DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on March 02, 2023 and December 29, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on September 15, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the multilayer structure in Species II is equivalent to the simplified structure in Species I. This is not found persuasive because the resultant functionality of the resultant device structure being formed of a single layer is not equivalent to a device formed from a multilayer stack of materials with varying thicknesses.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2020/0251650 A1).
Claim 1, Kim discloses a memory device (magnetic memory device, [0027], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6), comprising:
a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) structure (unit memory cell MC further includes a MTJ structure 100, [0038], Annotated Fig. 6) comprising perpendicular shape anisotropy (100 comprises perpendicular magnetic anisotropy, [0039], Annotated Fig. 6), and the MTJ structure 100 further comprising:
a reference layer (pinned layer 110 is a reference layer, [0039 – 0040], Annotated Fig. 6) comprising a first side and a second side that is opposite the first side of the reference layer (bottom surface of 110 is the first side of 110 and the top surface of 110 is the second side of 110, Annotated Fig. 6);
a non-magnetic spacer (tunnel barrier layer 130 is a non-magnetic spacer, [0042], Annotated Fig. 6) comprising a first side and a second side (analogous to 110_1/110_2 of 110 in Annotated Fig. 6, bottom surface of 130 is the first side, hereinafter 130_1, and the top surface of 130 is the second side, hereinafter 130_2, Annotated Fig. 6), the first side of the non-magnetic spacer 130_1 being on the second side of the reference layer 110_2 (130_1 is on 110_2, Annotated Fig. 6); and
free layer (free layer 120, [0042], Annotated Fig. 6) comprising a first side and a second side (analogous to 110 (and 130) in Annotated Fig. 6, bottom surface of 120 as well as the bottom surface of first magnetic layer 122 are the first side of 120, hereinafter 120_1, [0052], Annotated Fig. 6, and the top surface of 120 as well as the top surface of the second magnetic layer 124 are the second side of 120, hereinafter 120_2, [0056], Annotated Fig. 6), the first side of the free layer 120_1 being on the second side of the non-magnetic spacer 130_2 (120_1 is on 130_2, (i.e. 122 is on 130), Annotated Fig. 6), the free layer 120 further comprising a first layer on the first side of the free layer 110_1 (first magnetic layer 122 is a first layer on 110_1, [0052], Annotated Fig. 6), a second layer on the second side of the free layer 110_2 (second magnetic layer 124 is a second layer on 110_2, [0056], Annotated Fig. 6) and a coupling layer (coupling layer 126, [0062], Annotated Fig. 6) disposed between the first layer 122 and the second layer 124 (126 is disposed between 122 and 124, [0062], Annotated Fig. 6), a ratio of a saturation magnetization MsFL2 of the second layer to a saturation magnetization MsFL1 of the first layer ranging from 0.2 to 0.8 inclusive (a ratio of saturation magnetization of MsFL2:MsFL1 ranges from 0.2 to 0.8 when MsFL1 and MsFL2 are varied (i.e. 240 emu/cc MsFL2 : 1200 emu/cc MsFL1 = 0.2 and 500 emu/cc MsFL2 : 625 emu/cc MsFL1 = 0.8), [0052] and [0058], Annotated Fig. 6).
Annotated Fig. 6 (Kim) – Illustrates a reference layer 110 comprising a first side 110_1 and a second side 110_2 that is opposite the first side 110_1 of the reference layer 110, wherein the second side 110_2 of the reference layer 110 is in contact with the first side 130_1 of the non-magnetic spacer 130
Claim 2, Kim discloses the memory device (magnetic memory device, [0027], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6) of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first layer 122 is substantially equal to a thickness of the second layer 124 (122 has a thickness that may be 5 nm or less, [0052], and is substantially equal to a thickness of 124 when 124 has a thickness that is 5 nm or less, [0058], Annotated Fig. 6).
Claim 6, Kim discloses the memory device (magnetic memory device, [0027], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6) of claim 1, further comprising a capping layer (capping layer 140, [0069], Annotated Fig. 6) on the second side of the free layer 120_2 comprising one or more of magnesium oxide (MgO), tantalum oxide (TaO), niobium oxide (NiO), iridium oxide (IrO), sodium oxide (NaO), rhodium oxide (Rho), and osmium oxide (OsO) (140 may include at least one of magnesium oxide (MgO), wherein obvious combinations thereof include tantalum oxide (TaO), [0070], Annotated Fig. 6).
Claim 11, Kim discloses the memory device (magnetic memory device, [0027], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6) of claim 1, further comprising an array of the MTJ structures (cell array 1 is composed of MTJ 100 within each memory cell MC, [0038], Figs. 2 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lill (US 2022/0131071 A1).
Claim 3, Kim discloses the memory device (magnetic memory device, [0027], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6) of claim 1.
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein a ratio of a thickness of the free layer to a critical dimension of the MTJ structure is between 0.5 and 5.0 inclusive, and wherein the critical dimension of the MTJ structure ranges from 4-22 nm inclusive.
However, Lill discloses wherein a ratio of a thickness of the free layer to a critical dimension of the MTJ structure (i.e. height-to-width aspect ratio of a patterned MRAM stack) is between 0.5 and 5.0 inclusive (Lill, height-to-width aspect ratio of 5:1 (i.e. 5.0), [0054], Fig. 1; Kim, Annotated Fig. 6), and wherein the critical dimension of the MTJ structure ranges from 4-22 nm inclusive (Lill, when the height-to-width aspect ratio of 5:1 (i.e. 5.0) is maintained – a pitch between adjacent stacks may be between 10 nm – 22 nm, [0054], Figs. 1 and 2; Kim, Annotated Fig. 6). The combination of utilizing a specific critical dimension in combination with the specific aspect ratio ensures increased device density (Lill, [0028]). Further, the magnetization properties of the magnetic material stack is thickness dependent and remains a constraint in device design.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a specific critical dimension in combination with the specific aspect ratio ensures increased device density (Lill, [0028]).
