Response to Amendment
Applicant' s amendment and response filed 12/10/2025 has been entered and made record. This application contains 7 pending claims.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claim 7 has been cancelled.
Claim 8 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 regarding claims rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 in claims 1-7 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A newly discovered prior art, Jung KR 101416798B1, will be used in combination with prior arts cited in the previous office action to reject the newly added claim 8 limitations.
The applicant argues on pages 5-7 of the remark filed on 12/10/2025 that “… In contrast to Applicant's claimed invention, Wright discloses that the battery information of all of the individual BPMs (Battery Pack Modules) that comprise a "pack" (which corresponds to Applicant's recited battery "unit") is monitored and transmitted to the user via a server (see, for example, paragraphs [0013], [0038], and [0071] of Wright). Wright does not teach or suggest that only the battery information of the overall battery pack should or could be transmitted to the server, or that any advantages or benefits would or could have been obtained thereby. For example, Wright does not teach or suggest that transmitting only the battery information of the overall battery pack would have been beneficial in order to, e.g., reduce the amount of data communication between an information processing unit and a server (see again, for example, paragraphs [0009] and [0017] of Applicant's specification).” Applicant continue to argue that “With respect to Applicant's claim 4, the Examiner alleged on pages 6-7 of the Office Action that it would have been obvious to select and transmit [only] a portion of the battery unit information of Wright "as needed." However, this allegation by the Examiner is purely speculative and certainly not based on the objective teachings of Wright (see again, for example, paragraphs [0013], [0038], and [0071] of Wright). …
the Examiner's allegation is contrary to the overall teachings of Wright that all of the individual BPMs are monitored and transmitted to the user via the server … . Thus, Takeda in view of Wright fails to teach or suggest the features of …”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees the applicant’s argument. Wright discloses that each individual BPM includes one or more battery cells and a module controller. The BPM is the building block for larger power packs or battery pack (Wright, FIG. 1, [0012], [0022]), and thus, a battery pack consists of one or more battery cells or BPMs. The BPMs or battery cells are in operative communication with the controller, and the controller acquires the BMP’s cell voltage, cell temperature, current, pressure sensor voltage (Wright, FIG. 1, [0052], [0055], [0056]). Wright further teaches that the Smart Management Module (SMM) sends BPM data (e.g., voltage, temp and status) or BMP cell voltage, cell temperature, and other BPMs related data to a remote server or the device (Wright, [0087]). The SMM sends the battery cell voltage, the battery cell temperature, and other BMP data. However, Wright does not explicitly teach that the battery pack information is sent to a server. Thus, Wright teaches that SMM or the information processing send or transmit to the server only the battery cell or BPM or unit information, however, the SMM does not explicitly send the battery pack information to the server.
Therefore, the combination of Takeda and Wright teaches the information processing unit is configured to transmit to the server only the battery unit information and not the battery pack information.
Claims 2-6 depend from claim 1 and thus, the dependent claims 2-6 are also ineligible over the same reasons set forth in independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda (EP 2645515 A2, hereinafter Takeda) in view of Wright et al. (US 20150295430, hereinafter Wright).
As to claim 1, Takeda teaches an information processing unit to obtain battery pack information representing a status of the plurality of battery packs and obtain battery unit information representing a status of the battery unit based on the obtained battery pack information (FIG. 2 and [0014] disclose “cell control unit (CCU) 210 collects battery information such as current information, voltage information, temperature information, state of charge (i.e., obtain battery unit information such as current, voltage, temperature, and SOC representing a status of the battery unit – emphasis added by Examiner) and the like of the battery cells of the battery cell groups 20, and a battery module control unit (BMCU) 31.”; [0015] discloses “The battery pack 40 includes the plural battery modules 30 and the battery pack control unit 230. The battery pack control unit 230 collects the battery information outputted from each of the battery module control units 31”).
Takeda does not explicitly teach a server to receive the battery unit information transmitted from the information processing unit and transmit at least a portion of the received battery unit information to a user terminal; wherein the information processing unit is operable to transmit to the server only a portion of the battery unit information obtained based on the battery pack information.
