DETAILED ACTION
This application, 17/559490, attorney docket 00158.0803.00US, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This application is assigned to Semiconductor Manufacturing International (Shanghai) Corporation foreign priority to 202210468722.4, filed 04/29/2022.
Claims 1-8 and 21-31 are pending and are considered below. Note that examiner will use numbers in parentheses to indicate numbered elements in prior art figures, and brackets to point to paragraph numbers where quoted material or specific teachings can be found.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended claim 1 to remove the disputed language (the base is now only referred to as the substrate, in harmony with the drawing), but argues that the 112b was improper because the base and the substrate are the same element. Applicant further argues that the first a second conductive layers are supported in figures f4and 18 The examiner need not address the arguments because they are moot in light of the amendments. Applicant correctly argues that the amendment overcomes both the §112a of claim 2 and the §112b of claim 1, as well as the drawing objections which are withdrawn.
Applicant argues that amended claim is distinguished from prior art Lee because the amended claim 1 is not anticipated by Lee. Examiner disagrees. The amended rejection, and remapping is presented below which shows that each element of the claim is taught by Lee.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plugs with different depth recited in claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. In addition, figures 7 and 8 show 207 and 208 as groove, but the structures are shown to have a top surface that is above the surface of the dielectric 206, into which they grooves are formed. It is not clear how the structure can represent groove.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 8 recites, “…and depths of the plurality of first plug structures are 30% to 70% of the depths of the plurality of second plug structures.” The specification refers to grooves 207 and 208 of figures 7 and 8 having different sizes, but it does not teach how the plugs can be different depth when they must reach from bottom metal surfaces that are coplanar to top meta surfaces that are coplanar. Figure 2 clearly shows plugs 108 and 109 are the same depth.
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites, “the plurality of first metal layers and the plurality of second metal layers are located in the first region (of the substrate)” but claim 1 requires, “a bottom metal structure located on the device layer, which is require to be “on the substrate, so the metal cannot be in the region defined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 21-26, 28-29 and claim 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1/a2 as being anticipated by Lee et al. (U.S. 2019/0157198).
As for claim 1,
Lee teaches in figure 1, 2, 7, and 8 a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a substrate (30) including a base, a device structure located on the base, and conductive layers (V1) located on the device structure; (not shown)
a bottom metal structure (v1) located on the substrate; the bottom metal structure (200/300) being electrically connected to the conductive layers;
a first dielectric layer (110) located on the bottom metal structure, wherein the first dielectric layer contains:
a first opening structure (110, figure 8) including first grooves (214) and second grooves (212) on top of the first grooves, an extension direction (into the page) of the first opening structure being parallel to an extension direction of the bottom metal structure, a projection of one of the first grooves on the substrate being located within a projection of one of the second grooves on the substrate (shown in figure 2), and bottoms of the first grooves exposing surface of the first dielectric layer;
a second opening structure (320) including third grooves (340) and fourth grooves (320) on top of the third grooves, projections of a number of the third grooves on the substrate being located within a projection of one of the fourth grooves on the substrate Shown in figure 2), the third grooves exposing top surface of the bottom metal structure (they act as vias [0092-93], and depths of the first grooves being smaller than depths of the third grooves (d12 shown beside 340 in figure 8);
first plug structures located in the first grooves; second plug structures located in the third grooves; and first metal structures located in the second grooves and the fourth grooves (all grooves are filled with metal [0047]).
As for Claim 1,
Lee teaches in figures 1, 2, and 8, a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a substrate (30), a device layer (layer below M1, which would contain devices built on the substrate. located on the substrate, and conductive layers (212/312) located on the device layer;
a bottom metal structure (220/230) located on the device layer, the bottom metal structure being electrically connected to the conductive layers (they are continuous), the bottom metal structure including a plurality of first metal layers (320) and a plurality of second metal layers (220) alternately arranged in parallel along a first direction parallel to a surface of the substrate (arranged in the x-direction, shown parallel);
and a first dielectric layer (400 above M1 level 1) located on the bottom metal structure, wherein the first dielectric layer contains:
a plurality of first plug (240 [0093]) structures arranged in parallel along the first direction (shown along x );
and a first metal structure (M2) including a plurality of third metal layers (320) and a plurality fourth metal layers (220) alternately arranged in parallel along the first direction and respectively located on the plurality of first plug structures, wherein:
the plurality of third metal layers is located over the plurality of first metal layers;
and the plurality of fourth metal layers is located over the plurality of second metal layers. (Metal lines are aligned vertically, shown in figure 1).
As for Claim 2,
Lee teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 1, and teaches that
the substrate includes a first region and second regions located at two sides of the first region along a second direction parallel to the surface of the substrate, the second direction perpendicular to the first direction;
and the plurality of first metal layers and the plurality of second metal layers are located in the first region (the metal lines are all entered between the conducive lines 212/312);
As for Claim 3,
Lee teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 1, and Lee teaches that the conductive layers include a first conductive layer (214) and a second conductive layer (314) in the second regions respectively;
the first dielectric layer further contains a plurality of second plug structures;
and the plurality of second plug structures includes a plurality of first plugs located on the first conductive layer and a plurality of second plugs located on the second conductive layer. (V2 represent the second layer of plugs in the next layer of dielectric).
