DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al (US 2022/0232655, hereinafter Noh), in view of Tong et al (US 2024/0022927, hereinafter Tong), in view of Lee et al (US 2022/0303808, hereinafter Lee) and in view of Kim et al (US 2020/017003, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Noh discloses a method, comprising: communicating, by a processor of an apparatus, with a network node of a wireless network by utilizing a lean protocol stack (processor, Para [0402], communicating between communication nodes using protocol stack, Para [0294], the stack can be divided into a user plane and control plane stack, Para [0295], thereby a more efficient or “lean” protocol stack), wherein the utilizing of the lean protocol stack comprises one or more of: performing a split-stack operation (the protocol stack is divided into a user plane protocol stack and a control plane protocol stack, Para [0295]); but does not disclose performing data concatenation and performing uplink (UL) scheduling optimization. Tong discloses UE protocol stack capable of performing dynamic scheduling of uplink transmissions, Para [0460] with usage of two-stage DCI, Para [0825]. Lee discloses control plane and user plane protocol stacks, where RLC layer can perform data concatenation, Para [0064]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Tong and Lee in the system of Noh in order to increase efficiency of DCI scheduling and lower power consumption; and does not explicitly disclose processing a first flow through a thin pipe, wherein the thin pipe includes some or all of packet data convergence protocol (PDCP), radio link control (RLC), medium access control (MAC), physical (PHY) layer functionalities and processing one or more second flows of high-throughput data through one or more fat pipes, wherein each fat pipe includes at least one of upper layer 2 (L2) lower L2, and PHY layer functionalities. Kim discloses receiving signals over different bearers (pipes), Para [0059]/Fig. 2c, both pipes have MAC layer functionality or lower layer 2, Fig. 2c and one bearer is used for low data throughput (thin pipe) and another bearer for high data throughput (fat pipe), table 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Kim in the system of Noh in view of Tong and Lee in order to better manage bearers and improve user experience.
Regarding claim 17, Noh discloses an apparatus (communication node, Para [0402]), comprising: a transceiver configured to communicate wirelessly (transceiver performing communication, Para [0402]); and a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to communicate, via the transceiver, with a network node of a wireless network by utilizing a lean protocol stack (communicating between communication nodes using protocol stack, Para [0294], the stack can be divided into a user plane and control plane stack, Para [0295], thereby a more efficient or “lean” protocol stack), wherein the utilizing of the lean protocol stack comprises one or more of: performing a split-stack operation (the protocol stack is divided into a user plane protocol stack and a control plane protocol stack, Para [0295]); but does not disclose performing data concatenation and performing uplink (UL) scheduling optimization. Tong discloses UE protocol stack capable of performing dynamic scheduling of uplink transmissions, Para [0460] with usage of two-stage DCI, Para [0825]. Lee discloses control plane and user plane protocol stacks, where RLC layer can perform data concatenation, Para [0064]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Tong and Lee in the system of Noh in order to increase efficiency of DCI scheduling and lower power consumption; and does not explicitly disclose processing a first flow through a thin pipe, wherein the thin pipe includes some or all of packet data convergence protocol (PDCP), radio link control (RLC), medium access control (MAC), physical (PHY) layer functionalities and processing one or more second flows of high-throughput data through one or more fat pipes, wherein each fat pipe includes at least one of upper layer 2 (L2) lower L2, and PHY layer functionalities. Kim discloses receiving signals over different bearers (pipes), Para [0059]/Fig. 2c, both pipes have MAC layer functionality or lower layer 2, Fig. 2c and one bearer is used for low data throughput (thin pipe) and another bearer for high data throughput (fat pipe), table 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Kim in the system of Noh in view of Tong and Lee in order to better manage bearers and improve user experience.
Regarding claim 3, Noh discloses the method of claim 2, but not wherein the first flow comprises a flow of low-throughput data, control information, or both, and wherein each of the one or more second flows comprises a flow of high-throughput data, information, or both. Kim discloses one bearer is used for low throughput data and another bearer used for low-throughput data, table 2.
