Drawings
The drawings were received on 3 June 2026. These drawings are approved.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first surface (i.e. the ground engaging surface) having a hardness of at least 50 HRC extending to a depth of at least 32mm into the unitary body, as set forth in claim 21; and the drive lugs being formed of a different material from the unitary body, as set forth in claims 27 and 30; must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 27 and 30 set forth the drive lugs being formed of a different material than that of the unitary body. However, the specification fails to disclose such a feature, and the drawings do not show such a feature. Therefore, this limitation is new matter.
Claims 1-5 and 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 30 are indefinite due to the fact that the phrase “configured to contact” is generally narrative (see section 8 below) and fails to describe any actual physical structure of the invention.
Claim 25 is indefinite due to the fact that the phrase “configured to receive” is generally narrative (see section 8 below) and fails to describe any actual physical structure of the invention.
Claims 26 and 30 are indefinite due to the fact that the phrase “configured to engage” is generally narrative (see section 8 below) and fails to describe any actual physical structure of the invention.
Claims 27 and 30 are indefinite due to the fact that it is unclear how the drive lugs can be formed of a different material than the rest of the unitary body of the track pad, when the drive lugs are part of (i.e. formed in one piece with) the unitary body.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 22-23, and 25-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jones et al (11,807,318).
The applied reference has a common inventor and assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Per claims 1 and 30, Jones et al shows a track system having an undercarriage with a sprocket and roller coupled thereto. The sprocket is driven by a motor. The track includes a set of track pads 110 forming an endless loop around the undercarriage. Adjacent track pads 110 are connected by bushings. The track pads 110 include a unitary body 304 formed of alloy steel and a first surface 202 for contacting the ground, and a second surface 210 for contacting the rollers. The second surface 210 has a hardness of at least 50 HRC (see column 4, lines 8-13) extending therefrom to a depth of at least 32mm into the unitary body (see column 4, lines 34-41, where Jones et al states that the depth of the hardened region extends into the body “at least 30mm” with the allowance of a tolerance that includes +5%. This would result in a depth of at least 31.5mm (which rounds to 32mm and is considered to be a minimum depth).
Per claim 22, the second surface 210 is arcuate and has a curvature corresponding to the curvature of a roller.
Per claim 23, the hardness of the second surface 202 (at a depth of at least 32mm) is in the range of 50-60 HRC (see column 4, lines 13-15).
Per claim 25, the track pad 110 includes a pair of spaced apart links 204 having pin bores.
Per claim 26, the track pad 110 includes a pair of drive lugs 206 disposed on the unitary body 304 for engaging a sprocket.
Per claims 27 and 30, the drive lugs 206 are “formed of a material different from the alloy steel” of the unitary body 304 inasmuch as the Applicant’s invention is shown and disclosed as having.
Per claim 28, the drive lugs 206 (and the entirety of the unitary body 304 of the track pad 110) is formed of a manganese steel having at least 10% manganese by weight (see column 3, lines 56-58).
Per claim 29, the drive lugs 206 are disposed on opposite sides of the second surface 210
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 21, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al.
Regarding claims 3 and 5, Jones et al does not disclose the cross-sectional thickness of the track pad or the mass thereof. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to form the track pad with dimensions and scale suitable to support the loads imparted thereon during use without failing. Namely, the dimensions and weight of the track pad are proportional to the size of the vehicle on which the track pads will be used and the loads said vehicle will produce and/or support during use.
Regarding claim 4, Jones et al does not disclose the depth to which the second surface 202 is hardened is “at least 10% of the cross-sectional thickness. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to harden the roller contact surface of Jones et al to a depth sufficient to prevent undue wear thereto due to frictional forces during contact with the rollers while also allowing the track pad to be ductile enough to prevent failure of the track pad due to repeated contact with the rollers during use.
Regarding claim 21, Jones et al does not show or disclose that the first surface (i.e. the ground contacting surface) of the track pad is hardened to at least 50 HRC to a depth into the unitary body of at least 32 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to harden the ground contacting surface of the track pad in the same manner as the rolling contact surface, for the purpose of preventing undue wear on the track pads, thus increasing useable life and reducing maintenance costs.
Regarding claim 24, Jones et al does not disclose the length and width of the unitary body of the track pad. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to form the track pad with dimensions and scale suitable to support the loads imparted thereon during use without failing. Namely, the dimensions and weight of the track pad are proportional to the size of the vehicle on which the track pads will be used and the loads said vehicle will produce and/or support during use.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al as applied to claims 1, 3-5, and 21-30 above, and further in view of Berchem (4,561,908).
Jones et al discloses the use of an alloy steel containing 0.30-0.40% carbon, and 0.80-1.30% manganese in forming the track pads (see column 3, lines 46-53). Jones et al does not disclose any other chemical ingredient in the medium carbon alloy steel.
Berchem teaches the use of an alloy steel comprising by weight 0.30-0.40% carbon, 0.80-1.30% manganese, 1.00-1.70% nickel, 0.80-1.30% chromium, and 0.20-0.80% molybdenum. Therefore, from this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to form the track pad of Jones et al from the medium carbon steel alloy disclosed by Berchem, dependent upon availability, cost, and the desired chemical and physical characteristics (i.e. fatigue resistance, machinability, etc.) to prevent undue wear and/or failure of the track pads during use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the claims have been amended to overcome any indefiniteness issues under 112(b). However, this is not the case, as set forth above.
The Applicant also argues that no new matter has been included in the newly added claims. However, this is not the case, as set forth above.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 and 21-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the base reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON R BELLINGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615