Wright teaches a server to receive the battery unit information transmitted from the information processing unit and transmit at least a portion of the received battery unit information to a user terminal ([0015] discloses “The SMM can receive pack voltage, pack current, temperature, pressure sensor data”; [0016] discloses a software application, or hardware logic, installed on a personal computer, a mobile device, or a remote server can communicate through a wired or wireless interface with the Smart Management Module (SMM), or the Battery Pack Modules (BPM) terminal to provide useful information to the user (i.e., a software application installed on a remote server can communicate to provide the battery unit information to the user terminal – emphasis added by Examiner), dealer, repair center and/or manufacturer. The SMM can receive commands from the user connection to send, store/save, and configure operating limits and parameters for the system); wherein
the information processing unit is configured to transmit to the server only the battery unit information and not the battery pack information ([0012], [0052], and [0087] disclose each Battery Pack Module (BPM) 12 include a module controller and one or more battery cells, and a larger power packs include several BPM as shown in FIG. 1. Inputs of the BPM are in operative communication with the controller 13 and can include a cell voltage input 30, a temperature sensor voltage input 32, a current monitor 41, a pressure sensor voltage input 34, and a sensor 35. The Smart Management Module (SMM) sends BPM data (e.g., voltage, temp and status), other BMP related data to a remote server or the device (i.e., each BPM includes battery cells, and battery cells voltage, battery cells temperature, and battery cells status data are acquired and sent to a remote server. The SMM or information processing unit sends or transmits battery cells voltage, temperature, and status data to a remote server. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to select and transmit battery cells voltage or battery cells temperature or a portion of the battery unit information obtained based on the battery pack information to a remote server, as needed.
Moreover, Wright does not explicitly teach that the battery pack information is transmitted to a server – emphasis added by Examiner)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wright into Takeda for the purpose of defining a smart battery system providing detailed feedback, flexible configurations, and upgrades in order to allow for selective diagnosis, repair or replacement of bad individual cells. This combination would improve in discarding only the few bad battery cells so that unnecessary costs can be reduced and contribution to waste can be prevented.
As to claim 2, the combination of Takeda and Wright teaches the claimed limitations as discussed in claim 1.
Takeda teaches the battery pack information includes information regarding at least one of voltage, current, output, temperature, or state of charge of each of the plurality of battery packs (FIG. 2, [0014] and [0015] disclose the battery pack 40 includes the plural battery modules 30 and the battery pack control unit 230, and cell control unit (CCU) 210 collects battery information such as current information, voltage information, temperature information, state of charge of the battery cell groups 20); and
the information processing unit is operable to calculate the battery unit information using the battery pack information ([0014] discloses “The battery module control unit (BMCU) 31 calculates an average state of charge of the battery cell groups 20 in the battery module 30, adds the battery information of the average state of charge of the battery cell groups 20 to the battery information mentioned before”).
As to claim 3, the combination of Takeda and Wright teaches the claimed limitations as discussed in claim 1.
Takeda teaches wherein the battery unit information includes information regarding at least one of voltage, current, output, temperature, or state of charge of the battery unit ([0015] discloses “The SMM can receive pack voltage, pack current, temperature, pressure sensor data”; [0037] discloses an SOC arithmetic part 243 calculates the state of charge (SOC) of the battery pack 40).
As to claim 4, the combination of Takeda and Wright teaches the claimed limitations as discussed in claim 1.
Takeda does not explicitly teach wherein the information processing unit is operable to transmit to the server only a portion of the battery unit information obtained based on the battery pack information.
Wright teaches wherein the information processing unit is operable to transmit to the server only a portion of the battery unit information obtained based on the battery pack information ([0012], [0052], and [0087] disclose each Battery Pack Module (BPM) 12 include a module controller and one or more battery cells, and a larger power packs include several BPM as shown in FIG. 1. Inputs of the BPM are in operative communication with the controller 13 and can include a cell voltage input 30, a temperature sensor voltage input 32, a current monitor 41, a pressure sensor voltage input 34, and a sensor 35. The Smart Management Module (SMM) sends BPM data (e.g., voltage, temp and status), other BMP related data to a remote server or the device (i.e., each BPM includes battery cells, and battery cells voltage, battery cells temperature, and battery cells status data are acquired and sent to a remote server.
