DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment/arguments filed on 2/23/2026 which was in response to the office action mailed on 9/23/2025 (hereinafter the prior office action).
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 is/are amended.
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 is/are independent.
Applicant has not overcome prior Claim objection(s).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 2/23/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states in Pg. 6 in “Remarks” a summary of Brockman followed by stating that Brockman does not teach the newly added/amended limitations.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because Brockman teaches the newly added/amended limitations of determining, from one or more of the substation meter data or the DER meter data, a direction of power flow between a substation and a high-voltage power network or a DER and a substation distribution network. This is because Brockman discloses in Fig. 8 that power flow information includes direction of power flow. Further, Brockman teaches to select a data center operating mode based at least in part on the determined direction of power flow and the data center meter data, because Brockman discloses in Para. 63, 78 that run, i.e. operating, mode can be changed, i.e. selected based on received data; further, Brockman discloses in Para. 73 that system can also respond automatically to critical events, i.e. based on real-time power flow.
Further, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, it is neither Brockman, nor Shibano, but the combination of both, that teaches the claim as a whole.
Applicant states in Pg. 6-7 in “Remarks” a summary of Shibano followed by stating that Shibano does not teach the newly added/amended limitations.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because of the response to Applicant’s arguments above, which render the current argument moot.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 15 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 recites “a tangible, non-transient computer usable”, and it should be “a non-transitory -readable .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brockman et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0043285) (hereinafter “Brockman”) in view of Shibano et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0138635) (hereinafter “Shibano”).
Regarding claim 1, Brockman teaches a data center, (Para. 34 - - invention is applied to data center)
comprising: a distribution network; (Para. 38 - - distribution network is used)
and a control system configured (Para. 34 - - control system is used to control power related to data center)
to: receive substation meter data, distributed energy resource (DER) meter data, and data center meter data, (Para. 36 - - meter is used by various entities, where meter data is received)
determine, from one or more of the substation meter data or the DER meter data, a direction of power flow between a substation and a high-voltage power network or a DER and a substation distribution network, (Fig. 8 - - power flow information includes direction of power flow)
select a data center operating mode based at least in part on the determined direction of power flow and the data center meter data, (Para. 63, 78 - - run, i.e. operating, mode can be changed, i.e. selected based on received data; Para. 73 - - system can also respond automatically to critical events, i.e. based on real-time power flow)
and adjust power consumption…based on the selected the data center operating mode. (Para. 63, 78 - - power is managed based on run, i.e. operating, mode, where power management includes adjusting power consumption)
But Brockman does not explicitly teach power consumption of the distribution network based on operating mode
However, Shibano teaches power consumption of the distribution network based on operating mode (Fig. 2 - - power consumption of distribution network is connected to, i.e. based on, operating mode)
Brockman and Shibano are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain power management implemented on a distribution network.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Brockman, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by Shibano.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to easily manage the power demand in the distribution network and improve stability of power supply, as suggested by Shibano (Para. 97).
Regarding claim 2, Brockman further teaches wherein the control system receives the substation meter data from a central control system, (Para. 47 - - data can be received from a centralized/central control system; Para. 36 - - meter is used by various entities)
receives the DER meter data from a DER meter configured to measure power generation of a DER, (Para. 47 - - data can be received from a distributed/DER system; Para. 36 - - meter is used by various entities)
and receives the data center meter data from a data center meter configured to measure the power consumption of the data center. (Para. 47 - - data can be received from a distributed/data center system; Para. 36 - - meter is used by various entities)
Regarding claim 3, Brockman further teaches wherein the substation meter data is generated by a substation meter configured to measure power conducted by a substation. (Para. 36 - - power data is being measured by individual entities’ respective meter data)
Regarding claim 4, Brockman further teaches wherein a DER corresponding to the DER meter data, the data center, and a substation corresponding to the substation meter data are coupled by way of a substation distribution network. (Para. 38 - - distribution network is used coupling, i.e. connecting various entities; Para. 52, 60 - - various entities include DER corresponding to DER data, data center and substation corresponding to substation data)
Regarding claim 5, Brockman further teaches wherein the control system is configured to determine a central control system has transmitted a generation curtailment request to a DER corresponding to the DER meter data, (Para. 34 - - power curtailment is managed, i.e. control request can be determined; Para. 50 - - DER assets are controlled, i.e. generation can be curtailed)
Shibano further teaches and increase the power consumption of the distribution network in response to the generation curtailment request. (Fig. 2 - - power consumption of the distribution network is connected to, i.e. in response to, actions of the power generating facility)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to easily manage the power demand in the distribution network and improve stability of power supply, as suggested by Shibano (Para. 97).
