DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed January 2, 2026 have been entered and considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 was amended in response filed January 2, 2026, the amended limitation is not supported by the specification or the Figures. Claim 18 was amended as such: “the second via hole of the first sub-pixel, the second via hole of the second sub- pixel, and the third via hole of the third sub-pixel overlap the first connecting line in a plan view”. It can be seen in paragraphs [00145], [00163], [00216-00217], and Figure 6 of the instant application that the third via hole [VIH3] of the third sub-pixel [SPX3] overlaps with the second connecting line [CNL2]. The second via hole [VIH2] of the first sub-pixel [SPX1], and the second via hole [VIH2] of the second sub-pixel [SPX2] overlap with the first connecting line [CNL1]. Examiner will assume Applicant meant: “the second via hole of the first sub-pixel, the second via hole of the second sub- pixel, and the second via hole of the third sub-pixel overlap the first connecting line in a plan view”. Support for this can be found in paragraphs [00167], [00214-00215], and Figure 6 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (KR 20200017013 A), in view of Shim et al. (US 20180061908 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li et al. teaches:
A pixel [PXL, paragraph [0110-0111], Fig. 4] comprising:
a first sub-pixel [SP1, Fig. 2, 4], a third sub-pixel [SP3, Fig. 2, 4], and a second sub-pixel [SP2, Fig. 2, 4] arranged in a second direction and each including an emission area [EMA, paragraph [0113-0115], Fig. 4-6] and a non-emission area [PPA, paragraph [0114], Fig. 4-6], each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels [SP1, SP2, SP3, Fig. 2, 4-6] including:
a pixel circuit layer [PCL, paragraph [0116], Fig. 5a-6] including:
a storage capacitor [Cst, paragraph [0080-0086], Fig. 3a-6];
a first power line [VDD, paragraph [0077], [0083-0084], Fig. 3a-6];
a second power line [VSS, paragraph [0077], [0129], Fig. 3a-6]; and
a passivation layer [PSV, paragraph [0116-0117], [0130], Fig. 4-6] including:
a first via hole [CH1, paragraph [0130], Fig. 4-6];
a second via hole [CH3, paragraph [0130], Fig. 4-6]; and
a third via hole [CH2, paragraph [0130], Fig. 4-6];
a first alignment electrode [REL1_1, paragraph [0146-0147], [0152-0153], Fig. 4-6] disposed on the passivation layer [PSV, Fig. 4-6] and extending in a first direction [DR2, Fig. 4] intersecting the second direction [DR1, Fig. 4];
a second alignment electrode [REL2, paragraph [0146-0147], Fig. 4-6] extending in the first direction [DR2, Fig. 4] and spaced apart from the first alignment electrode [REL1_1, REL1_2, paragraph [0152], [0156], Fig. 4-6] in the second direction [DR1, Fig. 4];
a floating pattern [BRP, paragraph [0207], [0251], [0256], Fig. 4-5b] spaced apart from the first alignment electrode [REL1_1, Fig. 4-5b]; and
a light emitting element [LD1/LD2, paragraph [0173], Fig. 5a-6] disposed between the first alignment electrode [REL1_1/REL1_2, Fig. 5a-6] and the second alignment electrode [REL2, Fig. 5a-6], wherein
each of a first via hole [CH1, Fig. 4] of the first sub-pixel [SP1, Fig. 2, 4], a first via hole [CH1, Fig. 4] of the third sub-pixel [SP3, Fig. 2, 4], and a first via hole [CH1, Fig. 2, 4] of the second sub-pixel [SP2, Fig. 2, 4] is positioned in a first column,
each of a second via hole [CH3, Fig. 4] of the first sub-pixel [SP1, Fig. 2, 4], a second via hole [CH3, Fig. 4] of the third sub-pixel [SP3, Fig. 2, 4], and a second via hole [CH3, Fig. 4] of the second sub-pixel [SP2, Fig. 2, 4] is positioned in a second column, and
each of a third via hole [CH2, Fig. 4] of the first sub-pixel [SP1, Fig. 2, 4], a third via hole [CH2, Fig. 4] of the third sub-pixel [SP3, Fig. 2, 4], and a third via hole [CH2, Fig. 4] of the second sub-pixel [SP2, Fig. 2, 4] is positioned in a third column.
Li et al. does not teach:
wherein the first column, the second column, and the third column are different from each other.
