DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/ 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LEE (US 20220367486), (hereinafter, LEE).
RE Claim 1, LEE discloses in FIGS. 3-5 a semiconductor memory device. LEE discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate “SUB”, referring to FIG. 4;
a source structure “SL” disposed on the substrate “SUB”;
cell stack structures “NMC_R normal cell region” disposed on the source structure “SL”;
a dummy stack structure “DMC_R” disposed between the cell stack structures “NMC_R” on the source structure “SL”;
vertical barriers “CO core insulating layer” [0054] disposed between the dummy stack structure “DMC_R” and the cell stack structures “DMC_R”; and
at least one lower protective pattern 117 disposed at a lower portion of the dummy stack structure “DMC_R” between the vertical barriers “135”.
RE Claim 2, LEE discloses a semiconductor device, wherein the dummy stack structure “DMC_R” includes a first stack structure ST1 and a second stack structure ST2 on the first stack structure ST1, and wherein the at least one lower protective pattern 117 is disposed at the same level as the first stack structure ST1, referring to FIG. 5D.
RE Claim 8, LEE discloses semiconductor device, wherein the dummy stack structure “DMC_R” includes dummy interlayer insulating layers “ILD 123 silicon oxide” and sacrificial insulating layers 121 “silicon nitride” which are alternately stacked, referring to FIGS. 4 and 5D [0070-0071],
wherein the cell stack structures “NMC_R” include interlayer insulating layers “ILD3” and conductive patterns “GP2”, which are alternately stacked, and wherein the dummy stack structure “DMC_R” is isolated from the cell stack structures “NMC_R” by the vertical barriers “CO core insulating layer”, referring to FIG. 4.
RE Claim 9, LEE discloses semiconductor device, wherein the dummy stack structure “DMC_R” includes a first stack structure ST1 and a second stack structure ST2 on the first stack structure ST1,
wherein the first stack structure ST1 includes a lowermost sacrificial insulating layer 111 of the dummy stack structure “DMC_R”, referring to FIG. 5B, and
wherein the at least one lower protective pattern 117 penetrates the lowermost sacrificial insulating layer 111 of the dummy stack structure “DMC_R”.
RE Claim 10, LEE discloses semiconductor device, further comprising a support sl1 penetrating through a cell stack structure of the cell stack structures to contact a top of the source structure “SL”, referring to FIG. 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the instant case, LEE (US 20220367486) was published Nov. 17, 2022 prior to the US filing date of the instant application, hence qualifies under U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2). The foreign priority application KR-10-2022-0109232 is published in the Korean language and cannot be considered as the effective filing date unless it has an official English translation. Accordingly, the aforementioned rejection above is proper under USC. 102(a)(1), and the finality is proper.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In the instant case, KIM et al. (US 2022/0302157) disclose a semiconductor memory device, wherein a through via structure includes a through via and a capping pattern. The through via includes a metal pattern extending in a vertical direction, and a barrier pattern on a sidewall and a lower surface of the metal pattern. The capping pattern contacts an upper surface of the through via. A lowermost surface of an edge portion of the capping pattern is not higher than a lowermost surface of a central portion of the capping pattern.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YASSER A ABDELAZIEZ, PhD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898