DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 9-14, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20210037318A1 in view of Ishikawa; Hiraku (US 20080213504 A1). KR20210037318A teaches a substrate processing apparatus (100b; Page 25), comprising: a processing chamber (111; Page 25) including a plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings), a gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5), and a substrate processing region (PR; Page 25-Applicant’s 130; Figure 1-5) sequentially connected from the upper side to the lower side; a first gas supply line (122 or 124; page 25-Applicant’s 200; Figure 1-5) supplying a first processing gas, which is to be converted into plasma, to the plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings) to generate the plasma; a second gas supply line (134,132; page 25-Applicant’s 300; Figure 1-5) supplying a second processing gas (gases 134,132; page 25), which reacts with radicals of the plasma, to the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5) to generate an etchant (“Here, the second process gas G2 may be a source gas for generating an etchant (E) by reacting with the radical R in the gas mixing region (“GMR.”; machine translation); a shower head (117; Page 25-Applicant’s 500; Figure 1-5) disposed between the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5) and the substrate processing region (PR; Page 25-Applicant’s 130; Figure 1-5) and configured to deliver the etchant (“Here, the second process gas G2 may be a source gas for generating an etchant (E) by reacting with the radical R in the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5) from the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5) to the substrate processing region (PR; Page 25-Applicant’s 130; Figure 1-5); and an ion blocker (115a; Page 25-Applicant’s 400; Figure 1-5) disposed between the plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings) and the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5), wherein the ion blocker (115a; Page 25-Applicant’s 400; Figure 1-5) has a first blocker flow path unit (first IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 410=411+412; Figure 3,5) connected to the second gas supply line (134,132; page 25-Applicant’s 300; Figure 1-5) and closed (not claimed) to the plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings) located above the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5), and a second blocker flow path unit (second IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 410=411+412; Figure 3,5) connected to the second gas supply line (134,132; page 25-Applicant’s 300; Figure 1-5) and open to the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5) located below the plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings), so that the second processing gas (gases 134,132; page 25) is supplied to the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5) located below the plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings) – claim 1
KR20210037318A further teaches:
The substrate processing apparatus (100b; Page 25) of claim 1, wherein the first blocker flow path unit (first IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 410=411+412; Figure 3,5) comprises, a first blocker channel (first blocker channel for IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 411; Figure 5) connected to the second gas supply line (134,132; page 25-Applicant’s 300; Figure 1-5) and formed inside the ion blocker (115a; Page 25-Applicant’s 400; Figure 1-5); and a first blocker hole (first blocker hole for IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 412; Figure 5) connected to the first blocker channel (first blocker channel for IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 411; Figure 5) and formed to be closed (not claimed) to the plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings) – claim 2
The substrate processing apparatus (100b; Page 25) of claim 2, wherein the plurality of first blocker holes (first blocker holes for IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 412; Figure 5) are disposed to be spaced apart from each other along the first blocker channel (first blocker channel for IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 411; Figure 5), as claimed by claim 3
The substrate processing apparatus (100b; Page 25) of claim 1, wherein the second blocker flow path unit (second IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 410=411+412; Figure 3,5) comprises a second blocker channel (first blocker channel for IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 411; Figure 5) connected to the second gas supply line (134,132; page 25-Applicant’s 300; Figure 1-5) and formed inside the ion blocker (115a; Page 25-Applicant’s 400; Figure 1-5); and a second blocker hole (first blocker hole for IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 412; Figure 5) connected to the second blocker channel (first blocker channel for IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 411; Figure 5) and formed to be open to the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5), as claimed by claim 5
The substrate processing apparatus (100b; Page 25) of claim 1, wherein the ion blocker (115a; Page 25-Applicant’s 400; Figure 1-5) has a blocker through-hole (R; page 25) connecting the plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings) and the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5) formed therein, wherein the shower head (117; Page 25-Applicant’s 500; Figure 1-5) has a head through-hole (H4; page 25) connecting the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5) and the substrate processing region (PR; page 25) formed therein, as claimed by claim 9
The substrate processing apparatus (100b; Page 25) of claim 1, wherein the shower head (117; Page 25-Applicant’s 500; Figure 1-5) has a head flow path unit (IDR1; page 25-Applicant’s 510; Figure 5) connected to the second gas supply line (134,132; page 25-Applicant’s 300; Figure 1-5) and open to the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5), so that the second processing gas (gases 134,132; page 25) is supplied to the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5), as claimed by claim 10
The substrate processing apparatus (100b; Page 25) of claim 10, wherein the head flow path unit (IDR1; page 25-Applicant’s 510; Figure 5) comprises a head channel (head channel for IDR1; page 25-Applicant’s 511; Figure 5) connected to the second gas supply line (134,132; page 25-Applicant’s 300; Figure 1-5) and formed inside the shower head (117; Page 25-Applicant’s 500; Figure 1-5); and a head hole (head hole for IDR1; page 25-Applicant’s 512; Figure 5) connected to the head channel (head channel for IDR1; page 25-Applicant’s 511; Figure 5) and formed to be open to the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5), as claimed by claim 11