Shim et al. teaches:
each of a first via hole [DRCH1, paragraph [0066], [0072], [0108], Fig. 5] of the first sub-pixel [SPn1, paragraph [0057], Fig. 5], a first via hole [DRCH1, Fig. 5] of the third sub-pixel [SPn3, Fig. 5], and a first via hole [DRCH1, Fig. 5] of the second sub-pixel [SPn2, Fig. 5] is positioned in a first column,
each of a second via hole [DRCH2, paragraph [0072], [0110], Fig. 5] of the first sub-pixel [SPn1, Fig. 5], a second via hole [DRCH2, Fig. 5] of the third sub-pixel [SPn3, Fig. 5], and a second via hole [DRCH2, Fig. 5] of the second sub-pixel [SPn2, Fig. 5] is positioned in a second column, and
each of a third via hole [STCH1, paragraph [0064], [0072], [0106], Fig. 5] of the first sub-pixel [SPn1, Fig. 5], a third via hole [STCH1, Fig. 5] of the third sub-pixel [SPn3, Fig. 5], and a third via hole [STCH1, Fig. 5] of the second sub-pixel [SPn2, Fig. 5] is positioned in a third column, and
wherein the first column, the second column, and the third column are different from each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Shim et al. into the teachings of Li et al. to include wherein the first column, the second column, and the third column are different from each other, for the purpose of connecting features within the device utilizing the shortest distance, increasing density, preventing short circuits, improving reliability and performance. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 4, Li et al. and Shim et al. teach the pixel of claim 1.
Shim et al. further teaches:
the first [DRCH1, Fig. 5] and third via holes [STCH1, Fig. 5] are aligned along the first direction [vertical, Fig. 5].
Regarding claim 20, Li et al. and Shim et al. teach the pixel of claim 1.
Li et al. further teaches:
An electronic device [paragraph [0039], [0059-0063], Fig. 2] comprising:
The pixel [PXL, paragraph [0059-0063], Fig. 2] of claim 1.
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (KR 20200017013 A), in view of Shim et al. (US 20180061908 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US 20060091399 A1), Li et al. (KR 20210008252 A), hereby referred to as Li ‘252, and Park et al. (KR 20150143947 A).
Regarding claim 2, Li et al. and Shim et al. teach the pixel of claim 1.
Li et al. further teaches:
the storage capacitor [Cst, paragraph [0084], Fig. 3a-6] of each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels [SP1, SP2, SP3, Fig. 2, 4-6].
Li et al. and Shim et al. do not teach:
The storage capacitor includes:
a lower electrode; and
an upper electrode positioned on the lower electrode,
the first via hole exposes a region of the upper electrode.
Lee teaches:
The storage capacitor [Cst, paragraph [0057], [0059-0062], Fig. 4] includes:
a lower electrode [121, paragraph [0059], Fig. 4]; and
an upper electrode [127, paragraph [0060], Fig. 4] positioned on the lower electrode [121, Fig. 4],
the first via hole [131d, paragraph [0061], Fig. 4] exposes a region of the upper electrode [127, Fig. 4],
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the teachings of Li et al. and Shim et al. to include the storage capacitor includes: a lower electrode; and an upper electrode positioned on the lower electrode, the first via hole exposes a region of the upper electrode, for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device, increasing density, and storing energy for later use. See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Li et al., Shim et al. and Lee do not teach:
the second via hole exposes a region of the second power line.
Li ‘252 teaches:
the second via hole [CH2, paragraph [0181], Fig. 10] exposes a region of the second power line [DVL, paragraph [0181], [0249], [0269], Fig. 10].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Li ‘252 into the teachings of Li et al., Shim et al. and Lee to include the second via hole exposes a region of the second power line, for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device, and increasing density. See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, and Li ‘252 do not teach:
the third via hole exposes a region of the floating pattern.
Park et al. teaches:
the third via hole [CNT2, paragraph [0059-0060], Fig. 7] exposes a region of the floating pattern [FE, Fig. 7].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Park et al. into the teachings of Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, and Li ‘252 to include the third via hole exposes a region of the floating pattern, for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device, and increasing density. See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 3, Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252 and Park et al. teach the pixel of claim 2.
Li et al. further teaches:
the second power line [VSS, paragraph [0172], Fig. 3a-6] of each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels [SP1, SP2, SP3, Fig. 4-6] is electrically connected to the second alignment electrode [REL2, Fig. 4-6] through the second via hole [CH3, Fig. 4-6] of a corresponding one of the first, second, and third sub-pixels [SP1, SP2, SP3, Fig. 4-6], and
the first power line [VDD, Fig. 3a-6] of each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels [SP1, SP2, SP3, Fig. 4-6] is electrically connected to the floating pattern [BRP, Fig. 4-5b] through the third via hole [CH3, Fig. 4] of a corresponding one of the first, second, and third sub-pixels [SP1, SP2, SP3, Fig. 4-6].
Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252 and Park et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Li et al., Shim et al., Li ‘252 and Park et al. do not teach:
the upper electrode of each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels is electrically connected to the first alignment electrode through the first via hole of a corresponding one of the first, second, and third sub-pixels.
Lee teaches:
the upper electrode [127, paragraph [0062], Fig. 4] of each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels is electrically connected to the first alignment electrode [125, Fig. 4] through the first via hole [131a, Fig. 4] of a corresponding one of the first, second, and third sub-pixels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the teachings of Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252 and Park et al. to include the upper electrode of each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels is electrically connected to the first alignment electrode through the first via hole of a corresponding one of the first, second, and third sub-pixels, for the purpose of connecting features within the device and increasing density. See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 5, Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252 and Park et al. teach the pixel of claim 3.
Li et al. further teaches:
wherein in a plan view, the floating pattern [BRP, Fig. 4-5b] of the first sub-pixel [SP1, Fig. 4-6], the floating pattern [BRP, Fig. 4-5b] of the third sub-pixel [SP3, Fig. 4-6], and the floating pattern [BRP, Fig. 4-5b] of the second sub-pixel [SP2, Fig. 4-6] are positioned in a same column.
Regarding claim 6, Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252 and Park et al. teach the pixel of claim 5.
Li et al. further teaches:
in each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels [SP1, SP2, SP3, Fig. 4],
the floating pattern [BRP, paragraph [0206-0207], Fig. 4-5b] is spaced apart from the first alignment electrode [REL1, Fig. 4-6] in the first direction [DR2, Fig. 4], and
the floating pattern [BRP, Fig. 4-5b] and the first alignment electrode [REL1, Fig. 4-6] are colinear with each other.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (KR 20200017013 A), in view of Shim et al. (US 20180061908 A1), Lee (US 20060091399 A1), Li ‘252 (KR 20210008252 A) and Park et al. (KR 20150143947 A) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (CN 110660355 A).
Regarding claim 7, Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252 and Park et al. teach the pixel of claim 6.
Li et al. further teaches:
wherein in a plan view, in each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels [SP1, SP2, SP3, Fig. 4], the first via hole [CH1, Fig. 4] and the third via hole [CH3, Fig. 4] are spaced apart from each other in the first direction [DR2, Fig. 4]
Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252 and Park et al. do not teach:
the first via hole and the third via hole are positioned in a same row.
Huang et al. teaches:
the first via hole and the third via hole are positioned in a same row. [Fig. 10]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Huang et al. into the teachings of Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, and Park et al. to include the first via hole and the third via hole are positioned in a same row, for the purpose of connecting features within the device, and increasing density and symmetry. See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 8, Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al. and Huang et al. teach the pixel of claim 7.
Li et al. further teaches:
wherein in a plan view, in each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels [SP1, SP2, SP3, Fig. 4], the first via hole [CH1, Fig. 4] and the second via hole [CH3, Fig. 4] are positioned in different rows.
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (KR 20200017013 A), in view of Shim et al. (US 20180061908 A1), Lee (US 20060091399 A1), Li ‘252 (KR 20210008252 A), Park et al. (KR 20150143947 A) and Huang et al. (CN 110660355 A) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Sakakura et al. (US 20050212420 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al. and Huang et al. teach the pixel of claim 8.
Li et al. further teaches:
an insulating layer [INS4, paragraph [0184-0186], Fig. 5a-6] disposed on the first alignment electrode [REL1, Fig. 4-6] and the second alignment electrode [REL2, Fig. 4-6];
first alignment electrode [REL1, Fig. 4-6]
second alignment electrode [REL2, Fig. 4-6]
Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al. and Huang et al. do not teach:
an insulating layer disposed on the first electrode and the second electrode; and
a first bank disposed on the insulating layer in the non-emission area, the first bank including:
a first opening corresponding to the emission area; and
a second opening spaced apart from the first opening,
wherein the first bank completely covers the first to third via holes of each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels.
