Status of Claims
Claims 1,3-4,6-14,17-18 and 20 are currently pending;
Claims 2, 5, 15-16, and 19 are canceled;
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 13, 17, and 20 are currently amended.
Status of Objections and Rejections Pending Since the Office Action of 01/02/2026
The objections to the drawings are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment;
The objection of claim 13 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment;
The art rejections of claims 1,3-4,6-14,17-18 and 20 are maintained in view of Applicant’s argument.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to Applicant’s argument that Nam fails to teach “a conductive member disposed on an outer surface of the metal housing”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Using broadest reasonable interpretation, “an outer surface of the metal housing” does not necessitate an outermost surface. Nam does teach that the conductive member 100 is on an outer surface of at least the inner layer 90 of the metal housing (referring to fig. 6 of Nam as discussed in the arguments). As such, the conductive member 100 is disposed on an outer surface of a part/layer of the metal housing, and therefore an outer surface of the metal housing. The arguments regarding secondary references Kuroda, Sugaya, and Fuhr are moot as Kuroda, Sugaya, and Fuhr are not relied upon to teach “a metal housing […]; an electrode assembly […] electrically connected to the metal housing; and a conductive member disposed on an outer surface of the metal housing, wherein resistance of the conductive member is lower than that of the metal housing” which the arguments are directed to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 8-10,12-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (US-20180315964-A1), hereinafter Nam, and further in view of Kuroda et al. (WO-2022195720-A), hereinafter Kuroda.
Regarding claim 1, Nam teaches a battery cell, comprising: a metal housing having and accommodating cavity (figs. 3-6, 9; [0042] metal housing 90); an electrode assembly accommodated in the accommodating cavity ([0042] electrode assembly 10), wherein the electrode assembly comprises a first tab, and the first tab is electrically connected to the metal housing ([0010] both electrode tabs are connected to the metal housing); and a conductive member disposed on an outer surface of the metal housing ([0042]; figs. 3-6 and 9; conductive member 100), wherein resistance of the conductive member is lower than that of the metal housing ([0060]; conductive member can be aluminum or tungsten; [0042] metal housing 90 is made of stainless steel; aluminum inherently has lower resistance than stainless steel (see instant specification paragraph 0076 for example)), wherein the metal housing comprises: an end wall, configured to be connected to the first tab ([0010]; [0043]; fig. 3 end wall 60); and a side wall surrounding an edge of the end wall (figs. 1-3); wherein the side wall and the end wall jointly define the accommodating cavity (figs. 1-3; fig. 6); and the conductive member is connected to the end wall, and a first conductive part is formed on an end of the side wall farther away from the end wall (fig. 2; where the side wall wraps around the cap assembly becomes the section including first conductive part 100), the first conductive part being configured to output electric energy of the battery cell (fig. 2; [0010] tabs connected to both ends of the housing/cap to output electric energy). Nam also teaches that the conductive member comprises a second conductive part wherein the second conductive part is disposed on an outer surface of the side wall and is electrically connected to the first conductive part (figs. 4-9 the housing on the side part 50 of the battery part 100 is considered the second conductive part, which is integrally connected with the first conductive part; [0043]).
Nam fails to teach that the battery cell further comprises a first insulator, wherein the first insulator is configured to separate the second conductive part from the side wall.
Kuroda is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries ([0001]). Kuroda teaches the first insulator is configured to separate the second conductive part from the side wall (fig. 8 second insulator 53 or 72 separates conductive part 50 from side wall of the container 3; [0046]; [0067]; [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nam such that the battery cell further comprises a first insulator, wherein the first insulator is configured to separate the second conductive part from the side wall such as in Kuroda. Doing so prevents short circuiting a plurality of batteries through portions other than the intended electrical path (Kuroda [0071]).
Regarding claim 3, Nam teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Nam also teaches that the accommodating cavity has an opening, and the battery cell further comprises an end cover (fig. 2 cap assembly [0012]), wherein the end cover is disposed on one end of the metal housing (fig. 1-3), and the end cover is configured to close the opening (figs. 1-3); and the metal housing further comprises a restraint member (figs. 1-2, wherein the restraint member is located on the end of the side wall farther away from the end wall, the restraint member is configured to restrict the movement of the end cover along a direction leaving the electrode assembly, and at least part of the first conductive part is located on a side of the restraint member facing away from the electrode assembly (annotated fig. 2 below).
