DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 9/11/26. As directed by the amendment: claims 1-4, 9-11, 17, 20-22, 27, 29 and 34 have been amended, no claims have been canceled, and no new claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-36 are presently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-10 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tolmie et al. (2007/0181126) in view of Richardson (5,752,506), Bathe et al. (6,581,592) and Krishnan et al. (2007/0224708).
Regarding claim 1, in fig. 1 Tolmie discloses a method of delivering nitric oxide gas to a patient in need thereof, the method comprising: providing, through at least one control valve 37 of a nitric oxide delivery system, a flow of nitric oxide gas 38 to an injector 36 for introducing the nitric oxide gas into a breathing gas (16 and 18) in an inspiratory limb (tubing just downstream of 36, or 32) of a breathing circuit (structure in fig. 1) affiliated with a ventilator (12 [0018]); measuring, using at least one NO flow sensor 39, NO flow, wherein the at least one NO flow sensor is in fluid communication with a therapeutic gas inlet (where arrow that points to 36 is located) of the injector; receiving, using a control system 52 in communication with the at least one NO flow sensor (Fig. 1), flow information from the at least one NO flow sensor ([0035] fig. 1); and delivering the nitric oxide gas to the patient (14, abstract), but is silent regarding that the ventilator is a high frequency ventilator or ventilation techniques which provide reverse and/or oscillations in inspiratory pressure or flow. However, Richardson teaches a breathing circuit is affiliated with a high frequency ventilator or ventilation techniques which provide reverse and/or oscillations in inspiratory pressure or flow (Col. 6, ll. 44-47) in addition to nitric oxide delivery (Col. 6, ll. 50-55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tolmie’s ventilation with high frequency ventilation, as taught by Richardson, for the purpose of providing an alternate ventilation modality depending on the particular patient having the predictable results of ventilating a patient (Col. 1, ll. 18-20 Richardson). The modified Tolmie is silent regarding that the flow information comprising closed-valve flow information generated while the control valve is closed; and determining, based at least in part on the closed-valve flow information, whether the flow of nitric oxide gas is leaking past the control valve. However, in fig. 1 Bathe teaches an NO flow sensor 40 is downstream of the control valve 30 in the nitric oxide delivery system and in fig. 1 Krishnan teaches that the flow information comprising closed-valve flow information generated while the control valve 102 is closed [0027]; and determining, based at least in part on the closed-valve flow information, whether the flow of nitric oxide gas is leaking past the control valve [0027]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Tolmie’s NO flow sensor and control valve with the NO flow sensor downstream of the control valve and flow information with closed-valve flow information, as taught by Bathe and Krishnan, for the purpose of providing an alternate configuration having the predictable results of determining NO flow to control the control valve and for determining if a leak is present in the control valve.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Tolmie discloses that the injector module has an injector body (body of 36, Tolmie) having a first opening (opening that 28 connects to, Tolmie) and a second opening (opening closer to 40, Tolmie), the first opening and the second opening for coupling the injector to the inspiratory limb (conduit just downstream of 36, Tolmie) of the breathing circuit enabling the breathing gas in the breathing circuit to flow through the first opening and the second opening (Fig. 1, Tolmie).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Tolmie discloses that the therapeutic gas inlet is in the injector body (Fig. 1, Tolmie), wherein the therapeutic gas inlet receives the flow of the nitric oxide gas (Fig. 1, Tolmie) and enable injection of the nitric oxide gas into the injector (Fig. 1, Tolmie), and subsequently into the breathing gas in the inspiratory limb of the breathing circuit (Fig. 1, Tolmie).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Tolmie discloses that the therapeutic gas inlet receives the flow of nitric oxide gas from a nitric oxide source 38, via a conduit (conduit leading to 36 from 38, Tolmie).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Tolmie discloses that the nitric oxide source is a cylinder storing NO ([0021] Tolmie, fig. 1) or an NO generator.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Tolmie discloses that monitoring the flow information, using the control system, to ensure that a desired dose of NO is delivered into the injector, and subsequently into the breathing gas in the inspiratory limb of the breathing circuit ([0028] Tolmie).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Tolmie discloses that monitoring the flow information using the control system to ensure a desired dose of NO is not under delivered and/or under dosed ([0028] Tolmie).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Tolmie discloses that the inspiratory limb (32 receives both inspiration and expiration, Tolmie) is also an expiratory limb in the breathing circuit.
Regarding claim 15, the modified Tolmie disclsoes that the NO flow sensor is downstream of the control valve in the nitric oxide delivery system (NO flow sensor 40 is downstream of the control valve 30, Fig. 1 Bathe).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Tolmiediscloses that the control valve is upstream of the NO flow sensor in the nitric oxide delivery system (NO flow sensor 40 is downstream of the control valve 30, Fig. 1 Bathe).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Tolmie discloses that receiving the flow of nitric oxide gas at the therapeutic gas inlet (where arrow meets 36, Tolmie) via a conduit (conduit that meets 36 at arrow, Tolmie), wherein the conduit has one or more of (i) an internal cross-sectional diameter of 1/32 of an inch to 1/4 of an inch and (ii) an internal portion (conduit within 50, Tolmie) within the nitric oxide delivery system (50, Tolmie) and an external portion (conduit outside of 50, Tolmie) outside the nitric oxide delivery system, the internal portion of the conduit having a cross-sectional diameter that is the same as a cross-sectional diameter of the external portion of the conduit (Fig. 1, Tolmie).
