DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The present office action is made in response to the amendment filed by applicant on 06/29/2026. It is noted that in the amendment, applicant has made changes to the specification and the claims. There was not any change being made to the abstract and the drawings.
A) Regarding the specification, applicant has made changed to paragraph [0034]; and
B) Regarding the claims, applicant has amended claims 1-3, 12-13 and 16.
Response to Arguments
3. The amendments to the specification and the claims as provided in the amendment of 06/29/2026, and applicant's arguments provided in the mentioned amendment, pages 9-11, have been fully considered and resulted in the following conclusions.
A) Regarding the claims, because applicant has canceled claims 18 and 20 and has not added any claim into the application, thus the pending claims are claims 1-17 and 19 in which claims 1-3, 14-17 and 19 are examined in the present office action, and claims 4-13 have been withdrawn from further consideration as being directed to non-elected Inventions.
Applicant should note that the non-elected claims 4-13 will be rejoined if the linking claim 1 is later found as an allowable claim.
B) Regarding the objection(s) to the drawings set forth in the office action of 02/18/2026, the amendment to the specification as provided in the amendment of 06/29/2026, and applicant’s arguments provided in the mentioned amendment, page 9, have been fully considered and are sufficient to overcome the objection(s) to the drawings set forth in the mentioned office action.
C) Regarding the Claim Interpretation set forth in the office action of 02/18/2026, because applicant has not amended the claim(s) or provided any argument to overcome the generic placeholders thereof “an assistive image” and “the operation unit”, thus the Claim Interpretation of such generic placeholders are repeated in the present office action.
D) Regarding the rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, set forth in the office action of 02/18/2026, the cancelation of claim 18 as provided in the amendment of 06/29/2026, and applicant’s arguments provided in the mentioned amendment, page 9, have been fully considered and are sufficient to overcome the rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, set forth in the mentioned office action.
E) Regarding the rejection of claims 1 and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Soji et al (Japanese reference No. 2004-12622), the rejection of claims 1-3 and 15-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyagi (US Patent No. 5,601,549), and the rejection of claims 1-3, 14-15, and 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakata et al (US Publication No. 2021/0215923) in view of Lowe (US Patent No. 10,183,231) set forth in the office action of 02/18/2026, the amendment to the claims as provided in the amendment of 06/29/2026, and applicant’s arguments provided in the mentioned amendment, pages 10-11, have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement, hereafter, IDS, filed on 03/12/2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
In particular, applicant has not a copy of the Chinese reference No. CN 215219313 listed in the IDS filed on 03/12/2026.
Drawings
5. The drawings contain sixteen sheets of figures 1-16 were received on 03/13/2024. These drawings are approved by the examiner.
Specification
6. The lengthy specification which was amended by the amendment of 06/29/2026 has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
9. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are “an assistive image” and “an operation unit” as recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
11. Claims 1-3, 14-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, for the following reasons.
a) Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim is rejected because the disclosure, as originally filed, does not provide support for an ocular tube having a superimposition device, an operation portion provided on a front face of the ocular tube and an operation unit located on a same side of a central line between a pair of ocular lenses attached to the ocular tube as recited in the claim 1.
Applicant is respectfully invited to review the disclosure, as originally filed, which disclose that the superimposition device (210) has a projector and the operation portion (230) are located on a same side of a central line between a pair of ocular lenses attached to the ocular tube. The disclosure, as originally field, does not disclose an ocular tube having both an operation portion and an operation unit (examiner’s emphasis) as claimed.
For the purpose of examination, the so-called “the operation unit” recited in the claim on line 17 is understood as “an operation portion” recited in the claim on line 8.
b) The remaining claims are dependent upon the rejected base claim and thus inherit the deficiency thereof.
12. Claims 1-3, 14-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, for the following reasons.
a) Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The claim is rejected because the disclosure does not provide support for an ocular tube having a superimposition device, an operation portion provided on a front face of the ocular tube and an operation unit located on a same side of a central line between a pair of ocular lenses attached to the ocular tube as recited in the claim 1.