Regarding claim 4, Nam teaches all of the limitations of claim 3. Nam also teaches that the battery cell further comprises a second insulator, wherein the second insulator is configured to separate the first conductive part from the restraint member ([0012]; fig. 2 insulator 18).
Regarding claim 8, Nam teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Nam also teaches that the metal housing is configured to output electric energy of the battery cell ([0010] electrode tabs connected to the metal can, therefore outputting energy).
Regarding claim 9, Nam teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Nam also teaches that the outer surface of the metal housing is provided with a mounting groove, wherein at least part of the conductive member is accommodated in the mounting groove (fig. 9, conductive member 100 is accommodated in mounting grooves 310a of metal housing 90; [0051]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 10, Nam teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Nam also teaches an outer surface of the part of the conductive member accommodated in the mounting groove is flush with the outer surface of the metal housing (fig. 9 conductive member 100 is accommodated in the groove of metal housing 90 and is flush in that it creates a flat, continuous plane; [0051]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 12, Nam teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Nam also teaches an electric device comprising the battery cell according to claim 1 ([0003] mobile devices).
Regarding claim 13, Nam teaches a manufacturing device of battery cell comprising: a providing apparatus, configured to provide a metal housing (figs. 3-9; [0042] metal housing 90), an electrode assembly ([0042] electrode assembly 10), and a conductive member([0042]; figs. 3-9; conductive member 100), wherein the metal housing has an accommodating cavity ([0042] fig. 1), the electrode assembly comprises a first tab([0010] both electrode tabs are connected to the metal housing), and resistance of the conductive member is lower than that of the metal housing ([0042] metal housing 90 is made of stainless steel; aluminum inherently has lower resistance than stainless steel (see instant specification paragraph 0076 for example)); and an assembly apparatus, configured to dispose the conductive member on an outer surface of the metal housing([0042]; figs. 3-9; conductive member 100), accommodate the electrode assembly in the accommodating cavity (fig.1), and electrically connect the first tab to the metal housing ([0010] both electrode tabs are connected to the metal housing) wherein the metal housing comprises: an end wall, configured to be connected to the first tab ([0010]; [0043]; fig. 3 end wall 60); and a side wall surrounding an edge of the end wall (figs. 1-3); wherein the side wall and the end wall jointly define the accommodating cavity (figs. 1-3; fig. 6); and the conductive member is connected to the end wall, and a first conductive part is formed on an end of the side wall farther away from the end wall (fig. 2; where the side wall wraps around the cap assembly becomes the section including first conductive part 100), the first conductive part being configured to output electric energy of the battery cell (fig. 2; [0010] tabs connected to both ends of the housing/cap to output electric energy). Nam also teaches that the conductive member comprises a second conductive part wherein the second conductive part is disposed on an outer surface of the side wall and is electrically connected to the first conductive part (figs. 4-9 the housing on the side part 50 of the battery part 100 is considered the second conductive part, which is integrally connected with the first conductive part; [0043]).
Nam fails to teach that the battery cell further comprises a first insulator, wherein the first insulator is configured to separate the second conductive part from the side wall.
Kuroda is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries ([0001]). Kuroda teaches the first insulator is configured to separate the second conductive part from the side wall (fig. 8 second insulator 53 or 72 separates conductive part 50 from side wall of the container 3; [0046]; [0067]; [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nam such that the battery cell further comprises a first insulator, wherein the first insulator is configured to separate the second conductive part from the side wall such as in Kuroda. Doing so prevents short circuiting a plurality of batteries through portions other than the intended electrical path (Kuroda [0071]).
