NON-FINAL REJECTION, FIRST DETAILED ACTION
Status of Prosecution
The present application, 18/116,176 filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The application, filed in the Office on March 1, 2023. A continuation-in-part was filed off of this application on September 29, 2023 (18/477,817) and also claims priority to intervening provisional application 63/468,192 filed May 22, 2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending and are all rejected. Claims 1, 15 and 18 are independent.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wall et al. (“Wall”), United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0133509, published on May 6, 2021.
Claims 2-6, 14-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Wall et al. (“Wall”), United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0133509, published on May 6, 2021.
Claims 7-9, 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Wall et al. (“Wall”), United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0133509, published on May 6, 2021 in view of Preuss et al. (“Preuss”), United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0233030, published on July 29, 2021.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Wall et al. (“Wall”), United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0133509, published on May 6, 2021 in view of Preuss et al. (“Preuss”), United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0233030, published on July 29, 2021 in further view of Gal et al. (“Gal”), United States Patent Application Publication 2010/0190142, published on July 29, 2010.
Claim Interpretation – Definitions
Applicant is acting as their own lexicographer for certain terms, which are reproduced here for readers’ convenience:
[0037] As used herein, the term "machine learning" is intended to mean the application of one or more software application techniques or models that process and analyze data to draw inferences and/or predictions from patterns in the data. The machine learning techniques can include a variety of models or algorithms, including supervised learning techniques, unsupervised learning techniques, reinforcement learning techniques, knowledge-based learning techniques, natural- language-based learning techniques such as natural language generation, natural language processing (NLP) and named entity recognition (NER), deep learning techniques, and the like. The machine learning techniques are trained using training data. The training data is used to modify and fine-tune any weights associated with the machine learning models, as well as record ground truth for where correct answers can be found within the data. As such, the better the training data, the more accurate and effective the machine learning model.
[0038] As used herein, the term "trustworthiness" is intended to mean the ability to be relied upon as being honest or truthful. As used herein, the term "certainty" is intended to mean a quality of being reliably true. As used herein, the term "uncertainty" is intended to mean a quality of not being reliably true.
Claim Interpretation – Invocation of 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: each of the modules in each of the claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101 – Subject Matter Eligibility
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding representative claim 1, at step 1, the claim recites a computer system, and therefore is a maufacture, which is a statutory category of invention. See MPEP § 2106.03.
At step 2A, prong one, the claim recites a system that is capable of making assessments.
The following limitations are the abstract idea of a mathematical calculation. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C):
an inquiry module configured to generate a plurality of questions;
a scoring module configured to generate a score based on the responses from the user; and
a decision module that generates the assessment based on the score and the responses.
At step 2A prong 2, the claim language is analyzed to determine whether it recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
The limitation:
a user interface module configured to receive from a user responses to the plurality of questions;
This that are related to a user interface display which is an additional element that amounts to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(g).
Next, at step 2B of the analysis, the claim is considered if it recites additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05.
The additional element of a user interface for receiving responses is one the courts have recognized as well‐understood, routine, and conventional when they are claimed in a generic manner. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is therefore directed to an abstract idea.
Therefore, claim 1 is ineligible.
As to dependent claims 2-11 and 13, the analysis of the respective parent claim is incorporated. In the step 2A, prong one analysis, the additional limitations deal with calculations of scores, use of knowledge stores which are all the abstract idea of a mathematical calculation or are mental processes. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2).
The claim is also ineligible.
As to dependent claim 12, the analysis of the respective parent claim is incorporated. In the step 2A, prong two analysis, the additional limitation deals with the presentation of additional information on a display. Similarly to claim 1, the additional element of a user interface for receiving responses is one the courts have recognized as well‐understood, routine, and conventional when they are claimed in a generic manner. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is therefore directed to an abstract idea.
The claim is also ineligible.
As to independent claims 14 and 18, they are rejected for similar reasons as claim 5. Their dependent claims are rejected similarly to their corresponding dependent claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wall et al. (“Wall”), United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0133509, published on May 6, 2021.
As to Claim 1, Wall teaches: A system capable of making an assessment of an assessment object, the system comprising:
an inquiry module configured to generate a plurality of questions (Wall: par. 0359, a question recommendation module to select “the most predictive next question to be presented”);
a user interface module configured to receive from a user responses to the plurality of questions (Wall: pars. 0284-85, a user interface may allow for questions to be presented to the user and responses received);
a scoring module configured to generate a score based on the responses from the user (Wall: Fig. 14, pars. 0419-20, numerical scores are output and combined in a model combinator to generate a numerical score output); and
a decision module that generates the assessment based on the score and the responses (Wall: par. 0359, the prediction module (i.e. decision module) will generate a final prediction; par 0341, the prediction module will output a prediction [170]).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
A.
Claims 2-6, 14-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Wall et al. (“Wall”), United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0133509, published on May 6, 2021.
