DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is a non-final office action for application 18/119,541 filed on 09 March 2023. Claims 1-16 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 is indefinite because the phrase “the angle” does not have sufficient antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, claim 9 is interpreted to depend on claim 8. Further, the phrase “the top level plane” does not have sufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 15 is indefinite for the same reasons as claim 9. For the purpose of examination, claim 15 is interpreted to depend on claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jomain (US-20200079522-A1) in view of Doherty et al. (US-20210178320-A1), hereinafter Doherty, Peacos, III et al. (US-9855544-B2), hereinafter “Peacos”, Hedges et al. (US-20150219554-A1), hereinafter “Headges”, and Knis et al. (US-20120222759-A1), hereinafter “Knis”.
Regarding Claim 1, Jomain discloses an inerting fuel tank system (fuel tank inerting arrangement 203; see [0097]), comprising: an ozone removal device (ozone remover 503; see [0099]), wherein air flows into the ozone removal device (air passes downstream… and then through an ozone remover; see [0099]), wherein a valve controls the flow of air into the ozone removal device (air passes downstream through a valve 516 and then through an ozone remover; see [0099]), wherein the ozone removal device removes ozone from the air (ozone remover 503 which removes ozone from the air; see [0099]); a heat exchanger (heat exchanger 505; see [0099]), wherein air flows from the ozone removal device to the heat exchanger (downstream of the ozone remover 503 is a shut-off valve 504… Downstream of the shut-off valve 504 is a heat exchanger 505; see [0099]); a filter (ULPA filter 509; see [0099]), wherein air flows from the heat exchanger to the filter (see Fig. 4 Parts 505 and 509); an air separator module (air separation module 510; see [0099]), wherein air flows from the filter to the air separator module (filtered by an ULPA filter 509… and then passed to an air separation module 510; see [0099]); a fuel tank (central fuel tank; see [0099]); an oxygen sensor (sensing the oxygen content of the gas; see [0017]); at least one check valve (flow control valve 512; see [0099]), wherein the at least one check valve is located between the air separator module and the fuel tank (air separation module 510 removes at least some of the oxygen from the gas, with oxygen-depleted air being fed via a flow control valve 512 to an outlet 514 for delivering oxygen-depleted air to a central fuel tank; see [0099]); wherein the air separator module removes oxygen from the air (air separation module 510 removes at least some of the oxygen from the gas; see [0099]) and creates nitrogen enriched air (This is the natural consequence of removing oxygen from air) which flows into the fuel tank through at least one check valve (with oxygen-depleted air being fed via a flow control valve 512 to an outlet 514 for delivering oxygen-depleted air to a central fuel tank; see [0099), wherein valves and sensors (sensor located in the fuel tank. Thos skilled in the art will realize that other arrangements are possible; see [0107]) are placed throughout the system to allow for proper use and to control the flow of the air (one or more valves for controlling the flow of gas through the aircraft fuel tank inerting arrangement; see [0038]).
Regarding the limitation claiming a “check valve”, this check valve is broadly interpreted as a valve that prevents reverse flow. The control valve, referenced above, disclosed in Jomain is disposed between the air separator and the fuel tank and is necessarily capable of being positioned to block reverse flow. Accordingly, Jomain discloses the check valve.
Jomain does not explicitly teach the claimed sensor locations. However, Doherty discloses a heat sensor located between the filter and the air separator module (see Fig. 1, temperature sensor 110, filter 108, air separation module 100) and an oxygen sensor located between the air separator module and the fuel tank (oxygen sensor 116 is configured to measure concentration… prior to the oxygen-depleted air flow fraction 22 reaching the fuel system 12 and… to measure oxygen concentration within the oxygen-depleted air flow fraction 22 received from the separator 112; see [0042]), wherein the oxygen content of the nitrogen enriched air is measured prior to entering the at least one check valve by an oxygen sensor (flow control valve 118 is fluidly coupled between the oxygen sensor 116 and the supply conduit; see [0043]).
Jomain and Doherty are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of inerting systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jomain by incorporating the teachings of Doherty and disposing the sensors in the claimed locations. Doing so enables temperature measurement of the compressed air flow provided to the separator (see Doherty [0038]) and monitoring of the performance of the air separation module via monitoring of the oxygen concentration (see Doherty [0042]) while also enabling throttling of the flow of oxygen depleted air flow; see Doherty [0043]).