Claim(s) 4, 12, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee (US 2021/0367143 A1).
Claim 4, Kim discloses the memory device (magnetic memory device, [0027], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6) of claim 1, wherein the first layer 122 comprises CoFeB (122 comprises CoFeB, [0052], Annotated Fig. 6).
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the second layer comprises CoFeX or CoFeBX in which X is a diluent element comprising vanadium (V), molybdenum (Mo), titanium (Ti), zirconium (Zr), hafnium (Hf), aluminum (Al), niobium (Nb), tantalum (Ta), chromium (Cr), rhodium (Rh) or bismuth (Bi).
However, Lee discloses wherein either free layer comprises CoFeX or CoFeBX in which X is a diluent element comprising vanadium (V), molybdenum (Mo), titanium (Ti), zirconium (Zr), hafnium (Hf), aluminum (Al), niobium (Nb), tantalum (Ta), chromium (Cr), rhodium (Rh) or bismuth (Bi) (Lee, either free layer comprises a combination of (I) cobalt iron (CoFe) or cobalt iron boron (CoFeB) and (II) tantalum (Ta), molybdenum (Mo), chromium (Cr), [0030], Figs. 4A-4C; Kim, Figs. 1-3 and Annotated Fig. 6). The combination to utilize a known ferromagnetic materials in combination with non-ferromagnetic materials is known in the art for constructing a multilayer magnetic stack of materials with a desired resultant magnetism (Lee, [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize known ferromagnetic materials in combination with non-ferromagnetic materials is known in the art for constructing a multilayer magnetic stack of materials with a desired resultant magnetism (Lee, [0030]).
Claim 12, Kim discloses a memory device (magnetic memory device, [0027], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6), comprising:
a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) structure (unit memory cell MC further includes a MTJ structure 100, [0038], Annotated Fig. 6) comprising perpendicular shape anisotropy (100 comprises perpendicular magnetic anisotropy, [0039], Annotated Fig. 6), and the MTJ structure 100 further comprising:
a reference layer (pinned layer 110 is a reference layer, [0039 – 0040], Annotated Fig. 6) comprising a first side and a second side that is opposite the first side of the reference layer (bottom surface of 110 is the first side of 110 and the top surface of 110 is the second side of 110, Annotated Fig. 6);
a non-magnetic spacer (tunnel barrier layer 130 is a non-magnetic spacer, [0042], Annotated Fig. 6) comprising a first side and a second side (analogous to 110_1/110_2 of 110 in Annotated Fig. 6, bottom surface of 130 is the first side, hereinafter 130_1, and the top surface of 130 is the second side, hereinafter 130_2, Annotated Fig. 6), the first side of the non-magnetic spacer 130_1 being on the second side of the reference layer 110_2 (130_1 is on 110_2, Annotated Fig. 6); and
free layer (free layer 120, [0042], Annotated Fig. 6) comprising a first side and a second side (analogous to 110 (and 130) in Annotated Fig. 6, bottom surface of 120 as well as the bottom surface of first magnetic layer 122 are the first side of 120, hereinafter 120_1, [0052], Annotated Fig. 6, and the top surface of 120 as well as the top surface of the second magnetic layer 124 are the second side of 120, hereinafter 120_2, [0056], Annotated Fig. 6), the first side of the free layer 120_1 being on the second side of the non-magnetic spacer 130_2 (120_1 is on 130_2, (i.e. 122 is on 130), Annotated Fig. 6), the free layer 120 further comprising a first layer on the first side of the free layer 110_1 (first magnetic layer 122 is a first layer on 110_1, [0052], Annotated Fig. 6), a second layer on the second side of the free layer 110_2 (second magnetic layer 124 is a second layer on 110_2, [0056], Annotated Fig. 6) and a coupling layer (coupling layer 126, [0062], Annotated Fig. 6) disposed between the first layer 122 and the second layer 124 (126 is disposed between 122 and 124, [0062], Annotated Fig. 6), a saturation magnetization MsFL2 of the second layer being substantially equal to a saturation magnetization MsFL1 of the first layer (a ratio of saturation magnetization of MsFL2:MsFL1 is substantially equal when MsFL1 and MsFL2 are approximately equal (i.e. 500 emu/cc MsFL2 : 500 emu/cc MsFL1 = 1), [0052] and [0058], Annotated Fig. 6).
Kim does not explicitly disclose a ratio of a thickness of the first layer to a thickness of the second layer ranging from 2 to 4 inclusive.
However, Lee discloses a ratio of a thickness of the first layer (Lee, first magnetic layer FL1 is coupled to the second magnetic layer FL2, [0030], Figs. 4A-4C; Kim, first layer 122 and second layer 124, Annotated Fig. 6) to a thickness of the second layer ranging from 2 to 4 inclusive (Lee, the first magnetic layer FL1 may be between about 0.5 nm – 2.5 nm thick and the second magnetic layer FL2 may be about 1.0 nm – 2.5 nm thick, [0032], the ratio of a thickness of free layer 1 to free layer 2 (i.e. t – thickness of free layer, tFL1 : tFL2) may range from 2 (i.e. tFL1 = 2.0 nm : tFL2 = 1.0 nm) to 2.5 (i.e. tFL1 = 2.5 nm : tFL2 = 1.0 nm), Figs. 4A-4C; Kim, first layer 122 and second layer 124, Annotated Fig. 6). The combination to utilize a thickness ratio of the thickness of the first magnetic free layer to the thickness of the second magnetic free layer would allow for magnetic material stacks of various crystallographic structures (i.e. specific materials) to modify resultant magnetic coupling interactions (Lee, [0030]). Further, the resultant magnetization anisotropy of the magnetic multilayer free layer structure improves switching speed and reducing write errors of the magnetic free layer as well as reduces the switching current needed to reorient the magnetization (Worledge, [0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a thickness ratio of the thickness of the first magnetic free layer to the thickness of the second magnetic free layer would allow for magnetic material stacks of various crystallographic structures (i.e. specific materials) to modify resultant magnetic coupling interactions (Lee, [0030]). Further, the resultant magnetization anisotropy of the magnetic multilayer free layer structure improves switching speed and reducing write errors of the magnetic free layer as well as reduces the switching current needed to reorient the magnetization (Worledge, [0008]).