As to Claim 2, Wall teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Wall may not explicitly teach: a relationship module configured to identify a causal relationship between an extrinsic characteristic of an environment context and an intrinsic characteristic of the assessment object, wherein the decision module is configured to make the assessment based on the causal relationship.
Wall does teach however that environmental influence (i.e. extrinsic characteristic) which may influence the severity of symptoms related to a developmental disorder (i.e intrinsic characteristic of the assessment object) (Wall: par. 0453, the environmental influence may comprise an insult from a toxin, virus or other substance, for example.). Predicted questions are selected based on the answers to previously presented questions and also, “to recommend one or more next questions or features having the highest predictive utility in classifying a particular subject's developmental disorder.” (Wall: par. 0359, the feature recommendation module can be a question recommendation module to do so). Examiner asserts that a causal relationship between various features that include environmental extrinsic ones and the intrinsic characteristic ones (i.e. an identified disorder).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the application to have implemented the Wall disclosures and teachings by implementing the feature recommendation module as a question recommendation module and as the claim’s relationship module to utilize the identified causal relationships between extrinsic characteristic of an environment context and the intrinsic characteristic of the assessment object. Such a person would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success to allow for the improved assessment sensitivity and accuracy (Wall: par. 0359, “The feature recommendation module can thus help to dynamically tailor the assessment procedure to the subject, so as to enable the prediction module to produce a prediction with a reduced length of assessment and improved sensitivity and accuracy.)
As to Claim 3, Wall as modified teaches the limitations of claim 2.
Wall further teaches: wherein the system is configured to determine one or more assessments of different assessment object types within one or more influencing environments (Wall: par. 0410, different models may specialize for different demographic dimension in different situations (i.e. influencing environment)), wherein the system has one or more defined assessment models defining sets of questions for a defined assessment object and extrinsic characteristics (Wall: par. 0410, the different models have different questions for the different situations (i.e. extrinsic characteristics)), with each defined assessment model of the one or more defined assessment models has one or more scoring models (Wall: Fig. 14, pars. 0419-20, numerical scores are output and combined in a model combinator to generate a numerical score output).
As to Claim 4, Wall teaches the limitations of claim 3.
Wall further teaches: wherein the inquiry module is configured to generate a refined question based on a previous response (Wall: par. 0359: the module can select the most predictive next question to be presented to a subject or caretaker, based on the answers to previously presented questions.)
As to Claim 5, Wall teaches the limitations of claim 4.
Wall may not explicitly teach: wherein the scoring module comprises: a base scoring module that is configured to generate a base score for at least one response of the responses;
one or more additional modules that are configured to provide one or more scoring adjustments to the base score for the at least one response; and
a weighted scoring module that generates the score for the at least one response based on the base score and the one or more scoring adjustments, wherein the decision module makes the assessment based on the score.
Wall teaches model training tuning modules (Wall: par. 0412, the tuning parameters may be various parameters including a threshold of positive determination score). Examiner asserts a person having ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the base score for a response may be tuned as a parameter per the disclosure of Wall as well (Wall: par. 0412, “and any other tuning parameter as known in the art.”). The base score could be adjusted per the tuning (i.e. a weighting and scoring adjustment). This would consequently result in the decision module being affected in making its final determination score and assessment.
The person having ordinary skill in the art would have implemented Wall as modified in such a manner to allow for the appropriate tuning and adjustment of the model for optimized results.
As to Claim 6, Wall teaches the limitations of claim 5.
Wall further teaches: wherein the one or more additional modules includes an importance module, wherein the importance module is configured to provide an importance level scoring adjustment based on an importance level of the at least one response (Wall: par. 0359: the module can select the most predictive next question to be presented to a subject or caretaker, based on the answers to previously presented questions, which is a form of importance scoring).
As to Claim 14, Wall teaches: A method for making an assessment of an assessment object, the method comprising:
receiving at least one response from a user (Wall: pars. 0284-85, a user interface may allow for questions to be presented to the user and responses received).
Wall may not explicitly teach: determining a base score for the at least one response;
determining at least one scoring adjustment based on at least one additional factor;
determining a weighted score for the at least one response using the base score and the at least one scoring adjustment; and
making the assessment based on the weighted score.
Wall teaches model training tuning modules (Wall: par. 0412, the tuning parameters may be various parameters including a threshold of positive determination score). Examiner asserts a person having ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the base score for a response may be tuned as a parameter per the disclosure of Wall as well (Wall: par. 0412, “and any other tuning parameter as known in the art.”). The base score could be adjusted per the tuning (i.e. a weighting and scoring adjustment). This would consequently result in the decision module being affected in making its final determination score and assessment.
The person having ordinary skill in the art would have implemented Wall as modified in such a manner to allow for the appropriate tuning and adjustment of the model for optimized results.
As to Claim 15 it is rejected for similar reasons as claim 6.
As to Claim 18 it is rejected for similar reasons as claim 15. Wall further teaches a computer readable medium with instructions and a processor (Wall: par. 0032).
B.
