air swirler structure to an outlet (The rightmost vertical line of Annotated Figure 3; labeled inner passage is the swirler outlet) from the air swirler structure, the first air swirler passage and second air swirler passage extending radially into the air swirler structure, the first air swirler passage extending longitudinally along the swirler wall, the first air swirler passage and the second air swirler passage fluidly coupled with the inner passage, the first air swirler passage axially between the second air swirler passage and the swirler wall (Along Annotated Figure 3; labeled line, the first air swirler passage is axially between the second air swirler passage and the swirler wall. Annotated Figure 3; labeled line is parallel to Annotated Figure 3; labeled axis), the first air swirler passage configured to direct swirled air in a first circumferential direction (Functional Language, the first air swirler passage directs swirled air in a first circumferential direction);
an injector nozzle (Figure 3; 31, 36) projecting axially into the inner passage; and
a nozzle guide (Figure 3; 38b) coupling the injector nozzle to the air swirler structure, the nozzle guide configured to axially abut against the swirler wall, the nozzle guide including an outer portion (The portion of the nozzle guide in Annotated Figure 3; labeled receptable) configured within the receptacle,
wherein:
the swirler wall projects longitudinally along the longitudinal centerline in a radial inward direction (The radial inward direction of the swirler wall) towards the axis to the distal inner end of the swirler wall;
a trajectory (The portion of Annotated Figure 3; labeled centerline of the radial inner portion) of the longitudinal centerline along a radial inner portion (Annotated Figure 3; labeled radial inner portion) of the swirler wall includes a radial inward component (The radial inward component of the trajectory) and an axial downstream component (The axial downstream component of the trajectory), with at least a portion of the longitudinal centerline along the radial inner portion of the swirler wall following a curved trajectory (The trajectory is curved); and
an inner portion (The portion of the flow guide surface radially inward of the radially inner instance of Figure 3; 33a) of the flow guide surface follows a curved trajectory (The curved trajectory of the flow guide surface) when viewed in a reference plane (The reference plane parallel to at least one of the axis and the longitudinal centerline) parallel with one or both of the axis and the longitudinal centerline, such that the radial inner portion of the swirler wall and the inner portion of the flow guide surface are configured as an air flow guide (Functional Language, The radial inner portion and inner portion are configured as an air flow guide.).
Witham does not disclose the second air swirler passage configured to direct swirled air in a second circumferential direction, wherein the first direction is circumferential opposite the second circumferential direction;
a purge aperture extending axially across the nozzle guide from an aperture inlet into the purge aperture to an aperture outlet from the purge aperture, the aperture outlet located radially inboard of the distal inner end of the swirler wall, and the purge aperture configured to direct air into a gap radially between the injector nozzle and the swirler wall.
However, Sampath teaches an assembly (Figure 5) for a turbine engine (Paragraph 0001), comprising:
an air swirler structure (Figure 2; 50) including a swirler wall (Annotated Figure 5; labeled swirler wall), an inner passage (Annotated Figure 5 labeled inner passage) and an air swirler passage (Annotated Figure 5; labeled air swirler passage), the swirler wall including a flow guide surface (The right surface of the swirler wall in Figure 5. See Annotated Figure 5; labeled flow guide surface), at least an inner portion of the flow guide surface having a frustoconical geometry (The inner portion of the flow guide surface has a frustoconical geometry), the inner passage extending axially along an axis (Figure 2; 30) within the air swirler structure to a swirler outlet (Annotated Figure 5; labeled swirler outlet) and the air swirler passage extending radially into the air swirler structure, longitudinally along the flow guide surface and to the inner passage;
an injector nozzle (Figure 5; 41) projecting axially into the inner passage; and
a nozzle guide (Figure 5; 147) coupling the injector nozzle to the air swirler structure, the nozzle guide axially abutted against the swirler wall,
a purge aperture (Figure 5; 152) extending axially across the nozzle guide from an aperture inlet (The inlet of Figure 5; 152) into the purge aperture to an aperture outlet (The outlet of Figure 5; 152) from the purge aperture, the aperture outlet located radially inboard (At least a portion, the radially innermost portion of Figure 5; 152 is radially inboard of the distal end of the swirler wall. See Close-up of Figure 5. Furthermore, Paragraph 0038 states 154 can be angled radially. For this rejection, 154 is angled 1 degree inwards toward the axis with the aperture inlet being at the location shown in Figure 5) of the swirler wall, and the purge aperture configured to direct air into a gap (The gap radially between the injector nozzle and swirler wall) radially between the injector nozzle and the swirler wall (Functional Language, the purge aperture provides air into the gap).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Witham to include a purge aperture extending axially across the nozzle guide from an aperture inlet into the purge aperture to an aperture outlet from the purge aperture, the aperture outlet located radially inboard of the distal inner end of the swirler wall, and the purge aperture configured to direct air into a gap radially between the injector nozzle and the swirler wall as taught by and suggested by Sampath in order to provide additional airflow through channels that are at different distances to the axis (Paragraph 0038, The modification adds purge apertures to the nozzle guide of Witham. The aperture inlets are at the same location as shown in Figure 5 of Sampath, but 154 of Sampath is angled 1 degree radially inwards).
