DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (US Pub no. 2020/0357971 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Lin et al discloses A micro-electronic component fig. 3, comprising:
a micro-electronic element(104)[0033]; a first bonding pad(1082)[0033], disposed on a side of the micro-electronic element(104)[0033] fig. 3; a first solder layer(1122), disposed on a side of the first bonding pad (1082)facing away from the micro- electronic element(104)[0033]; and a second bonding pad(1081), disposed on a side of the first solder layer(1122) facing away from the first bonding pad(1082)[033] fig. 3; wherein the first solder layer (1122)comprises: a first pure metal layer (1182)and a second pure metal layer(1181), and the first pure metal layer (1181)and the second pure metal layer (1182)are capable of being alloyed to form a first alloy layer[0038].
Regarding claim 8, Lin et al discloses A bonding backplate(fig. 6), comprising:
a substrate(102); a first bonding pad(1081), disposed on a side of the substrate(102)[0041];a first solder layer(1121)[0041], disposed on a side of the first bonding pad (1081)facing away from the substrate(102) [0041]fig. 6; a second bonding pad(1083), disposed on a side of the first solder layer(1121) facing away from the first bonding pad(1081) [0041]; wherein the bonding backplate further comprises: a second solder layer(1122) disposed on a side of the second bonding pad(1083) facing away from the first solder layer(1121)[0041]; and the second bonding pad(1083) is disposed between the first solder layer (1121)and the second solder layer(1122) fig. 6 [0041].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,9, & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US Pub no. 2020/0357971 A1)
Regarding claim 2, Lin et al discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the micro- electronic component further comprises: a second solder layer disposed on a side of the second bonding pad facing away from the first solder layer; and the second bonding pad is disposed between the first solder layer and the second solder layer. In a third embodiment Lin et al discloses : a second solder layer(1121) disposed on a side of the second bonding pad (1083)facing away from the first solder layer(1122); and the second bonding pad(1083) is disposed between the first solder layer(1122) and the second solder layer(1121)(fig. 6) [0041]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the second embodiment of Lin et al with the teachings of the third embodiment of Lin et al to improve the reliability of the device.
Regarding claim 9, Lin et al discloses all the claim limitations of claim 8 (fig. 6 third embodiment) but fails to teach wherein the first solder layer comprises: a first pure metal layer and a second pure metal layer; the first pure metal layer and the
second pure metal layer are capable of alloying to form a first alloy layer; and the first pure metal layer is a bismuth metal layer, and the second pure metal layer is a tin metal layer
However, the second embodiment of Lin et al discloses wherein the first solder layer comprises: a first pure metal layer (1182)and a second pure metal layer(1181); the first pure metal layer and the second pure metal layer are capable of alloying to form a first alloy layer; and the first pure metal layer(1182) is a bismuth metal layer, and the second pure metal layer(1181) is a tin metal layer[0038]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the third embodiment of Lin et al with the second embodiment of Lin et al to optimize bonding strength.
Regarding claim 10, Lin et al discloses a melting point of each of the first pure metal layer (1182)and the second pure metal layer(1181) is greater than a melting point of the second solder layer; and a melting point of the first alloy layer is lower than that of the second solder layer(1181)[0038] "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the limitations of claim 13 including: an area of orthographic projection of the first bonding pad on the surface of the substrate is 1.15-2.5 times of an area of orthographic projection of the substrate electrode on the surface of the substrate was not found in prior art.
Claims 3-7 & 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/LATANYA N CRAWFORD EASON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813