DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed 1/28/2026 in which claim 1 was amended.
Claims 1-13 and 15-21 are pending with claims 1-4, 7, and 21 presented for examination and claims 5, 6, 8-13, and 15-20 remain withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nozu (US 2014/0077278 and Nozu hereinafter) in view of Nishiwaki et al (US 2020/0295150 and Nishiwaki hereinafter).
As to claims 1, 3, 4, and 21: Nozu discloses [claim 1] a semiconductor device (Fig. 15), comprising: a semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13; [0026] and [0098]); a first electrode (51; [0028]) provided on a back surface (bottom surface of 10) of the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13); a second electrode (50; [0028]) provided on a front surface (top surface of 13) of the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13) at a side opposite to the back surface (bottom surface of 10); a third electrode (40; [0028]) provided between the first electrode (51) and the second electrode (50), the third electrode (40) being provided in the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13) with a first insulating film (comprising 41 between 40 and 11, 41 between 20 and 13, 41 between 20 and 12, and 41 between 30 and 13; [0030]) interposed, the third electrode (40) being electrically insulated from the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13) by the first insulating film (portion comprising 41 between 40 and 11); a control electrode (20; [0027]) provided between the second electrode (50) and the third electrode (40), the control electrode (20) extending into the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13) from the front side (top surface of 13) of the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13) and facing the third electrode (40) with a second insulating film (portion of 41 between 20 and 40 and portion of 41 between 30 and 40 except the portion of 41 immediately touching 30 that is between 30 and 40; [0030]) interposed, the first insulating film (portion comprising 41 between 20 and 13) extending between the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13) and the control electrode (20) and electrically insulating the control electrode (20) from the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13); and a fourth electrode (30; [0027]) provided between the second electrode (50) and the third electrode (40), the fourth electrode (30) extending into the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13) from the front side (top surface of 13) of the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13) and being positioned between the semiconductor part (portions of 12 and 13 on the right side of the gate trench and the semiconductor part comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13) and the control electrode (20), the first insulating film (portion of 41 between 30 and 13) extending between the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13) and the fourth electrode (30), the second insulating film (portion of 41 between 30 and 40) extending between the third electrode (40) and the fourth electrode (30), the fourth electrode (30) facing the control electrode (20) with a third insulating film (portion of 41 immediately touching 30 that is between 30 and 40) interposed therebetween, the fourth electrode (30) being electrically connected (through 50; [0096]) to the third electrode (40); [claim 3] wherein the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13) includes first to fourth semiconductor layers (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13), the first semiconductor layer (11) being of a first conductivity type (n-type; [0026]) and extending between the first electrode (51) and the second electrode (50), the third electrode (40) facing the first semiconductor layer (11) via the first insulating film (comprising 41 between 40 and 11), the second semiconductor layer (12) being of a second conductivity type (p-type; [0026]) and provided between the first semiconductor layer (11) and the second electrode (50), the second semiconductor layer (12) facing the control electrode (20) with the first insulating film (comprising 41 between 20 and 12) interposed, the third semiconductor layer (13) being of the first conductivity type (n-type; [0026]) and partially provided on the second semiconductor layer (12), the third semiconductor layer (13) contacting the first insulating film (portion of 41 between 20 and 13 and 41 between 20 and 12) between the second semiconductor layer (12) and the second electrode (50), the fourth semiconductor layer (p+ layer between 10 and 11; [0098]) being of the second conductivity type (p-type; [0098]) and provided between the first semiconductor layer (11) and the first electrode (51); [claim 4] wherein the third semiconductor layer (13) faces the control electrode (20) with the first insulating film (portion of 41 between 20 and 13) interposed; [claim 21] further comprising: a second third-electrode (40 in second from the left trench) provided between the first electrode (51) and the second electrode (50), the second third-electrode (40) being provided in the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13) with a second first-insulating film (comprising 41 between 40 and 11, 41 between 20 and 13, 41 between 20 and 12, and 41 between 30 and 13 in second from the left trench) interposed and being electrically insulated from the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13) by the second first-insulating film (portion of 41 between 40 and 11); a second control electrode (20 in second from the left trench) provided between the second electrode (50) and the second third-electrode (40 in second from the left trench), the second control electrode (20 in second from the left trench) extending into the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13) from the front side (top surface of 13) of the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13) and facing the second third-electrode (40 in second from the left trench) with a second second-insulating film (portion of 41 between 20 and 40 and portion of 41 between 30 and 40 except the portion of 41 immediately touching 30 that is between 30 and 40 in second from the left trench) interposed, the second first-insulating film (portion of 41 between 20 and 12 and the portion of 41 between 20 and 13) extending between the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13) and the second control electrode (20 in second from the left trench) and electrically insulating the second control electrode (second from the left trench) from the semiconductor part (portions 12 and 13); and a second fourth-electrode (30 in second from the left trench) provided between the second electrode (50) and the second third-electrode (40 in second from the left trench), the second fourth-electrode (30 in second from the left trench) extending into the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13) from the front side (top surface of 13) of the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13) and being positioned between the semiconductor part (portion of 12 and 13 on the right of the trench) and the second control electrode (20 in second from the left trench), the second first-insulating film (portion of 41 between 30 and 12) extending between the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13) and the second fourth-electrode (30 in second from the left trench), the second second-insulating film (portion of 41 between 20 and 40 and portion of 41 between 30 and 40 except the portion of 41 immediately touching 30 that is between 30 and 40 in second from the left trench) extending between the second third-electrode (20 in second from the left trench) and the second fourth-electrode (30 in second from the left trench), the second fourth-electrode (30 in second from the left trench) facing the second control electrode (20 in second from the left trench) with a second third-insulating film (portion of 41 immediately touching 30 that is between 30 and 40 in second from the left trench) interposed and being electrically connected (through 50) to the second third-electrode (40 in second from the left trench), the second control electrode (20 in second from the left trench) facing the fourth electrode (30 in first trench from the left) via the semiconductor part (comprising p+ layer between 10 and 11, 10, 11, 12, and 13).