Claim 14, Kim/Lee discloses the memory device (Kim, magnetic memory device, [0027], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6; Lee, Figs. 4A-4C) of claim 12.
Kim/Lee discloses wherein the first layer comprises CoFeB (Kim, first layer 122 comprises CoFeB, [0052], Annotated Fig. 6; Lee, Figs. 4A-4C), and
wherein the second layer comprises CoFeX or CoFeBX in which X is a diluent element comprising vanadium (V), molybdenum (Mo), titanium (Ti), zirconium (Zr), hafnium (Hf), aluminum (Al), niobium (Nb), tantalum (Ta), chromium (Cr), rhodium (Rh) or bismuth (Bi) (Lee, either free layer comprises a combination of (I) cobalt iron (CoFe) or cobalt iron boron (CoFeB) and (II) tantalum (Ta), molybdenum (Mo), chromium (Cr), [0030], Figs. 4A-4C; Kim, Figs. 1-3 and Annotated Fig. 6).
Claim 16, Kim/Lee discloses the memory device (Kim, magnetic memory device, [0027], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6; Lee, Figs. 4A-4C) of claim 12.
Kim/Lee discloses further comprising a capping layer on the second side of the free layer (Kim, capping layer 140 is on the second side of free layer 120_2, [0069], Annotated Fig. 6; Lee, capping layer 70, [0036], Fig. 1) comprising one or more of magnesium oxide (MgO), tantalum oxide (TaO), niobium oxide (NiO), iridium oxide (IrO), sodium oxide (NaO), rhodium oxide (Rho), or osmium oxide (OsO) (Kim, 140 may include at least one of magnesium oxide (MgO), wherein obvious combinations thereof include tantalum oxide (TaO), [0070], Annotated Fig. 6; Lee, capping layer 70, [0036], Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Diao (US 2022/0367099 A1).
Claim 5, Kim discloses the memory device (magnetic memory device, [0027], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6) of claim 1.
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the coupling layer comprises a resistance area product ranging from 0.1 to 3.0 Ωµm2 inclusive, and wherein the coupling layer comprises a tunnel magnetoresistance (TMR) that is greater than 30%.
However, Diao discloses wherein the coupling layer comprises a resistance area product ranging from 0.1 to 3.0 Ωµm2 inclusive, and wherein the coupling layer comprises a tunnel magnetoresistance (TMR) that is greater than 30% (Diao, resistance area product of 0.4 Ωµm2 and TMR is greater than 30%, [0079], Fig. 10A; Kim, Annotated Fig. 6). The combination of utilizing a material layer with a specific resistance area product and TMR value is crucial to the functionality of the resultant magnetic multilayer stack (Diao, [0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a material layer with a specific resistance area product and TMR value is crucial to the functionality of the resultant magnetic multilayer stack (Diao, [0004]).
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Worledge (US 2020/0152699 A1).
Claim 7, Kim discloses the memory device (magnetic memory device, [0027], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6) of claim 1, wherein the first layer 122 comprises a first side and a second side that is opposite the first side of the first layer (bottom surface of 122 is the first side of 122, hereinafter 122_1, and the top surface of 122 is the second side of 122, hereinafter 122_2, Annotated Fig. 6) and the second layer comprising a first side and a second side that is opposite the second side of the second layer (bottom surface of 124 is the first side of 124, hereinafter 124_1, and the top surface of 124 is the second side of 124, hereinafter 124_2, Annotated Fig. 6).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the first layer further comprising a first sublayer, a second sublayer and a first texture blocking layer disposed between the first sublayer and the second sublayer, the first sublayer being disposed distal to the coupling layer, and the second sublayer being disposed proximate to the coupling layer, and
wherein the second layer comprises a first side and a second side that is opposite the second side of the second layer, the second layer further comprising a third sublayer, a fourth sublayer and a second texture blocking layer disposed between the third sublayer and the fourth sublayer, the third sublayer being disposed proximate to the coupling layer and the fourth sublayer being disposed distal to the coupling layer.
