Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeya et. Al. (US 20170358624 A1 hereinafter Takeya).
Regarding claim 1, Takeya teaches in Fig. 1 or 14 with associated text a micro LED, comprising: a light emitting structure 112 [0045]; a passivation layer 125 formed on the light emitting structure (Fig. 1 or 14, [0045]); a reflective layer 117a formed on the passivation layer (Fig. 1 or 14, [0045]); and an electrical conductive layer 116 formed on the top surface of the passivation layer and on the top surface of the reflective layer (Fig. 1 or 14, [0045]), wherein the electrical conductive laver covers an entire top surface of the micro LED including the top surface of the passivation layer and the top surface of the reflective layer (Fig. 1 or 14).
Regarding claim 2, Takeya teaches the top surface of the reflective layer is equal to or lower than a top surface of the passivation layer (equal to Fig. 1); and the electrical conductive layer is further formed on an upper sidewall of the passivation layer which is higher than the top surface of the reflective layer (claim requires a conditional equal to or less than limitation since the limitation “the electrical conductive layer is further formed on an upper sidewall of the passivation layer which is higher than the top surface of the reflective layer” comes after this limitation it is only required when the top surface of the reflective layer is lower than a top surface of the passivation layer ).
Regarding claim 3, Takeya teaches the reflective layer is full filled in a space (space defined by 125) between adjacent light emitting structures (Fig. 1 or 14).
Regarding claim 4, Takeya teaches the top surface of the reflective layer is higher than a top surface of the light emitting structure (Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 5, Takeya teaches a material of the reflective layer is metal or oxide material ([0067]) .
Regarding claim 8, Takeya teaches an inclined angle of a sidewall of the light emitting structure is less than 90 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Takeya teaches a thickness of the reflective layer is greater than half a thickness of the light emitting structure (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Takeya teaches the light emitting structure is a mesa structure with a flat top surface (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Takeya teaches the light emitting structure is a cone structure without a steeple top (the sides slope inward from a base to a flat topped portion so that the shape is interpreted to be a cone structure without a steeple top Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Takeya teaches a conductive substrate (130 including 152) electrically connected with the light emitting structure and formed under the light emitting structure (Fig. 1, [0075]).
Regarding claim 14, Takeya teaches the conductive substrate is an integrated circuit (IC) substrate [0044].
Regarding claim 15, Takeya teaches the conductive substrate is bonded with the light emitting structure (Fig. 1, [0075]).
Regarding claim 16, Takeya teaches in Fig. 1 or 14 with associated text a micro LED panel 100 comprising two or more micro LEDs (112, 125 and 117a (Fig. 1, [0045]), wherein each one of the two or more micro LEDs comprises: a light emitting structure 112 [0045]; a passivation layer 125 formed on the light emitting structure (Fig. 1 or 14, [0045]); a reflective layer 117a formed on the passivation layer (Fig. 1 or 14, [0045]); and an electrical conductive layer 116 formed on the top surface of the passivation layer and on the top surface of the reflective layer (Fig. 1 or 14, [0045]), wherein the electrical conductive laver covers an entire top surface of the micro LED including the top surface of the passivation layer and the top surface of the reflective layer (Fig. 1 or 14); wherein the reflective layer is formed between adjacent ones of light emitting structures of the two or more micro LEDs (Fig. 1 or 14).
Regarding claim 17, Takeya teaches a micro LED chip 100 comprising one or more micro LED panels 100, wherein each one of the one or more micro LED panels comprises two or more micro LEDs (112, 125 and 117a (Fig. 1, [0045]), and each one of the two or more micro LEDs comprises: a light emitting structure 112 [0045]; a passivation layer 125 formed on the light emitting structure(Fig. 1 or 14, [0045]); a reflective layer 117a formed on the passivation layer (Fig. 1 or 14, [0045]); and an electrical conductive layer 116 formed on the top surface of the passivation layer and on the top surface of the reflective layer (Fig. 1 or 14, [0045]), wherein the electrical conductive laver covers an entire top surface of the micro LED including the top surface of the passivation layer and the top surface of the reflective layer (Fig. 1 or 14); wherein the reflective layer is formed between adjacent ones of light emitting structures of the two or more micro LEDs (Fig. 1 or 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeya as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Seo et. Al. (US 20160284941 A1 hereinafter Seo).
Regarding claim 6, Takeya teaches the micro LED according to claim 1..
Takeya does not specify the reflective layer is formed by stacked layers.
Seo discloses in Figs. 4H with associated text a micro LED similar to that of Takeya wherein a reflective layer is formed by stacked layers (Cr/Ni/Au [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use stacked layers as taught by Seo for the reflective layer of Takeya because according to Seo such a structure is suitable for a reflective electrode [0026] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have “stacked layers”, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 7, Takeya in view of Seo teaches the reflective layer comprises stacked layers of Ni, Ag, or Au (Cr/Ni/Au [0026])
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeya as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Cho et. Al. (US 20220310701 A1 hereinafter Cho).
Regarding claim 12, Takeya teaches the micro LED according to claim 1.
Takeya does not specify a micro lens formed on the electrically conductive layer and the reflective layer.
Cho discloses in Figs. 4 with associated text wherein a micro lens 400 is formed on the electrically conductive layer 310 and a shielding layer 500 (Fig. 4, [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a micro lens as taught by Chi on the conductive and reflective layers of Takeya because according to Cho such a structure enhances a light concentrating effect (Fig. 4, [0035]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON J GRAY/Examiner, Art Unit 2897