Applicant is respectfully invited to review the disclosure which disclose that the superimposition device (210) having a projector and the operation portion (230) are located on a same side of a central line between a pair of ocular lenses attached to the ocular tube. The disclosure, as originally field, does not disclose an ocular tube having both an operation portion and an operation unit (examiner’s emphasis) as claimed.
For the purpose of examination, the so-called “the operation unit” recited in the claim on line 17 is understood as “an operation portion” recited in the claim on line 8.
b) The remaining claims are dependent upon the rejected base claim and thus inherit the deficiency thereof.
14. Claims 1-3, 14-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the following reasons.
a) Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the following reasons
a1) the claim is rejected because each of the features thereof “the face” (line 9) and “the operation unit” (line 17) lacks a proper antecedent basis;
a2) the features thereof “an operation portion … superimposition device” (lines 8-11) and “the operation unit … superimposition device” (lines 17-18) make the claim indefinite. It is unclear about the structural relationship(s) between the so-called “an operation portion” and “the operation unit”. Are those mentioned components different from each other?
For the purpose of examination, the so-called “the operation unit” recited in the claim on line 17 is understood as “an operation portion” recited in the claim on line 8.
b) The remaining claims are dependent upon the rejected base claim and thus inherit the deficiency thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claims 1, 17 and 19, as best as understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soji et al (Japanese reference No. 2004-12622) and Wuerfel (US Patent No. 4,784,481) (both of record).
Soji et al discloses a microscopic system having a microscope with an ocular tube (1) attached to a support (2) and a probe device wherein the image/data of an operation area of a patient is guided to a projection optical system.
a) Regarding present claims 1 and 17, the ocular tube (1) is a single casing supporting two ocular lens systems (11) and a projection optical system having a display (14) wherein the projection optical system is configured to superimpose an assistive image on an image plane on which an optical image is formed with light from the microscope, see attached (machine) English translation in paragraphs [0012]-[0039], in particular, paragraphs [0021]-[0023] and [0034] and figs. 1-2.
It is noted that the projection optical system is positioned/located at a position offset from a central line between two ocular lens systems and on the left side of the central line, see figs. 1-2.
The only feature missing from the microscopic system provided by Soji et al is that Soji et al does not disclose an operation portion provided on a front face of the ocular tube wherein the operation portion being operable by a user to input an instruction to the superimposition device. However, a microscopic system having an ocular tube supporting a pair of ocular lenses and an operation portion provided on a front face of the ocular tube and on either a left side or a right of the ocular tube is known to one skilled in the art as can be seen in the microscopic system provided by Wuerfel. In particular, Wuerfel discloses a microscopic system (66) having an ocular tube (3) wherein an operation portion (45) is provided on a front face of the ocular tube and on each left side and right side of the ocular tube, see column 6 and fig. 20.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the microscopic system provided by Soji et al by installing an operation portion (45) is provided on a left side of a front face of the ocular tube as suggested by Wuerfel for the purpose of providing a user with a tool/mean for inputting instruction to the superimposition device.
b) Regarding present claim 19, the microscopic system further comprises a processing device (19) connected to the probe device (3) and the projection optical system wherein connectors for a cable for signal exchange with the projection optical system being provided on a back face of the ocular tube (1), see fig. 2.
18. Claims 1-3, 15-17 and 19, as best as understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyagi (US Patent No. 5,601,549) in view of Wuerfel (US Patent No. 4,784,481).