However, Worledge discloses the first layer (Worledge, first magnetic free layer 36, [0022], Fig. 3; Kim, first layer 122, Annotated Fig. 6) further comprising a stack of magnetic materials whose magnetization can be changed, such a stack of magnetic materials as each free layer within the MTJ stack would utilize a similar substructure as that of the main MTJ stack. When formed of a magnetic multilayer stack, the first layer further includes a first sublayer, a second sublayer and a first texture blocking layer disposed between the first sublayer and the second sublayer (Worledge, first magnetic free layer 36 is formed of a multilayer of materials that may have the orientation of their magnetization manipulated, further requiring a first texture blocking layer, hereinafter TBL_1, disposed between the first and second sublayers, [0022], Fig. 3; Kim, first layer 122, Annotated Fig. 6), the first sublayer being disposed distal to the coupling layer, and the second sublayer being disposed proximate to the coupling layer (Worledge, first sublayer of first magnetic free layer 36, hereinafter 36_1, is disposed distal (i.e. away from) to the coupling layer 38 while the second sublayer of first magnetic free layer 36, hereinafter 36_2, is disposed proximate (i.e. close to) to the coupling layer 38, [0025], Fig. 3; Kim, first layer 122 and coupling layer 126, Annotated Fig. 6), and
wherein the second layer (Worledge, second magnetic free layer 40, [0026], Fig. 3; Kim, second layer 124, Annotated Fig. 6) comprises a first side and a second side that is opposite the second side of the second layer (Worledge, second magnetic free layer 40 comprises a first side, hereinafter 40_1 and a second side, hereinafter 40_2, wherein 40_1 is opposite of 40_2, [0026], Fig. 3; Kim, second layer 124, Annotated Fig. 6). When formed of a magnetic multilayer stack, the second layer further includes a third sublayer, a fourth sublayer and a second texture blocking layer disposed between the third sublayer and the fourth sublayer (Worledge, second magnetic free layer 40 is formed of a multilayer of materials that may have the orientation of their magnetization manipulated, further requiring a second texture blocking layer, hereinafter TBL_2, disposed between the first and second sublayers, [0025], Fig. 3; Kim, second layer 124, Annotated Fig. 6), the third sublayer being disposed proximate to the coupling layer and the fourth sublayer being disposed distal to the coupling layer (Worledge, third sublayer of second magnetic free layer 40, hereinafter 40_3, is disposed proximate (i.e. close to) to the coupling layer 38 while the fourth sublayer of second magnetic free layer 40, hereinafter 40_4, is disposed distal (i.e. away from) to the coupling layer 38, [0025], Fig. 3; Kim, first layer 122 and coupling layer 126, Annotated Fig. 6). The combination of substituting each single free layer in an MTJ stack for a multilayer magnetic material stack substantially reduces the switching current needed to reorient the magnetization of the two magnetic free layers (Abstract, Worledge).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute a single free layer in an MTJ stack for a multilayer magnetic material stack substantially reduces the switching current needed to reorient the magnetization of the two magnetic free layers (Abstract, Worledge).
Claim 8, Kim/Worledge discloses the memory device (Kim, magnetic memory device, [0027], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6; Worledge, Fig. 3) of claim 7.
Kim/Worledge disclose wherein at least one of the second sublayer and the third sublayer comprises a CoFe or a Heusler material (Kim, either magnetic free layer may be a Heusler material, [0053] and [0059], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6; Worledge, second sublayer 36_2 and third sublayer 40_3 comprises a CoFe material, [0022], Fig. 3).
Claim 9, Kim/Worledge discloses the memory device (Kim, magnetic memory device, [0027], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6; Worledge, Fig. 3) of claim 1.
Kim/Worledge disclose wherein the first layer (Worledge, first magnetic free layer 36, [0022], Fig. 3; Kim, first layer 122, Annotated Fig. 6) comprises a first side and a second side that is opposite the first side of the first layer (Worledge, first side of magnetic free layer 36_S1 is opposite to the second side of magnetic free layer 36_S2, [0022], Fig. 3; Kim, first side of first layer 122_1 is opposite to the second side of first layer 122_2, Annotated Fig. 6), the first layer further comprising a first sublayer and a second sublayer, the first sublayer being disposed proximate to the non-magnetic spacer, and the second sublayer being disposed distal to the non-magnetic spacer (Worledge, first sublayer of first magnetic free layer 36, hereinafter 36_1, is disposed proximate (i.e. close to) to the non-magnetic spacer 38 while the second sublayer of first magnetic free layer 36, hereinafter 36_2, is disposed distal (i.e. away from) to the non-magnetic spacer 38, [0025], Fig. 3; Kim, first layer 122 and non-magnetic spacer 126, Annotated Fig. 6), and wherein the reference layer further comprises a first layer on the first side of the reference layer and a second layer on the second side of the reference layer (Kim, reference layer 110 further comprises third magnetic layer 112 is a first layer on the first side of 110, [0080], Annotated Fig. 6; Worledge, magnetic reference layer 30 may be arranged as alternating layers in a multilayer stack, [0020], Fig. 3), the second layer of the reference layer comprising a third sublayer and a fourth sublayer (Kim, reference layer 110 further comprises third magnetic layer 112 which is a first layer on the first side of 110, as well as the first nonmagnetic layer 116 as the third sublayer and fourth magnetic layer 114 as the fourth sublayer, respectively, [0080], Annotated Fig. 6; Worledge, magnetic reference layer 30 may be arranged as alternating layers in a multilayer stack, [0020], Fig. 3), the third sublayer being distal to the non-magnetic spacer and the fourth sublayer being proximate to the non-magnetic spacer (Kim, third sublayer 116 is distal (i.e. away from) to the non-magnetic spacer 130 and fourth sublayer 114 is proximate (i.e. close to) to the non-magnetic spacer 130, respectively, [0080], Annotated Fig. 6; Worledge, magnetic reference layer 30 may be arranged as alternating layers in a multilayer stack, [0020], Fig. 3).
Claim 10, Kim/Worledge discloses the memory device (Kim, magnetic memory device, [0027], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6; Worledge, Fig. 3) of claim 9, wherein at least one of the second sublayer and the third sublayer comprises a CoFe or a Heusler material (Kim, [0053] and [0059], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6; Worledge, second sublayer 36_2 comprises a CoFe material, [0022], Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee in view of Lill.
Claim 13, Kim/Lee discloses the memory device (Kim, magnetic memory device, [0027], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6; Lee, Figs. 4A-4C) of claim 12.
Kim/Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein a ratio of a thickness of the free layer to a critical dimension of the MTJ structure is between 0.5 and 5.0 inclusive, and wherein the critical dimension of the MTJ structure ranges from 4-22 nm inclusive.
