NEGATIVE ELECTRODE FOR POWER STORAGE DEVICE, METHOD FOR FORMING THE SAME, AND POWER STORAGE DEVICE
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to communication filed 1/6/2026:
Claims 2, 7, and 12 have been amended; no new matter has been entered.
Previous rejection has been withdrawn due to amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2, 7, and 12 have been considered but are moot based on grounds of new rejection necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatenable over Sheem et al. (US 2012/0034522 A1) and further in view of Odani et al. (US 2010/0190054 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 6, 7, 11, 12, and 16, Sheem et al. teach a lithium-ion battery (Abstract; Fig. 2) comprising:
a positive electrode (Fig. 2, element 2; paragraphs 0043-0044);
a negative electrode (Fig. 2, element 4; paragraphs 0045-0046); and
an electrolyte between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (Paragraphs 0079-0080; 0093),
wherein the negative electrode comprises a negative electrode current collector and a negative electrode active material layer (Paragraph 0064), and
wherein the negative electrode active material layer comprises a plurality of negative electrode active material particles (Fig. 1, element 12 discloses an active material core. Paragraphs 0045-0046 disclose this comprises a material capable of reversibly intercalating and deintercalating Li ions such as graphite. This material inherently makes up particles.) and at least one graphene layer covering part of the plurality of negative electrode active material particles (Fig. 1, element 14 discloses a thin film graphite layer which can comprise a graphene sheet, element 14a, covering the active material core, element 12.).
However, Sheem et al. do not teach wherein the negative electrode active material comprises graphite and a silicon oxide film covering part of the graphite.
Odani et al. teach a battery having a negative electrode (Abstract). Further, the negative electrode comprises a negative electrode active material layer (Fig. 4, element 2) comprising negative electrode active material particles (Fig. 4, element 201) having an oxide-containing film (Fig. 4, element 203) covering only the top of the negative electrode active material particles (Paragraph 301). The oxide-containing film can comprise silicon oxide (Paragraph 0293) and the negative electrode active material particles can comprise graphite (Paragraph 0129).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the graphite surface of Sheem to further include a silicon oxide film as disclosed by Odani in order to provide a protective film against the electrolyte solution to further enhance cycle characteristics (Paragraph 0292).
Regarding claims 3, 8, and 13, Sheem and Odani et al. teach the lithium-ion battery according to claims 2, 7, and 12. Further, Sheem teaches wherein an average diameter of the plurality of negative electrode active materials is more than or equal to 6 μm and less than or equal to 30 μm (Paragraph 0042 discloses the average particle diameter of the active material including the core and layer is 1-50 µm.).
Regarding claims 4, 9, and 14, Sheem and Odani et al. teach the lithium-ion battery according to claims 2, 7, and 12. Further, Sheem teaches wherein the graphene layer is in contact with the plurality of negative electrode active materials (Fig. 1).
Claims 5, 10, and 15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sheem et al. (US 2012/0034522 A1) and Odani (US 2010/0190054 A1) as applied to claims 2, 7, and 12 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2010/0310908 A1).
Regarding claims 5, 10, and 15, Sheem and Odani et al. teach the lithium-ion battery of claims 2, 7, and 12. However, they do not teach wherein the lithium-ion battery is flexible.
Zhang et al. teach that battery cells may be suitably made into a cylindrically wound cell of a flexible pouch (Paragraph 0069).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the flexible pouch to house the battery of Sheem because Zhang et al. teach that flexible pouches cylindrically wound cells are equivalent substitutes for battery housing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 January 22nd, 2026