Sakakura et al. teaches:
an insulating layer [309, paragraph [0050], Fig. 2A] disposed on the first electrode [306, Fig. 2A] and the second electrode [307, Fig. 2A]; and
a first bank [312, paragraph [0052], Fig. 2A] disposed on the insulating layer [309, Fig. 2A] in the non-emission area [Corresponds to an area where 316 is not located, Fig. 2A], the first bank [312, Fig. 2A] including:
a first opening [Corresponds to an area where 316 is located, Fig. 2A] corresponding to the emission area [Corresponds to an area where 316 is located, Fig. 2A]; and
a second opening [Corresponds to an area where 314 and 310 connect, paragraph [0050], Fig. 2A] spaced apart from the first opening [Corresponds to an area where 316 is located, Fig. 2A],
wherein the first bank [312, Fig. 2A] completely covers the first to third via holes [paragraph [0050], Fig. 2A] of each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sakakura at al. into the teachings of Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al. and Huang et al. to include an insulating layer disposed on the first electrode and the second electrode; and a first bank disposed on the insulating layer in the non-emission area, the first bank including: a first opening corresponding to the emission area; and a second opening spaced apart from the first opening, wherein the first bank completely covers the first to third via holes of each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels, for the purpose of preventing light leakage and short circuits, and improving performance and yield. See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 11, Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al. and Sakakura et al. teach the pixel of claim 9.
Li et al. further teaches:
wherein the light emitting element [LD1, LD2, paragraph [0173], Fig. 3a-6] of each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels [SP1, SP2, SP3, Fig. 4] includes:
a first end [EP1, paragraph [0138], Fig. 4-6]; and
a second end [EP2, paragraph [0138], Fig. 4-6] that is opposite to the first end [EP1, Fig. 4-6] in the second direction [DR1, Fig. 4].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (KR 20200017013 A), in view of Shim et al. (US 20180061908 A1), Lee (US 20060091399 A1), Li ‘252 (KR 20210008252 A), Park et al. (KR 20150143947 A), Huang et al. (CN 110660355 A) and Sakakura et al. (US 20050212420 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Bok et al. (CN 107230434 A).
Regarding claim 10, Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al. and Sakakura et al. teach the pixel of claim 9.
Li et al. further teaches:
wherein in each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels [SP1, SP2, SP3, Fig. 4], the first alignment electrode [REL1, paragraph [0206-0207], Fig. 4-6] and the floating pattern [BRP, paragraph [0206-0207], Fig. 4-5b] are spaced apart from each other in the first direction [DR2, Fig. 4].
Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al. and Sakakura et al. do not teach:
the first alignment electrode and the floating pattern are spaced apart from each other in the first direction within the second opening of the first bank.
Bok et al. teaches:
the first alignment electrode [333, paragraph [0091], Fig. 8] and the floating pattern [826, paragraph [0124], Fig. 8] are spaced apart from each other in the first direction within the second opening [324, paragraph [0091], Fig. 8] of the first bank [323, Fig. 8].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Bok et al. into the teachings of Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al. and Sakakura et al. to include the first alignment electrode and the floating pattern are spaced apart from each other in the first direction within the second opening of the first bank, for the purpose of connecting features within the device, increasing density, and preventing short circuits. See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (KR 20200017013 A), in view of Shim et al. (US 20180061908 A1), Lee (US 20060091399 A1), Li ‘252 (KR 20210008252 A), Park et al. (KR 20150143947 A), Huang et al. (CN 110660355 A) and Sakakura et al. (US 20050212420 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Saito et al. (US 20110169005 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al. and Sakakura et al. teach the pixel of claim 11.
Li et al. further teaches:
wherein each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels [SP1, SP2, SP3, Fig. 4] further includes:
a first electrode [CNE1_1, CNE1_2, Paragraph [0181], Fig. 4-5a] overlapping a region of the first alignment electrode [REL1_1, REL1_2, Fig. 4-5a] in a plan view, electrically connected to the light emitting element [LD, Fig. 4-6], and extending in the first direction [DR2, Fig. 4];
a second electrode [CNE2, paragraph [0184], Fig. 4-5a] overlapping a region of the second alignment electrode [REL2, Fig. 4, 6] in a plan view, electrically connected to the light emitting element [LD, Fig. 4-6], and extending in the first direction [DR2, Fig. 4];
the second electrode [CNE2, Fig. 4-6] is spaced apart from the first electrode [CNE1_1, CNE1_2, Fig. 4-5a] in the second direction [DR1, Fig. 4],
first alignment electrode [REL1, Fig. 4-6]
second alignment electrode [REL2, Fig. 4-6]
Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al. and Sakakura et al. do not teach:
an intermediate electrode spaced apart from the first and second electrodes in the second direction between the first electrode and the second electrode.
the intermediate electrode overlaps another region of the first electrode and another region of the second electrode in a plan view.
