CTNF 18/117,818 CTNF 77082 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Tittle 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The claims do not read on the Tittle of the invention. Please, revise. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: A BOARD, AN ELECTRONIC PACKAGE, AND AN ELECTRONIC SYSTEM . Abstract The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because: In line 2, the term “ may be ” is not understood because the term “ may be ” recites a broad range or limitation by linking terms and a narrow range or limitation within the broad range or limitation is considered indefinite since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the Patent protection desired. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, 11-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a(1) as being anticipated by Ju (U.S. 2015/0147896), hereafter Ju . As to claims 1-2, Ju discloses a board as shown in figures 1-4, comprising: a substrate (10); a pad (11) over the substrate (10); a confinement layer (20) over the substrate (10), wherein the confinement layer defines a cavity (the space or receiving hole 25) over the pad (11); a liquid metal (30) comprises gallium, para-0056, on the pad (11), para-0055+; and a protective layer (31, 32 or figure 3) over the liquid metal (30). As to claims 3-4, Ju discloses the protective layer (31, 32) is an antioxidant (the filler 31, 32 is made from elastomer, and the elastomer is an antioxidant material, furthermore, the elastomer comprises one or more of a sodium ascorbate, a thiol, selenium, a carotenoid , an oil, a silicone oil, a lubricant, a grease, an acrylic coating, a propyl acetate, an acetone, an ethanol, a thermal curable resin, an UV curable resin , and a glycerin. As to claim 5, Ju discloses the carotenoid comprises beta-carotene or Zeaxanthin (the elastomers can be created using carotenoid-based materials , specifically by using carotenoids like Beta-carotene as building blocks to create new bio-based, degradable polymers). As to claim 6, Ju discloses the antioxidant comprises one or more of an amine antioxidant, a phenolic antioxidant, a phenol-phosphite antioxidant, a phosphite antioxidant , a dithiocarbamate antioxidant, a thioester antioxidant, and a tolumidazole antioxidant (the elastomer acts as a phenolic antioxidant material). As to claim 8, Ju discloses in figures 2-3 that a volume of the liquid metal (30) is greater than a volume of the protective layer, figure 3. As to claim 9, Ju discloses the protective layer (31, 32) is a fluid (gel, para-0057) at temperatures where the liquid metal is a fluid, para-0066+. As to claim 11, Ju discloses an electronic package as shown in figures 1-4 and 6, comprising: a package substrate (chip module 40); a board (10) coupled to the package substrate (40) with socket interconnects (43, para-0060), wherein a board side (top surface of the board 10) of the socket interconnects (43) includes a liquid metal (30) with an antioxidant coating (elastomer filler 31, 32). As to claims 12-14, Ju discloses the liquid metal (30) comprises gallium, a surface of the liquid metal comprises gallium and gallium oxide (the gallium alloy can convert into gallium oxide), and the surface of the liquid metal (30) does not include gallium oxide monohydroxide crystals, para-0056+. As to claim 15, Ju discloses the liquid metal (30) contacts a pad (11) on the Board (10). As to claim 17, Ju discloses the antioxidant comprises one or more of a sodium ascorbate, a thiol, selenium, a carotenoid , an oil, a silicone oil, a lubricant, a grease, an acrylic coating, a propyl acetate, an acetone, an ethanol, a thermal curable resin, an UV curable resin , a glycerin, an amine antioxidant, a phenolic antioxidant, a phenol-phosphite antioxidant, a phosphite antioxidant, a dithiocarbamate antioxidant, a thioester antioxidant, and a tolumidazole antioxidant . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju (‘896) in view of Ju (U.S. 2015/0244095) Regarding claim 7, Lu (‘896) discloses a chip module (40 acts as a capping layer over the cavity. However, for the applicant benefit, Lu (‘095) teaches an electrical connector as shown in figure 1 comprising a capping layer (4) over the cavity (11) of an insulation body (1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Lu (‘095) employed in the board of Lu (‘896) in order to protect the interconnection within the circuit board structure. As to claim 16, Ju discloses the liquid metal (30) is confined by a confinement layer (20), except for a capping layer is over the liquid metal. Lu (‘095) teaches an electrical connector as shown in figure 1 comprising a capping layer (4) over the liquid metal of an insulation body (1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Lu (‘095) employed in the board of Lu (‘896) in order to protect the interconnection within the circuit board structure . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju (‘896) in view of Zhong (U.S. 2005/0228097) Regarding claim 10, Ju (‘896) discloses all of the limitations of claimed invention except for the liquid metal has an oxide coating without the formation of metal oxide monohydroxide crystals. Zhong teaches a thermally conductive compositions as shown in figures 1-2 comprising the liquid metal (80) has an oxide coating (90) without the formation of metal oxide monohydroxide crystals. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Zhong employed in the board of Lu (‘896) in order to enhance corrosion resistance, and improve dimensional stability . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju (‘896) in view of Hashimoto et al. (U.S. Patent 5,746,927) . As to claim 18, Ju discloses an electronic system as shown in figures 1-4, and 6, comprising: a board (10); a package substrate (module 40) coupled to the board through a socket (pin 43), wherein a board side of the socket (43) comprises a liquid metal (30) and an antioxidant (elastomeric filler 31, 32) over the liquid metal (30). Ju does not specifically disclose a die coupled to the package substrate. Hashimoto teaches an electrical connecting device as shown in figures 9a-9c comprising a die (111) coupled to the package substrate (113). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Zhong employed in the board of Lu (‘896) in order to enhance signal processing and memory management. Regarding claim 19, Ju as modified by Hashimoto discloses the antioxidant comprises one or more of a sodium ascorbate, a thiol, selenium, a carotenoid, an oil, a silicone oil, a lubricant, a grease, an acrylic coating, a propyl acetate, an acetone, an ethanol, a thermal curable resin, an UV curable resin, a glycerin, an amine antioxidant, a phenolic antioxidant, a phenol-phosphite antioxidant, a phosphite antioxidant, a dithiocarbamate antioxidant, a thioester antioxidant, and a tolumidazole antioxidant. Regarding claim 19, Ju as modified by Hashimoto discloses the electronic system is part of a personal computer, a server, a mobile device, a tablet, or an automobile. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TUAN T DINH whose telephone number is (571)272-1929. The examiner can normally be reached MON-FRI: 8AM-4:30PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Timothy Dole can be reached at 571-272-2229. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TUAN T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/117,818 Page 2 Art Unit: 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/117,818 Page 3 Art Unit: 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/117,818 Page 4 Art Unit: 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/117,818 Page 5 Art Unit: 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/117,818 Page 6 Art Unit: 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/117,818 Page 7 Art Unit: 2848