Regarding claim 6, Brockman further teaches wherein the control system is configured to determine an operating cost threshold and select a second operating mode in response to determining the operating cost threshold. (Para. 96 - - operating cost threshold is used to trigger energy management system, i.e. running/operation mode based on cost)
Regarding claim 7, Brockman further teaches wherein the control system adjusts the power consumption of the data center by toggling loads of the distribution network. (Para. 96 - - balancing of load is performed in area including data center and connected grid elements, i.e. loads of the distribution network, that are toggled)
Regarding claim 8, Brockman teaches a data center control system for a data center, (Para. 34 - - invention is applied to data center; Para. 34 - - control system is used to control power related to data center)
comprising: a data acquisition circuit configured to receive substation meter data, distributed energy resource (DER) meter data, and data center meter data; (Para. 36 - - meter is used by various entities, where meter data is received)
a mode selection circuit configured to determine, from one or more of the substation meter data or the DER meter data, a direction of power flow between a substation and a high-voltage power network or a DER and a substation distribution network, (Fig. 8 - - power flow information includes direction of power flow)
and to select a data center operating mode based at least in part on the determined direction of power flow and the data center meter data, (Para. 63, 78 - - run, i.e. operating, mode can be changed, i.e. selected based on received data; Para. 73 - - system can also respond automatically to critical events, i.e. based on real-time power flow)
and a response circuit configured to adjust power consumption…a data center distribution network based on the selected the data center operating mode. (Para. 63, 78 - - power is managed based on run, i.e. operating, mode, where power management includes adjusting power consumption; Para. 38 - - distribution network is used)
But Brockman does not explicitly teach power consumption of a data center distribution network based on operating mode
However, Shibano teaches power consumption of a data center distribution network based on operating mode (Fig. 2 - - power consumption of distribution network is connected to, i.e. based on, operating mode)
Brockman and Shibano are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain power management implemented on a distribution network.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Brockman, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by Shibano.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to easily manage the power demand in the distribution network and improve stability of power supply, as suggested by Shibano (Para. 97).
Regarding claim 9, Brockman further teaches wherein the data acquisition circuit receives the substation meter data from a central control system, (Para. 47 - - data can be received from a centralized/central control system; Para. 36 - - meter is used by various entities)
receives the DER meter data from a DER meter configured to measure power generation of a DER, (Para. 47 - - data can be received from a distributed/DER system; Para. 36 - - meter is used by various entities)
and receives the data center meter data from a data center meter configured to measure the power consumption of the data center. (Para. 47 - - data can be received from a distributed/data center system; Para. 36 - - meter is used by various entities)
Regarding claim 10, Brockman further teaches wherein the substation meter data is generated by a substation meter configured to measure power conducted by a substation. (Para. 36 - - power data is being measured by individual entities’ respective meter data)
Regarding claim 11, Brockman further teaches wherein a DER corresponding to the DER meter data, the data center, and a substation corresponding to the substation meter data are coupled by way of a substation distribution network. (Para. 38 - - distribution network is used coupling, i.e. connecting various entities; Para. 52, 60 - - various entities include DER corresponding to DER data, data center and substation corresponding to substation data)
Regarding claim 12, Brockman further teaches wherein the data center control system is configured to determine a central control system has transmitted a generation curtailment request to a DER corresponding to the DER meter data, (Para. 34 - - power curtailment is managed, i.e. control request can be determined; Para. 50 - - DER assets are controlled, i.e. generation can be curtailed)
Shibano further teaches and increase the power consumption of the data center distribution network in response to the generation curtailment request. (Fig. 2 - - power consumption of the distribution network is connected to, i.e. in response to, actions of the power generating facility)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to easily manage the power demand in the distribution network and improve stability of power supply, as suggested by Shibano (Para. 97).