Saito et al. teaches:
an intermediate electrode [11, paragraph [0111], Fig. 1(b)] spaced apart from the first and second electrodes [10, 12, paragraph [0111], Fig. 1(b)] in the second direction between the first electrode [10, paragraph [0111], Fig. 1(b)] and the second electrode [12, paragraph [0111], Fig. 1(b)].
the intermediate electrode [11, paragraph [0111], Fig. 1(b)] overlaps another region of the first electrode [2, Fig. 1(b)] and another region of the second electrode [3, Fig. 1(b)] in a plan view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Saito et al. into the teachings of Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al. and Sakakura et al. to include an intermediate electrode spaced apart from the first and second electrodes in the second direction between the first electrode and the second electrode. The intermediate electrode overlaps another region of the first electrode and another region of the second electrode in a plan view, for the purpose of connecting features within the device, increasing density and preventing short circuits. See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (KR 20200017013 A), in view of Shim et al. (US 20180061908 A1), Lee (US 20060091399 A1), Li ‘252 (KR 20210008252 A), Park et al. (KR 20150143947 A), Huang et al. (CN 110660355 A), Sakakura et al. (US 20050212420 A1) and Saito et al. (US 20110169005 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Kang et al. (KR 20200098767 A).
Regarding claim 13, Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al., Sakakura et al. and Saito et al. teach the pixel of claim 12.
Li et al. further teaches:
the light emitting element [LD, Fig. 4-6] of each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels [SP1, SP2, SP3, Fig. 4] includes:
a first light emitting element [LD1, paragraph [0173], Fig. 4-5a] positioned between the region of the first alignment electrode [REL1_1, Fig. 4-5a] and the another region of the second alignment electrode [REL2, Fig. 4-5a], the first light emitting element [LD1, Fig. 4-5a] including:
a first end [EP1, Fig. 4-5a] electrically connected to the first electrode [CNE1_1, Fig. 4-5a];
a second light emitting element [LD2, paragraph [0173], Fig. 4, 6] positioned between the another region of the first alignment electrode [REL1_2, Fig. 4, 6] and the region of the second alignment electrode [REL2, Fig. 4, 6], the second light emitting element [LD2, Fig. 4, 6].
Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al., Sakakura et al. and Saito et al. do not teach:
the first light emitting element including:
a second end electrically connected to the intermediate electrode;
the second light emitting element including:
a first end electrically connected to the intermediate electrode; and
a second end electrically connected to the second electrode.
Kang et al. teaches:
the first light emitting element [LD1, Fig. 5d-16, 18] including:
a second end [EP2, paragraph [0177], Fig. 5d-16, 18] electrically connected to the intermediate electrode [IET/IET1, paragraph [0177], Fig. 5d-16, 18];
the second light emitting element [LD3, Fig. 5d-5e, 6a-17c, 19-20c, 22-23] including:
a first end [EP1, paragraph [0177], Fig. 5d-5e, 6a-17c, 19-20c, 22-23] electrically connected to the intermediate electrode [IET2, paragraph [0177], Fig. 5d-5e, 6a-17c, 19-20c, 22-23]; and
a second end [EP2, paragraph [0177], Fig. 5d-5e, 6a-17c, 19-20c, 22-23] electrically connected to the second electrode [ET2, paragraph [0177], Fig. 5d-5e, 6a-17c, 19-20c, 22-23].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kang et al. into the teachings of Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al., Sakakura et al. and Saito et al. to include the first light emitting element including: a second end electrically connected to the intermediate electrode; the second light emitting element including: a first end electrically connected to the intermediate electrode; and a second end electrically connected to the second electrode, for the purpose of connecting features within the device, and increasing density. See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 16, Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al., Sakakura et al., Saito et al. and Kang et al. teach the pixel of claim 13.
Saito et al. further teaches:
wherein the first and second electrodes [10, 12, paragraph [0111], Fig. 1(b)] and the intermediate electrode [11, paragraph [0111], Fig. 1(b)] are disposed on a same layer.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (KR 20200017013 A), in view of Shim et al. (US 20180061908 A1), Lee (US 20060091399 A1), Li ‘252 (KR 20210008252 A), Park et al. (KR 20150143947 A), Huang et al. (CN 110660355 A), Sakakura et al. (US 20050212420 A1), Saito et al. (US 20110169005 A1) and Kang et al. (KR 20200098767 A) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Kwak et al. (KR 20210012181 A).
