DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the Amendment filed on 11/24/2025.
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are presently pending; claim 4 is canceled; claims 14-20 are withdrawn; claims 1, 3, 5-7 and 10-13 are amended; claims 1-3 and 5-13 are under examination.
The objections to the abstract are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the abstract.
The objections to claims 10-13 are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
The rejections of claims 3, 5-7 and 13 under 35 U.S.C 112(b) are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
The 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claims 1-2 and 9-10 over KIERAT and the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 3 and 7-8 over KIERAT and claims 11-13 over KIERAT in view of IMAGAWA are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims; the rejection of claim 4 is moot as this claim has been canceled; the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 5-6 over KIERAT in view of IKEGAMI is maintained.
New grounds of rejection are present herein in light of the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kierat, et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0194245-A1) (hereinafter, “KIERAT”) in view of Ikegami, et al. (JP-2007284517-A) (hereinafter, “IKEGAMI”; citations herein refer to the machine translation provided with a previous office action).
Regarding claims 1 and 5-6, KIERAT teaches a method of making concrete (see KIERAT generally at paragraphs [0015], [0028]-[0030], [0204], [0213] and [0215]), comprising:
immersing reinforcement fibers in a solution of water-soluble amine-containing polymer (see KIERAT at Abstract and paragraphs [0182], [0192]-[0193] and [0230], teaching surface treating the fibers with a reagent solution, wherein the reagent can be any type of polymer reagent creating amine functionalities; e.g., in Example F4, polypropylene fibers are suspended in a solution of polyvinylamine-polypropylene copolymer (which comprises polyvinylamine, a water-soluble amine-containing polymer) and water);
filtering and drying the reinforcement fibers (see KIERAT at paragraph [0230]; after surface treatment with the polymer solution, the fibers are separated and washed with water (i.e., filtered) and dried);
immersing the reinforcement fibers in a sodium silicate solution (see KIERAT at paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0062]-[0064] and [0241]-[0245], teaching combining the fibers with a solution comprising water-soluble silicate, wherein the water-soluble silicate is present as sodium silicate; e.g., in Example SP1, after surface treating, washing and drying the fibers (via “Route 1”, which includes Example F4), an aqueous solution comprising sodium metasilicate is prepared and the fibers are stored in this solution for 1 to 24 hours);
filtering and drying the reinforcement fibers (see KIERAT at paragraph [0251]; after the fibers are stored in the solution comprising sodium metasilicate for 1-24 hours, they are separated by filtration and washed two times, then the fibers are dried);
and mixing the reinforcement fibers with a cement binder, aggregate, and water (see KIERAT at paragraphs [0003], [0016], [0204] and [0213], teaching that the modified fibers are added to a concrete mixture in order to form concrete, which comprises hydraulic cement, fine and coarse aggregates, and water).
KIERAT does not explicitly mention that the water-soluble amine-containing polymer comprises poly-L-lysine, poly-D-lysine, poly(allylamine hydrochloride), poly(ethyleneimine), or any combination thereof.
However, KIERAT teaches that the treatment reagent may be any type of polymer reagent which can create amine functionalities on the fiber surface (see KIERAT at paragraphs [0192]-[0194]); therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the another known amine-containing polymer reagent could be used in place of polyvinylamine-polypropylene copolymer to surface treat the fiber (see KIERAT at paragraphs [0192]-[0193] and [0230]).
For example, IKEGAMI teaches several known water-soluble amine-containing polymers which can be used interchangeably, e.g., polyethyleneimine, polypropyleneamine, polyvinylamine and derivatives thereof, poly-L-lysine, and the like (see IKEGAMI at paragraph [0017]), as a reactant used to form an aqueous dispersion (see IKEGAMI at paragraphs [0004], [0010] and [0023]) which is subsequently used to treat fibers, e.g., polypropylene fibers (see IKEGAMI at paragraphs [0012] and [0024]), and/or is used in concrete compositions (see IKEGAMI at paragraph [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of KIERAT by simply substituting the polyvinylamine-polypropylene copolymer with poly-L-lysine and/or polyethyleneimine as taught by IKEGAMI, as KIERAT teaches that any amine-containing polymer can be used as the reagent to treat the fibers (e.g., polypropylene fibers) (see KIERAT at paragraphs [0192]-[0193] and [0230]), and as IKEGAMI teaches that polyvinylamine and derivatives thereof can be used interchangeably with poly-L-lysine or polyethyleneimine as an amine-containing polymer reactant used in a process of fiber (e.g., polypropylene fiber) treatment and/or a process of making concrete (see IKEGAMI at paragraphs [0012], [0017], [0024] and [0028]). One of ordinary skill in the art would could have made such a substitution with a reasonable expectation of success, yielding the predictable result of providing a polymer reagent containing amine groups which will create amine functionalities on the fiber surface (see KIERAT at paragraphs [0192]-[0193] and [0230]; see IKEGAMI at paragraph [0017]).