However, Lill (US 2022/0131071 A1) discloses wherein a ratio of a thickness of the free layer to a critical dimension of the MTJ structure (i.e. height-to-width aspect ratio of a patterned MRAM stack) is between 0.5 and 5.0 inclusive (Lill, height-to-width aspect ratio of 5:1 (i.e. 5.0), [0054], Fig. 1; Kim, Annotated Fig. 6; Lee, Figs. 4A-4C), and wherein the critical dimension of the MTJ structure ranges from 4-22 nm inclusive (Lill, when the height-to-width aspect ratio of 5:1 (i.e. 5.0) is maintained – a pitch between adjacent stacks may be between 10 nm – 22 nm, [0054], Figs. 1 and 2; Kim, Annotated Fig. 6; Lee, Figs. 4A-4C). The combination of utilizing a specific critical dimension in combination with the specific aspect ratio ensures increased device density (Lill, [0028]). Further, the magnetization properties of the magnetic material stack is thickness dependent and remains a constraint in device design.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a specific critical dimension in combination with the specific aspect ratio ensures increased device density (Lill, [0028]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee in view of Diao.
Claim 15, Kim/Lee discloses the memory device (Kim, magnetic memory device, [0027], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6; Lee, Figs. 4A-4C) of claim 12.
Kim/Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the coupling layer comprises a resistance area product ranging from 0.1 to 3.0 Ωµm2 inclusive, and wherein the coupling layer comprises a tunnel magnetoresistance (TMR) that is greater than 30%.
However, Diao discloses wherein the coupling layer comprises a resistance area product ranging from 0.1 to 3.0 Ωµm2 inclusive, and wherein the coupling layer comprises a tunnel magnetoresistance (TMR) that is greater than 30% (Diao, resistance area product of 0.4 Ωµm2 and TMR is greater than 30%, [0079], Fig. 10A; Kim, Annotated Fig. 6; Lee, Figs. 4A-4C). The combination of utilizing a material layer with a specific resistance area product and TMR value is crucial to the functionality of the resultant magnetic multilayer stack (Diao, [0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a material layer with a specific resistance area product and TMR value is crucial to the functionality of the resultant magnetic multilayer stack (Diao, [0004]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Worledge in view of Lee.
Claim 17, Kim discloses a memory device (magnetic memory device, [0027], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6), comprising:
a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) structure (unit memory cell MC further includes a MTJ structure 100, [0038], Annotated Fig. 6) comprising perpendicular shape anisotropy (100 comprises perpendicular magnetic anisotropy, [0039], Annotated Fig. 6), and the MTJ structure 100 further comprising:
a reference layer (pinned layer 110 is a reference layer, [0039 – 0040], Annotated Fig. 6) comprising a first side and a second side that is opposite the first side of the reference layer (bottom surface of 110 is the first side of 110 and the top surface of 110 is the second side of 110, Annotated Fig. 6);
a non-magnetic spacer (tunnel barrier layer 130 is a non-magnetic spacer, [0042], Annotated Fig. 6) comprising a first side and a second side (analogous to 110_1/110_2 of 110 in Annotated Fig. 6, bottom surface of 130 is the first side, hereinafter 130_1, and the top surface of 130 is the second side, hereinafter 130_2, Annotated Fig. 6), the first side of the non-magnetic spacer 130_1 being on the second side of the reference layer 110_2 (130_1 is on 110_2, Annotated Fig. 6); and
free layer (free layer 120, [0042], Annotated Fig. 6) comprising a first side and a second side (analogous to 110 (and 130) in Annotated Fig. 6, bottom surface of 120 as well as the bottom surface of first magnetic layer 122 are the first side of 120, hereinafter 120_1, [0052], Annotated Fig. 6, and the top surface of 120 as well as the top surface of the second magnetic layer 124 are the second side of 120, hereinafter 120_2, [0056], Annotated Fig. 6), the first side of the free layer 120_1 being on the second side of the non-magnetic spacer 130_2 (120_1 is on 130_2, (i.e. 122 is on 130), Annotated Fig. 6), the free layer 120 further comprising a first layer on the first side of the free layer 110_1 (first magnetic layer 122 is a first layer on 110_1, [0052], Annotated Fig. 6), a second layer on the second side of the free layer 110_2 (second magnetic layer 124 is a second layer on 110_2, [0056], Annotated Fig. 6) and a coupling layer (coupling layer 126, [0062], Annotated Fig. 6) disposed between the first layer 122 and the second layer 124 (126 is disposed between 122 and 124, [0062], Annotated Fig. 6), a saturation magnetization MsFL2 of the second layer being substantially equal to a saturation magnetization MsFL1of the first layer (a ratio of saturation magnetization of MsFL2:MsFL1 is substantially equal when MsFL1 and MsFL2 are approximately equal (i.e. 500 emu/cc MsFL2 : 500 emu/cc MsFL1 = 1), [0052] and [0058], Annotated Fig. 6).
the first layer 122 comprising a first side and a second side that is opposite the first side of the first layer (bottom surface of 122 is the first side of 122, hereinafter 122_1, and the top surface of 122 is the second side of 122, hereinafter 122_2, Annotated Fig. 6) and the second layer comprising a first side and a second side that is opposite the second side of the second layer (bottom surface of 124 is the first side of 124, hereinafter 124_1, and the top surface of 124 is the second side of 124, hereinafter 124_2, Annotated Fig. 6), and
at least one of the second sublayer and the third sublayer comprises a CoFe or a Heusler material (Kim, [0053] and [0059], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6; Worledge, second sublayer 36_2 comprises a CoFe material, [0022], Fig. 3).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the first layer further comprising a first sublayer, a second sublayer and a first texture blocking layer disposed between the first sublayer and the second sublayer, the first sublayer being disposed distal to the coupling layer, and the second sublayer being disposed proximate to the coupling layer, and
the second layer further comprising a third sublayer, a fourth sublayer and a second texture blocking layer disposed between the third sublayer and the fourth sublayer, the third sublayer being disposed proximate to the coupling layer and the fourth sublayer being disposed distal to the coupling layer.