Miyagi discloses a microscopic system having a microscope (10) having an ocular tube (11) constituted by two ocular tube portions (11a, 11b) and a base portion (11x), and an endoscope (20) wherein the image/data of from the endoscope is guided to a projection optical system.
a) Regarding present claims 1 and 17, as described in columns 2-4 and shown in figs. 1-2, the ocular tube portion (11a) of the ocular tube (11) is a single casing supporting an ocular lens system (15) and a projection optical system (30-32) having a display (30) wherein the projection optical system is configured to superimpose an assistive image on an image plane on which an optical image is formed with light from the microscope, see columns 2-3 and figs. 1-2.
It is noted that the projection optical system (30-32) is positioned/located at a position offset from a central line between two ocular lens systems, see fig. 1.
The only feature missing from the microscopic system provided by Miyagi is that Miyagi does not disclose an operation portion provided on a front face of the ocular tube wherein the operation portion being operable by a user to input an instruction to the superimposition device. However, a microscopic system having an ocular tube supporting a pair of ocular lenses and an operation portion provided on a front face of the ocular tube and on either a left side or a right of the ocular tube is known to one skilled in the art as can be seen in the microscopic system provided by Wuerfel. In particular, Wuerfel discloses a microscopic system (66) having an ocular tube (3) wherein an operation portion (45) is provided on a front face of the ocular tube and on each left side and right side of the ocular tube, see column 6 and fig. 20.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the microscopic system provided by Miyagi by installing an operation portion (45) is provided on a left side of a front face of the ocular tube as suggested by Wuerfel for the purpose of providing a user with a tool/mean for inputting instruction to a the superimposition device.
b) Regarding present claim 2, the projection optical system (30-32) comprises the following features:
b1) a first optical element (30) configured to cause light (X) from the projection optical system (30-32) to join an optical path for the light (A) of the microscope;
b2) a folded optical system (10a, 16a) to fold a travel direction of the light (X) from the projection optical system and the light (A) from the microscope;
b3) an image-forming lens (31) disposed between the first optical element (30) and the folded optical system (10a, 16a); and
b4) the projection optical system (30-32) serves as a projector to project the assistive image provided by the endoscope (20) on the image plane.
c) Regarding present claim 3, the ocular tube portion (11b) of the ocular tube (11) is a single casing supporting an ocular lens system (15), a digital camera (40) and an optical element (16b) which optical element is configured to divide light (A) from the microscope into light to the ocular lens (15) and light (Y) to the digital camera (40) wherein the ocular tube (11) serves as a trinocular device to which the digital camera (40) is to be attached.
d) Regarding present claim 15, the image-forming lens (31) is provided in a casing of the ocular tube (11a) such that the image-forming lens (31) is not exposed outward from the casing.
e) Regarding claim 16, the ocular lens system (15) comprises a concave lens, see the meniscus lens attached to a biconvex lens as shown in fig. 1.
g) Regarding present claim 19, the microscopic system further comprises a processing device (25) connected to the endoscope (20) and the projection optical system (30-32) located inside the ocular tube (11a) wherein connectors for a cable for signal exchange with the projection optical system on its back face of the ocular tube (11a), see fig. 1.
19. Claims 1-3, 14-15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakata et al (US Publication No. 2021/0215923, of record) in view of Lowe (US Patent No. 10,183,231, of record) and Wuerfel (US Patent No. 4,784,481).
Nakata et al discloses microscopic system having a microscope (1) having an ocular tube (120) supporting an ocular lens, an intermediate tube (130) supporting a projecting system, and an imaging tube (140) supporting an imaging system wherein the intermediate tube and the imaging tube are attached to the ocular tube.
a) Regarding present claims 1 and 17, the ocular tube (120) is a single casing supporting an ocular lens system (104) and the intermediate tube (130) supporting a projection optical system (131-133) having a display (131) wherein the projection optical system is configured to superimpose an assistive image on an image plane on which an optical image is formed with light from the microscope, see [0041]-[0044] and [0065]-[0070] and figs. 1 and 4.
