DETAILED ACTION
Note:
An elastic insulator can be an antioxidant material.
Tittle
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly
indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The claims do not read on the Tittle of the invention. Please, revise.
The following title is suggested: A BOARD, AN ELECTRONIC PACKAGE, AND
AN ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
In line 2, the term "may be" is not understood because the term "may be" recites
a broad range or limitation by linking terms and a narrow range or limitation within the
broad range or limitation is considered indefinite since the resulting claim does not
clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the Patent protection desired.
Please, change “may be provided” to - - is provided - - for proper reading.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a
separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 16, please, change “wherein” to - - further comprising - - for proper reading.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being
anticipated by Ju (U.S. 2015/0163897), hereafter Ju.
As to claims 1-2, Ju discloses a board (300, para-0029+) as shown in figures 1-4, comprising:
a substrate (the body of the circuit board 300); a pad (C) over the substrate (300);
a confinement layer (1) over the substrate (300), wherein the confinement layer
defines a cavity (2) over the pad (C);
a liquid metal (A) comprises gallium, para-0031+, on the pad (C);
and
a protective layer (the outer layer of the element A, hereafter called PL, see figures 1 and 4) over the liquid metal (D), the protective layer (PL) in contact with the confinement layer (1), figures 2-3.
As to claims 3-4, Ju discloses the protective layer (PL) is an antioxidant (the elastic insulator, and the elastic insulator is an antioxidant material, furthermore, the elastic insulator comprises one or more of a sodium ascorbate, a thiol, selenium, a carotenoid, an oil, a silicone oil, a lubricant, a grease, an acrylic coating, a
propyl acetate, an acetone, an ethanol, a thermal curable resin, an UV curable resin,
and a glycerin.
As to claim 5, Ju discloses the carotenoid comprises beta-carotene or
Zeaxanthin (the elastic insulator can be created using carotenoid-based materials,
specifically by using carotenoids like Beta-carotene as building blocks to create new
bio-based, degradable polymers).
As to claim 6, Ju discloses the antioxidant comprises one or more of an amine
antioxidant, a phenolic antioxidant, a phenol-phosphite antioxidant, a phosphite
antioxidant, a dithiocarbamate antioxidant, a thioester antioxidant, and a
tolumidazole antioxidant (the elastic insulator acts as a phenolic antioxidant material).
As to claim 7, Lu further comprising a capping layer (5) over the cavity (2).
As to claim 8, Ju discloses a volume of the liquid metal (D) is greater than a volume of the protective layer (A), figures 1-4.
As to claim 9, Ju discloses the protective layer (A) is a fluid at temperatures where the liquid metal is a fluid, para-0032.
As to claim 11, Ju discloses an electronic package as shown in figure 2 comprising:
a package substrate (chip module 200);
a board (300) coupled to the package substrate (40) with socket interconnects (100),
wherein a board side (top surface of the board 300) of the socket interconnects
(100) includes a liquid metal (A) with an antioxidant coating (elastic insulator formed on outer layer of the element A, hereafter PL, see claim 1) in a cavity in a confinement layer (1), the antioxidant coating in contact with the confinement layer (1), see figures 2-3.
As to claims 12-14, Ju discloses the liquid metal (A) comprises gallium, a
surface of the liquid metal comprises gallium and gallium oxide (the gallium alloy can
convert into gallium oxide), and the surface of the liquid metal (A) does not include
gallium oxide monohydroxide crystals.
As to claim 15, Ju discloses the liquid metal (A) contacts a pad (C) on the
board (300).
As to claim 16, Lu further comprising a capping layer (5) over the cavity (2).
As to claim 17, Ju discloses the antioxidant comprises one or more of a sodium ascorbate, a thiol, selenium, a carotenoid, an oil, a silicone oil, a lubricant, a grease, an acrylic coating, a propyl acetate, an acetone, an ethanol, a thermal curable resin, an UV curable resin, a glycerin, an amine antioxidant, a phenolic antioxidant, a phenol phosphite antioxidant, a phosphite antioxidant, a dithiocarbamate antioxidant, a thioester antioxidant, and a tolumidazole antioxidant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju
('897) in view of Zhong (U.S. 2005/0228097)
Regarding claim 10, Ju ('897) discloses all of the limitations of claimed invention
except for the liquid metal has an oxide coating without the formation of metal oxide
monohydroxide crystals.
Zhong teaches a thermally conductive compositions as shown in figures 1-2
comprising the liquid metal (80) has an oxide coating (90) without the formation of metal
oxide monohydroxide crystals.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Zhong employed in the board of Lu ('897) in
order to enhance corrosion resistance, and improve dimensional stability.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Ju ('897) in view of Hashimoto et al. (U.S. Patent 5,746,927).
As to claim 18, Ju discloses an electronic system as shown in figures 1-4,
comprising:
a board (300);
a package substrate (200) coupled to the board through a socket (100),
wherein a board side of the socket (100) comprises a liquid metal (A) and an antioxidant (the outer layer made from elastic insulator on the LM A, hereafter PL) over the liquid metal (A) in a cavity in a confinement layer (1), the antioxidant coating in contact with the confinement layer (1), see figures 2-3.
Ju does not specifically disclose a die coupled to the package substrate.
Hashimoto teaches an electrical connecting device as shown in figures 9a-9c
comprising a die (111) coupled to the package substrate (113).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Hashimoto employed in the board of Lu ('897) in order to enhance signal processing and memory management.
Regarding claim 19, Ju as modified by Hashimoto discloses the antioxidant
comprises one or more of a sodium ascorbate, a thiol, selenium, a carotenoid, an oil, a
silicone oil, a lubricant, a grease, an acrylic coating, a propyl acetate, an acetone, an
ethanol, a thermal curable resin, an UV curable resin, a glycerin, an amine antioxidant,
a phenolic antioxidant, a phenol-phosphite antioxidant, a phosphite antioxidant, a
dithiocarbamate antioxidant, a thioester antioxidant, and a tolumidazole antioxidant.
Regarding claim 20, Ju as modified by Hashimoto discloses the electronic
system is part of a personal computer, a server, a mobile device, a tablet, or an
automobile.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUAN T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847