DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-10 are pending:
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 02/28/2023, 08/07/2025 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6
Limitation “wherein the magnetic body is formed of carbon” renders the claim indefinite, as the metes and bounds of the claim are unknown, as carbon itself is not magnetic and therefore cannot provide the required ‘magnetic’ property to the “magnetic body”.
The office believes that the instant issue is potentially a translation issue, as the only support for the instant limitation comes from a single line discussing Fig5.
For the purpose of applying art, the office will read that the structure of “the magnetic body” is formed of carbon, but not necessarily required to be “magnetic” itself. The term “magnetic” for “magnetic body” will be considered a mere naming convention.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“A substrate processing apparatus” in claim 10
Corresponding structure
Control unit 100 as best seen Fig1
Or equivalents
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (JP 2010-206025) in view of Kunihiro (JP 2007-335709)
Claim 1
Kato discloses:
“A substrate heating apparatus comprising:
an … heating coil (Fig1, heater unit 7);
a holding tray (best seen Fig2-4, tray 201) including a substrate holder (best seen Fig2-4, mounting area 24) that places and holds a substrate thereon (best seen Fig4, wafer W in mounting area 24), and configured to be …-heated by the … heating coil (Fig1, heating arrangement best seen); and
a rotary table (Fig1-4, table 2) configured to support the holding tray (best seen Fig2-4/10, tray 201 in table 2) and provided to be freely rotatable (Fig1/3, table 2 rotates about shaft 22).”
Kato is silent to the heater unit using induction heating.
Kunihiro teaches (Fig1-4, induction coils 4, heating plate 1, spin table 21) that it is known in the art to select an induction heating coil to provide heat to a heating plate 1 that is on a rotating table.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the simple substitution of the heater coils of Kato for the induction heating coil arrangement as taught by Kunihiro, as such a modification would merely be a simple substitution of one known in the art rotating table heating plate heating arrangement for another, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing Kato with a working alternative heater coil arrangement.
Claim 2
The modified arrangement of Kato by the teachings of Kunihiro discloses: “The substrate heating apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the holding tray (Kato: tray 201; Kunihiro: tray 21) includes an insulating body (Kunihiro: body of shield plate 2 and tray 21) where the substrate holder is formed (Kunihiro: best seen Fig2/4, shield plate 2 insulates heating plate 1 within tray/table 21; shield plate formed of Aluminum Nitride or Al2O3), and a magnetic body disposed (Kunihiro: heating plate 1) in the insulating body (best seen Fig2/4, heating plate 1 is within tray/table 21 and arranged interior to shield plate 2; heating plate formed of “iron, nickel, tin, or an alloy containing any of these”).”
Claim 3
The modified arrangement of Kato by the teachings of Kunihiro discloses: “The substrate heating apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the magnetic body (Kunihiro: heating plate 1) is disposed below a placement surface (Kunihiro: surface that holds wafer W) of the substrate holder on which the substrate is placed (Kunihiro: Fig1-4, heating plate 1 is below shield plate 2 surface with holds wafer W).”
Claim 4
The modified arrangement of Kato by the teachings of Kunihiro discloses: “The substrate heating apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the insulating body (Kunihiro: shield plate 2) is formed of AlN or Al2O3 (Kunihiro: best seen Fig2/4, shield plate 2 insulates heating plate 1 within tray/table 21; shield plate formed of Aluminum Nitride or Al2O3), and the magnetic body (Kunihiro: heating plate 1) is formed of Fe or SUS430 (Kunihiro: best seen Fig2/4, heating plate 1; heating plate formed of “iron, nickel, tin, or an alloy containing any of these”).”
Claim 6, as best understood in light of the 35 USC 112 rejections above
The modified arrangement of Kato by the teachings of Kunihiro discloses: “The substrate heating apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the magnetic body is formed of carbon (base table 2 from Kato formed of carbon plate, in which the taught features of Kunihiro are placed).”
Claim 5
The modified arrangement of Kato by the teachings of Kunihiro discloses: “The substrate heating apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the holding tray includes a magnetic body where the substrate holder is formed (limitation is within the scope of the combination as discussed in Claim 1).”
Claim 7
The modified arrangement of Kato by the teachings of Kunihiro discloses: “The substrate heating apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the rotary table is formed of quartz (Kato: table 2 is made of quartz).”
Claim 8
The modified arrangement of Kato by the teachings of Kunihiro discloses: “The substrate heating apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the rotary table supports the holding tray via a heat conduction suppressor that suppresses a heat conduction between the rotary table and the holding tray (Kato: best seen Fig4, table 2 supports tray 201 via flange/decreased thickness region near hole 2a, the hole and the horizontal air gaping between the tray 201 and table implicitly provides thermal conduction suppression).”
Claim 9
The modified arrangement of Kato by the teachings of Kunihiro discloses: “The substrate heating apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the heat conduction suppressor includes: a flange provided on an outer periphery of the holding tray (Kato: best seen Fig4, table 2 flange/decreased thickness region near hole 2a is provided in contact on the outer periphery of the bottom surface of tray 201), and an engaging portion provided on the rotary table (Kato: best seen Fig4, bottom surface of tray 201 engages the provided surfaces of table 2), and the holding tray and the rotary table are in contact with each other at the flange and the engaging portion (Kato: contact interface best seen Fig4, “at” merely requires near).”
“at” https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/at, definition 1, accessed 03/03/2026
Claim 10
The modified arrangement of Kato by the teachings of Kunihiro discloses: “A substrate processing apparatus (Kato: Fig1, process controller 100) comprising the substrate heating apparatus according to claim 9 (see Claim 9).”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2010/0055317 from Kato: very similar to instant application, Fig1-3 in particular
/JOHN S HUNTER, JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3761