DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 1/30/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive, the rejection has been updated to address the newly amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (U.S. Pub #2019/0181301).
With respect to claim 1, Kim teaches a display device, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 3, 110) in which a pixel including a plurality of sub pixels (Fig. 1. SP and Paragraph 66) is defined, an adhesive layer (Fig. 3, 114 and Paragraph 100) disposed on the substrate; and
a plurality of light emitting diodes (Fig. 3, 150 and Paragraph 70) disposed on the adhesive layer in each of the plurality of sub pixels; and
a reflection layer (Fig. 1, 110r and Paragraph 89) disposed between the substrate and the adhesive layer,
wherein the adhesive layer is configured by a plurality of first parts overlapping the plurality of light emitting diodes (Fig. 3, parts underlying the LED 150) and a second part which is a remaining part excluding the plurality of first parts (Fig. 3, layer 114 covers parts of substrate that are not underlying the LED 150), and
wherein the reflection layer overlaps the plurality of first parts and the second part (Paragraph 115 and 117, the reflective material layer is also in a position not overlapping the LED).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akimoto (U.S. Pub #2022/0149228), in view of Kim et al (U.S. Pub #2019/0181301).
With respect to claim 1, Akimoto teaches a display device, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 1, 1102) in which a pixel including a plurality of sub pixels (Fig. 1, 20 and Paragraph 71) is defined; and
a plurality of light emitting diodes (Fig. 1, 150) disposed on the adhesive layer in each of the plurality of sub pixels; and
a reflection layer (Fig. 1, 110r and Paragraph 89) disposed between the substrate and the LED,
and
wherein the reflection layer overlaps the plurality of first parts and the second part.
Akimoto does not teach
an adhesive layer disposed on the substrate;
wherein the adhesive layer is configured by a plurality of first parts overlapping the plurality of light emitting diodes and a second part which is a remaining part excluding the plurality of first parts.
Kim teaches
an adhesive layer (Fig. 3, 114 and Paragraph 100) disposed on the substrate; and
a plurality of light emitting diodes (Fig. 3, 150 and Paragraph 70) disposed on a layer in each of the plurality of sub pixels; and
a reflection layer (Fig. 1, 110r and Paragraph 89) disposed between the substrate and the adhesive layer,
wherein the adhesive layer is configured by a plurality of first parts overlapping the plurality of light emitting diodes (Fig. 3, parts underlying the LED 150) and a second part which is a remaining part excluding the plurality of first parts (Fig. 3, layer 114 covers parts of substrate that are not underlying the LED 150).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide an adhesive layer in the structure of Akimoto as taught by Kim in order to facilitate the attachment of an LED element on the substrate (Paragraph 100 and 118-119).
With respect to claim 16, Akimoto teaches a plurality of transistors (Fig. 1, 103 and Paragraph 80) disposed between the substrate (Fig. 1, 102) and the reflection layer (Fig. 1, 110f) in each of the plurality of sub pixels.
With respect to claim 17, Akimoto teaches a black bank (Fig. 1, 181 and Paragraph 102) disposed on the adhesive layer, wherein the black bank is disposed between the plurality of light emitting diodes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN P SANDVIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812