As for Claim 4,
Lee teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 3, wherein:
the conductive layers further include a third conductive layer and a fourth conductive layer (212/312 at M3);
and the third conducive layer is located on the plurality of first plugs (connected to V2 at 214), and the fourth conducive layer is located on the plurality of second plugs (connected to V2 at the opposite end [0093])).
As for Claim 5,
Lee teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 4, further comprising:
a second metal structure ( 200/300 atM3) located on the first metal structures, the second metal structure including a plurality of fifth metal layers and a plurality of sixth metal layers alternately arranged in parallel along the first direction. (Shown in figure 1).
As for Claim 6,
Lee teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 5, further comprising:
third plugs located on the third conductive layer; and
fourth plugs located on the fourth conductive layer layers.(V4, at 212 and 312)
As for Claim 7,
Lee teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 3, wherein:
projected images of the plurality of second plug structures on the substrate are rectangles (214 in figure 2 represents the via as a triangular trench);
and sizes of the plurality of first plug structures in the first direction are smaller than side lengths of the projected images of the plurality of second plug structures. (shown in figure 2)
As for Claim 21,
Lee teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 2, wherein:
the conductive layers include a first conductive layer and a second conductive layer respectively located in the second regions; and
the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are parallel to the first direction. (shown in figure 2).
As for Claim 22,
Lee teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 21, and Lee teaches
the plurality of first metal layers is connected to the first conductive layer; and
the plurality of second metal layers is connected to the second conductive layer. (Shown in figure 2).
As for Claim 23,
Lee teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 21, and lee teaches
first spacings are located between the plurality of first metal layers and the second conductive layer; and
second spacings are located between the plurality of second metal layers and the first conductive layer. (gaps shown in figure 2)
As for Claim 24,
Lee teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 4, and teaches in figure 2,
the plurality of fourth metal layers is connected to the third conductive layer;
the plurality of third metal layers is connected to the fourth conductive layers;
third spacings are located between the plurality of third metal layers and the third conductive layer; and
fourth spacings are located between the plurality of fourth metal layers and the fourth conductive layer. (each metal level is the same with conductive layer extending in the x direction and fingers of metal extending in the y direction).
As for Claim 25,
Lee teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 4, and teaches
the plurality of third metal layer is electrically connected to the plurality of second metal layers through the fourth conductive layer, the plurality of second plugs, and the second conductive layer; and the plurality of fourth metal layers is electrically connected to the plurality of first metal layers through the third conductive layer, the plurality of first plugs, and the first conductive layer. The vias connect the left and right-side layers vertically together in figure 1)
As for Claim 26,
Lee teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 6, and teaches in figures 1 and 2,
the conductive layers further include a fifth conductive layer located on the third conductive layer, and a sixth conductive layer located on the fourth conductive layer; and
the fifth conductive layers and the sixth conductive layers are parallel to the first direction. (The m4 level is the same as the m3 level of Lee).
As for Claim 28,
Lee teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 26, and teaches
the plurality of fifth metal layers is connected to the fifth conductive layer;
the plurality of sixth metal layers is connected to the sixth conductive layers;
fifth spacings are located between the plurality of fifth metal layers and the sixth conductive layer; and
sixth spacings are located between the plurality of sixth metal layers and the fifth conductive layer. (the geometry of each layer is identical so will mirror the arrangement of M1).
As for Claim 29,
Lee teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 26, and teaches that
the plurality of fifth metal layers is electrically connected to the plurality of fourth metal layers through the fifth conductive layer, the third plugs, and the third conductive layer; and
the plurality of sixth metal layers is electrically connected to the plurality of third metal layers through the sixth conductive layer, the fourth plugs, and the fourth conductive layer. (the geometry of each layer is identical so will mirror the arrangement of M1).
As for Claim 31,
Lee teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 5, and Lee teaches that
projections of the plurality of fifth metal layers on the substrate partially coincide with projections of the plurality of third metal layers on the substrate; and
projections of the plurality of sixth metal layers on the substrate partially coincide with projections of the plurality of fourth metal layers on the substrate. (the geometry of each layer is identical so will mirror the arrangement of M1 and substantially coincide, so at least partially coincide).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Huang et al.( U.S. 2014/0001597).
As for Claim 27,
Lee teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 6, and teaches a plurality of first metal structures (220) and a plurality of second metal structures (320) alternately arranged vertically in a direction perpendicular to the surface of the substrate (M1 figure 1); and
the plurality of fifth metal layers is located on the plurality of third metal layers, and the plurality of sixth metal layers is located on the plurality of fourth metal layers.(layers are stacked shown in figure 1)
but does not teach that the structure includes a plurality of second adhesion layers located at bottoms of the plurality of fifth metal layers and the plurality of sixth metal layers,
However, Huang teaches a plurality of second adhesion layers (seed layers, [0013]) located at bottoms of the plurality of fifth metal layers and the plurality of sixth metal layers.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of this application add the seed layer of Huang to Lee to improve uniformity of metal deposition into the dielectric trenches. One skilled in the art would have combined these elements with a reasonable expectation of success.
As for Claim 30,
Lee in view of Huang makes obvious the semiconductor structure according to claim 27, and in the combination, the depths of the second adhesion layers are smaller than depths of the third plugs and the fourth plugs because the seed layer is a molecular deposition, and the plugs extend a thickness near the thickness of the metal layer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN A BODNAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893