Claims 7-9, 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Wall et al. (“Wall”), United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0133509, published on May 6, 2021 in view of Preuss et al. (“Preuss”), United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0233030, published on July 29, 2021.
As to Claim 7, Wall teaches the limitations of claim 6.
Wall may not explicitly teach: wherein the one or more additional modules includes a trustworthiness module, wherein the trustworthiness module is configured to provide a trustworthiness scoring adjustment based on a trustworthiness of the at least one response, and
wherein the trustworthiness scoring adjustment is impacted by at least one of a detected bias in the at least one response, consistency with an additional response, or inconsistency with the additional response.
Preuss teaches in general recorded candidate assessments for available positions with scores being calculated per interview question (Preuss: Abstract). Specifically, Preuss teaches that the trustworthiness of a candidate’s response during the interview assessment process may be calculated (Preuss: par. 0080, a quality indicator may be composed of confidence, trustworthiness, etc.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the application to have modified the Wall disclosures and teachings by calculating a trustworthiness score as taught by Preuss. Both Wall and Preuss are involved in the field of endeavor of automated assessments. Such a person would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success to capture the quality and amount of information for scoring purposes (Preuss: par. 0080).
As to Claim 8, Wall and Preuss teach the limitations of claim 7.
Preuss further teaches: wherein the one or more additional modules includes a certainty module, and wherein the certainty module is configured to provide a certainty scoring adjustment based on an uncertainty level of the at least one response (Preuss: par. 0080, a quality indicator may be composed of confidence (i.e. certainty), trustworthiness, etc.).
As to Claim 9, Wall and Preuss teach the limitations of claim 8.
Preuss further teaches: wherein the at least one response includes an answer, a rationale in support of the answer, and evidence in support of at least one of the answer or the rationale (Preuss: par. 0130, the response may assessed to determine if the question is sufficiently answered. Examiner asserts that a thorough response as contemplated by Preuss would include a rationale in support of the answer and/or evidence), and wherein the one or more additional modules are configured to provide one or more scoring adjustments to the base score for the at least one response based on the rationale and the evidence (Preuss: par. 0130, a data quality error can be generated, which affects the base score).
As to Claim 16 it is rejected for similar reasons as claim 7.
As to Claim 17 it is rejected for similar reasons as claim 8.
As to Claim 19 it is rejected for similar reasons as claim 7.
As to Claim 20 it is rejected for similar reasons as claim 8.
C.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Wall et al. (“Wall”), United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0133509, published on May 6, 2021 in view of Preuss et al. (“Preuss”), United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0233030, published on July 29, 2021 in further view of Gal et al. (“Gal”), United States Patent Application Publication 2010/0190142, published on July 29, 2010.
As to Claim 10, Wall and Preuss teach the limitations of claim 9.
Wall and Preuss may not explicitly teach: an assessment knowledge module for storing one or more ontologies;
a knowledge base query module that is configured to load material for use in the assessment; and
an extraction module that receives the responses and extracts relevant answers, rationales, and evidence from the responses.
Gal teaches in general concepts related to automated pedagogical assessments (Gal: Abstract). Specifically, Gal teaches that a knowledge map engine may receive inputs such as answers to questions, and other elements for the knowledge map (Gal: par. 0084). An ontology component stores concepts and definitions of terms, mappings and relationships as well (Gal: pars. 0082-84, a mapping and tagging component [172] may map between different objects and entities to the ontology concepts). Preuss teaches the responses are extracted and analyzed (i.e. per an extraction module) (Preuss: par. 0130).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the application to have modified the Wall-Preuss combination disclosures and teachings by utilizing a knowledge base with ontologies for the questions and responses as taught by Gal. Wall, Preuss and Gal are involved in the field of endeavor of automated assessments. Such a person would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success to allow for the ready storage and access of needed information in a knowledge base.
As to Claim 11, Wall and Preuss teach the limitations of claim 10.
Wall, Preuss and Gal further teaches: wherein the one or more ontologies include an assessment theory ontology, a question survey ontology, a journey ontology, a decision ontology, a decision gate ontology, and an assessment analysis ontology.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the application to have implemented the Wall-Preuss-Gal combination disclosures and teachings with the various ontologies are required by the claim. Such a person would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success to allow for the ready storage and access of needed information in a knowledge base for the various tasks needed to perform the combination.
As to Claim 12, Wall and Preuss teach the limitations of claim 11.
Wall further teaches: wherein the system is configured to cause the presentation of questions on a display (Wall: par. 0141, a display to receive input), and wherein the system is configured to present metric information with a final decision or an intermediate decision of the assessment (Wall: par. 0312, the result of the analysis may be displayed on a screen)
As to Claim 13, Wall and Preuss teach the limitations of claim 12.
Wall further teaches: an improvement module that assesses a potential task that improves the score, wherein the improvement module causes presentation of the potential task on a display (Wall: par. 0461, suggested therapies may be suggested by a diagnosis module (i.e. improvement module) and displayed at the digital device [2310]).
Conclusion
/JAMES T TSAI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2147