Regarding claim 14, Nam teaches a method of manufacturing a battery cell, comprising: providing a metal housing (figs. 3-9; [0042] metal housing 90), an electrode assembly ([0042] electrode assembly 10), and a conductive member ([0042]; figs. 3-9; conductive member 100), wherein the metal housing has an accommodating cavity ([0042] fig. 1), the electrode assembly comprises a first tab ([0010] both electrode tabs are connected to the metal housing), and resistance of the conductive member is lower than that of the metal housing ([0042] metal housing 90 is made of stainless steel; aluminum inherently has lower resistance than stainless steel (see instant specification paragraph 0076 for example)); disposing the conductive member on an outer surface of the metal housing ([0042]; figs. 3-9; conductive member 100); accommodating the electrode assembly in the accommodating cavity (fig. 1); and electrically connecting the first tab to the metal housing ([0010] both electrode tabs are connected to the metal housing) wherein the metal housing comprises: an end wall, configured to be connected to the first tab ([0010]; [0043]; fig. 3 end wall 60); and a side wall surrounding an edge of the end wall (figs. 1-3); wherein the side wall and the end wall jointly define the accommodating cavity (figs. 1-3; fig. 6); and the conductive member is connected to the end wall, and a first conductive part is formed on an end of the side wall farther away from the end wall (fig. 2; where the side wall wraps around the cap assembly becomes the section including first conductive part 100), the first conductive part being configured to output electric energy of the battery cell (fig. 2; [0010] tabs connected to both ends of the housing/cap to output electric energy). Nam also teaches that the conductive member comprises a second conductive part wherein the second conductive part is disposed on an outer surface of the side wall and is electrically connected to the first conductive part (figs. 4-9 the housing on the side part 50 of the battery part 100 is considered the second conductive part, which is integrally connected with the first conductive part; [0043]).
Nam fails to teach that the battery cell further comprises a first insulator, wherein the first insulator is configured to separate the second conductive part from the side wall.
Kuroda is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries ([0001]). Kuroda teaches the first insulator is configured to separate the second conductive part from the side wall (fig. 8 second insulator 53 or 72 separates conductive part 50 from side wall of the container 3; [0046]; [0067]; [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nam such that the battery cell further comprises a first insulator, wherein the first insulator is configured to separate the second conductive part from the side wall such as in Kuroda. Doing so prevents short circuiting a plurality of batteries through portions other than the intended electrical path (Kuroda [0071]).
Regarding claim 20, Nam teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Nam also teaches that the outer surface of the metal housing is provided with a mounting groove, wherein at least part of the conductive member is accommodated in the mounting groove (fig. 9, conductive member 100 is accommodated in mounting grooves 310a of metal housing 90; alternatively fig. 8; [0051]-[0055]).
Claims 6 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Kuroda, as applied to claims 1, 4, and 14 above, and further in view of Sugaya et al. (US-20170338463-A1), hereinafter Sugaya.
Regarding claim 6, Nam teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Nam also teaches that the battery cell further comprises a pressure relief mechanism ([0012]; fig. 2; safety vent 15), and the pressure relief mechanism is configured to be actuated when internal pressure or temperature of the battery cell reaches a threshold, so as to relieve the internal pressure of the battery cell ([0012]); the conductive member comprises a third conductive part connected to the end wall, wherein the third conductive part is electrically connected to the first conductive part (figs. 4-6; the housing that wraps around the lower can 60 is interpreted as the portion containing the third conductive part; [0043]; integrally connected to the first conductive part via the second conductive part).
Nam fails to teach that the pressure relief mechanism is disposed on the end wall and the end wall is provided with a partition, wherein the partition is configured to separate the third conductive part from the pressure relief mechanism. However, this is a common arrangement of battery cans.
Sugaya is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries ([0001]). Sugaya teaches that the pressure relief mechanism is disposed on the end wall and the end wall (fig. 1; [0043] bottom plate 12b including thin portion 13 that can be broken for discharging internal gas to the outside when internal gas pressure is increased) is provided with a partition, wherein the partition is configured to separate the third conductive part from the pressure relief mechanism (partition insulating plate 41 [0022]-[0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nam such that the pressure relief mechanism is disposed on the end wall and the end wall is provided with a partition. Doing so releases internal gas when the gas pressure inside the case increases and provides excellent safety (Sugaya [0043]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Nam teaches all of the limitations of claim 6. Nam fails to teach that the conductive member comprises a fusing part, wherein one end of the fusing part is connected to the first conductive part, and the other end is connected to the third conductive part; and both the first conductive part and the third conductive part have a current flowing area larger than that of the fusing part.