Further, as evidenced by IKEGAMI, poly-L-lysine and polyethyleneimine are known water-soluble polymers having amine functional groups, and MPEP § 2144.07 states that “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)”.
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, KIERAT in view of IKEGAMI teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein the reinforcement fibers comprise steel, glass, carbon, basalt, polymers, waste plastic, natural fibers, or any combination thereof (see KIERAT at paragraphs [0207] and [0230], teaching plastic/polymeric fibers, steel fibers, glass fibers, carbon fibers, basalt fibers, cellulose-based (i.e., natural) fibers, or any mixture thereof; e.g., Example F4 uses polypropylene (PP) fibers).
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, KIERAT in view of IKEGAMI teaches a method according to claim 1.
KIERAT fails to explicitly mention that the solution has a concentration of from 0.1% to 10% by weight of water-soluble amine-containing polymer. However, although KIERAT does not mention the concentration of the water-soluble amine containing polymer (see KIERAT at paragraph [0230], Example F4), KIERAT teaches that the surface treatment reagent may be selected from, e.g., the polyvinylamine-polypropylene copolymer, 3-aminopropyltriethoxysilane, phosphonated polypropylene, etc. (see KIERAT at paragraphs [0192]-[0194], [0226]-[ 0231]), and provides examples wherein the concentration of the surface treatment reagent falls within the claimed range; e.g., Examples F1 and F5 using 8 g of 3-aminopropyltriethoxysilane as the reagent in a solution containing 4 L of ethanol (i.e., approximately 3,156 g) and 10 mL of concentrated ammonium hydroxide solution (i.e., approximately 9 g), i.e., a reagent concentration in the solution of approximately 0.25% by weight (see KIERAT at paragraphs [0226] and [0231]); or, e.g., Example F2, using 1.5 g of phosphonated polypropylene as the reagent in a solution containing 500 mL of methyl-tertbutyl ether (i.e., approximately 370 g), i.e., a reagent concentration in the solution of approximately 0.4% by weight (see KIERAT at paragraph [0227]). Therefore, as KIERAT teaches that these types of reagents may be used interchangeably with the amine-containing polymer and are useful in concentrations of, e.g., 0.25% or 0.4%, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to use the amine-containing polymer reagent in a similar concentration.
Further, KIERAT teaches that the surface treatment reagents generate, create or introduce functional groups/linker moieties (e.g., amine) protruding from the fiber surface, to which crystallization seeds attach, leading to chemical bonding between the fiber and inorganic binder, strengthening and toughening the hardened binder material, and improving ductility and flexibility (see KIERAT at paragraph [0182]); KIERAT therefore explicitly teaches that the amount of reagent used for treatment (i.e., concentration of the water-soluble amine-containing polymer) is a result-effective variable which may be optimized by one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP states that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955)), and that "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." (Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 138). See MPEP § 2144.05 (II). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to vary the concentration of the reagent, including concentrations of 0.1% to 10% by weight, through routine experimentation and optimization in order to achieve an optimized amount of functional groups protruding from the fiber surface and resulting amount of crystallization seeds attached, and resulting strength, toughness, ductility and flexibility of the hardened concrete which is reinforced with the fibers (see KIERAT at paragraph [0182]).
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, KIERAT in view of IKEGAMI teaches a method according to claim 1.
KIERAT does not explicitly mention that the pH value of the solution of water-soluble amine-containing polymer is from 6.0 to 12; however, in Example F4, the solution consists of water (pure water having a neutral pH of 7) and the polyvinylamine-polypropylene copolymer (see KIERAT at paragraph [0230]), which contains basic amine groups. Therefore, while not explicitly disclosed, the pH of the solution would be expected to be over 7, likely falling within the claimed range.
Further, KIERAT teaches that the pH of a reaction solution directly affects the shelf life and properties of the products formed, and teaches neutralizing a reaction solution using a basic compound such as a hydroxide, e.g., ammonium hydroxide (see KIERAT at paragraph [0180]), which is used to adjust the pH of the surface treatment reagent solution in multiple examples, e.g., F1 and F5 (see KIERAT at paragraphs [0226] and [0231]). KIERAT therefore explicitly teaches that the pH of the solution is a result-effective variable which may be optimized by one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP states that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955)), and that "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." (Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 138). See MPEP § 2144.05 (II). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to vary the pH of the solution, including pH of values of 6.0 to 12, through routine experimentation and optimization in order to achieve an optimized shelf life and product properties (see KIERAT at paragraph [0182]).