A substrate processing apparatus (100b; Page 25), comprising: a processing chamber (111; Page 25) including a plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings), a gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5), and a substrate processing region (PR; Page 25-Applicant’s 130; Figure 1-5) sequentially connected from the upper side to the lower side; an ion blocker (115a; Page 25-Applicant’s 400; Figure 1-5) disposed between the plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings) and the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5); a shower head (117; Page 25-Applicant’s 500; Figure 1-5) disposed between the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5) and the substrate processing region (PR; Page 25-Applicant’s 130; Figure 1-5) and configured to deliver etchant (“Here, the second process gas G2 may be a source gas for generating an etchant (E) by reacting with the radical R in the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5) from the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5) to the substrate processing region (PR; Page 25-Applicant’s 130; Figure 1-5); a first gas supply line (122 or 124; page 25-Applicant’s 200; Figure 1-5) connected to the processing chamber (111; Page 25), and supplying a first processing gas, which is to be converted into plasma, to the plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings) to generate plasma; a second gas supply line (134,132; page 25-Applicant’s 300; Figure 1-5) connected to the ion blocker (115a; Page 25-Applicant’s 400; Figure 1-5), and supplying a second processing gas (gases 134,132; page 25) to the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5), which reacts with radicals of the plasma, to generate the etchant (“Here, the second process gas G2 may be a source gas for generating an etchant (E) by reacting with the radical R in the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5); and a high-frequency power supply (140; figure 25) applying a high-frequency voltage to the processing chamber (111; Page 25), wherein the ion blocker (115a; Page 25-Applicant’s 400; Figure 1-5) has a first blocker flow path unit (first IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 410=411+412; Figure 3,5) connected to the second gas supply line (134,132; page 25-Applicant’s 300; Figure 1-5) and closed (not claimed) to the plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings) located above the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5), and a second blocker flow path unit (second IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 410=411+412; Figure 3,5) connected to the second gas supply line (134,132; page 25-Applicant’s 300; Figure 1-5) and open to the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5) located below the plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings), so that the second processing gas (gases 134,132; page 25) is supplied to the mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5) located below the plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings) – claim 12
The substrate processing apparatus (100b; Page 25) of claim 12, wherein the first blocker flow path unit (first IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 410=411+412; Figure 3,5) comprises a first blocker channel (first blocker channel for IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 411; Figure 5) connected to the second gas supply line (134,132; page 25-Applicant’s 300; Figure 1-5) and formed inside the ion blocker (115a; Page 25-Applicant’s 400; Figure 1-5); and a first blocker hole (first blocker hole for IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 412; Figure 5) connected to the first blocker channel (first blocker channel for IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 411; Figure 5) and formed to be closed (not claimed) to the plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings) – claim 13
The substrate processing apparatus (100b; Page 25) of claim 13, wherein the plurality of first blocker holes (first blocker holes for IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 412; Figure 5) are disposed to be spaced apart from each other along the first blocker channel (first blocker channel for IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 411; Figure 5), as claimed by claim 14
The substrate processing apparatus (100b; Page 25) of claim 12, wherein the ion blocker (115a; Page 25-Applicant’s 400; Figure 1-5) is divided into a first region formed in a central portion, and a second region disposed around the first region, as claimed by claim 17
The substrate processing apparatus (100b; Page 25) of claim 17, wherein the first blocker flow path unit (first IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 410=411+412; Figure 3,5) is formed in the first region, as claimed by claim 18
KR20210037318A does not teach:
wherein the first blocker flow path unit (first IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 410=411+412; Figure 3,5) is open to the plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings), so that the second processing gas (gases 134,132; page 25) is supplied to the plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings) located above the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5) – claim 1
the first blocker hole (first blocker hole for IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 412; Figure 5) formed to be open to the plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings) – claim 2
wherein the first blocker flow path unit (first IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 410=411+412; Figure 3,5) is open to the plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings), so that the second processing gas (gases 134,132; page 25) is supplied to the plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings) located above the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5) – claim 12
a first blocker hole (first blocker hole for IDR2; page 25-Applicant’s 412; Figure 5) formed to be open to the plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings) – claim 13
Ishikawa teaches a similar plasma processing chamber including a plasma generating region (R1; Figure 5) and processing region (R2; Figure 5) divided by an ion blocker (50; Figure 4,5) and showerhead (30; Figure 2,5). Ishikawa’s the ion blocker (50; Figure 4,5-Applicant’s 400; Figure 1-5) has a first blocker flow path unit (first 53; Figure 4,5-Applicant’s 410=411+412; Figure 3,5) connected to the second gas supply line (55; Figure 5-Applicant’s 300; Figure 1-5) and open to the plasma generating region (R1; Figure 5-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings), and a second blocker flow path unit (second 53; Figure 5-Applicant’s 410=411+412; Figure 3,5) connected to the second gas supply line (55; Figure 5-Applicant’s 300; Figure 1-5) and open to the gas mixing region (R2; Figure 5-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5), so that the second processing gas (54; Figure 5) is supplied to the gas mixing region (R2; Figure 5-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5) – claim 1, 12. Further, Ishikawa teaches Ishikawa’s second gas supply (55; Figure 5-Applicant’s 300; Figure 1-5) is supplied to Ishikawa’s plasma generating region (R1; “plasma generation region”; throughout) located above Ishikawa’s gas mixing region (R2; throughout). – claim 1, 12. Noting Ishikawa’s gas mixing region (R2; throughout) is downstream of all gas plenums where all gases are shown to mix before being exhausted.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for KR20210037318A to replace KR20210037318A’s ion blocker (115a; Page 25-Applicant’s 400; Figure 1-5) with Ishikawa’s ion blocker (50; Figure 4,5).