There are two features missing from the microscope provided by Nakata et al as follow: First, Nakata et al does not disclose that the projection optical system is formed inside the ocular tube or in other words, there is only one tube for supporting both the ocular lens and the projection optical system; and Second, Nakata et al does not disclose that their microscope
comprises an operation portion provided on a front face of the ocular tube wherein the operation portion being operable by a user to input an instruction to the superimposition device.
Regarding the first feature missing from the microscope provided by Nakata et al, it is noted that a microscope having only a single tube for supporting an ocular lens and a projection optical system is known to one skill in the art as can be seen in the microscope provided by Lowe. In particular, in columns 4-7 and 14-16 and shown in figs. 1-2 and 9-11, Lowe discloses a microscope (20) having a single tube (30) for supporting both an ocular lens (102) and a projection optical system (60) having a projector (62), a screen (66) acting as a beam splitter for combining light from the projector (60) and light from an object to be viewed by the microscope. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the microscope system having separate ocular tube supporting an ocular lens and intermediate tube supporting a projection optical system into a single tube supporting both an ocular lens and a projection optical system as suggested by Lowe for the purpose of reducing the weight of the microscope and to meet a particular application.
The combined product provided by Nakata et al and Lowe does not disclose that the combined product has an operation portion. However, a microscopic system having an ocular tube supporting a pair of ocular lenses and an operation portion provided on a front face of the ocular tube and on either a left side or a right of the ocular tube is known to one skilled in the art as can be seen in the microscopic system provided by Wuerfel. In particular, Wuerfel discloses a microscopic system (66) having an ocular tube (3) wherein an operation portion (45) is provided on a front face of the ocular tube and on each left side and right side of the ocular tube, see column 6 and fig. 20.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined product provided by Nakata et al and Lowe by installing an operation portion (45) is provided on a left side of a front face of the ocular tube as suggested by Wuerfel for the purpose of providing a user a tool/mean for inputting instruction to a the superimposition device.
b) Regarding present claim 2, the projection optical system (131-133) comprises the following features:
b1) a first optical element (132) configured to cause light from the projection optical system (131-133) to join an optical path for the light of the microscope;
b2) a folded optical system, see the prism system disposed inside the tube (120) to fold a travel direction of the light from the projection optical system and the light from the microscope;
b3) an image-forming lens, see the lens (103), disposed inside the tube (120) which lens is located between the first optical element (132) and the folded optical system; and
b4) the projection optical system (131-133) serves as a projector to project the assistive image on the image plane.
c) Regarding present claim 3, the folded optical system, i.e., the prism system located in the tube (120) acts as a beam splitter configured to divide light from the microscope into light to the ocular lens (104) and light to the digital camera (141) wherein the ocular tube as resulted of the combined product serves as a trinocular device to which the digital camera (141) is to be attached.
d) Regarding present claim 14, the first optical element (132) serves as a beam splitter that forms transmitted light and reflected light wherein the characteristic of the beam splitter are variable in transmittance and reflectance to meet a particular application, see paragraph [0043].
e) Regarding present claim 15, the image-forming lens (103) is provided in a casing of the ocular tube (120) such that the image-forming lens (103) is not exposed outward from the casing.
f) Regarding present claim 18, the projection optical system (131-133) is positioned/located at a position offset from a central line between two ocular lens systems, see fig. 1.
g) Regarding present claim 19, the microscopic system further comprises a processing device (10) connected to projection optical system (131-133) located inside the single ocular tube as a result of the combined product wherein connectors for a cable for signal exchange with the projection optical system being provided on its back face of the ocular tube, see fig. 1.
h) Regarding present claim 20, it would have been obvious to install/affix/form a control panel on the front side/wall of the single ocular tube for the purpose of creating/providing an easy way for a user to control the operation of the microscope, see examples of a control panel located in a front face/wall of an ocular tube provided by the US Patent No. 4,784,481 and the Chinese reference No. CN 179122 A listed in the form PTO-892 attached with the present office action.
Conclusion
20. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
21. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THONG Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872