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above, KIERAT in view of IKEGAMI teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein the reinforcement fibers are immersed in the sodium silicate solution for an amount of time overlapping with and thereby rendering obvious the claimed range of 0.5 hours to 10 hours (see KIERAT at paragraph [0251], teaching a range of 1 hour to 24 hours). As set forth in MPEP § 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 1 above, KIERAT in view of IKEGAMI teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein the sodium silicate solution has a concentration from 0.01 mol/L to 1.0 mol/L of sodium silicate in solution. In Example SP1, KIERAT teaches 250 g of a sodium silicate containing solution comprising 11 wt% solids suspended in water (i.e., approximately 27.5 g of solids and 222.5 g of water, or 0.22 L of water), wherein the Na-metasilicate-pentahydrate comprises approximately 38% by mass of the solids, calculated from the mass of each solid component added when making the solution (i.e., approximately 10.4 g of Na-metasilicate-pentahydrate in approximately 0.22 L of water, or approximately 47 g/L of Na-metasilicate-pentahydrate) (see KIERAT at paragraphs [0249]-[0251]). The molar mass of Na-metasilicate-pentahydrate is 212.14 g/mol, therefore the concentration of sodium silicate in solution is approximately 0.2 mol/L.
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 1 above, KIERAT in view of IKEGAMI teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein filtering the reinforcement fibers comprises immersing the reinforcement fibers in water (see KIERAT at paragraphs [0230] and [0251], teaching washing the fibers with water after both treatment steps).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIERAT in view of IKEGAMI, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Imagawa, et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 10,851,545-B2) (hereinafter, “IMAGAWA”).
Regarding claim 11, as applied to claim 1 above, KIERAT in view of IKEGAMI teaches a method according to claim 1.
KIERAT does not explicitly state that the aggregate used in the concrete comprises sand, gravel, crushed stone, or any combination thereof; however, KIERAT teaches that both mortar and concrete comprise fine aggregates, providing an example of a mortar composition comprising sand as a fine aggregate (see KIERAT at paragraphs [0003] and [0263]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would also find it obvious that sand can be used as the fine aggregate in a concrete composition, as KIERAT describes a concrete composition as being the same as a mortar composition, but further comprising coarse aggregates (see KIERAT at paragraph [0003]).
Further, KIERAT teaches that any known concrete composition can be used (see KIERAT at paragraph [0213]), and the aggregates recited by claim 11 are all commonly used in concrete compositions. For example, IMAGAWA teaches a method of making a fiber-reinforced concrete composition (see IMAGAWA at col. 2, lines 43-59) comprising sand, granulated stone/rock, and/or gravel as the aggregates (see IMAGAWA at col. 9, line 66 – col. 10, line 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use sand, gravel, and/or granulated stone as aggregates in the concrete composition (see IMAGAWA at col. 9, line 66 – col. 10, line 14; see KIERAT at paragraphs [0003] and [0263]). MPEP § 2144.07 states that “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)”.
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 1 above, KIERAT in view of IKEGAMI teaches a method according to claim 1, further comprising mixing the reinforcement fibers with a plasticizer (see KIERAT at paragraphs [0003], [0016], [0026], [0199], [0210] and [0213], teaching adding plasticizer to the inorganic binder (hydraulic cement) composition, which is used to make concrete mixture comprising the reinforcement fibers).
KIERAT does not explicitly state that the plasticizer used in the concrete composition is a superplasticizer; however, KIERAT teaches that both mortar and concrete comprise cementitious binder which can include a plasticizer, providing an example of a mortar composition comprising a superplasticizer (see KIERAT at paragraphs [0003], [0016], [0026], [0199], [0210] and [0263]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would also find it obvious that superplasticizer can be used as the plasticizer in a concrete composition, as KIERAT describes a concrete composition as being the same as a mortar composition, but further comprising coarse aggregates (see KIERAT at paragraph [0003]).
Further, KIERAT teaches that any known concrete composition can be used (see KIERAT at paragraph [0213]), and superplasticizer is a common component of concrete compositions. For example, IMAGAWA teaches a method of making a fiber-reinforced concrete (see IMAGAWA at col. 2, lines 43-59) comprising superplasticizer (see IMAGAWA at col. 11, lines 15-19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a superplasticizer as the plasticizer in the concrete composition (see IMAGAWA at col. 11, lines 15-19; see KIERAT at paragraphs [0003] and [0263]). MPEP § 2144.07 states that “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)”.
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 1 above, KIERAT in view of IKEGAMI teaches a method according to claim 1.
KIERAT teaches a water to cement binder ratio of from 0.20 to 0.60 (see KIERAT at paragraph [0256], teaching a water to cement binder ratio of 0.4), but does not explicitly mention the use of this ratio in a concrete composition; however, as KIERAT teaches adding water to the binder component(s) and modified fibers to form the fresh concrete (see KIERAT at paragraph [0204]), and provides an example of a water to cement ratio of 0.4, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to use this ratio when making concrete.