Motivation for KR20210037318A to replace KR20210037318A’s ion blocker (115a; Page 25-Applicant’s 400; Figure 1-5) with Ishikawa’s ion blocker (50; Figure 4,5) is at least “…the concentration of the plasma excitation gas is uniform in the plasma generation region R1.” as taught by Ishikawa ([0057]) and precursor “density” or “amounts” as taught by KR20210037318A (throughout).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states:
“
However, in KR'318, the second processing gas is not supplied to the plasma generating region (PGR) located above the gas mixing region (GMR), only the first processing gas (plasma excitation gas supply source, 41, 54) is supplied to the plasma generating region (R1), while the source gas (source gas supply source, 34), which is the processing gas, is not supplied to the plasma generating region (R1). (See, e.g., KR'318 FIG. 1 reproduced below.) Thus, KR'318 fails to teach or suggest the above- noted features of independent claim 1.
“
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In response, the Examiner agrees after a full reconsideration of KR'318. Indeed, the Examiner’s rejection under §103 states, in part, that KR'318 does not teach KR'318’s second processing gas (gases 134,132; page 25) is supplied to the plasma generating region (PGR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings) located above the gas mixing region (GMR; Page 25; machine translation-Applicant’s 120; Figure 1-5) as is claimed by claim 1 and 12. For this reason, the Examiner applies the teaching of Ishikawa; Hiraku (US 20080213504 A1). See above.
Applicant states:
“
Ishikawa fails to cure the deficiencies of KR '318 Patent. Similar to KR '318, in Ishikawa the second processing gas is not supplied to the plasma generating region located above the gas mixing region. In Ishikawa, the plasma excitation gas supply structure (50) opens only into the plasma generating region (R1), and the source gas supply structure (30) opens only into the source gas dissociating region (R2). However, the gas corresponding to the processing gas of amended independent claim 1 is the source gas of Ishikawa, not the plasma excitation gas, and thus differs from the amended independent claim 1 in terms of configuration and effects. (See, e.g., Ishikawa FIG. 1 reproduced below.) Thus, Ishikawa fails to teach or suggest the above- noted features of independent claim 1.
“
In response, the Examiner disagrees. Ishikawa indeed teaches Ishikawa’s the ion blocker (50; Figure 4,5-Applicant’s 400; Figure 1-5) has a first blocker flow path unit (first 53; Figure 4,5-Applicant’s 410=411+412; Figure 3,5) connected to the second gas supply line (55; Figure 5-Applicant’s 300; Figure 1-5). Ishikawa’s second gas supply line (55; Figure 5-Applicant’s 300; Figure 1-5) is open and supplies gas to the plasma generating region (R1; Figure 5-Applicant’s 110; added 11/12/25 drawings). Further, Ishikawa teaches Ishikawa’s second gas supply (55; Figure 5-Applicant’s 300; Figure 1-5) is supplied to Ishikawa’s plasma generating region (R1; “plasma generation region”; throughout) located above Ishikawa’s gas mixing region (R2; throughout). – claim 1, 12. Noting Ishikawa’s gas mixing region (R2; throughout) is downstream of all gas plenums where all gases are shown to mix before being exhausted.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Plural showerheads dividing processing regions from plasma formation regions include at least: US 10056233 B2; US 20090320756 A1; US 9934942 B1; US 7658799 B2
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Rudy Zervigon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716
1 March 10, 2023 IDS