Claim 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tolmie, Richardson, Bathe and Krishnan, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Sansom (2014/0358022).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Tolmie is silent regarding that the at least one NO flow sensor is at least one bi-directional flow sensor. However, in fig. 5 Sansom teaches a flow sensor is at least one bi-directional flow sensor (using a bi-directional constant temperature anemometry flow sensor [0005][0039]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Tolmie’s NO flow sensor with a bi-directional constant temperature anemometry flow sensor, as taught by Sansom, for the purpose of providing an alternate flow sensor having the predictable results of determining flow as well as the advantage of determining the direction of flow with reduced dead space and weight ([0005] Sansom).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Tolmie discloses that the at least one bi-directional flow sensor is a thermal mass flow meter ([0005][0039] Sansom) or a thermal dispersion flow meter.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tolmie, Richardson, Bathe and Krishnan, as applied to claim 6 above, in further view of Rounbehler et al. (2006/0180147).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Tolmie is silent regarding generating the nitric oxide gas by reaction of a NO-releasing agent with a reductant using the NO generator. However, Rounbehler teaches generating the nitric oxide gas by reaction of a NO-releasing agent with a reductant using the NO generator (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Tolmie’s NO gas container with an NO gas generator, as taught by Rounbehler, for the purpose of providing an alternate source of nitric oxide having the predictable results of providing nitric oxide to a user for respiratory therapy.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Tolmie discloses that the NO-releasing agent is nitrogen dioxide and the reductant is ascorbic acid (abstract Rounbehler).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tolmie, Richardson, Bathe and Krishnan, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Jamison (2010/0175695).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Tolmie is silent regarding opening or closing a check valve that is one or more of (i) in fluid communication with the therapeutic gas inlet of the injector module and (ii) is integral to the injector module. However, in fig. 2 Jamison teaches opening or closing a check valve 246 that is one or more of (i) in fluid communication with a therapeutic gas inlet of the injector module 236 and (ii) is integral to the injector module 236. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Tolmie’s inhalation limb with the addition of a check valve, as taught by Jamison, for the purpose of preventing backflow.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tolmie, Richardson, Bathe and Krishnan, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Hu et al. (5,939,618).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Tolmie is silent regarding measuring, using at least a second NO flow sensor, NO flow, wherein the second NO flow sensor is in fluid communication with the therapeutic gas inlet and in communication with the control system, receiving, at the control system, flow information from the second NO flow sensor; and detecting, using the control system, a leak when the flow information from the NO flow sensors does not match. However, in fig. 1 Hu teaches measuring, using a first 22 and second 26 flow sensor, wherein first and second flow sensors are in fluid communication with a therapeutic gas inlet 18 and in communication with the control system (Col. 5, ll. 15-21), receiving, at the control system, flow information from the first and second flow sensors (Col. 5, ll. 15-21); and detecting, using the control system, a leak when the flow information from the NO flow sensors does not match (Col. 5, ll. 22-25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Tolmie’s NO flow sensor with the addition of a second NO flow sensor, as taught by Hu, for the purpose of determining if a leak occurs.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tolmie, Richardson, Bathe, Krishnan and Hu, as applied to claim 18 above, in further view of Nightingale et al. (2013/0133656).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Tolmie is silent regarding increasing the flow of nitric oxide gas if a leak is detected. However, Nightingale teaches increasing gas flow if a leak is detected [0144]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Tolmie’s gas flow with increased gas flow if a leak is detected, as taught by Nightingale, for the purpose of compensating for the lost flow due to leakage.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,835,696 in view of Krishnan et al. (2007/0224708). The instant claims recite the features in patented claim 1 except that the flow information comprising closed-valve flow information generated while the control valve is closed; and determining, based at least in part on the closed-valve flow information, whether the flow of nitric oxide gas is leaking past the control valve. However, in fig. 1 Krishnan teaches that the flow information comprising closed-valve flow information generated while the control valve 102 is closed [0027]; and determining, based at least in part on the closed-valve flow information, whether the flow of nitric oxide gas is leaking past the control valve [0027]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patented claim 1’s NO flow sensor and control valve with flow information with closed-valve flow information, as taught by Krishnan, for the purpose of providing an alternate configuration having the predictable results of determining NO flow to control the control valve and for determining if a leak is present in the control valve.
Dependent claim 5 is covered by patented claim 7.
Dependent claim 9 is covered by patented claim 3.
Dependent claim 10 is covered by patented claim 4.
Dependent claim 11 is covered by patented claim 5.
Dependent claim 15-16 is covered by patented claim 6.
Dependent claim 17 is covered by patented claim 7.
Dependent claim 18 is covered by patented claim 8.
Dependent claim 19 is covered by patented claim 9.
Claims 20 and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,835,696. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim is broader than the patented claim (i.e. the patented claim 10 recites “forward flow information and reverse flow information,” which is language not found in instant claim 20). Therefore, any infringement over patented claim would result in infringement over instant claims.
Dependent claim 27 is covered by patented claim 13.
Dependent claim 28 is covered by patented claim 14.
Dependent claim 29 is covered by patented claim 15.
Dependent claims 32-33 are covered by patented claim 17.
Dependent claim 34 is covered by patented claim 18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-12, filed 9/11/26, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under Tolmie et al. (2007/0181126) in view of Richardson (5,752,506) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tolmie et al. (2007/0181126) in view of Richardson (5,752,506), Bathe et al. (6,581,592) and Krishnan et al. (2007/0224708).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 4 and 20-36 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 rejections of claims 4 and 20-36 have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785