The SMM or information processing unit sends or transmits battery cells voltage, temperature, and status data to a remote server. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to select and transmit battery cells voltage or battery cells temperature or a portion of the battery unit information obtained based on the battery pack information to a remote server, as needed – emphasis added by Examiner)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wright into Takeda for the purpose of defining a smart battery system providing detailed feedback, flexible configurations, and upgrades in order to allow for selective diagnosis, repair or replacement of bad individual cells. This combination would improve in discarding only the few bad battery cells so that unnecessary costs can be reduced and contribution to waste can be prevented.
As to claim 5, the combination of Takeda and Wright teaches the claimed limitations as discussed in claim 1.
Takeda does not explicitly teach wherein the server is operable to transmit to the user terminal only a portion of the battery unit information received from the information processing unit.
Wright teaches wherein the server is operable to transmit to the user terminal only a portion of the battery unit information received from the information processing unit (FIG. 3 and [0066] disclose “the controller 100 can sample the BPM pack to retrieve pack voltage, temperatures and current data (i.e., the information processing unit receive the battery unit information such as voltage, temperature and current data – emphasis added by Examiner) at step 152.”; [0016] discloses a software application, or hardware logic, installed on a personal computer, a mobile device, or a remote server can communicate through a wired or wireless interface with the Smart Management Module (SMM), or the Battery Pack Modules (BPM) terminal to provide useful information to the user (i.e., a software application installed on a remote server can communicate to provide the battery unit information to the user terminal. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to select and transmit a portion of the battery unit information obtained based on the battery pack information, as needed – emphasis added by Examiner), dealer, repair center and/or manufacturer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wright into Takeda for the purpose of defining a smart battery system providing detailed feedback, flexible configurations, and upgrades in order to allow for selective diagnosis, repair or replacement of bad individual cells. This combination would improve in discarding only the few bad battery cells so that unnecessary costs can be reduced and contribution to waste can be prevented.
As to claim 6, the combination of Takeda and Wright teaches the claimed limitations as discussed in claim 5.
Takeda does not explicitly teach when the server receives a request from the user terminal to transmit contents of the battery unit information that has not been transmitted to the user terminal, the server is operable to transmit the requested contents of the battery unit information to the user terminal.
Wright teaches when the server receives a request from the user terminal to transmit contents of the battery unit information that has not been transmitted to the user terminal, the server is operable to transmit the requested contents of the battery unit information to the user terminal ([0016] and [0087] disclose a software application, or hardware logic, installed on a remote server can communicate with the Smart Management Module (SMM), or the Battery Pack Modules (BPM) terminal to provide useful information to the user; and the SMM 14 can receive a command 200 from an external user software application and device 23a, 23b, or 23c via USB from a personal computer, Bluetooth from a mobile or like device, or Ethernet or other internet connection from a cloud server at port 21. The external user command 200 can include a myriad of send, store/save, and configuration commands for the system 10, and the command can include a request 200a for the SMM to send 8PM data (e.g., voltage, temp and status), a request 200b for the 8PM fault records, a request 200c for the 8PM health information or status (e.g., SOH) (i.e., a software application installed on a remote server can communicate to provide the battery unit information to the user terminal, and the SMM 14 can receive a command 200 from an external user software application device 23a, 23b, or 23c via USB from Ethernet or other internet connection from a cloud server at port 21, and the command can include a request 200a for the SMM to send BPM data of voltage, temp and status, and health information or status (e.g., SOH). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to select and transmit
contents of the battery unit information that has not been transmitted to the user terminal as the server is operable to transmit the requested contents of the battery unit information to the user terminal – emphasis added by Examiner)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wright into Takeda for the purpose of defining a smart battery system providing detailed feedback, flexible configurations, and upgrades in order to allow for selective diagnosis, repair or replacement of bad individual cells. This combination would improve in discarding only the few bad battery cells so that unnecessary costs can be reduced and contribution to waste can be prevented.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda (EP 2645515 A2, hereinafter Takeda) in view of Wright et al. (US 20150295430, hereinafter Wright), and further in view of Jung et al. (KR 101416798 B1 hereinafter Jung).