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Noh discloses the method/apparatus of claim 1, wherein the performing of the data concatenation comprises concatenating layer 2 (L2) data to form a plurality of data chunks of a fixed chunk size such that L2 processing of data is at a per-chunk basis (data concatenation is optional).
Regarding claim 7, Noh discloses the method of claim 6, wherein each of a buffer status report (BSR) and a grant size is a multiple of the chunk size (optional limitation).
Regarding claim 8, Noh discloses the method of claim 6, wherein each header at a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer, a Radio Link Control (RLC) layer and a Medium Access Control (MAC) layer is associated with a respective data chunk of the plurality of data chunks (optional limitation).
Regarding claim 9, Noh discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the performing of the data concatenation further comprises performing logical channel prioritization (LCP) within each of the one or more data chunks of the plurality of data chunks (optional limitation).
Regarding claim 10, Noh discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the performing of the data concatenation further comprises performing logical channel prioritization (LCP) across multiple data chunks of the plurality of data chunks carried in a transport block (TB) (optional limitation).
Regarding claim 11, Noh discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the chunk size is mapped to a codeblock (CB) size or a CB group (CBG) size (optional limitation).
Regarding claim 12, Noh discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the performing of the data concatenation further comprises performing integrity protection at a chunk level, a CB level or a CBG level (optional limitation).
Regarding claims 13 and 20, Noh discloses the method/apparatus of claim 1/17, wherein the performing of the UL scheduling optimization comprises utilizing two levels of UL downlink control information (DCI) such that a grant size adaptation deadline is decoupled from a scheduling deadline (the UL scheduling optimization is optional).
Regarding claim 14, Noh discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the performing of the UL scheduling optimization further comprises applying a slower deadline in determining an UL transport block (TB) size (optional limitation).
Regarding claim 15, Noh discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the performing of the UL scheduling optimization further comprises applying a faster deadline in scheduling an UL transmission (optional limitation).
Regarding claim 16, Noh discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the slower deadline is also utilized in reconfiguring a data chunk size (optional limitation).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh, in view of Tong, in view of Lee, in view of Kim and in view of Sun (US 2024/0022649, hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claim 4, Noh discloses the method of claim 2, but not wherein the thin pipe includes some or all of New Radio (NR) functionality (new radio communication, Para [0003], obvious to one of ordinary skill the split stack would have some or all NR functionality), and wherein each of the one or more fat pipes includes reduced functionality compared to the thin pipe. Sun discloses the user plane in 5G protocol stack can have a more simplified architecture with the processing functions of each protocol layer being reduced, Para [0090], where data is transmitted in the fat pipe. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Sun in the system of Noh in view of Tong, Lee and Kim in order to simplify the processing flow and improve network efficiency.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh, in view of Tong, in view of Lee, in view of Kim and in view of Grobicki (US 5,471,474, hereinafter Grobicki).
Regarding claim 5, Noh discloses the method of claim 2, but not wherein the performing of the split-stack operation further comprises applying data concatenation in the fat pipe. Grobicki discloses concatenation of data packets allows for higher throughput of data, C: 3 R: 56-60, where fat pipe is used for higher throughput. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Grobicki in the system of Noh in view of Tong, Lee and Kim in order to reduce packet overhead and allow for high throughput.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/2/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant amends the limitations in the claim and argues the references do not disclose the amended limitations. The limitation requires the lean protocol stack to comprise at least two of the three options. Applicant amends the split-stack operation to include a first flow through thin pipe and second flow through a fat pipe with specific layer functionality. Applicant argues Stephens and the other references do not disclose the amended limitation. In response, arguments are moot, as a new reference is being used in the current office action to disclose the amended limitations. Further argument is moot regardless. The claim requires at least two options of operations: split-stack, data concatenation and UL scheduling optimization. Even if the specific limitation for split stack operation further comprising the first flow in a thin pipe and second flow in a fat pipe, was not disclosed, the other two options would still be disclosed by the references. Applicant has no argument against the Tong and Lee references.
Conclusion
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461