DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Murphy and Steingart references still combine to teach the claims as amended.
Applicant states in paragraph 1 on page 9 of the Remarks that the ODP rejections have been obviated by a Terminal Disclaimer filed therewith. But no TD has been received by the Office. It is the Office’s position that the amendment filed on 3/2/26 obviates the double patenting rejections. Therefore, a TD is not necessary.
The Applicant has not provided any substantive arguments pertaining to the combination of Murphy and Steingart. Instead, Applicant alludes to the Interview conducted on 1/29/25—referenced in the Advisory Action mailed 2/2/26 and summarized in a separate filing on 3/2/26. The basis of that conversation was the distinction between Examiner’s suggestion to specify that the determination, generation, and assessment occur prior to completion of the manufacturing of the battery. This limitation is now found in claim 1 and was not presented previously recited. It is the basis for the double patenting obviation. The Office agrees that this feature is not found in Murphy. However, Steingart provides means and motivation for addressing this limitation. The rejections have been updated to address the new limitations. The Applicant is suggested to contact the Examiner again after reviewing this action so that a better understanding can occur about how to move this application to allowance if possible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy (US 2020/0106137 A1) in view of Steingart (US 2016/0223498 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Murphy discloses a process comprising: determining acoustic features of at least two locations of a battery cell based on acoustic signals (paragraph 68); generating a score from the acoustic features associated with the distribution of the electrolyte (paragraph 69); assessing the battery using the score (paragraph 73). Murphy discloses that the transmitted waves are used to determine the State of Health (SoH) of the battery (paragraph 65) and the SoH is a quantitative score (paragraph 58). Murphy acknowledges the possibility of manufacturing irregularities as motivation to test the batteries (paragraph 56) but not specifically utilizing the testing results in battery manufacturing. Steingart—in an invention for determining SoH from acoustic signals in a battery (paragraph 8)—discloses utilizing SoH to evaluate or predict ensure that test batteries in the manufacturing process meet acceptable performance characteristics and adjusting the manufacturing accordingly (paragraph 57). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the process of Steingart in Murphy to access battery health during manufacturing to adjust manufacturing in response. It is the Office’s position that the teachings of Steingart provides means and motivation for performing the process of Murphy during manufacture and prior to completion of the battery.
Regarding claim 2, Murphy discloses creating a map (database) based on locations across the battery (paragraph 153).
Regarding claim 3, Murphy discloses applying a dimension reduction algorithm on the acoustic features to determine the score (paragraph 158).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Murphy discloses that the acoustic features are transmitted over time and correlative to state of charge and state of health (paragraph 65).
Regarding claim 6, defects are not a necessary limitation of claim 5.
Regarding claim 7, Murphy discloses assessing aging and capacity (paragraph 48) and capacity (paragraph 58).
Regarding claim 8, Murphy discloses assessing time-of-flight and amplitude (paragraph 62).
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725