Regarding claim 14, , Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al., Sakakura et al., Saito et al., and Kang et al. teach the pixel of claim 13.
Li et al. further teaches:
First alignment electrode {REL1, Fig. 4-6]
Second alignment electrodes {REL2, Fig. 4-6]
Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al., Sakakura et al., Saito et al., and Kang et al. do not teach:
in the non-emission area, the insulating layer includes:
a first contact portion exposing the region of the first electrode; and
a second contact portion exposing the region of the second electrode,
the first electrode is electrically connected to the first electrode through the first contact portion, and
the second electrode is electrically connected to the second electrode through the second contact portion.
Kwak et al. teaches:
in the non-emission area [NEA, Fig. 5], the insulating layer [106a, paragraph [0152], Fig. 5] includes:
a first contact portion [107a, paragraph [0152], Fig. 5] exposing the region of the first electrode [103b, paragraph [0152], Fig. 5]; and
a second contact portion [107b, paragraph [0152], Fig. 5] exposing the region of the second electrode [103c, paragraph [0152], Fig. 5],
the first electrode [109a, paragraph [0152], Fig. 5] is electrically connected to the first electrode [103b, Fig. 5] through the first contact portion [107a, Fig. 5], and
the second electrode [109b, paragraph [0152], Fig. 5] is electrically connected to the second electrode [103c, Fig. 5] through the second contact portion [107b, Fig. 5].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kwak et al. into the teachings of Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al., Sakakura et al., Saito et al., and Kang et al. to include in the non-emission area, the insulating layer includes: a first contact portion exposing the region of the first electrode; and a second contact portion exposing the region of the second electrode, the first electrode is electrically connected to the first electrode through the first contact portion, and the second electrode is electrically connected to the second electrode through the second contact portion, for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device, and increasing density. See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (KR 20200017013 A), in view of Shim et al. (US 20180061908 A1), Lee (US 20060091399 A1), Li ‘252 (KR 20210008252 A), Park et al. (KR 20150143947 A), Huang et al. (CN 110660355 A), Sakakura et al. (US 20050212420 A1), Saito et al. (US 20110169005 A1) and Kang et al. (KR 20200098767 A) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Blanchard (US 20140264460 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al., Sakakura et al., Saito et al., and Kang et al. teach the pixel of claim 13.
Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al., Sakakura et al., Saito et al., and Kang et al. do not teach:
wherein the first and second electrodes and the intermediate electrode are disposed on different layers.
Blanchard teaches:
wherein the first and second electrodes [46, 48, paragraph [0054], [0059], Fig. 4] and the intermediate electrode [48, paragraph [0054], Fig. 4] are disposed on different layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Blanchard into the teachings of Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al., Sakakura et al., Saito et al., and Kang et al. to include wherein the first and second electrodes and the intermediate electrode are disposed on different layers, for the purpose of improving connectivity, increasing density, and preventing short circuits. See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (KR 20200017013 A), in view of Shim et al. (US 20180061908 A1), Lee (US 20060091399 A1), Li ‘252 (KR 20210008252 A), Park et al. (KR 20150143947 A), Huang et al. (CN 110660355 A), Sakakura et al. (US 20050212420 A1), Saito et al. (US 20110169005 A1) and Kang et al. (KR 20200098767 A) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20160172422 A1), and Kang et al. (KR 20200001649 A), hereby referred to as Kang ‘649.
Regarding claim 17, , Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al., Sakakura et al., Saito et al., and Kang et al. teach the pixel of claim 13.
Li et al. further teaches:
each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels [SP1, SP2, SP3, Fig. 4] further includes:
Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al., Sakakura et al., Saito et al., and Kang et al. do not teach:
a second bank positioned on the first bank in the non-emission area;
Kim et al. teaches:
a second bank [111, paragraph [0054], Fig. 3a] positioned on the first bank [110, paragraph [0054], Fig. 3a] in the non-emission area [200, paragraph [0054], Fig. 3a].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim et al. into the teachings of Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al., Sakakura et al., Saito et al., and Kang et al. to include a second bank positioned on the first bank in the non-emission area, for the purpose of preventing light leakage and short circuits.
Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al., Sakakura et al., Saito et al., Kang et al., and Kim et al. do not teach:
a color conversion layer positioned on the first and second light emitting elements in the emission area, the color conversion layer that converts light of a first color emitted from the first and second light emitting elements into light of a second color; and
a color filter that is positioned on the color conversion layer and selectively transmits the light of the second color.