Regarding claim 13, Brockman further teaches wherein the mode selection circuit is configured to determine an operating cost threshold and select a second operating mode in response to determining the operating cost threshold. (Para. 96 - - operating cost threshold is used to trigger energy management system, i.e. running/operation mode based on cost)
Regarding claim 14, Brockman further teaches wherein the response circuit adjusts the power consumption of the data center by toggling loads of the data center distribution network. (Para. 96 - - balancing of load is performed in area including data center and connected grid elements, i.e. loads of the distribution network, that are toggled)
Regarding claim 15, Brockman teaches a computer program product for use on a computer system for providing power to a data center, (Para. 34 - - invention is applied to data center; Para. 34 - - control system is used to control power related to data center; Para. 36 - - computer system is used)
the computer program product comprising a tangible, non-transient computer usable medium having computer readable program code thereon, (Para. 36 - - computer system is used, where computer system includes computer medium having program code)
the computer readable program code comprising: program code for receiving substation meter data, distributed energy resource (DER) meter data, and data center meter data; (Para. 36 - - meter is used by various entities, where meter data is received)
program code for determining, from one or more of the substation meter data or the DER meter data, a direction of power flow between a substation and a high-voltage power network or a DER and a substation distribution network, (Fig. 8 - - power flow information includes direction of power flow)
program code for selecting a data center operating mode based at least in part on the determined direction of power flow and the data center meter data, (Para. 63, 78 - - run, i.e. operating, mode can be changed, i.e. selected based on received data; Para. 73 - - system can also respond automatically to critical events, i.e. based on real-time power flow)
and program code for adjusting power consumption…a distribution network of the data center based on the selected the data center operating mode. (Para. 63, 78 - - power is managed based on run, i.e. operating, mode, where power management includes adjusting power consumption; Para. 38 - - distribution network is used)
But Brockman does not explicitly teach power consumption of a distribution network of the data center based on operating mode
However, Shibano teaches power consumption of a distribution network of the data center based on operating mode (Fig. 2 - - power consumption of distribution network is connected to, i.e. based on, operating mode)
Brockman and Shibano are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain power management implemented on a distribution network.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Brockman, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by Shibano.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to easily manage the power demand in the distribution network and improve stability of power supply, as suggested by Shibano (Para. 97).
Regarding claim 16, Brockman further teaches wherein the substation meter data is transmitted from a central control system, (Para. 47 - - data can be received from a centralized/central control system; Para. 36 - - meter is used by various entities)
the DER meter data is transmitted from a DER meter configured to measure power generation of a DER, (Para. 47 - - data can be received from a distributed/DER system; Para. 36 - - meter is used by various entities)
and the data center meter data is transmitted from a data center meter configured to measure the power consumption of the data center. (Para. 47 - - data can be received from a distributed/data center system; Para. 36 - - meter is used by various entities)
Regarding claim 17, Brockman further teaches wherein a DER corresponding to the DER meter data, the data center, and a substation corresponding to the substation meter data are coupled by way of a substation distribution network. (Para. 38 - - distribution network is used coupling, i.e. connecting various entities; Para. 52, 60 - - various entities include DER corresponding to DER data, data center and substation corresponding to substation data)
Regarding claim 18, Brockman further teaches determining a central control system has transmitted a generation curtailment request to a DER corresponding to the DER meter data, (Para. 34 - - power curtailment is managed, i.e. control request can be determined; Para. 50 - - DER assets are controlled, i.e. generation can be curtailed)
Shibano further and increasing the power consumption of the distribution network in response to the generation curtailment request. (Fig. 2 - - power consumption of the distribution network is connected to, i.e. in response to, actions of the power generating facility)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to easily manage the power demand in the distribution network and improve stability of power supply, as suggested by Shibano (Para. 97).
Regarding claim 19, Brockman further teaches determining an operating cost threshold and select a second operating mode in response to determining the operating cost threshold. (Para. 96 - - operating cost threshold is used to trigger energy management system, i.e. running/operation mode based on cost)
Regarding claim 20, Brockman further teaches wherein adjusting the power consumption of the data center includes toggling loads of the distribution network. (Para. 96 - - balancing of load is performed in area including data center and connected grid elements, i.e. loads of the distribution network, that are toggled)
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0226386 by Kulathu et al., which discloses power management for a plant electrical network including hierarchical level and distributed level power management (Title/Abstract).
U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0029897 by Cherian et al., which discloses dynamic distributed power grid control system including simulation module operatively connected to DER control (Title/Abstract).
U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0005515 by Sanders et al., which discloses renewable energy integrated and generation with cloud distributed energy management services (Title/Abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAAD M KABIR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/ZIAUL KARIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119