As to claim 8, Takeda teaches an information processing unit to obtain battery pack information representing a status of the plurality of battery packs and obtain battery unit information representing a status of the battery unit based on the obtained battery pack information (FIG. 2 and [0014] disclose “cell control unit (CCU) 210 collects battery information such as current information, voltage information, temperature information, state of charge (i.e., obtain battery unit information such as current, voltage, temperature, and SOC representing a status of the battery unit – emphasis added by Examiner) and the like of the battery cells of the battery cell groups 20, and a battery module control unit (BMCU) 31.”; [0015] discloses “The battery pack 40 includes the plural battery modules 30 and the battery pack control unit 230. The battery pack control unit 230 collects the battery information outputted from each of the battery module control units 31”).
Takeda does not explicitly teach a server to receive the battery unit information transmitted from the information processing unit and transmit at least a portion of the received battery unit information to a user terminal; wherein the information processing unit is configured to transmit to the server (1) only the battery unit information and not the battery pack information.
Wright teaches a server to receive the battery unit information transmitted from the information processing unit and transmit at least a portion of the received battery unit information to a user terminal ([0015] discloses “The SMM can receive pack voltage, pack current, temperature, pressure sensor data”; [0016] discloses a software application, or hardware logic, installed on a personal computer, a mobile device, or a remote server can communicate through a wired or wireless interface with the Smart Management Module (SMM), or the Battery Pack Modules (BPM) terminal to provide useful information to the user (i.e., a software application installed on a remote server can communicate to provide the battery unit information to the user terminal – emphasis added by Examiner), dealer, repair center and/or manufacturer. The SMM can receive commands from the user connection to send, store/save, and configure operating limits and parameters for the system); wherein
the information processing unit is configured to transmit to the server (1) only the battery unit information and not the battery pack information ([0012], [0052], and [0087] disclose each Battery Pack Module (BPM) 12 include a module controller and one or more battery cells, and a larger power packs include several BPM as shown in FIG. 1. Inputs of the BPM are in operative communication with the controller 13 and can include a cell voltage input 30, a temperature sensor voltage input 32, a current monitor 41, a pressure sensor voltage input 34, and a sensor 35. The Smart Management Module (SMM) sends BPM data (e.g., voltage, temp and status), other BMP related data to a remote server or the device (i.e., each BPM includes battery cells, and battery cells voltage, battery cells temperature, and battery cells status data are acquired and sent to a remote server. The SMM or information processing unit sends or transmits battery cells voltage, temperature, and status data to a remote server. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to select and transmit battery cells voltage or battery cells temperature or a portion of the battery unit information obtained based on the battery pack information to a remote server, as needed.
Moreover, Wright does not explicitly teach that the battery pack information is transmitted to a server – emphasis added by Examiner)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wright into Takeda for the purpose of defining a smart battery system providing detailed feedback, flexible configurations, and upgrades in order to allow for selective diagnosis, repair or replacement of bad individual cells. This combination would improve in discarding only the few bad battery cells so that unnecessary costs can be reduced and contribution to waste can be prevented.
Takeda does not explicitly teach the information processing unit is configured to selectively transmit to the server (2) both the battery unit information and the battery pack information.
Jung teaches the information processing unit is configured to selectively transmit to the server (2) both the battery unit information and the battery pack information (Page 4, Lines 18-23 discloses transmitting the received information of the battery cell and the information of the battery pack unit to the master battery management unit; and transmitting the information to an energy management server (i.e., the master battery management unit or the information processing unit or the controller transmitted both the battery unit information and the battery pack information to the server - emphasis added by Examiner)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Jung into Takeda in view of Wright for the purpose of minimizing data transmission in a hierarchical structure and thereby preventing communication load and manage batteries and prepare countermeasures in case of emergency or expansion in order to improve in administration of the battery pack unit, and easy effect in maintenance and repair. This combination would improve in identifying the presence of defects, damage in each battery cell so that a deterioration of the overall system of the battery pack unit can be avoided. By combining Wright’s SMM or information processing unit that sends or transmits battery cells voltage, temperature, and status data to a remote server,
with Jung’s master battery management unit or the information processing unit or the controller that transmitted both the battery unit information and the battery pack information to the server, the information processing unit would selectively transmit to the server (1) only the battery unit information and not the battery pack information, and (2) both the battery unit information and the battery pack information.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAL CE MANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2857