Jomain does not explicitly teach a pressure sensor. However, Peacos discloses a pressure sensor located between a filter and an air separation module (passes through an ozone filter 104. The air then passes through… a number of sensors, including pressure sensor 108… then passes into a first end cap 112 in fluid communication with air separation canister 116; see Col. 2 Lines 41-52).
Jomain and Peacos are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of air separation to achieve an inert gas. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to place a pressure sensor in the claimed position. Doing so would enable utilization of the pressure differential (see Col. 1 Line 11).
Jomain does not explicitly teach measuring oxygen concentration by bleed-off. However, this is a commonly employed technique as taught by Hedges (oxygen sensor to measure oxygen concentration in gas samples continuously drawn from sample locations; see [0010]). Jomain and Hedges are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of inerting fuel tank systems. Therefore, this technique would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because it would offer an improved oxygen analysis system and method for measuring, monitoring, and recording oxygen concentration (see Hedges [0008]).
Jomain does not explicitly teach a flow impingement valve. However, Knis discloses at least one flow impingement valve (non-return valve 10; see [0032] and “flow is first deflected”; see [0016]) disposed in an inlet of a fuel tank (in a fuel injection system; see [0032]), wherein the at least one flow impingement valve partially impedes reverse flow out of the fuel tank while allowing uninhibited flow of the nitrogen enriched air into the fuel tank (This is a necessary consequence of the design of a non-return valve). KSR Rationale C (see MPEP 2141) states that it is obvious to use a “known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known technique of employing a non-return valve or impingement valve from Knis to the fuel tank of Jomain in order to improve it by having a favorable effect on the hydrodynamic performance (see Knis [0004]).
Regarding Claim 3, Jomain, Doherty, Peacos, Hedges, and Knis together disclose the inerting fuel tank system of claim 1. Knis further discloses wherein the at least one flow impingement valve contains one or more flow impingement blockers (“flow direction is blocked”; see [0004] and “With the impact plate, a flow deflection of the fluid to be filtered is thus achieved”; see [0016]). Including a flow impingement blocker or impact plate would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because it would enabled deflection of the fluid (see Knis [0016]).
Regarding Claim 4, Jomain, Doherty, Peacos, Hedges, and Knis together disclose the inerting fuel tank system of claim 1. Jomain further discloses wherein the oxygen sensor located between the air separator module and the fuel tank measures the amount of oxygen in the nitrogen enriched air in the fuel tank (sensing the oxygen content of the gas, above the fuel in a fuel tank; see [0017]).
Regarding Claim 5, Jomain, Doherty, Peacos, Hedges, and Knis together disclose the inerting fuel tank system of claim 1. Jomain further discloses wherein the air that flows into the ozone removal device is engine bleed air (inlet for the introduction of air… (such as an engine bleed line), optionally an ozone remover for removing ozone from the air; see [0017]).
Regarding Claim 8, Jomain, Doherty, Peacos, Hedges, and Knis together disclose the inerting fuel tank system of claim 1. The limitation claiming that the impingement valve is disposed at an angle is necessarily true in all embodiments as “an angle” encompasses every valve position as there is no reference frame. Therefore, valves disposed at any angle, including 0o, acute, obtuse, right, and straight orientations are disposed at an angle.
Regarding Claim 9, Jomain, Doherty, Peacos, Hedges, and Knis together disclose the inerting fuel tank system of claim 8. The courts have held that a mere rearrangement of parts is unpatentable when shifting the position does not modify the operation of the device. See In reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Therefore, because disposing the impingement valve at a 45 to 90 degree angle in relation to a top level plane of the fuel tank does not offer any new or unexpected results, the particular placement of said impingement valve is an obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding Claim 10, Jomain, Doherty, Peacos, Hedges, and Knis together disclose the inerting fuel tank system of claim 1. The courts have held that a mere rearrangement of parts is unpatentable when shifting the position does not modify the operation of the device. See In reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Therefore, because disposing the impingement valve on the side of the fuel tank does not offer any new or unexpected results, the particular placement of said impingement valve is an obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding Claim 11, Jomain, Doherty, Peacos, Hedges, and Knis together disclose the inerting fuel tank system of claim 1. The courts have held that a mere rearrangement of parts is unpatentable when shifting the position does not modify the operation of the device. See In reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Therefore, because disposing the impingement valve on the top of the fuel tank does not offer any new or unexpected results, the particular placement of said impingement valve is an obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding Claim 12, Jomain, Doherty, Peacos, Hedges, and Knis together disclose the inerting fuel tank system of claim 1. Knis further discloses wherein the at least one flow impingement valve is disposed on the outside of the fuel tank and provides access into the fuel tank (see Fig. 6 Parts 10 (non-return valve) and 70 (fuel tank)).