Further, KIERAT teaches that any known concrete composition can be used (see KIERAT at paragraph [0213]), and a water to cement binder ratio falling within the claimed range is common in concrete compositions. For example, IMAGAWA teaches a method of making a fiber-reinforced concrete (see IMAGAWA at col. 2, lines 43-59) wherein the water to cement ratio is from 0.2 to 0.5 (see IMAGAWA at col. 8, lines 43-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a water to cement binder ratio of 0.2 to 0.5, e.g., 0.4, in the concrete composition (see IMAGAWA at col. 8, lines 43-50; see KIERAT at paragraphs [0204] and [0256]); one of ordinary skill in the art could have used such a ratio with a reasonable expectation of success, yielding the predictable result of providing enough water to form hardened concrete (see IMAGAWA at col. 8, lines 43-50; see KIERAT at paragraphs [0204] and [0256]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Further, the Amendment filed by Applicant necessitated new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 for claims 1-3 and 7-10 over KIERAT in view of IKEGAMI and claims 11-13 over KIERAT in view of IKEGAMI and IMAGAWA as set forth above.
Applicant argues:
“There is a need for a low-cost, eco-friendly method… This is not disclosed or suggested by Kierat or Ikegami” (see Remarks at pg. 9).
However, for at least the following reasons the Examiner finds these arguments unpersuasive:
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a low-cost and eco-friendly method) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Consequently, for at least these reasons the Examiner finds Applicant’s arguments unpersuasive.
Applicant argues:
“While amine is mentioned in paragraphs [0192]-[0193] of Kierat, it is merely one of several types of functional groups mentioned. There is no reason to specifically select amine over any of the other options mentioned in Kierat” (see Remarks at pg. 10).
“Ikegami mentioned that the amine compounds therein can, for example comprise polyethyleneimine and derivatives thereof, polypropyleneamine, polyvinylamine and derivatives thereof, polyallylamine and derivatives thereof, polyetheramine, poly-L-lysine, poly-L-ornithine and the like. Among these, polyvinylamine is listed as one of the preferred options. As polyvinylamine is also one of the amines used in Kierat, why would one of ordinary skill, starting at Kierat, seek to use another amine, specifically those recited in the instant claims? Applicant submits that the only reason is impermissible hindsight based on Applicant’s claims” (see Remarks at pg. 10).
However, for at least the following reasons the Examiner finds these arguments unpersuasive:
In response to Applicant’s argument that the present invention is not obvious over KIERAT and IKEGAMI because they mention types of functional groups or amines other than the claimed types, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As acknowledged by Applicant, KIERAT teaches amine functional groups, and IKEGAMI teaches poly-L-lysine and polyethyleneimine. Including other options does not negate the explicit teaching of the claimed components. As set forth in the rejection above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the polyvinylamine-polypropylene copolymer with poly-L-lysine and/or polyethyleneimine as taught by IKEGAMI, as KIERAT teaches that any amine-containing polymer can be used as the reagent to treat the fibers (e.g., polypropylene fibers) (see KIERAT at paragraphs [0192]-[0193] and [0230]), and as IKEGAMI teaches that polyvinylamine and derivatives thereof can be used interchangeably with poly-L-lysine or polyethyleneimine as an amine-containing polymer reactant used in a process of fiber (e.g., polypropylene fiber) treatment and/or a process of making concrete (see IKEGAMI at paragraphs [0012], [0017], [0024] and [0028]). One of ordinary skill in the art would could have made such a substitution with a reasonable expectation of success, yielding the predictable result of providing a polymer reagent containing amine groups which will create amine functionalities on the fiber surface (see KIERAT at paragraphs [0192]-[0193] and [0230]; see IKEGAMI at paragraph [0017]). Further, as evidenced by IKEGAMI, poly-L-lysine and polyethyleneimine are known water-soluble polymers having amine functional groups, and MPEP § 2144.07 states that “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)”.
In response to Applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Consequently, for at least these reasons the Examiner finds Applicant’s arguments unpersuasive.
Applicant argues:
“Applicant submits that Kierat and Ikegami are not in the same field, and one of ordinary skill in the art, starting at Kierat, would have no reason to look to Ikegami” (see Remarks at pg. 10).
However, for at least the following reasons the Examiner finds these arguments unpersuasive:
In response to Applicant's argument that KIERAT and IKEGAMI are not in the same field, i.e., are nonanalogous art, prior art references need to be analogous art to the claimed invention, not to each other, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed inventions. It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
Consequently, for at least these reasons the Examiner finds Applicant’s arguments unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.C.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1731
/ANTHONY J GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731