Witham in view of Sampath does not teach the second air swirler passage configured to direct swirled air in a second circumferential direction, wherein the first direction is circumferential opposite the second circumferential direction.
However, Locke teaches a first air swirler passage (Figure 3; 92) configured to direct swirled air in a first circumferential direction (Functional Language, The circumferential direction of the first air swirler passage, Paragraph 0049), and a second air swirler passage (Figure 3; 110) configured to direct swirled air in a second circumferential direction (Functional Language, The circumferential direction of the first air swirler passage, Paragraph 0049), wherein the first circumferential direction is opposite the second circumferential direction (Functional Language, Paragraph 0049).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Witham in view of Sampath wherein the first air swirler passage configured to direct swirled air in a first circumferential direction, and the second air swirler passage configured to direct swirled air in a second circumferential direction, wherein the first circumferential direction is opposite the second circumferential direction as taught by and suggested by Locke because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Locke’s opposite swirling airflows according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Witham in view of Sampath’s assembly, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case providing opposite swirling airflows, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification makes the air swirled from the first and second swirler passages to be in opposite direction).
Regarding claim 18, Witham in view of Locke and Sampath teaches the invention as claimed
Witham further discloses wherein a trajectory (The trajectory of the centerline) of the longitudinal centerline at the distal inner end of the swirler wall points at a tip (The tip of the injector nozzle) of the injector nozzle.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witham in view of Locke as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Lee et al (US 5505045 as referenced in OA dated 3/20/2025).
Regarding claim 23, Witham in view of Locke teaches the invention as claimed.
Witham in view of Locke does not teach wherein the non-zero acute angle is between fifteen degrees and sixty degrees.
However, Lee teaches wherein a longitudinal centerline (The longitudinal centerline of Figure 1; 36) is angularly offset from an axis (Figure 1; L) by a non-zero acute (The angle the longitudinal centerline makes with the axis) angle along a radial inner portion (The radial inner portion of Figure 1; 36) of a swirler wall (Figure 1; 36),
wherein the non-zero acute angle is between fifteen degrees and sixty degrees (Column 4-5, lines 62-2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Witham in view of Locke wherein each of the plurality of swirler vanes at the inlet as taught by and suggested by Lee because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Lee’s angling of a swirler wall according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Witham in view of Locke’s assembly, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case providing a swirler wall with an acute angle between 15 and 60 degrees, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification has the non-zero acute angle being 55 degrees).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Witham in view of Locke does not disclose, teach, or suggest the amended features of claim 20. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in the OA above, Witham in view of Locke teach the amended features of claim 20. Locke teaches in Paragraph 0049 that a first and second swirler passage produce opposite swirling airflows.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Strugess (US 3703259 as referenced in OA dated 8/1/2024) shows in at least Figure 3 and 4 that different types of swirlers are interchangeable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741