Kuroda is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries ([0001]). Kuroda teaches that the conductive member comprises a fusing part, wherein one end of the fusing part is connected to the first conductive part, and the other end is connected to the third conductive part; and both the first conductive part and the third conductive part have a current flowing area larger than that of the fusing part (fusing parts interpreted as connectors 51 and 52, which connect the first and third conductive members; [0045]; the connectors/interpreted fusing parts are visually smaller than the conductive parts, and therefore have a smaller current flowing area).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided a fusing part such as in Kuroda. Doing so allows the connection between the conductive portion and the bus bars (Kuroda [0045]).
Regarding claim 17, Nam teaches all of the limitations of claim 14. Nam also teaches that the battery cell further comprises a pressure relief mechanism ([0012]; fig. 2; safety vent 15), and the pressure relief mechanism is configured to be actuated when internal pressure or temperature of the battery cell reaches a threshold, so as to relieve the internal pressure of the battery cell ([0012]); the conductive member comprises a third conductive part connected to the end wall, wherein the third conductive part is electrically connected to the first conductive part figs. 4-6; the housing that wraps around the lower can 60 is interpreted as the portion containing the third conductive part; [0043]; integrally connected to the first conductive part via the second conductive part).
Nam fails to teach that the pressure relief mechanism is disposed on the end wall and the end wall is provided with a partition, wherein the partition is configured to separate the third conductive part from the pressure relief mechanism. However, this is a common arrangement of battery cans.
Sugaya is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries ([0001]). Sugaya teaches that the pressure relief mechanism is disposed on the end wall and the end wall (fig. 1; [0043] bottom plate 12b including thin portion 13 that can be broken for discharging internal gas to the outside when internal gas pressure is increased) is provided with a partition, wherein the partition is configured to separate the third conductive part from the pressure relief mechanism (partition insulating plate 41 [0022]-[0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nam such that the pressure relief mechanism is disposed on the end wall and the end wall is provided with a partition. Doing so releases internal gas when the gas pressure inside the case increases and provides excellent safety (Sugaya [0043]).
Regarding claim 18, Nam teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Nam also teaches that the battery cell further comprises a pressure relief mechanism ([0012]; fig. 2; safety vent 15), and the pressure relief mechanism is configured to be actuated when internal pressure or temperature of the battery cell reaches a threshold, so as to relieve the internal pressure of the battery cell ([0012]); the conductive member comprises a third conductive part connected to the end wall, wherein the third conductive part is electrically connected to the first conductive part (figs. 4-6; the housing that wraps around the lower can 60 is interpreted as the portion containing the third conductive part; [0043]; integrally connected to the first conductive part via the second conductive part).
Nam fails to teach that the pressure relief mechanism is disposed on the end wall and the end wall is provided with a partition, wherein the partition is configured to separate the third conductive part from the pressure relief mechanism. However, this is a common arrangement of battery cans.
Sugaya is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries ([0001]). Sugaya teaches that the pressure relief mechanism is disposed on the end wall and the end wall (fig. 1; [0043] bottom plate 12b including thin portion 13 that can be broken for discharging internal gas to the outside when internal gas pressure is increased) is provided with a partition, wherein the partition is configured to separate the third conductive part from the pressure relief mechanism (partition insulating plate 41 [0022]-[0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nam such that the pressure relief mechanism is disposed on the end wall and the end wall is provided with a partition. Doing so releases internal gas when the gas pressure inside the case increases and provides excellent safety (Sugaya [0043]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Kuroda, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fuhr et al. (US-20090208836-A1), hereinafter Fuhr.
Regarding claim 11, Nam teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Nam also teaches a battery comprising: the battery cell according to claim 1 ([0008] cylindrical secondary battery).
Nam fails to teach a busbar, configured to be connected to the metal housing or the conductive member. However, busbars are common in the art.
For example, Fuhr teaches a busbar, configured to be connected to the metal housing or the conductive member ([0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nam an provide a busbar connected to the metal housing or conductive member so that multiple cells or batteries can be electrically connected (Fuhr [0080]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722