However, Worledge discloses the first layer (Worledge, first magnetic free layer 36, [0022], Fig. 3; Kim, first layer 122, Annotated Fig. 6) further comprising a stack of magnetic materials whose magnetization can be changed, such a stack of magnetic materials as each free layer within the MTJ stack would utilize a similar substructure as that of the main MTJ stack. When formed of a magnetic multilayer stack, the first layer further includes a first sublayer, a second sublayer and a first texture blocking layer disposed between the first sublayer and the second sublayer (Worledge, first magnetic free layer 36 is formed of a multilayer of materials that may have the orientation of their magnetization manipulated, further requiring a first texture blocking layer, hereinafter TBL_1, disposed between the first and second sublayers, [0022], Fig. 3; Kim, first layer 122, Annotated Fig. 6), the first sublayer being disposed distal to the coupling layer, and the second sublayer being disposed proximate to the coupling layer (Worledge, first sublayer of first magnetic free layer 36, hereinafter 36_1, is disposed distal (i.e. away from) to the coupling layer 38 while the second sublayer of first magnetic free layer 36, hereinafter 36_2, is disposed proximate (i.e. close to) to the coupling layer 38, [0025], Fig. 3; Kim, first layer 122 and coupling layer 126, Annotated Fig. 6), and
the second layer (Worledge, second magnetic free layer 40, [0026], Fig. 3; Kim, second layer 124, Annotated Fig. 6) comprising a magnetic multilayer stack, the second layer further includes a third sublayer, a fourth sublayer and a second texture blocking layer disposed between the third sublayer and the fourth sublayer (Worledge, second magnetic free layer 40 is formed of a multilayer of materials that may have the orientation of their magnetization manipulated, further requiring a second texture blocking layer, hereinafter TBL_2, disposed between the first and second sublayers, [0025], Fig. 3; Kim, second layer 124, Annotated Fig. 6), the third sublayer being disposed proximate to the coupling layer and the fourth sublayer being disposed distal to the coupling layer (Worledge, third sublayer of second magnetic free layer 40, hereinafter 40_3, is disposed proximate (i.e. close to) to the coupling layer 38 while the fourth sublayer of second magnetic free layer 40, hereinafter 40_4, is disposed distal (i.e. away from) to the coupling layer 38, [0025], Fig. 3; Kim, first layer 122 and coupling layer 126, Annotated Fig. 6). The combination of substituting each single free layer in an MTJ stack for a multilayer magnetic material stack substantially reduces the switching current needed to reorient the magnetization of the two magnetic free layers (Abstract, Worledge).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute a single free layer in an MTJ stack for a multilayer magnetic material stack substantially reduces the switching current needed to reorient the magnetization of the two magnetic free layers (Abstract, Worledge).
Kim/Worledge does not explicitly disclose a ratio of a thickness of the first layer to a thickness of the second layer ranging from 2 to 4 inclusive.
However, Lee discloses a ratio of a thickness of the first layer (Lee, first magnetic layer FL1 is coupled to the second magnetic layer FL2, [0030], Figs. 4A-4C; Kim, first layer 122 and second layer 124, Annotated Fig. 6; Worledge, Fig. 3) to a thickness of the second layer ranging from 2 to 4 inclusive (Lee, the first magnetic layer FL1 may be between about 0.5 nm – 2.5 nm thick and the second magnetic layer FL2 may be about 1.0 nm – 2.5 nm thick, [0032], the ratio of a thickness of free layer 1 to free layer 2 (i.e. t – thickness of free layer, tFL1 : tFL2) may range from 2 (i.e. tFL1 = 2.0 nm : tFL2 = 1.0 nm) to 2.5 (i.e. tFL1 = 2.5 nm : tFL2 = 1.0 nm), Figs. 4A-4C; Kim, first layer 122 and second layer 124, Annotated Fig. 6; Worledge, Fig. 3). The combination to utilize a thickness ratio of the thickness of the first magnetic free layer to the thickness of the second magnetic free layer would allow for magnetic material stacks of various crystallographic structures (i.e. specific materials) to modify resultant magnetic coupling interactions (Lee, [0030]). Further, the resultant magnetization anisotropy of the magnetic multilayer free layer structure improves switching speed and reducing write errors of the magnetic free layer as well as reduces the switching current needed to reorient the magnetization (Worledge, [0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a thickness ratio of the thickness of the first magnetic free layer to the thickness of the second magnetic free layer would allow for magnetic material stacks of various crystallographic structures (i.e. specific materials) to modify resultant magnetic coupling interactions (Lee, [0030]). Further, the resultant magnetization anisotropy of the magnetic multilayer free layer structure improves switching speed and reducing write errors of the magnetic free layer as well as reduces the switching current needed to reorient the magnetization (Worledge, [0008]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Worledge in view of Lee in view of Lill.
Claim 18, Kim/Lee/Worledge discloses the memory device (Kim, Figs. 1-3 and Annotated Fig. 6; Lee, Figs. 4A-4C; Worledge, Fig. 3) of claim 17.
Kim/Lee/Worledge does not explicitly disclose wherein a ratio of a thickness of the free layer to a critical dimension of the MTJ structure is between 0.5 and 5.0 inclusive, and wherein the critical dimension of the MTJ structure ranges from 4-22 nm inclusive.
However, Lill discloses wherein a ratio of a thickness of the free layer to a critical dimension of the MTJ structure (i.e. height-to-width aspect ratio of a patterned MRAM stack) is between 0.5 and 5.0 inclusive (Lill, height-to-width aspect ratio of 5:1 (i.e. 5.0), [0054], Fig. 1; Kim, Annotated Fig. 6; Lee, Figs. 4A-4C; Worledge, Fig. 3), and wherein the critical dimension of the MTJ structure ranges from 4-22 nm inclusive (Lill, when the height-to-width aspect ratio of 5:1 (i.e. 5.0) is maintained – a pitch between adjacent stacks may be between 10 nm – 22 nm, [0054], Figs. 1 and 2; Kim, Annotated Fig. 6; Lee, Figs. 4A-4C; Worledge, Fig. 3). The combination of utilizing a specific critical dimension in combination with the specific aspect ratio ensures increased device density (Lill, [0028]). Further, the magnetization properties of the magnetic material stack is thickness dependent and remains a constraint in device design.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a specific critical dimension in combination with the specific aspect ratio ensures increased device density (Lill, [0028]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee in view of Worledge in view of Kalitsov (US 2021/0320245 A1).