Kang ‘649 teaches:
a color conversion layer [520, paragraph [0115], Fig. 1] positioned on the first and second light emitting elements [350, paragraph [0046], Fig. 1] in the emission area, the color conversion layer [520, paragraph [0124], Fig. 1] that converts light of a first color emitted from the first and second light emitting elements [350, Fig. 1] into light of a second color; and
a color filter [550, paragraph [0133-0134], Fig. 1] that is positioned on the color conversion layer [520, Fig. 1] and selectively transmits the light of the second color.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kang ‘649 into the teachings of Li et al., Shim et al., Lee, Li ‘252, Park et al., Huang et al., Sakakura et al., Saito et al., Kang et al., and Kim et al. to include a color conversion layer positioned on the first and second light emitting elements in the emission area, the color conversion layer that converts light of a first color emitted from the first and second light emitting elements into light of a second color; and a color filter that is positioned on the color conversion layer and selectively transmits the light of the second color, for the purpose of converting light to desired wavelength, improving display and user experience. See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (KR 20200017013 A) in view of Shim et al. (US 20180061908 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20200034896 A), hereby referred to as Kim ‘896.
Regarding claim 18, Li et al. and Shim et al. teach the pixel of claim 4.
Li et al. further teaches:
a first connecting line [CNL1, paragraph [0131-0134], Fig. 4] extending in the second direction [DR1, Fig. 4]; and
a second connecting line [CNL2, paragraph [0131-0134], Fig. 4] extending in the second direction [DR1, Fig. 4],
the third via hole [CH3, Fig. 4] of the first sub-pixel [SP1, Fig. 4], the third via hole [CH3, Fig. 4] of the second sub-pixel [SP2, Fig. 4], and the third via hole [CH3, Fig. 4] of the third sub-pixel [SP3, Fig. 4] overlap the second connecting line [CNL2, Fig. 4] in a plan view,
the first connecting line [CNL1, paragraph [0148], [0164-0165], Fig. 3a-3c, 4] and the first power line [VDD, Fig. 3a-3c, 4] are integral with each other, and
the second connecting line [CNL2, paragraph [0295], [0164-0165], Fig. 4] and the second power line [VSS, Fig. 3a-3c, 4] are integral with each other.
Li et al. and Shim et al. do not teach:
The pixel circuit layer includes:
a first connecting line extending in the second direction; and
a second connecting line extending in the second direction.
the second via hole of the first sub-pixel, the second via hole of the second sub-pixel, and the second via hole of the third sub-pixel overlap the second connecting line in a plan view.
Kim ‘896 teaches:
the pixel circuit layer [PCL, paragraph [0152], [0201], [0258], Fig. 4-5] includes:
a first connecting line [CNL2, paragraph [0201], Fig. 4-5] extending in the second direction [DR1, Fig. 4]; and
a second connecting line [CNL1, paragraph [0200], Fig. 4-5] extending in the second direction [DR1, Fig. 4],
the second via hole [CH2, paragraph [0152], Fig. 4-5] of the first sub-pixel [SP1, Fig. 4], the second via hole [CH2, paragraph [0152], Fig. 4-5] of the second sub-pixel [SP2, Fig. 4-5], and the second via hole [CH2, paragraph [0152], Fig. 4-5] of the third sub-pixel [SP3, Fig. 4-5] overlap the first connecting line [CNL2, Fig. 4] in a plan view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘896 into the teachings of Li et al., and Shim et al. to include the pixel circuit layer includes: a first connecting line extending in the second direction; and a second connecting line extending in the second direction. The second via hole of the first sub-pixel, the second via hole of the second sub-pixel, and the second via hole of the third sub-pixel overlap the second connecting line in a plan view, for the purpose of connecting features within the device, and increasing density. See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (KR 20200017013 A) in view of Shim et al. (US 20180061908 A1) and Kim ‘896 (KR 20200034896 A) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Zhao et al. (CN 112002725 A).
Regarding claim 19, , Li et al., Shim et al. and Kim ‘896 teach the pixel of claim 18.
Li et al. further teaches:
the first connecting line [CNL1, paragraph [0204-0207], Fig. 4-5b] is electrically connected to the floating pattern [BRP, Fig. 4-5b] of a corresponding one of the first, second, and third sub-pixels [SP1, SP2, SP3, Fig. 4] of each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels [SP1, SP2, SP3, Fig. 4].
the second connecting line [CNL2, paragraph [0150], Fig. 4] is electrically connected to the second alignment electrode [REL2, Fig. 4-6] of a corresponding one of the first, second, and third sub-pixels [SP1, SP2, SP3, Fig. 4] of each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels [SP1, SP2, SP3, Fig. 4].