Nozu fails to expressly disclose where [claim 1] the third insulating film directly contacting the control electrode and the fourth electrode.
Nozu discloses that the field plate 40 has a portion directly between 20 and 30.
Nishiwaki discloses in Figs. 1 and 2 that the portion of the field plate 6 that is between adjacent 8 in Fig. 1 can be fully converted during the process of forming into an oxide that blends to form a larger portion of insulating film 9 in Fig. 2, see [0037] and [0043]-[0045]. When the portion of 40 between 20 and 30 of Nozu is fully converted into an oxide that blends into 41 that is between and directly contacting each of 20 (control electrode) and 30 (the fourth electrode), the whole space between 20 and 30 will be formed of the third insulating film 41 and the second insulating film will be the portion of 41 between the remaining 40 and each of 20 and 30, similar to how in Fig. 2 of Nishiwaki there is a portion of the insulating layer 9 between 6 and the conductive features 8 in the divot section of each 8.
Given the teachings of Nishiwaki, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Nozu by employing the well-known or conventional features of trench gate transistor comprising a field plate fabrication, such as displayed by Nishiwaki, by employing a process to convert the whole space between the control electrode and the fourth electrode to an insulating film (the third insulating film) by converting the field plate in that region to the insulating film in order to reduce the parasitic capacitance between the control electrode and the field plate electrode and to reduce switching loss ([0068]).
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nozu in view of Nishiwaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tokuda (US 2024/0088238 and Tokuda hereinafter).
As to claims 2 and 7: Nozu combined with Nishiwaki discloses [claim 2] wherein the second electrode (50) is provided on the control electrode (20) and the fourth electrode (30) with a fourth insulating film (Figs. 6A and 15; 60; [0045]) interposed between the second electrode (50) and the control electrode (20), and the control electrode (20) is electrically insulated from the second electrode (50) by the fourth insulating film (60).
Nozu in view of Nishiwaki fails to expressly disclose [claim 2] where the fourth insulating film is interposed between the second electrode and the fourth electrode and the fourth electrode is electrically insulated from the second electrode by the fourth insulating film; [claim 7] further comprising: a first control pad provided at the front side of the semiconductor part, the first control pad being apart from the second electrode and electrically connected to the control electrode via a first interconnect; and a second control pad provided at the front side of the semiconductor layer, the second control pad being apart from the second electrode and the first control pad and electrically connected to the third electrode via a second interconnect.
Nozu discloses a vertical semiconductor device with a gate electrode and field plate in a trench in the substrate where the third electrode (FP electrode) 40 is electrically connected to the fourth electrode 30 and to the second electrode 50.
Tokuda discloses in Figs. 1, 4, and 5 [0032]-[0034] a vertical semiconductor device with a gate electrode and field plate in a trench in the substrate where the field plate electrode FP is electrically isolated from the second electrode SE by the fourth insulating film IL and [claim 7] further comprising: a first control pad (Fig. 1; GP; [0034]) provided at the front side (top surface of SUB; [0043]) of the semiconductor part (SUB; [0043]), the first control pad (GP) being apart from the second electrode (SE; [0033]-[0034]) and electrically connected to the control electrode (GE; [0032]) via a first interconnect (Fig. 5; first interconnect GW; [0032]); and a second control pad (Fig. 1; FPP; [0034]) provided at the front side (top surface of SUB) of the semiconductor layer (SUB), the second control pad (FPP) being apart from the second electrode (SE) and the first control pad (GP) and electrically connected (through FPW; [0032]-[0034]) to the third electrode (FP; [0035]) via a second interconnect (Fig. 4; FPW; [0032]-[0034]).
When the structure of connecting the field plate electrode FP of Tokuda is used to modify the connection of the field plate comprising 30 and 40 of Nozu, 30 and 40 of Nozu will be connected to the field plate wiring FPW (as in Tokuda) and not to the fourth/source electrode 50 of Nozu and will be isolated from the fourth/source electrode 50 of Nozu by the fourth insulating layer (60 of Nozu/IL of Tokuda).
Given the teachings of Tokuda, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Nozu in view of Nishiwaki by employing the well-known or conventional features of vertical transistor fabrication, such as displayed by Tokuda, by employing a separate pad (from the source electrode and gate electrode/pad) for the field plate electrodes in order to independently control the voltage of the field plate in order to reduce the on-resistance of the device ([0009]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 7, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOSEPH C. NICELY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/JOSEPH C. NICELY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813
4/9/2026