Regarding Claim 13, the limitations of this claim do not exceed those of claims 1 and 3. Please refer to the rejections of claims 1 and 3 as the rejection of claim 13 follows the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 14, Jomain, Doherty, Peacos, Hedges, and Knis together disclose the inerting fuel tank system of claim 13. The remaining limitations of this claim do not exceed those of claim 8. Please refer to the rejection of claim 8 as the rejection of claim 14 follows the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 15, Jomain, Doherty, Peacos, Hedges, and Knis together disclose the inerting fuel tank system of claim 14. The remaining limitations of this claim do not exceed those of claim 9. Please refer to the rejection of claims 9 as the rejection of claim 15 follows the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 16, Jomain, Doherty, Peacos, Hedges, and Knis together disclose the inerting fuel tank system of claim 13. The remaining limitations of this claim do not exceed those of claim 1. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as the rejection of claim 16 follows the same rationale.
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jomain (US-20200079522-A1) in view of Doherty et al. (US-20210178320-A1), hereinafter Doherty, Peacos, III et al. (US-9855544-B2), hereinafter “Peacos”, Hedges et al. (US-20150219554-A1), hereinafter “Headges”, and Knis et al. (US-20120222759-A1), hereinafter “Knis”, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Dardas et al. (US-20210206503-A1), hereinafter “Dardas”.
Regarding Claim 2, Jomain, Doherty, Peacos, Hedges, and Knis together disclose the inerting fuel tank system of claim 1. Modified Jomain does not explicitly teach a coalescing filter. However, Dardas discloses wherein the filter is a particulate coalesce filter (one or more filter components, including but not limited to a particulate filter (e.g., a HEPA filter) for removal of particulates, or a coalescing filter for removal of liquid entrained in the air flow. In the case of multiple filter components, they can be integrated into a single module; see [0043]).
Jomain and Dardas are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of inerting tank systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jomain by incorporating the teaching of Dardas and including a particulate coalescing filter. Doing so would have enabled removal of particulates and liquid entrained in the air flow (see Dardas [0043]).
Regarding Claim 6, Jomain, Doherty, Peacos, Hedges, and Knis together disclose the inerting fuel tank system of claim 1. Modified Jomain does not explicitly teach catalytic conversion. However, Dardas discloses wherein the ozone removal device is a catalytic ozone converter (catalytic treatment modules such as for ozone removal; see [0043]). This modification would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because it would enable ozone removal (see Dardas [0043]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jomain (US-20200079522-A1) in view of Doherty et al. (US-20210178320-A1), hereinafter Doherty, Peacos, III et al. (US-9855544-B2), hereinafter “Peacos”, Hedges et al. (US-20150219554-A1), hereinafter “Headges”, and Knis et al. (US-20120222759-A1), hereinafter “Knis”, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Tesla (US-1329559-A).
Regarding Claim 7, Jomain, Doherty, Peacos, Hedges, and Knis together disclose the inerting fuel tank system of claim 1. Modified Jomain does not explicitly teach an impingement valve with no moving parts. However, Tesla discloses wherein an impingement valve (virtually no resistance to the passage of the fluid in one direction, other than surface friction, constitute an almost impassable barrier to its flow in the opposite sense by reason of the more or less sudden expansions, contractions, deflections, reversals of direction; see Pg. 2 Lines 53–59) contains no moving parts (fluid impulses are made to pass, more or less freely, through suitable channels or conduits in one direction while their return is effectively checked or entirely prevented… invent any means, which permit the performance of the above function without the use of moving parts; see Pg. 2 Lines 9-42).
KSR Rationale D (see MPEP 2141) states that it is obvious to apply a “known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known technique of avoidance of moving parts in an impingement valve from Tesla to the impingement valve of modified Jomain in order to yield the predictable result of increased practical value and decreased cost of manufacture and maintenance (see Tesla, Pg. 2 Lines 21-25).
Conclusion
/A.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1774
/CLAIRE X WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1774