Li et al., Shim et al. and Kim ‘896 do not teach:
the first connecting line is electrically connected to the floating pattern of a corresponding one of the first, second, and third sub-pixels through the third via hole of each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels.
Zhao et al. teaches:
the first connecting line [212, paragraph [0104], Fig. 5A-6A] is electrically connected to the floating pattern [250, paragraph [0104], Fig. 5A-6A] of a corresponding one of the first, second, and third sub-pixels through the third via hole [C, paragraph [0104], Fig. 5A-6A] of each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhao et al. into the teachings of Li et al., Shim et al. and Kim ‘896 to include the first connecting line is electrically connected to the floating pattern of a corresponding one of the first, second, and third sub-pixels through the third via hole of each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels, for the purpose of connecting features within the device, and increasing density. See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Li et al., Shim et al., Kim ‘896 and Zhao et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Li et al., Shim et al. and Zhao et al. do not teach:
the second connecting line is electrically connected to the second alignment electrode of a corresponding one of the first, second, and third sub-pixels through the second via hole of each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels.
Kim ‘896 teaches:
the second connecting line [CNL2, paragraph [0152], Fig. 4-5] is electrically connected to the second alignment electrode [REL2, paragraph [0152], Fig. 4-5] of a corresponding one of the first, second, and third sub-pixels [SP1, SP2, SP3, Fig. 4] through the second via hole [CH2, paragraph [0152], Fig. 4-5] of each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels [SP1, SP2, SP3, Fig. 4].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘896 into the teachings of Li et al., Shim et al., Kim ‘896 and Zhao et al. to include the second connecting line is electrically connected to the second alignment electrode of a corresponding one of the first, second, and third sub-pixels through the second via hole of each of the first, second, and third sub-pixels, for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device, and increasing density. See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 1, Section: I. Claim Objections, in remarks filed January 2, 2026, with respect to Claim 18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 18 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues on pages 1-4, Section: II. Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102(a) and 103, in remarks filled January 2, 2026 that the current prior art of record does not teach the amended limitations of independent claim 1. Examiner agrees with Applicant; However, after a new line of search and consideration of the prior art, the amended limitations of independent claim 1 can be overcome by newly cited source Shim et al. (US 20180061908 A1).
Applicant argues on page 4, Section: II. Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102(a) and 103, in remarks filled January 2, 2026 that the structural arrangement of claim 1 in instant application allows for the expansion of the emission area, and primary reference Li et al. (KR 20200017013 A) does not teach this limitation. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because the limitation is not claimed subject matter.
Applicant argues on page 4, Section: II. Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102(a) and 103, in remarks filled January 2, 2026 that the floating pattern of primary reference Li et al. (KR 20200017013 A) is structurally and functionally different than the floating pattern of the instant application. Applicant argues that the floating pattern of Li et al. is intended to electrically connect different layers and is not floating. It can be seen in paragraphs [0029], [00163], [00241] and [00247] and in Figure 10, of the instant application that the claimed floating pattern is electrically connected to the second connecting line and spaced apart from the first alignment electrode. The floating pattern [BRP] of Li et al. is spaced apart from the first alignment electrode [REL1] and electrically connected to the second connection line [CNL1]. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, the floating pattern as claimed in claim 1 of the instant application is therefore overcome by primary reference Li et al. (KR 20200017013 A).
Applicant argues on page 5, Section: II. Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102(a) and 103, in remarks filled January 2, 2026 that claims 2-20 depend on independent claim 1 and should therefore be in condition for allowance. Examiner disagrees with Applicant for at least the reasons mentioned above.
It should be noted that Applicant also amended dependent claims 4, 5, 18 and 20. The amended limitation of claim 4 can be overcome by newly cited source Shim et al. (US 20180061908 A1). Claim 5 was amended for dependency, no new limitations were added. Claim 18 was amended to fix a minor informality. The amended limitations of claim 20 can be overcome by primary reference Li et al. (KR 20200017013 A)
In summary, the objection of claim 18 has been withdrawn. The amended limitations of independent claim 1 can be overcome by newly cited source Shim et al. (US 20180061908 A1). Applicant’s arguments with respect to the expansion of the emission area and the floating pattern are not persuasive. All claims directly or indirectly dependent on independent claim 1 are also rejected for at least the reasons mentioned above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2815 04/13/2026
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815