Claim 19, Kim discloses a memory device (magnetic memory device, [0027], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6), comprising:
a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) structure (unit memory cell MC further includes a MTJ structure 100, [0038], Annotated Fig. 6) comprising perpendicular shape anisotropy (100 comprises perpendicular magnetic anisotropy, [0039], Annotated Fig. 6), and the MTJ structure 100 further comprising:
a reference layer (pinned layer 110 is a reference layer, [0039 – 0040], Annotated Fig. 6) comprising a first side and a second side that is opposite the first side of the reference layer (bottom surface of 110 is the first side of 110 and the top surface of 110 is the second side of 110, Annotated Fig. 6), the reference layer further comprises a first layer on the first side of the reference layer and a second layer on the second side of the reference layer (Kim, reference layer 110 further comprises third magnetic layer 112 is a first layer on the first side of 110, [0080], Annotated Fig. 6; Worledge, magnetic reference layer 30 may be arranged as alternating layers in a multilayer stack, [0020], Fig. 3), the second layer of the reference layer comprising a first sublayer and a second sublayer (Kim, reference layer 110 further comprises third magnetic layer 112 which is a first layer on the first side of 110, as well as the first nonmagnetic layer 116 as the first sublayer and fourth magnetic layer 114 as the second sublayer, respectively, [0080], Annotated Fig. 6; Worledge, magnetic reference layer 30 may be arranged as alternating layers in a multilayer stack, [0020], Fig. 3), and the second sublayer being distal to the first side of the reference layer and proximate to the second side of the reference layer (Kim, second sublayer 114 is distal to 110_1 and proximate to 110_2, respectively, [0080], Annotated Fig. 6; Worledge, magnetic reference layer 30 may be arranged as alternating layers in a multilayer stack, [0020], Fig. 3);
a non-magnetic spacer (tunnel barrier layer 130 is a non-magnetic spacer, [0042], Annotated Fig. 6) comprising a first side and a second side (analogous to 110_1/110_2 of 110 in Annotated Fig. 6, bottom surface of 130 is the first side, hereinafter 130_1, and the top surface of 130 is the second side, hereinafter 130_2, Annotated Fig. 6), the first side of the non-magnetic spacer 130_1 being on the second side of the reference layer 110_2 (130_1 is on 110_2, Annotated Fig. 6); and
free layer (free layer 120, [0042], Annotated Fig. 6) comprising a first side and a second side (analogous to 110 (and 130) in Annotated Fig. 6, bottom surface of 120 as well as the bottom surface of first magnetic layer 122 are the first side of 120, hereinafter 120_1, [0052], Annotated Fig. 6, and the top surface of 120 as well as the top surface of the second magnetic layer 124 are the second side of 120, hereinafter 120_2, [0056], Annotated Fig. 6), the first side of the free layer 120_1 being on the second side of the non-magnetic spacer 130_2 (120_1 is on 130_2, (i.e. 122 is on 130), Annotated Fig. 6), the free layer 120 further comprising a first layer on the first side of the free layer 110_1 (first magnetic layer 122 is a first layer on 110_1, [0052], Annotated Fig. 6), a second layer on the second side of the free layer 110_2 (second magnetic layer 124 is a second layer on 110_2, [0056], Annotated Fig. 6) and a coupling layer (coupling layer 126, [0062], Annotated Fig. 6) disposed between the first layer 122 and the second layer 124 (126 is disposed between 122 and 124, [0062], Annotated Fig. 6), a saturation magnetization MsFL2 of the second layer being substantially equal to a saturation magnetization MsFL1 of the first layer (a ratio of saturation magnetization of MsFL2:MsFL1 is substantially equal when MsFL1 and MsFL2 are approximately equal (i.e. 500 emu/cc MsFL2 : 500 emu/cc MsFL1 = 1), [0052] and [0058], Annotated Fig. 6), and
at least one of the second sublayer and the third sublayer comprises a CoFe or a Heusler material (either magnetic free layer may be a Heusler material, [0053] and [0059], Figs. 1-3, and Annotated Fig. 6).
Kim does not explicitly disclose a ratio of a thickness of the first layer to a thickness of the second layer ranging from 2 to 4 inclusive.
However, Lee discloses a ratio of a thickness of the first layer (Lee, first magnetic layer FL1 is coupled to the second magnetic layer FL2, [0030], Figs. 4A-4C; Kim, first layer 122 and second layer 124, Annotated Fig. 6) to a thickness of the second layer ranging from 2 to 4 inclusive (Lee, the first magnetic layer FL1 may be between about 0.5 nm – 2.5 nm thick and the second magnetic layer FL2 may be about 1.0 nm – 2.5 nm thick, [0032], the ratio of a thickness of free layer 1 to free layer 2 (i.e. t – thickness of free layer, tFL1 : tFL2) may range from 2 (i.e. tFL1 = 2.0 nm : tFL2 = 1.0 nm) to 2.5 (i.e. tFL1 = 2.5 nm : tFL2 = 1.0 nm), Figs. 4A-4C; Kim, first layer 122 and second layer 124, Annotated Fig. 6). The combination to utilize a thickness ratio of the thickness of the first magnetic free layer to the thickness of the second magnetic free layer would allow for magnetic material stacks of various crystallographic structures (i.e. specific materials) to modify resultant magnetic coupling interactions (Lee, [0030]). Further, the resultant magnetization anisotropy of the magnetic multilayer free layer structure improves switching speed and reducing write errors of the magnetic free layer as well as reduces the switching current needed to reorient the magnetization (Worledge, [0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a thickness ratio of the thickness of the first magnetic free layer to the thickness of the second magnetic free layer would allow for magnetic material stacks of various crystallographic structures (i.e. specific materials) to modify resultant magnetic coupling interactions (Lee, [0030]). Further, the resultant magnetization anisotropy of the magnetic multilayer free layer structure improves switching speed and reducing write errors of the magnetic free layer as well as reduces the switching current needed to reorient the magnetization (Worledge, [0008]).
Kim/Lee does not explicitly disclose the first layer comprising a first side and a second side that is opposite the first side of the first layer, the first layer further comprising a third sublayer and a fourth sublayer, the third sublayer being disposed proximate to the non-magnetic spacer, and the fourth sublayer being disposed distal to the non-magnetic spacer.
However, Kim/Lee/Worledge disclose the first layer (Worledge, first magnetic free layer 36, [0022], Fig. 3; Kim, first layer 122, Annotated Fig. 6; Lee, Figs. 4A-4C) comprising a first side and a second side that is opposite the first side of the first layer (Worledge, first side of magnetic free layer 36_S1 is opposite to the second side of magnetic free layer 36_S2, [0022], Fig. 3; Kim, first side of first layer 122_1 is opposite to the second side of first layer 122_2, Annotated Fig. 6; Lee, Figs. 4A-4C). The combination to layer adjacent materials in an MTJ stack for a multilayer magnetic material stack substantially reduces the switching current needed to reorient the magnetization of the two magnetic free layers (Abstract, Worledge).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute a single free layer in an MTJ stack for a multilayer magnetic material stack substantially reduces the switching current needed to reorient the magnetization of the two magnetic free layers (Abstract, Worledge).
Kim/Lee/Worledge does not explicitly disclose the first layer further comprising a third sublayer and a fourth sublayer, the third sublayer being disposed proximate to the non-magnetic spacer, and the fourth sublayer being disposed distal to the non-magnetic spacer.
However, Kalitsov discloses the first layer (Kalitsov, magnetic tunnel junction 140 is further composed of a first layer 133/132/25D, Fig. 11; Kim, Figs. 1-3 and Annotated Fig. 6; Worledge, Fig. 3; Lee, Figs. 4A-4C) further comprising a third sublayer and a fourth sublayer (third sublayer 25D and fourth sublayer 133, [0185], Fig. 11; Kim, Figs. 1-3 and Annotated Fig. 6; Worledge, Fig. 3; Lee, Figs. 4A-4C), the third sublayer being disposed proximate to the non-magnetic spacer (third sublayer 25D being disposed proximate to the non-magnetic spacer 23D, [0185], Fig. 11; Kim, Figs. 1-3 and Annotated Fig. 6; Worledge, Fig. 3; Lee, Figs. 4A-4C), and the fourth sublayer being disposed distal to the non-magnetic spacer (Kalitsov, fourth sublayer 133 being disposed distal to the non-magnetic spacer 23D, [0185], Fig. 11; Kim, Figs. 1-3 and Annotated Fig. 6; Worledge, Fig. 3; Lee, Figs. 4A-4C). The combination of adding additional sublayers within the magnetization structure allows for utilization of the perpendicular magnetic anisotropy of the materials in the magnetization stack (Kalitsov, [0169]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add additional sublayers within the magnetization structure allows for utilization of the perpendicular magnetic anisotropy of the materials in the magnetization stack (Kalitsov, [0169]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee in view of Worledge in view of Kalitsov in view of Lill.
Claim 20, Kim/Lee/Worledge/Kalitsov discloses the memory device (Kim, Figs. 1-3 and Annotated Fig. 6; Lee, Figs. 4A-4C; Worledge, Fig. 3; Kalitsov, Fig. 11) of claim 19.
Kim/Lee/Worledge/Kalitsov does not explicitly disclose wherein a ratio of a thickness of the free layer to a critical dimension of the MTJ structure is between 0.5 and 5.0 inclusive, and wherein the critical dimension of the MTJ structure ranges from 4-22 nm inclusive.
However, Lill discloses wherein a ratio of a thickness of the free layer to a critical dimension of the MTJ structure (i.e. height-to-width aspect ratio of a patterned MRAM stack) is between 0.5 and 5.0 inclusive (Lill, height-to-width aspect ratio of 5:1 (i.e. 5.0), [0054], Fig. 1; Kim, Annotated Fig. 6; Lee, Figs. 4A-4C; Worledge, Fig. 3; Kalitsov, Fig. 11), and wherein the critical dimension of the MTJ structure ranges from 4-22 nm inclusive (Lill, when the height-to-width aspect ratio of 5:1 (i.e. 5.0) is maintained – a pitch between adjacent stacks may be between 10 nm – 22 nm, [0054], Figs. 1 and 2; Kim, Annotated Fig. 6; Lee, Figs. 4A-4C; Worledge, Fig. 3; Kalitsov, Fig. 11). The combination of utilizing a specific critical dimension in combination with the specific aspect ratio ensures increased device density (Lill, [0028]). Further, the magnetization properties of the magnetic material stack is thickness dependent and remains a constraint in device design.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a specific critical dimension in combination with the specific aspect ratio ensures increased device density (Lill, [0028]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ito (US 2020/0058802 A1) discloses a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) structure (magnetoresistance effect device, abstract) including perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (first and second portions 35A/35B have magnetic anisotropy in a direction perpendicular, [0085], Figs. 1-3) with a squareness ratio in the range of 0.5 to 1.
/CHEVY J BOEGEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812